We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sonoran Sun E211 - Puerto Penasco” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonoran Sun Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Penasco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sonoran Sun Resort
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sonoran Sun E211 - Puerto Penasco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

We were very excited and surprised at the beauty of this location in Mexico. An added bonus was the Sonoran Sun resort. We stayed in Unit E211 which is rented through Seaside Resorts. Most impressive was the added touches the owner provided such as coffee, tea, frozen pops, CDs and DVDs as well as toiletries. There is also a full kitchen with a coffee maker, blender, toaster, microwave and stove. The furnishings were excellent with a very comfortable King Size bed. The unit sleeps 4 if two use the pull out sofa. The pool was immaculate even though the winds had blown in a lot of debris, the staff cleaned it out thoroughly each morning going as far as sweeping out all the sand and draining the jacuzzi when necessary. Being a swimmer I truly enjoyed the quality of the water and the fact that I did not smell like chlorine when I got out. I compare this to Cabo in it's early days when there weren't a million people on the beach. I also wanted to mention the incredible gym with brand new equipment and not one tear in any of the machines. There are 2 elliptical trainers, 2 recumbent bicycles and 2 treadmills that are top of the line. Water is provided in the gym and the staff come through regularly to clean. We also enjoyed a healthy brunch for $10 at the restaurant and received friendly and outstanding service by Anna. I am surprised to read bad reviews about the staff. We only encountered friendly people who wanted to make our stay enjoyable. Also be sure to swim up to the bar at happy hour and enjoy 3 for $5 carnitas tacos made fresh...all the other taco places we went to simply reheated meat that was already cooked. We recommend eating at Max's for sure!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ofra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    67
    16
    6
    10
See reviews for
72
45
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

We just got back from a wonderful stay at the Sonoran Sun Resort in Puerto Penasco(Rocky Point), Mexico. We stayed in a three bedroom suite with a beautiful ocean view. The suite included a large wrap around balcony which was ideal for meals and entertaining. The suite had all the modern appliances and was nicely decorated. The master bedroom was huge and the other bedrooms were more than adequate for couples. We were in very close proximity to the beach and the pool area. A great time was had walking the length of the beach and playing in the strikingly blue water. Hawkers would try to sell their wares such as sunglasses, jewelry and of course the ride on the banana boats. Annoying at times but mostly entertaining. We loved the pool area where they offered a swim up bar and a small grill where you could enjoy some quick food from a limited menu. Not great cuisine but perfect for the setting. The best part is that they offered a happy hour at different times of the day where drinks were 2 for 1. Even though it was windy two of the days we were there, most of our time was spent outside, by the beach, or by the pool soaking up the rays and enjoying the many fun activities that are available. They have a restaurant that offers a limited breakfast buffet and a limited menu but the food was okay. Also, they have very small bar with good prices but nothing special. We did have fun watching the Bulls game one night. If you want better nightlife, I would suggest Wrecked at the Reef, JJ's Cantina and Boo Bar to name a few. Also, if you are looking for a nicer place for dining you may want to check out Mare Blu located next to Wrecked at the Reef. Rocky Point is an interesting location with good areas, bad areas and great areas. One of the great areas would be the Sonoran Sun Resort where we had a fun and enjoyable time. We plan to return somewhere down the line.

Room Tip: Try to secure a oceanside view with a wrap around balcony. Makes every day more enjoyable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

The Sun gets high marks for cleanliness and safety. It's on Sandy Beach, not in downtown Rocky Point, which is several miles away. The plus on that is the feeling of safety you have during your stay. The minus is that you are a $20 cab ride away from the shopping and the few RP restaurants worth your attention. There are ever-present young men in crisp, white uniform jackets...but their purpose is unclear...other than to be SURE you have your green bracelet, indicating you are either an owner or guest at the Sun. Beyond that, I tried to explain to one of them that the lukewarm water in the hot tub was a health hazard and should, instead, be set at 106 degrees...but earned only a blank stare for my trouble. The beach area In front of the Sun is pleasant, aside from the relentless pursuit of venders hawking their bizarre wares. This has to be the calmest salt water anywhere--you can make more waves in your bathtub. Emiliano's, the restaurant on the property, was better than I expected...but lacks a blender to make frozen margaritas. What?? No problemo. Sandy Beach is a great place to hang loose, enjoy the warm sun and cold beer and not sweat the small stuff.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbyBMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

My family and I enjoyed our stay here a few weeks ago. The swim up bar was fun and we loved the drinks thier. The location was so beautiful. We went to Mexico for the first time with some friends and we would def like to come back. Our kids played on the beach where they found seashells and crabs and jellyfish!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank QuadCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
173 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

The Staff is indifferent. Checking in , the receptionist was more interested in her personal phone call than us. The units are decorated by the owners, obviously there are no standards.
We were fortunate that we were able switch the Unit we rented through an Agent to another owner's Unit , who was checking out. That Unit was acceptable, but not great. Our original unit looked like the owners took all their old furniture and furnished the Unit. The Wifi did not work, nor did the TV. The Restaurant was adequate , and the server competent
The bright spots were the Ocean views, the pool area , and the Beach.The negatives , that there were few if any employees to assist with chairs , towels,etc.The overall attitude was it will be done mañana.

Room Tip: You would be well advised to Book through and owner directly ,rather than rely on booking Agents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jefftimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

Another nice time at the Sonoran Sun resort - clean, well maintained and secure. The Sonoran properties are generally closer to the water and have better veiws than the other places in Rocky Point. We have been traveling to this area for more than 20 years and we like the Sun about the best of any place we have stayed here. All the rooms have great views, nice balconies and the pool is heated in cooler months, so even when the ocean is too cool, you have a place to swim.

The pool has a swim up bar / snack bar which has good drinks and great tacos. Never tried the resturant in all of our visits, but it seem perpetually empty. Gas grills are available in the common area, so you can cook what you want if you don't want to eat out.

If you come, just keep in mind that during spring you have to deal with the wild high school / college kids running around drunk and loud, but security generally keeps them from getting too out of control.

Down east towards the Sonoran Spa is 'Hector' who will take you out in a sailboat for ~$40 for 45 minutes or so, great time, recommend it highly

Just a tip; each resort has two jet ski rental guys (one at each end, they rent a concession) - the guy at the east end of Sonoran Sun (big heavy set guy) always tries to screw customers; shorting them on time, trying to get extra money AFTER the rental is paid, etc. We used him a couple of times, and it was a hassle both times and he seems to do that to others as well. Lots of other vendors on the left or right of him - I try to give my business to vendors that are fair and honest.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are great for quick access to beach and pool!
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Terry2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckeye, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed in a wonderful 2 bdrm - 2 bath unit. Private owners but rented thru Seasidemexico.com. The unit was spacious and beautifully decorated. We were there in late Feb and it's really before the season starts so the restaurant was closed (except weekends) which was a bit of a disappointment but the pool bar was open for lunch and the drinks were flowing and the fish tacos were amazing. All the rooms at this resort face the beautiful beach/ocean and there is a constant breeze off the water so it's cool there. You'll need a sweater if you go before July! There are three heated pools and two large jacuzzi's on the property and a small convenience store. If you're driving and can pack a few things I'd recommend TP and Kleenex :). The resort is a short drive to Old Port where there are many restaurants and shops. It's on the quiet end of Sandy Beach. We even had massages on the beach 1 hr for $40! Awesome!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the East end will have sun on the patios in the late afternoon in the Spring/Summer. West r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CoriLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Penasco hotels
2.5 mi away
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
#2 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
1.2 mi away
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
#1 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
2.0 mi away
Playa Bonita Hotel
Playa Bonita Hotel
#6 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Su...
#11 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
#1 of 16 in Puerto Penasco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
2.5 mi away
Marina Pinacate
Marina Pinacate
#13 of 16 in Puerto Penasco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonoran Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoran Sun Resort

Property: Sonoran Sun Resort
Address: Rocky Point, Puerto Penasco, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Penasco
Number of rooms: 224
Also Known As:
Sonoran Sun Hotel Puerto Penasco
Hotel Sonoran Sun
Sonoran Sun Resort Puerto Penasco, Mexico - Sonora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing