We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Across a non busy street to the beach. Rooms were clean enough. Service was good ( enough) This aint the ritz, but it ain't a dive either. Oriented more toward upscale Mexican FAMILIES. If a bunch of guys are going on a boozer, you'll not want to be here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2011

I had the choice of staying at the Playa Del Sol Hotel for $120.00 day or Laos Mar Hotel for $60.00 day & I am glad I chose Laos Mar. First of all this place is very hard to find. DIRECTIONS: From Hwy 8 look for large green sign on bridge overpass that tells you to take right turn to go to Playa Del Sol Hotell, turn right & go towards the hotel, turn right on the he last street just before you get to Playa Del Sol Hotel, you will be on a very bumpy road, go all the way down & on the third street take a left turn, go all the way down then take a right turn, go further & on the left side you will see an entrance with a guard shack & the wall will have "Playa Bonita Resort" you go through that entrance & on the left is the white building which is Laos Mar Hotel.

Pros: Inexpensive, 150 feet from the beach, Francisco (Nighttime Front desk) is nice guy, the lady during day is not as friendly. Front desk will call taxi for you... $5.00 will take you just about anywhere in town. Nice clean rooms (Smells of disinfectant though)

Cons: forget the TV it has one channel...Spanish, you get two towels, two soaps & two shampoos daily, there is an AC wall unit but no heat that I could tell so it was a little chilly in December, there is no microwave, fridge, room safe, coffee, it is a room to stay in that's it. Ask for a room facing the pool, those rooms have a large balcony, I was given that room at no additional cost even thought I reserved the cheapest room on Expedia, I gave Francisco $10.00 tip for hooking me up. I am a frugal person & I saved $120.00 over a weekend by not staying at a fancier resort... that $120.00 will buy a lot of Cerveza & Tacos... other reviewers are saying this place is turning into a Flop House but with the prices dropping at other luxury resorts this place has no choice but to be dirt cheap but cut back on all the frills. I personally don't need 10 towels & bubble bath... I'd rather save the money... BTW...try out the hot dogs on the main town street cart it is only 10 pesos each & as good or better than any in the US...

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank YO_ipitydafool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Many of the post are ridiculous. There are many prissy people out there and you need to consider the source. Value is there. It is NOT a high end hotel. CLEAN, SAFE, HOT SHOWERS and close to the beach. What can you expect for TWO nights for $135 for the weekend???? I have traveled to Mexico many times (in the last 10 years) and it is safe. Common Sense is KEY, unfortunately some people don't use common sense. The media has blown the border issues out of control. We have MANY dangerous places in the US! The people are awesome and will go the extra mile to help you. Give Mexico a chance. The media has not been fair on their reporting for the past 10 years. Again I have traveled in a motor home all the way to PTO Vallarta. I have many stories. All of them good. If you would like to send me an email with questions or concerns, I would welcome them. We are a young family (in our 40's) with children. All of our experiences in Mexico have been great for us. Blessings. Jordan. [--------------] Chandler, Arizona

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank BodynSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

I traveled to Puerto Penasco with my husband and we were looking for an affordable, yet clean place to stay. We wanted a place close to the beach and it really didn't matter if it was beachfront. Laos was the perfect place. The rates were low. The rooms were very clean. Checking in and out was a breeze. The employees at Laos were polite and our cleaning lady, Malena was extremely helpful. Malena helped us with our keys (that weren't working at first) and she turned on our AC. To get to the beach, we simply hopped on our car and drove across a huge parking area and we were there. You can however, walk there especially if you are not carrying lots of things with you. It's a nice place to stay especially if you're with family. I guess my only complaint was the front desk people not letting us know that they required a deposit for the AC remote and the TV remote. We didn't get either one because our cleaning lady helped us with the AC but it was a little bothersome having no TV remote. But who wants to spend their time watching TV when you could be out at the pool or the beach? At $49 a night, you can't expect all the amenities that a 5 star hotel offers. But if you want clean, comfortable, affordable, and great location, Laos is highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
6  Thank AZgrl_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

THIS IS A HOTEL TO AVOID !
We WERE (Key Word WERE) loyal fans of Laos Mar and have always stayed; have stayed at Laos Mar at least 8-10 times and never had a problem. So again we booked 4 nights, 3 days and were surprised to see rates have dropped to $49 Friday and Saturday and $39 on Sunday. We were paying $75 and $65 years ago. Needles to say, things have changed. In my mind it has become a “FLOP HOUSE”. They gave you two bath towels, no hand towels, no face cloths, and just one little bar of soap. At times the maid did not leave toilet paper. They do have a coffee machine and 2 cups. We had to ask for coffee two different days as none was left in our room. Another cut back?? The ice machine by the office was broken or did they just stop selling ice to the clients. There is a patio on each room, but no chairs; you have to beg, barrow or steal from your neighbor, or go without. They used to have 2 chairs and a table on each balcony, NO MORE. Another cut back? Two days of our stay we had to asked for towels, only bath towels showed up and then asked for hand and wash cloths, but received only one wash cloth. Is it a “First come, first gets” at Laos Mars? The patio chairs downstairs were almost non existent and some were broken. The Maid apparently took a disliking to our group of 4 adult males. Each room had an electronic lock, and on different days and right after the maid visit our key cards would not work. Also, on separate nights, the alarm clock went off at 12:00 one night and 1:00 the next. This hotel used to be a great deal but things seem to have gone downhill since our last visit in October 2009. With the poor economy and people fearful of coming to Mexico, you would think the hotel would do anything to win patrons but I guess not. It’s time to look elsewhere. It is becoming an embarrassment to the Mexican and American tourist in comparison to other hotels. It really is too bad. They did still have the envelope in the room for tips. Guess what? We left none. Now is she surprised? And Yes, the best to last...the restaurant was closed and the "Continental Fruit, Cereal, Coffee Bar" at the pool was now closed. Another Hotel "Cutback". The laundry facility, work out room and "Bar" have NEVER opened since we started going to Loas Mars.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NoneArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Have stayed at Laos Mer at least 8-10 times and never had a problem. Maid apparently took a disliking to our group of 4 adult males. Had to call front desk every day for towels, hand towels, soap and toilet paper. Each room had electronic lock fail on different days and right after maid visit. And mysteriously on seperate nights alarm went off at 12:00 one night and 1:00 the next. Needless to say maid did not get any tips when we left.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger33498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

We were loyal fans of Laos Mar and have always stayed there so again we booked this weekend there and were surprised to see rates have dropped to $49 on the weekend. We were paying $75 four years ago and were glad to do so because at that time, it was a great deal. Needles to say, things have changed. We are not the type of people to complain but felt this review had to be written to warn others. The cooler took around 24 hours to work for some reason. They only gave you two towels. No hand towels or face cloths. No shampoo samples either. Just a little bar of soap. They had a coffee machine and 1 cup. Guess we have to share a cup? But no actual coffee packet on the first night. They put one in the room on the second night. The ice machines are now gone. They have an ice machine by the office but it has a padlock on it. I guess it is for staff only? They have a nice patio to watch the sunset but no patio chairs. We stole two chairs from the downstairs patio area for our room. We will see whether they remain there. On the first day, we returned to our room to find our two towels missing. We asked the maid where they were and she said in broken English, they would be there shortly. Guess they are short on towels and had to be washed? The patio chairs downstairs were almost non existent and some were broken. This hotel used to be a great deal but things seem to have gone downhill since our last visit four years ago. With the poor economy and people fearful of coming to Mexico, you would think the hotel would do anything to win patrons but I guess not. Now that there are tons of new hotel rooms in Rocky Point, I would look elsewhere. Even the extra 20 to 30 dollars you would spend would be worth it. Used to be a deal. It is slowly becoming an embarassment in comparison to other hotels. It really is too bad. They did still have the envelope in the room for tips. Surprise. Surprise. Guess what? We left none.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worm65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Penasco hotels
0.6 mi away
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
#3 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
770 reviews
0.8 mi away
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
#1 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
717 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Bonita Hotel
Playa Bonita Hotel
#6 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
#11 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
41 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
#7 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
159 reviews
1.3 mi away
Laguna Shores Resort
Laguna Shores Resort
#15 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Suites

Address: Paseo Balboa 90, Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Price Range: £48 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of the favorite hotels in Rocky Point, BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Suites. It is a great place to stay when looking to take family, business or recreation vacations on the beach. We are not that far from all the attractions and activities you can make, such as fishing, walks on the beach, watch the sunsets on the boat tours, visits on the aquarium and one of the most beautiful nature places on earth, El Pinacate. Also with in no more of 5 minutes you can be on the old port, where you can go shopping, eating while watching the sunset and having fun. Our attentive bilingual staff takes pride in providing personalized service. We are no more than 1 block from the ocean. No elevator, bell boy 24 hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laos Mar
Laos Mar Puerto Peñasco
Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Suites Puerto Penasco, Mexico - Sonora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing