We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bleh.”
Review of Las Palmas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Penasco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Las Palmas
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here for the first time. Celebrated my son's 5th birthday. Had everything planned out, birthday cake, food, pool party, just a day full of fun. Evening before party I noticed the refrigerator was not working. Called it in first thing in the morning. Called again 2 hours later to follow up. nothing. I requested something to be done because I was about to purchase groceries and what not for the party. They "accommodated" and let me use the condo's refrigerator from next door while they fixed mine. I was ok with this until about 3:30 pm when I went to take out the food from the borrowed refrigerator and it was empty. The Pre grilled steak's styrofoam plate was in the trash.THEY ATE IT! Cake and seafood were gone too. Maintenance supervisor stepped up and "located our birthday cake, seafood, and some of the steak" We ended up celebrating at around 9:30-10pm when my son was super tired and not wanting to do anything but sleep. Front desk staff was not very friendly or knowledgable in regards to what was going on.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ArizonaSun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasPalmasPP, Guest Relations Manager at Las Palmas, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

We are deeply sorry for what happened,
we genuinely regret the inconvenience we may cause to you because of this.
We are opening an investigation about this serious matter, as soon as we
get the details we will back to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have stayed at this resort multiple times, in different condos on different floors and in different buildings. We have always enjoyed our stay! This time we stayed in Grande 704. It was a top floor, 2b2b condo. Beautiful views of the ocean, a large patio with a big table and 6 chairs. Perfect for enjoying a meal while watching the sunset/sunrise. Inside, the condo wAs very clean, nicely decorated, and well kept. The living room had a comfortable sofa witch pulled out into a sofa sleeper. There was a comfortable king bed in each bedroom with beautiful views of the ocean from each room. The kitchen was well equipped, although there were no large knives and no shot glasses, but we made do :) the TVs in each room were Spanish cable channels, but there were several in English with Spanish subtitles so my kids were able to enjoy them. Washer, dryer, air conditioner, and dishwasher all worked well. There were only 2 bath towels in each bathroom even though the condo was booked for 6. This seems to be standard in all of the condos we have visited. We always bring our own beAch towels as well as a few for the bathroom. One thing we learned this trip was that you can't have visitors in your condo past 10pm. We had friends from town over and received a call at 10pm sharp from security asking that our visitors leave. There is a pool just at the bottom of the Grande building that we used quite often. It gets shade in the afternoon and is very nice. The main pool with the water slides gets quite busy during the day. We have found that the best time for the main pool is right at 8am when they turn the slides on. We had the pool to ourselves for about 2 hours Saturday morning. Once the pool fills up, security starts monitoring the slides. One of them sits at the top of the big slide, and they don't allow anyone on under the age of 7, even if an adult is with them. This was a new rule since last year. Overall,This is a nice family resort, very comfortable and safe! I would recommend a condo on the top floors for the best ocean views.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank azmommyto3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The condo was clean and had wonderful views of the ocean! We stayed in Baja 702-- We slept with the windows open and listened to the sounds of the ocean. The room is fully equipped with everything you can possibly need.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank bborich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stayed in Baja 502 for my honeymoon and it was an amazing experience !!! The condo is absolutely beautiful, it stretches out and over looks the ocean. The furniture is so homey and comfortable with a nice king size bed. It was very clean and accommodating, the owners have supplied the kitchen with a ton of supplies, the living room with games and movies. I will definitely be staying here every time I visit Rocky Point!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We booked a two bed two bath and when we arrived we were giving a 1B1B , washer was leaking poor TV reception and POOR Wi-Fi. We left a beach ball and it was stolen by ms Gloria and massage crew. Will not be returning.
.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
11  Thank irot730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This is a terrific place to have your family or friends stay. Great Wedding location! If you rent a villa its like have your own house directly on the beach. It comes with a fully loaded kitchen and every room has extra sheets. There are plenty of towels.They have a grill on the porch and a large balcony above the villa. If you have kids, they will enjoy the pool equiped with a slide! Ages 16 and over may relax in the jacuzzi. There is a small bar and they offer a happy hour. Its not a popular hang out so you find crowds. If you are looking for lively entertainment & music, you can walk over to fun place called Changos. Its just up the street from the resort.Thursday thru Saturday night its hopping with social people that are dancing and drinking. They have a band, a large bar with frozen drink machines, plenty of seating, food.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TortugaGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The good
Check in was flawless, unit 602A was clean and very nice.
Beach was close, pool slide was a blast for my boy.
Units and surrounding area kept nice

The bad
Hooking to WiFi was a pain. 2 different log ins, no help to be found, unsuccessful.
Shower water pressure unacceptable, just a dribble. Grant it I was there on a Monday. Wonder what it is like on the weekend?
Bar, what bar? swim up bar was all they had, Had difficulty communicating with bartender, she was obviously new, trying every drink she made for taste. Kinda like me in my kitchen. Gave up several times, just didn't have the patience to wait 15 min for a drink.

The place was packed with kids! Not bad, but you should be aware.

Overall not sure if I would go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samcut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Penasco hotels
1.0 mi away
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
#1 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
725 reviews
2.3 mi away
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
#3 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
780 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Su...
#12 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Playa Bonita Hotel
Playa Bonita Hotel
#7 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
212 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
#11 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
#6 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Palmas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palmas

Address: Sandy Beach Rd 1000, Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Penasco
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Penasco
Price Range: £90 - £377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Palmas is an oceanfront resort comprised of privately-owned luxury homes and condominiums. The resort is located along Sandy Beach in Puerto Penasco, Mexico. The town is commonly known as Rocky Point. Las Palmas reflects this new trend with its splendid architecture, groomed landscaping and family-oriented culture. The gated compound offers 24-hour security, heated pools, Jacuzzis, lighted parking and a spectacular club house with swim-up bar, kid's pool, exercise room, game room and spa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Palmas Hotel Puerto Penasco
Las Palmas Beachfront Hotel
Hotel Las Palmas Beachfront
Las Palmas Puerto Penasco, Mexico - Sonora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing