We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“STELLAR.”

Anthropology Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$137.99*
and up
Xalapa and Coatepec Day Trip from Veracruz Including Anthropology and Coffee...
Ranked #1 of 32 things to do in Xalapa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This top-notch anthropology museum displays the diversity of Mexican cultures.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“STELLAR.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

This museum is superb. It is one of the finest anthropology museums in Mexico, a country full of museums.
My only real complaint is that they don't allow DSLR cameras, only the small pocket digital cameras.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CW P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    57
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuernavaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Simply fantastic museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The Anthropology Museum in Xalapa is simply spectacular. Although it is located a bit outside the main town it is well worth the effort. Not only is the building itself a fantastic structure but it has wonderful gardens and even more impressive archeological holdings. Be prepared for a visit of 2-3 hours I would say! I think more than anything I was impressed by the relationship between the design of the building and the exhibits. The building flows downhill rather like a waterfall and at each level one encounters cultural riches that simply take your breath away. Perhaps the most spectacular are the giant heads but there is so much here to engage with. I would say at least two visits are need to really appreciate what is on offer.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ubernaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Santa Fe, California
Level Contributor
485 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Worlds Heritage, Unique Aztec & Mayan Collection !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

This museum was built in the 60s, amazing architecture holds World best Aztec and Mayan collections. The original Stone Aztec calendar is one of the highlights as well as the Big Toltec Heads. Just Amazing !!!!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertoMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I had read and been told how good this museum was so I had to visit. It's a little bit out of the centre but its easy to get a bus, and my bus driver showed me where to get off. The exhibits are awe inspiring (showing excellent examples of all pre-Hispanic cultures), the layout is excellent, and the setting is beautiful. I spent about 3hrs having a good look around. M$50 entry, you must got if you are anywhere near Xalapa.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tequila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xalapa, Veracruz
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of the best museums in North America”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Since I have lived in Xalapa for the last 42 years, I remember what the Anthropology Museum was like about 25 years ago. The display rooms where similar to the metal grain silos of western Kansas where I grew up. The lighting was terrible, just everything was terrible. But today's museum rivals of the worlds best in content and museography. Do not miss the opportunity of at least a 3 or 4 hour visit to see part of the incredible artifacts presented in this outstanding architectural masterpiece. I have literally been to the museum dozens of times, and each time I go I encounter something "new" and different.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jalaparoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anthropology Museum also viewed

 

Been to Anthropology Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing