We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bugs Bite”
Review of HB Hoteles Xalapa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
HB Hoteles Xalapa
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Xalapa
Reviewed 15 August 2010

This hotel reminded me of a Holiday Inn. It looked looked like a safe bet, It wasn't.

Our trip to Xalapa would come to a foul end in this hotel. By the second day, my Mexican wife was complaining of insect bites. She thought they were mosquitoes from dinning outdoors. By the third night, she was in distress while I had yet to be bitten, but it was obvious the problem was in the room.

It seemed clean and tidy, but was infested with bedbugs or perhaps fleas. We never learned which. We immediately packed and asked to see the manager.
We were amazed to learn he knew of the problem. He said that rooms in the hotel were being fumigated by the best firm in the city, but he offered nothing to compensate our misery. He put the fumigator on the phone to speak to Patricia who told her all pests had, in fact, been eliminated and demanded to see her bites if we could wait an hour for him to arrive.
We were in no mood for such rubbish. We presented the manager with squished corpses of the pests to show whomever and departed. Thye Manager offerred nothing in the way of compensation and very little sympathy. We seemed to be just another victim, altho able to comunicate our displeasure in Spanish.

Little did we know we were transporting the critters in our suitcases and they would later setup shop in our home. I only got bites, but Patricia contracted <i>Proteus OX-19,</i> typhoid like disease,.

If you must stay in this hotel, first ask if ask if the bed bug problem has been fixed.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dmexAjijic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2010

This is a new hotel in Jalapa (or Xalapa). It is clean. Rooms are big and nicely (though anynomous) decorated. A business style hotel with a good price.

Our room had 2 beds. As Mexicans seem to like small beds, you could sleep with 4. But I found them more for 1.5 person then for 2, so I would only see it more as a 2 person room.

Bathroom is clean and has a bath (where you can shower). Good quality for the price.

We ate in the room, using room service. The food could have been better.

The biggest downside (as in a lot of Mexican hotels that focus on Mexicans and not on international visitors) is that the bed is soo hard, you wake up and feel tired.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DutchyCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones son totalmente comodas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tavizg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Bogart_Torres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Gerardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Rooms near the walls are noisy. Rooms in the center of the building are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rodo_gon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xalapa hotels
1.2 mi away
Fiesta Inn Xalapa
Fiesta Inn Xalapa
#1 of 26 in Xalapa
465 reviews
1 mi away
Mision Xalapa Plaza de las Convenciones
1.3 mi away
One Xalapa Las Animas
One Xalapa Las Animas
#2 of 26 in Xalapa
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
City Express Xalapa
City Express Xalapa
#9 of 26 in Xalapa
28 reviews
3.2 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Americana Xalapa Nubara
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Xalapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HB Hoteles Xalapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HB Hoteles Xalapa

Address: Avenida Lazaro Cardenas No. 9 | Fraccionamiento Las Animas, Xalapa 91190, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Veracruz > Xalapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Xalapa
Price Range: £30 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HB Hoteles Xalapa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your HB Hoteles Xalapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing