We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Will Return”
Review of Thalatta Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thalatta Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Zamboanguita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This place had excellent service, great food, comfortable clean rooms. big salt water pool, quiet location, romantic setting and close to town. Hot and cold showers , A/C in room. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

It was a nice one hour drive from the ferry terminal to the Thalatta Resort were we where awaited with a warm welcome. The room and attached bathroom where spacious and clean, in front of the room was a nice veranda with additional chairs. The breakfast in the morning was a feast with a beautiful view and a great breeze from the sea, it was also THE place for dining every night since the food was delicious. We booked one snorkeling trip to the Apo Island and where happy to be on their big diver’s boat since there was a lot of wind and the sea was rough. Unfortunately only a few turtles around and no clear visibility. A reasonable seized pool was good for a swim and some relaxation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank terbangbelanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed here for the second time recently and it was nice to be warmly greeted by all the staff members, who remembered us from our stay earlier in the year. Friends have told us the staff are mostly the same ones as when they first stayed, three years ago. This suggests the staff are good at what they do (so they've remained employed) and that they are happy and well looked after (so they've chosen to stay). It shows - everyone is cheerful, friendly, efficient and nothing is ever too much trouble.

The rooms are comfortable; not overly large but certainly not cramped, and each has its own private balcony which provides a nice sitting area. The grounds of this small resort are lovely and are well-tended. We really enjoyed the large pool, chilled out in the spa with a good massage, and we've spent many a happy sunset relaxing close to the sea wall, sipping one of the excellent sangrias from the open air bar.

The restaurant is open air too, and close to the sea - breakfast is included in the very reasonable room rate and it's good value and decent food. Given the location of the resort, we always just 'stay in' and eat here and we've enjoyed all our meals. The food is simple but well prepared - however, if you like your fish moist, it's worth asking for it to be 'lightly-cooked' or, in the case of tuna fillet, cooked rare; otherwise it can tend to be overcooked and on the dry side. The fish kinilaw (raw fish, marinated in vinegar and other goodies) is excellent, as is the sashimi plate. The wine list is varied and very good - and we haven't yet encountered the oft-heard 'Out of stock.' Prices for both the food and the wine are great value.

We've taken a couple of dive and snorkel trips and these are handled smoothly and efficiently and, with Thalatta facing Apo Island only 20 minutes away by boat, it's a top spot for both activities. It's not really a beach destination as the sea comes right into the small sea wall most of the time and the sand is black (which is actually rather attractive but not the 'picture-book' tropical island beach). However, with Apo close by and the chance to simply laze around the pool and the gardens, who needs a beach for every holiday?!!

Room Tip: If you're travelling with friends, ask for room Siquijor and the one next door (can't rememb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SisPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

I have spent 5 days at Thalatta Resort and fall in love with it. It has a very beautiful and well kept landscape, great salt water pool which is clean and good size. Most of the bungalows are surrounding the pool and with good view of both the sea and the pool. There are many trees around the pool which provides shades for the sun loungers.

The room facilities are adequate with well function air-con, cable TV with many good channels, WiFi, mini bar, nice size room and clean bathroom. The water pressure of the shower is good and I don't have problem with hot water supply.

This is the best place to stay if you want to dive Apo Island, it's right opposite and about 20-30 min by boat. I dive in Dauin for 1 day and 2 days at Apo. You can have the restaurant to prepare pack-lunch for u the night before. It's very good value and it's 3 course with salad, main and dessert with 2 soft drinks. Or you can have lunch on Apo Island which I did on my last day.

The Negros Diver is running the dive centre and is very organized. The dive equipments are in good condition and the dive guide Naudi is very pleasant and funny.

I dine every night in the Thalatta restaurant. The chief is excellent, I love all the dishes. I didn't feel bored eating here everyday. It's at very reasonable price.

I would love to come back again in near future.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uffizi930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

It is hard to come to a final judgement on this resort. There are plenty of really good things to comment on. The food in the restaurant is very well done and big portions. Considering you are a bit of a captive audience the prices are very reasonable. The view from the restaurant is great. The grounds are very attractive, and the salt water swimming pool is just totally wonderful. When you have come back from a day's diving, jumping in the pool and just lying in it and relaxing was one of the great joys of the holiday. Then there were lots of big sun loungers to fall back on and doze or read. The Wifi was fine, much better than expected in such an out of the way resort. It was quiet, which is great as when you are diving you go to bed early. I many ways this was perfect dive resort.

But there is a but. The room was large with a sizeable verandah, but the wardrobe was squeezed into the bathroom and difficult to get at. It only had four thin plastic hangers in it so it was difficult to get at your clothes and put them away as they were all hung together. There was a problem with hot water, which was run through an electric heat exchanger that did not work well, so we had to shower in tepid water; if you turned the flow down so the water became hot(ish) there was not enough power to get it into the shower, and if you turned it up to get a decent shower it ran cold. The bed (foam mattress) had seen better days and was not that comfortable. The towels could do with renewing. we were provided with soap, but no shampoo or shower gel. Although not necessary - and we always carry our own - you kind of expect this, even in basic accodation. The soap ran out during out stay and was not replaced. The TV was set up unnecessarily high, and had a lip on the shelf, which meant that you could not lie in the bed and use the remote, but had to stand up so the TV could see the remote signal. This is a minor point, but you realised that nobody in the resort had "tested" room.

The verandah did have a couple of big comfy chairs to sit in, and we hadn't sat in a comfy chair for some time. So another positive. The staff were helpful. When my wife developed a sore throat they offered and made her a hot honey and lemon drink.

With the above caveats I would recommend this resort, especially if you wish to dive Apo Island.
And if you go, make sure you go and snorkel with the whale sharks on Cebu Island.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Casterbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Positive aspects were the very nice saltwater pool and the walking distance to Dumaguete and the Wednesday Malatapay market. The market is well worth a visit, mainly before 8am as the livestock market closes then (which in my opinion is the most interesting part of the market). I would also recommend visiting the city of Dumuaguete (approx. 30 minutes by car) with its market, boulevard and excellent restaurants.

The feelings about the service quality are mixed. I was irritated by the kind of intercourse of the chef with its staff. The kitchen window was open and mainly during breakfast the rude tone was disturbing. I am aware that the “kitchen language” is special but as a guest I would not like to hear it. Furthermore, the restaurant staff looked not very motivated and there were one or two ladies whom I saw hardly smile during our 4 day stay.

While the surrounding was fine (pool, room, garden, etc.), service could be improved. All in all, the resort was unfortunately not able to keep up with the others we stayed in during our Philippines trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bkker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Do I sing the praises or keep this one the secret treasure it is?? We traveled as a small group of 5. The hotel was just great. The breakfast, included with the rooms, was more than enough and was always quiet nice. The lunch and dinners were well presented and spectacular in taste. Because it is a small resort, you will eat there many times. Between us, we had 40 different meals and no one was disappointed at any time. The restaurant staff certainly do a great job to prepare and present your meals. The rooms were clean and well kept. Everything was in working order. We walked to the Market. We took the boat to Apo Island. We walked along to the shore and spoke with some of the native islanders. After day one, we had already made the decision to return there for our next trip. It was that nice. The salt water pool is incredible. Some people have written it was too warm, but I'm thinking it was too right. Some have been bothered by the waves hitting the seawall. seriously? You wake up next to the ocean, the palms waving in the wind and the sea splashing the barrier between yourself and itself. it was truly amazing. Above all though, the staff...that is the key and they were spot on. beautiful smiles really exuded the feeling of the Philippines. thank you a thousand times over.

Room Tip: When you book your rooms, if you even remotely think the beautiful sound of the waves will bother yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank longlongwayfromhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zamboanguita
0 mi away
Acqua Dive
Acqua Dive
#1 of 4 in Zamboanguita
231 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort
7.6 mi away
Liquid Dumaguete
Liquid Dumaguete
#4 of 16 in Dauin
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Wellbeach Dive Resort
Wellbeach Dive Resort
#3 of 4 in Zamboanguita
73 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hotel Essencia
Hotel Essencia
#14 of 36 in Dumaguete City
320 reviews
6.5 mi away
Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thalatta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thalatta Resort

Address: Maluay, Zamboanguita, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6200, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City > Zamboanguita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Zamboanguita
Price Range: £48 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thalatta Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thalatta Beach & Dive Resort, a resort, hotel, restautant, located 25 kms from Dumaguete, in Maluay, close to Malatapay, Zamboanguita. We are facing Apo Island, one of the most famous diving spots in the Philippines. It only takes 15 minutes to Apo Island from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Ctrip TA so you can book your Thalatta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thalatta Hotel Zamboanguita
Thalatta Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing