We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation in years”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Cabana de Puerto Angel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Puerto Angel
Reviewed 3 April 2014

As a child while living in Europe, my family used to go to the Brittany coast in France for many years for summer vacation. We would stay in little fishing towns, and daily treck to tiny hidden beaches bracketed by the craggy coast. I loved it. Now I have finally found an area of Mexico that replicates my childhood experiences. The coastline between Huatulco and Puerto Angel offers exactly what I enjoy. Hidden tiny beaches down bad roads. La Mina, La Bucilla, El Tembo to name just a few.
This year we booked accommodation in a small Mexican hotel in Puerto Angel primarily catering to Mexicans - Hotel La Cabana. Our stay was wonderful. The saffron coloured hotel itself sits just off one of the town beaches, and is covered in lush plantings throughout. Bouganvillia, and other flowering climbing plants cover the walls, and hang off the overhang, plus innumerable large tropicals down every connecting corridor and hidden in corners makes it very lush. This is my idea of what the "Hotel California" (the Eagles) were seeing, sans pretty dancing boys. There is a small swimming pool in the entry, used by the Mexican families with toddlers. Coffee and water available in the lobby all day long. Accommodation (single rooms with B/|R and either fan or a/c) or one fully equipped apartment, are scattered over 2 floors. All are bright and clean. As in most Mexican hotels, the beds are a bit harder than I like. The owner Maria-Eugenia and her staff were wonderful; friendly, accommodating and kind, but spoke no English - which was great. At night the hotel closes a wrought iron gate across the entry, but have a night-watchman is on duty.
The beach in front is perfectly safe for kids though no life-guard. There are restaurants all along the beach where, for the price of a beer or ?? you can use their chairs in the shade all day long. They don't seem to mind if you bring some of your own munchies as the Mexican families do, or you can buy food. The beach is small but not often crowded, with fishing pangas pulled up when not in use. But NEVER a smell of fish. Or you can walk around the point to the Playa Principal which runs along the front of the main shopping area. Once again, fishing pangas on the beach, but no crowds. Also a few good restaurants.
In twon, there is a good selection of places to buy fresh veges, BBQ chicken with rice and beans or salsa, a meal for 4 for $9 is hard to beat, street vendors of all descriptions and more formal restaurants. Also butchers, fish vendors and of course places to buy souvenirs. Often we would wait in the afternoon when a woman would walk the beach selling her fresh-baked goodies: wonderful cake, or flan or other sorts of local sweet pies. Value and quality are great, and that would be dessert for the evening.
I saw a recent comment about the town not being "well kept". I couldn't disagree more! Most towns in Mexico have a problem with crumbling sidewalks etc. but their economy just doest have the wherewithal to keep up with the work. This is NOT North America, for pete's sake. However, every morning the locals are out sweeping up in front of their stores and keeping
everything as clean as possible. I seldom saw garbage on the sidewalks. Lots of bins around marked "basuro" (garbage) showing they are aware that cleanliness is a positive attribute. Also, despite PA being a town that seems to survive off fishing, there is no smell of fish. There are seldom people standing around doing nothing. Everyone seems to have a job, or finds something to do to contribute to the well-being of the community. On the beach, when a fishing boat needs to be launched, 12 to 14 people along the beach help to push it out into the waves (I was pleased to see that often the non-locals pitched in, and their help was acknowledged.) Yes, there are dogs on the beach, seldom neutered unfortunately ,and often underfed, but they were friendly and only once in 2 weeks did I see a Mexican chuck something at one that he didn't want hanging around his restaurant. All appeared to have names and would wander off to their families at the end of the day. Every day to help the ones that were least fed, I would take a bowl(s) with dogfood to feed those most in need.
You can drive or take a taxi into Puchatla for a full range of shopping. There are two banks (Scotia Bank and HSBC) which have ATMS but only HSBC takes a decent selection of cards.
There are street vendors with vats of assorted juices - make sure you ask if it is made from Purified water (es feche de aqua purificado?) before drinking or you may suffer consquences.
Try the street vendors selling tortillas, they are wonderful and cheap. (look for vendors who have customers and trust their judgement).
So, if you are looking for a vacation in a place where you aren't surrounded by tourists, where you just might find the "real" Mexico, go to Puerto Angel. Sorry - no night life. We like to explore, so we rent a car in Huatulco which gives us freedom to move around. Locals travel by share-taxi (a pickup truck with benches in back and a cover), seems to be the cheapest and handiest way to get around. Zipolite (surfing beach) is 10 min. down the road,

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Johanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

I am most amazed that puerto angel shows up 260kms prior to ones arrival by car, it is a small town, not well kept at all. Beach is not that great and overall is quite depressing. Maybe our expectations were high, but it was way out of our expectations. The hotel given the circumstances is not bad, the rooms are clean, the service is good, and they probably to welcoming. We arrive just the weekend prior to kids going back to school, and people in town said the season was over. There was only another room booked, so we were able to see a selections of rooms to choose from which was ok. You could say that the hotel is on the beach but it would be difficult for it not to be since this town is 1 road long.

If you have to stay over here you would do well to stay here, but if you are on the look for some pacific coast adventure there are some better places a little bit further north in Oaxaca.

Stayed: August 2013
2  Thank Antonio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Traveling Mexico
By: Zdenko Kahlina

Puerto Angel Mexico – Defines the Beauty of Oaxaca!
While spending our vacation in the village of Santa Cruz, Huatulco, one day we decided to drive all the way to Puerto Angel, which was 52 km away, or just around 1 hour of driving.
Puerto Angel is located on the Pacific Coast of Mexico, in the state of Oaxaca. It is accessible via coastal highway 200 from Acapulco Gerrero and Puerto Escondido to the north-west and Huatulco to the south-east. From Pochutla it is only 7 km down the twisty road, towards the ocean. Puerto Angel is one of the more preferred destinations for tourists from all over the world. The rustic fishing village is located on the pacific coast of Oaxaca. They don’t have big hotels, only small B&B places…

Full review including the pictures can be found here:
http://zkahlina.ca/eng/2012/01/14/puerto-angel-oaxaca/

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Neno09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Nice hotel with lots of plants that give the walkways a jungle feel. The room was good sized and the bed was huge. Mouse poop collected outside our door each morning, but it was cleaned up when the housekeeper cleaned our room. The staff was friendly and willing to meet our needs. Nice warm pool in a pretty courtyard, and all you can drink purified water jug in the lobby nearby. The hotel is in very close proximity to the beach which is nice.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank senoritaellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We arrived late in the afternoon and the lady at reception was really friendly and accommodating. After checking out a few other places, we decided on this one. The pool is really nice, the balcony is great and you can pay for an air-conditioned room only if you choose to use it. It was pretty bright in the morning but good incentive to get up for an early swim. There was a funky smell want up from outside on the odd occasion but I'm not sure if it came from this hotel or somewhere else...shutting the balcony door worked. The room was really well ventilated and cooled with fly screens on the doors and windows to keep to mosquitoes out.
We only stayed a night and they lady at reception gave us a 50 peso discount without us even asking. Lovely!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sane_Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

This is a great little hotel. We had stayed here previously, but this was our first trip to Puerto Angel in over ten years. The town itself has become more rundown, and many of the other hotels in town were closed or looked considerably worse off than they used to. But very little had changed at Playa Panteon, the little beach at the far end of Puerto Angel where Hotel La Cabana is located. The hotel is still a basic but charming and well-kept place. It now has a nice little restaurant on the top floor (as well as a miniature swimming pool off the lobby that is pretty, but hardly necessary with the ocean steps away). The beach is nicer than the main beach for swimming, with several Palapa restaurants (the best being Restaurant Susy).

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

The Hotel La Cabana is a warm and welcoming small hotel just across the street from Playa Panteon (the beach). Owner Eugenia is a warm and welcoming host. Also on hand to take care of you is Anahi - very friendly and helpful. Bring your beginner Spanish along; you will need it. The rooms are clean and beds are firm but comfortable. All rooms have a private bathroom and air conditioning (extra). Some have small fridges. Fresh linens and towels daily. Laundry can be done for you. The paths between the rooms are lined with lush tropical vegetation. Two roof-top palapas make a pleasant retreat and offer a view of the beach and beyond. You can watch the fishing boats come and go, watch sea birds circle overhead and generally observe the day-to-day life of a small community. No need for an alarm clock - roosters are on the job early in the morning, but the crashing surf and the ceiling fan or the air conditioner will help you sleep peacefully. The price is right and the small pool is refreshing and clean in a shady nook opposite the reception area. There are four restaurants right across the street on the beach. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KEP98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Angel
2.5 mi away
Bahia de la Luna
Bahia de la Luna
#1 of 7 in Puerto Angel
317 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cordelias
Hotel Cordelias
#3 of 7 in Puerto Angel
50 reviews
97.6 mi away
Angel Del Mar
Angel Del Mar
#4 of 7 in Puerto Angel
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Posada Buena Vida
Posada Buena Vida
#3 of 6 in Zipolite
139 reviews
1.1 mi away
Posada Castillo Oasis
Posada Castillo Oasis
#4 of 6 in Zipolite
40 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Aamori Hotel
Casa Aamori Hotel
#1 of 4 in San Agustinillo
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cabana de Puerto Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cabana de Puerto Angel

Address: Playa Panteon at Calle Pedro Sainz de Barranda s/n, Puerto Angel 70902, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Angel
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Puerto Angel
Price Range: £30 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Cabana de Puerto Angel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Es un pequeño alojamiento tradicional, familiar con muchas plantas que le dan un ambiente natural, muy cerca del mar, con terraza muy amplia y vista panorámica higiénico, confortable, con skay en sus tvs. wi-fi en habitaciones, su arquitectura con toques coloniales y artesanales , una piscina con agua muy relajante por su temperatura. Ubicado en la playa panteón con sus aguas muy cristalinas que los mismos habitantes cuidamos para conservar su trasparencia. Con playas aledañas y fácil localización para que usted pueda tener una estancia inolvidable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Cabana de Puerto Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cabana De Puerto Angel Mexico - Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing