We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place innovating in artificial reef”
Review of Thalatta Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thalatta Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Zamboanguita
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great place innovating in artificial reef”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I visited the place in July.
I had an amazing good time relaxing in the beautiful garden and enjoyed the Swiss Chef food every day.
My room was silent and very comfortable,only a few steps from the pool and the shore as well.
All the staff is welcoming and very happy to serve you in the best way.

I enjoyed my all my dives in Apo and Dauin, and would like to give a big applause to the dive center team.
Not only professional and enthusiastic team, they have built an artificial reef just in front of the resort.

The reef is cubic, made of concrete.
It sunks at -21 meters and is about 3m wide and 3m high.
Already quiet a few fishes, shrimps, ..., have made it their home place.

A very good idea, for the ecosystem point of view, and it adds interest to the already very interesting muck dive that is their house reef.

You can see pictures of the reef in Thalatta Resort Facebook's page.

Don't miss the opportunity to enjoy a good time, both under and above the surface, enjoy Thalatta

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bulleur f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    91
    13
    0
    2
See reviews for
43
106
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed here for maybe a week last year, and enjoyed it then. This year I stayed another week.

If you set aside the obvious pros, great and tranquil location for a low price, the one thing that needs to be mentioned is the food. Just EXCELLENT for the price compared to everything else I have ever tried in the Philippines. Not fancy but just always tasty and well prepared. I could seriously eat their food the rest of my life and be happy with it. Not to mention the prices are very affordable for the quality you get. I have never spoken to the chef but he seems French, and he obviously knows how to run a kitchen.

Also, last year i had some issues with their wifi. No problems at all this time around. maybe not the fastest but considering this is hardly metro manila, it exceeded my expectations and worked well.

The staff was great.
All of them friendly, helpful and attentive.
Bog improvement from last year when it was more "hit and miss".
I think I complained that time about this, and it seems they absolutely did something about it.

Come for the location and the great value. Stay for the food.

Room Tip: We have tried Zambales, Camiguin and Cebu. Cebu seemed more run down than the other two, especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Lovely resort with good food, friendly staff and clean rooms. Great pool. Free breakfast is a combination of buffet and 200 pesos from the menu - great idea and deal. View on Apo island
Sand beach is gone since 2012.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weiguoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davao City, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I had a great experience in this place. Their food was really good, very nice pool and accommodating people. So high five to this resort! Thanks a bunch to them that made my girlfriend so happy! Can't wait to go back in this place next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carl t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, KS
Level Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

As others have mentioned, cheap cold beer, no beach to speak of, very great employees, great food.
The resort caters to scuba divers and has a nice 2 boat setup. As a snorkeler, they tried to accomodate but over 2 trips it was not so good for me.
The Caron room was spotlessly clean with no bugs at all, the bathroom was very large and clean. The foam pad on my bed was adequate and as another noted, the minibar is full of cold beer at 60P.
The dive shop fellows were very nice and I picked up a 5 and 10 liter dry bag there. Good thing I did as the trip to shore from the boat to APO Island will soak all your things.
I spoke with the owner Patrick Hascoet and he has plans for a smaller boat to make beach based snorkeling more enjoyable in the future.
The food was great at the restaurant and as yet again, another reviewer pointed out that the food tends to be slightly overcooked unless you specify lightly cooked. Our marlin steaks and pork chops were overcooked as we failed to specify but still good. The filet beef steak was cooked perfectly at medium. The vegetable sides tend to be chayote and carrot mixtures, OK but bland.
The bread was outstanding! It is purchased every morning from The French Pantry in town and was great! Kudos to Patrick for knowing that sliced plain bread is not for foodies such as I.
The wine list was good, I ordered a few different bottles and they chill on request if it is not in the 2 seperate wine coolers already.
The Chefs spaghetti was worth noting, the carbonara has a packaged sauce, better to avoid that as I suppose heavy cream is impossible to find in the area.

Room Tip: Caron was nice for me. All room are just stepa away from bar and restaurant. I suggest buying a SIM...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azroxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Our holiday gateaway was indeed good, relaxing, and worth the long travel from cebu city. Resort staff is very much accomodationg, thrilling as it is we booked our room a night before amidst peak season...thanks to the guests who have shortened their stay...made our vacation to this resort possible. We are very happy with the service, staff are very friendly...its very natural for them to greet every guest they meet, even kuya gardener will give a smile and greet us good day. Enjoyed the children caroling as well.

Majority of the guests are foreigners with their families. Very friendly at that. During the day they will go for activities outside the resort and yes the place is very peaceful and soooo relaxing. Food is just and reasonable.

Wanted to try the chinese suction cups massage but to no avail...learned from the therapist it should be prepared ahead and no more time to prepare it, tried the combi massage instead.

Overall experience is great and wished to visit sometime again soon to experience what we've missed: the wednesday malatapay market and the apo island adventure (:_;)

Room Tip: dont go for rooms nearest to the restaurant. the sheets, curtains are old. aircon not functioning we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga
Level Contributor
473 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We went here after having spent 15 days at Takatuka lodge, we wanted to see Apo Island. This Resort is facing Apo Island.
The welcome in the reception was friendly and Pro
Our room was clean and the bathroom and the facilities just ok
The pool is very nice
The minibar in the room has very fair prices
The laundry service is god
The staff are very nice all over the Resort.
The restaurant:
Breakfast is included and you have a Continental buffet and then just choose whatever extra you want from the breakfast menu max. 200 pesos pr. person - that's nice, but when you order bacon, be aware it has been in the deep frier. When you order cheese, you will get a piece of so called cheddar, the kind you buy plastic wrapped for burgers. Not the standard it should be with a French/Swiss chef!

The restaurant has an open kitchen, which normally is nice, but when you arrive for dinner and pass the open Windows to the kitchen the only thing you smell is the deep frier and that is not very nice and absolutely NOT french cuisine. If you can forget about that, the food is quite ok.

They have a large wine list with good french wines at fair prices, the only problem is that the wine we ordered was never in the wine-fridge. If we were lucky, we got our 2. choice but normally our 3.

We never saw the famous French/Swiss chef, he never came and asked his customer if they liked his food!

All in all quite average but okay. What was missing was a more warm and cozy atmosphere. The polite staff were there all the time, but no management.

And in the afternoon the pool turns to be a public pool, because of a lot of one day guests with A LOT of children.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonaMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zamboanguita
5.8 mi away
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Acqua Dive
Acqua Dive
#1 of 3 in Zamboanguita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
7.6 mi away
Liquid Dumaguete
Liquid Dumaguete
#5 of 15 in Dauin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Wellbeach Dive Resort
Wellbeach Dive Resort
#3 of 3 in Zamboanguita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
3.1 mi away
Atmosphere Resort
Atmosphere Resort
#2 of 15 in Dauin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sea Dream Resorts
Sea Dream Resorts
#6 of 15 in Dauin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thalatta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thalatta Resort

Property: Thalatta Resort
Address: Maluay, Zamboanguita, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6200, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City > Zamboanguita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Zamboanguita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thalatta Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thalatta Beach & Dive Resort, a resort, hotel, restautant, located 25 kms from Dumaguete, in Maluay, close to Malatapay, Zamboanguita. We are facing Apo Island, one of the most famous diving spots in the Philippines. It only takes 15 minutes to Apo Island from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Thalatta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thalatta Hotel Zamboanguita
Thalatta Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing