We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spend Your Money Elsewhere!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vina Del Mar Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Penasco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vina Del Mar Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Avondale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spend Your Money Elsewhere!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Dont get me wrong the Hotel is in a good Location right off the Beach, nice pool area and had good security services but the Hotel rooms where very disappointing. The beds where small and not to mention rock hard. Literally all it is, is a Rock base with a hard top bed cushion on top of the rock base. Not to mention the Beds where twin size not a good couple sized bed. The Tv didn't even work and the AC blew minimal cold air. It blew cold air one second and the next it was just blowing regular warm air. The lady working the front office was nothing but snappy and had an attitude. She was quicker at snapping back excuses then actually fixing the problem or trying to help with our needs. She blamed us for why the AC wasn't working stating that we were opening and closing the door to much. We only opened the door once and that was to go inside our room. There are other hotels in the area that are cheaper and much nicer as the layout and beds go. Or Spend a little more money and you can get a much nicer hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    19
    8
    9
    12
See reviews for
16
18
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed on a Buffalo Bus Tour on January 26, 2014 for two nights. Initially, the pool area looked great so we got into our suits and went down to get some sun and relax. Great idea, but no lounge chairs! There were only cement benches around round cement tables. The pool was ice cold and so was the jaccuzzi! Pool bar was closed. We went to our room and sat on the deck (on substandard furniture) instead. Thank goodness we brought our own wine! The door did not have a dead bolt and was so deteriorated, anyone could have put there fist through and broken in. (see picture of the daylight showing through) The water from the taps had a terrible sewer type smell. I could smell it on me after taking a shower and shampooing my hair. Would NOT recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We could see the ocean from our room (213) however, we also looked over a dumping area. Rooms direc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmslater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Penasco hotels

Hunters, Washington USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel on a Buffalo Bus Tour. The hotel is old, but clean. Connecting to WiFi was unsuccessful. TV stations seem to be only in Spanish. Coffee pot was provided, but no coffee. Beds were comfortable and staff was very friendly. Office staff even arranged for a technician to come to hotel for pedicure services when inquired about where pedicure services could be found. Restaurant at hotel served us adequately. Hot tub was not in service and pool was not heated. We could hear the noise from adjoining rooms.

Room Tip: Our stay was in a pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cattlemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

I stayed there with a friend on my first trip ever to Puerto Penasco. We arrived without reservations or even a clue as to where to stay in a dark city that is oddly laid out. We literally drove into this hotel at the end of the Malecon area and I was happy we did. I heard some strange things from the more experienced (aka "older") Puerto Penasco vacationers as to the safety of this area and the hotel. I found the area to be very safe as well as the hotel. I left the top on new Jeep down the whole time in the hotel parking lot and it was unmolested. The area struck me as the only part of town that resembled Mexico and I mean that in a good way.
If you are looking for a 5 star luxury resort, stay elsewhere (and pay more). If you are looking to stay a nice, clean hotel in a vibrant area with great views and a friendly welcoming staff, stay here.
I can't comment too much about the restaurant because I only ate breakfast here, but the Chilaquiles were great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gandia, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

If you want to experience the town as it should be, stay here. It's centrally located for the whole beach scene. Rooms are clean and the staff bends over backwards to make your stay a great one. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Went to Rocky Point to shop and stay one night. Vina Del Mar is the oldest hotel in RP and it shows!! On the positive side: the security and location to shops/fish market is excellent! Room air conditioner is very cold! Ladies at check in very nice and spoke English!

On the negative side: rusty water comes out of shower, wall airconditioner is very very loud, no screens on windows, pool water very low and not clean, no pool bar, broken pool loungers, during check out no one spoke English for us to complain to, toilet seat broken, coffee machine in room but no coffee/sugar/cream/cups! Very loud music and children running around by the pool until 500 am!
More negatives than positives but all and all, for one night we survived!
It is too bad because with a little bit of work this could be a great place! Needless to say, we will not be staying at the Vina Del Mar again!!!
HAPPY TRAILS

Room Tip: We liked the room near the pool because it was close to the ocean but the pool activity needed to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

been going to this hotel since 1991 at least four times during summer is been a great experience clean rooms, great restaurant, friendly people. It is a great hotel for your money, looks like there manager is doing a great job cause every time am there the hotel is always busy.Great job Blanca. Joe and Ana Soto, Phoenix Arizona

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Penasco hotels
0.7 mi away
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
#2 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
1.1 mi away
Playa Bonita Hotel
Playa Bonita Hotel
#6 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
1.7 mi away
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
#1 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Su...
#11 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
#9 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Senorial
Hotel Senorial
#15 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vina Del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vina Del Mar Hotel

Property: Vina Del Mar Hotel
Address: Avenida 1o de Junio Malecon Kino s/n | Sonora, Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 110
Also Known As:
Hotel Vina Del Mar
Vina Del Mar Hotel Puerto Penasco, Mexico - Sonora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing