We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time at Las Palmas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Palmas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Penasco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Las Palmas
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great time at Las Palmas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

We spent 6 days at Las Palmas with my husband and 10 year old son. Las Palmas is a great place to stay. We had a one bedroom condo in the Baja building and we had a GREAT view. The town is minutes away as is the Malecon (Old Port). We spent one morning with Alexis from CEDO on a tidepool tour. She did an excellent job at explaining the sea creatures we found.

We are definitely planning to return.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karatemom72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    37
    17
    7
    21
See reviews for
79
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

Not too many Americans consider driving into Mexico a great way to get away and relax. However, when you are sitting in 115 degree temperatures in Phoenix, the idea of driving 4 hours and dipping your toes in the water of a beautiful beach sounds great to me. We have stayed at Las Palmas twice. Each time, our family of four (two kids and two adults) accompanied by another couple of adult family members.

The resort offers a great beachfront location which for the most part is not crowded. The pool offers a couple of slides. One which is much more oriented towards teenagers and adults, while the other area is for little kids. Both our children (aged 5 and 7 our first trip, and then 6, and 8 our second trip) took advantage of both slides. Although we had to go down with our younger one each time on the big slide.

The area around the resort still needs more restaurants, but the food is authentic and not too commercialized.

The only negative from my point of view occurs on the weekends. This is when rowdy Americans flock in with the huge SUV's, ATV's, dirt bikes, etc. and rule the highways like there is no law whatsoever. In fact the Mexican police completely ignore the Americans, but will pull over Mexican drivers who are travelling half the speed of the Americans...who are usually topping 100 mph on the highways.

The resort is spacious, fairly clean, and the beach is a nice place to relax. I enjoyed both trips here.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DBM24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2008

I have to say it was a perfect vacation! I decided my family needed a nice relaxing trip so we packed up and headed down for a week on a friends recommendation.

The Travel People:

We ended up renting 2 beach houses from Puerto Penasco Getaway (www.ppgetaway.com). After a couple of friends rented through them and viewing the GORGEOUS pictures on the website, I was sold! They were very courteous and even gave me some great spots to check out while I was down there!

The Houses:

All I can say is WOW! These houses were immaculate! Luxury all the way! There was more than enough room for everyone in the 2 houses!

The Resort:

Overall, it was pretty nice! When you first drive into the resort, your hit with an awesome waterfall! Very nice touch! There were 3 pools and 5 jacuzzi's. Not too shabby!

The Food:

We only ate at the resort once for breakfast. Not too bad. Theres a new restaurant right outside the resorts called Changos. VERY GOOD food! The Point is a great place downtown as well as the Boo Bar! If you like shrimp and seafood...you'll be in heaven!

  • Liked — The friendliness of the PPG staff
  • Disliked — Drive time to get there
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank krayzeemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2008

We've stayed in several locations on property...once in a tower condo which was nice but definitely doesn't compare to being down on the beach...3 or 4 times in casa 3 and once in casa 8. This time was in casa 8...4 bedroom, 3 bath. Everything was just great. Beds were comfortable. The kitchen was well stocked with utensils. The only...ONLY...complaint we had was with the gas grill. It would never light more than 1/4 of the burner. So we BBQ'd the old fashioned way with charcoal. The pool was warm enough that you weren't chilled when the wind kicked up a little. The kids loved the water slide. The beach is always clean and the kids love looking for shells and little crabs. The water is gentle enough that you don't have to worry about undertow like you do in places like Cabo. There's a new sports bar right outside the entry gate called Changos. It was clean and cool and the beer was nice and chilly. They had the playoff games on the flat screen TVs throughout the bar. Too bad some other reviewers had complaints. I'd be upset too if the owners booted us out so they could have their place for a weekend, but that's what being the owner is all about.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank kujhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
248 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2008

This was my 5th stay at the Las Palmas and I have never been disappointed in a stay there. Last year, I posted a long review with several pictures. This time, I will just try to focus on the recent changes.

The most obvious change is the new paint job. Gone is the powder blue accent to the white exterior. Now it is burnt orange and fits in much better with the surrounding buildings.

Second, they are now really enforcing wrist bands. When one checks in to a Rocky Point resort, they each have their own wrist bands that they use to identify costumers and remove those that are not staying at the resort. I had never seen them enforce the rule until this trip. Security was sending people back to their rooms to get their bands. Now maybe they can do something about the vendors that pollute the beach. Also, they are enforcing the no glass at the pool rule. I think these are both good steps.

Finally, the rooms are now equipped with phones, wireless and broadband internet. I am not sure of what fees there are since I did not use any of them.

I avoid posting pictures of the condos themselves since they are individually owned and furnished uniquely. I have stayed in a couple different units and have never been in want of anything. Generally, they are equipped with all of the kitchen necessities such as stove, refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, blender, pots/pans, plate ware and silver ware. There is a laundry nook that has a washer and dryer. Dishwashing soap is provided but not laundry detergent so you need to bring your own. There is no laundry service and we have found that linens are limited so you may need to launder some towels. The units we have stayed in had flat screen TV's in the living room with a DVD/VCR combo. There is usually a TV in each room as well. The TV's have Dish network. Channels include HBO, HBO Plus, Fox News, ESPN, Warner Channel, Sony Channel, AXN, TNT, Tucson's ABC and CBS affiliates and a couple Spanish-only channels. Each unit has a balcony (or patio if on the first floor) with table and chairs.

Once again, I had a great stay at the Las Palmas. While it is not as large and extravagant as some of the newer, nearby resorts, it has all the necessities and a staff that are dedicated to making your stay pleasant.

  • Liked — The slide, location
  • Disliked — Smaller pools are not heated
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DaveLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2007

We stayed at Las Palmas last spring and will definitley be going back! We travelled with our 2 young kids and they had a blast! We stayed in the back building and I was worried about the view, but once we got there, we realized we couldn't have asked for a better view. Not only did we look out onto the ocean, we also had the pool, club houses and villas to look down on. We rented through a recommendation from a friend and could not believe how beautiful the condo was. It was decorated nicer than my home! They had everything there from hair dryers, to washer/dryer, with laundry detergent right in the suite! It was a short walk to the pool which is ideal for families. They have a big water slide and a small one for the little kiddies. They also had a lot of hot tubs and a restaurant right by the pool. The food is really good at the restaurant and I recommend the coconut prawns. Delicious!
We rented through Corey at beachykeencondo@hotmail.com and did't have a single problem. She was nice, polite and very helpful. She has 2 condos that she rents or can recommend other people if her units are rented.

I would definitly recommend this resort and especially renting through Corey as you can guarantee you are going to get a beautiful condo!

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank mybellvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, AZ.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2007

In mid-June my family (my wife & our 6 & 12 year old boys) headed down to the Las Palmas with another family of 4.
The 8 of us stayed in the corner casita...#20 right on the beach. We spent 4 nights at this luxurious house that has all the essentials of home! Great furnishings & decor in 3400 square feet.
We figured that with all the beds & pull out sofa's, 16 could easily sleep here.
The location is perfect. A large patio that is ocean front allows you to keep close tabs on the kids playing on the great beach below. Above the patio is an open air deck.
There is a propane BBQ grill, 2 car garage, 2 TV's with Direct TV and a large kitchen that is fully furnished with all the dishes & kitchenware you need. It is the perfect spot for a relaxing family vacation!
The hotel has a nice pool & big waterslide that the kids loved. The restaurant, which is poolside, had good food at reasonable prices. There is also a nice poolside bar.
We strongly recommend casita #20 at the Las Palmas!

  • Liked — The location...right on the beach!!
  • Disliked — Enjoyed everything here!
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bmillsap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Penasco hotels
0.9 mi away
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
#1 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
2.3 mi away
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
#2 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
1.7 mi away
Playa Bonita Hotel
Playa Bonita Hotel
#6 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Su...
#11 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
#9 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
#1 of 16 in Puerto Penasco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Palmas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palmas

Property: Las Palmas
Address: Sandy Beach Rd 1000, Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Penasco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Palmas is an oceanfront resort comprised of privately-owned luxury homes and condominiums. The resort is located along Sandy Beach in Puerto Penasco, Mexico. The town is commonly known as Rocky Point. Las Palmas reflects this new trend with its splendid architecture, groomed landscaping and family-oriented culture. The gated compound offers 24-hour security, heated pools, Jacuzzis, lighted parking and a spectacular club house with swim-up bar, kid's pool, exercise room, game room and spa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Palmas Hotel Puerto Penasco
Las Palmas Beachfront Hotel
Hotel Las Palmas Beachfront
Las Palmas Puerto Penasco, Mexico - Sonora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing