We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great People and a Great Location!”
Review of Marina Pinacate

Marina Pinacate
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marina Pinacate
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Wow, What Views! We have stayed at many of the other resorts in Rocky Point only to find that to explore and enjoy all the at Rocky point has to offer requires a planned trip away from the resort. At Pinacate... EVERYTHING is right there! We could see the everything along Sandy Beach AND watch the boats sail in and out of Old Port. The Fish Market area and restaurants were also MUCH closer than where we had stayed before. We are SO grateful that we stumbled upon Marina Pinacate and now it will be our place of choice for ALL future stays :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djtoddb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

This is an old condominium place it is NOT a resort. Dirty, broken beach chairs with a non-heated pool. We went the 1st week of April 2012. We stayed in a Villa which was old, and needed lots of TLC. The place was clean and spacious, but it's missing stuff (kitchen) the jacuzzi didn't work - the cleaning crew does a mediocre job and the beach area is dirty, far, and very rocky (take water shoes).
I do not recommend you waste your time and money - it is NOT worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SanDiego_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Waste of money considering other resorts in the area.... Marina Pinacate is one of the oldest resorts on the beach near Playa Bonita and thus has issues with maintenance and excessive rules. We arrived 8 PM on a Thurs night before the New Years weekend. It took nearly 30 minutes to sign all the papers, I felt like I was buying one instead of renting and the office was not near the rental location. Then when we got back to the security gate by the resort, the gate guard did not speak enough English to get us settled quickly, we were tired, hungry and it was late and my 2 year old grandson had enough. Also we had to leave our trailer with a 4 wheeler out on the street due to restricted parking with a "promise" to keep an eye on it, when I could see plenty of room in the back row for our truck and gear. For security reasons I like to keep an eye on my truck and gear when in Mexico. The office also forgot to give us the Wi-Fi password so we could use it and the guard didn't know what that was.
We got into the unit finally and noted several issues right away, several lights in the bedrooms didn't have a bulb or didn't work, the walls behind the toilets were cracked and peeling, and the wet towel we threw in the dryer had to be turned off due to the constant loud squeal it made. Also several of the TV/DVD/game remotes had dead batteries or didn't work either. The unit heater was one of those all on or all off types, poorly regulated, and it got hot in the living room and cold in the bedrooms. These are the type of issues they should catch via pre-inspections and not depend on the complaining renter to have to track them down when we are there for such a short time to relax and enjoy, not do their jobs for them. Poor QA.
The next morning before 7 AM (and every morning after despite my complaint) the workers dragged a metal wheeled trash cart across the cobblestone front parking lot and woke us all up, including my 2 year old grandson. Later I took my grandson for a walk to the pool and found the water stone cold (no heated pool) and the Jacuzzi spa was "out of order" but looked like it had been that way a while. I stuck my head in the custodial office (the resident office was closed for the holiday weekend and I'm sure limited staff anyway) and asked about the pool/spa, they just repeated the words on the signs, no help at all. They did give me the Wi-Fi password and it's as slow as dial up. Then I told them of the issues we were having and they said they would send someone. Of course we are going out to enjoy the short time we have on the beach and down town, not waiting in the room for them. Someone did come by, but he said he only did TV and not the other things, but would pass it on, ...never did.
Pros: Location
Cons: Price for what you get, i.e. this should have been much cheaper for what we got and considering the competition.
Too much of a check-in process & not co-located with unit.
Too many restrictions and by-laws, parking, trailers, jet skis, 4 wheelers, etc. What do they think we go to Rocky Point for, just to look at the beach and water?
Poor up-keep of the units, appliances, pool, spa etc. Not advertised as "out of order."
Noisy workers with poor English skills.
Limited hours to get things fixed without having to wait in the room for them, holiday or not.
Poor quality control, all of what we experienced could have been caught and fixed before we got there.
Payment in full up front and when you ask for a partial refund due to poor experience they offer excuses instead of customer satisfaction with no other recourse. I will never rent from them again and steer all my friends away too. I hope you will avoid this poor excuse for a resort.

Room Tip: Avoid this place, rent elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seeker111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2009

I went to Rocky Point this last Spring Break. We checked prices all around Penasco and the Pinacate gave us the best deal thru Sea Side Reservations. We stayed in one of the villas and we had a blast!!! A beautiful 3 bedroom place in front of the ocean, we never drove because everything is near by. We will be back next year and we surely book thru Sea Side again. See you in Mexico!!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ArizonaCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2008

me and 11 friends traveled to rocky point for the may 2008 circus mexicus roger clyne show. we stayed at the marina pinacate condos. the hotel is really great. we had room 206. it was decorated really nice. 2 bedroom condo with a pull out couch. all beds were really comfy. also had 2 nice bathrooms. 2 balconies with great views. had a full kitchen. everything we needed really. our other friends' condos were nice as well.

the pool at this hotel is also really nice. closes at night. maybe around 10? there is a sand volleyball court on the property as well. also a computer room, which i never used. those are the only extras i saw. no restaurants or bars, but there are plenty within short walking distance. beware of the penasco del sol next door. you can't come there after a certain time at night unless you are a guest. (even if you are with someone who is staying there. they are VERY strict about this.)

the beach by this hotel is not that nice. nice to look at, but not nice to hang out. there were broken bottles and trash in the sand. water is kind of murky. lots of coral and rocks to step on in the water. we only went to the beach for a few hours. not impressed.

the town itself is really fun. lots of fun bars and shopping. just about everything is within walking distance unless you want to go over to sandy beach. in that case you will need a car or to rent an atv.

we took a shuttle bus from phoenix to rocky point. it was really handy. we were glad we didn't rent a car. however, the trip from phoenix to rocky point is really long 4 or 5 hours i think it took us. not sure if i will return to rocky point due to this, but that would be the only reason--not very easily accessed. wish they had a good airport.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank griff10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Yuyis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Penasco hotels
0.1 mi away
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
#3 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
794 reviews
1.4 mi away
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
#1 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
728 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Su...
#13 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Playa Bonita Hotel
Playa Bonita Hotel
#6 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
214 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sonoran Spa Resort
Sonoran Spa Resort
#7 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
161 reviews
2.7 mi away
Encanto Living
Encanto Living
#8 of 17 in Puerto Penasco
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Pinacate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Pinacate

Address: Plaza Las Glorias | Sandy Beach, Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Penasco
Price Range: £82 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marina Pinacate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Marina Pinacate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Pinacate Hotel Puerto Penasco
Marina Pinacate Puerto Penasco, Mexico - Sonora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing