We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place to stay in veracruz”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Camino Real Veracruz
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Boca del Rio
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
141 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“best place to stay in veracruz”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

good value for the price, great location. but yes, if you are looking for the beach, this may be your best place, but Veracruz is awful for beaches. Choose a suite, you'll be much happier.

Room Tip: choose the junior o master suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celta r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    87
    50
    29
    22
See reviews for
104
47
4
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingwood, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

Nice hotel and nice staff but some things not quite right to consider this a 4 star. Hotel linens are not high quality, very rough. Bed is super hard and I woke every day feeling uncomfortable. Only providing bath towels, no face or hand towels unless you call and ask. Then you get something that looks like is came from a kitchen. Property maintained is ok. Sheet and towels are not changed unless you ask. Even if you put on the floor they will fold them and put them back. Phone system is horrible, cut off and switched around when calling for services at the hotel. The best thing --- the staff are very nice and will accomodate as much as possible. No microwave, no coffee or tea pot in the room was a big inconvenience. The food is so-so, not too bad and not too good. IN all a 2 to 3 star experince.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor they have a larger balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank houstonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
222 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

I was in a bussiness trip, and el Camino Real is close to the WTC and close to the Villa Rica Restaurant. I always enjoy staying at Camino Real Hotels

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranciscoKuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
315 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Spent three nights at this hotel while in Veracruz giving lectures at a medical convention. The hotel was clean and safe and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Don't expect as much English as you might in more popular resort locations like Cancun, Cabos, or Puerto Vallarta. You WILL need to exchange some $$ as the local establishments are not equipped to take US $$ and some do not take credit cards. Glad I did it at the airport as the hotel NEVER had cash to exchange for me for any day I was there! The hotel is showing signs of wear and tear, but the accommodations are comfortable and adequate. The "balconies" are token at best. Not enough room to put a chair outside to sit, but you can stand on the balcony and look out over the pool and beach. The pool is nice and well maintained. There is a pool bar but I never saw it open. There is 1 restaurant. Decent food, slow service, limited menu. A few excellent restaurants nearby (short walk or quick cab ride). The beach is NOT white sand. It is sort of a "muddy" sand mix, and hard packed. The water looks murky because of the brown muddy sand, but it is actually pretty clear. Gentle waves to calm waters. Walking up and down the beach in the early morning seems to be a popular local activity. Lots of people and their dogs walking up and down this beach area. All very friendly with greetings as you pass by. All in all, this was a decent hotel. Served its purpose well for a business trip (near the convention center). But I would not choose it for a vacation trip. Pretty far from downtown and historical area, and really not much to do or see. But I guess if you were looking for a fun and exciting beach vacation in Mexico, you probably would not be coming to Veracruz anyway (or at least shouldn't be).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlagyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuautla, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

We are here now. Checked in yesterday and the girl that checked us in hardly said Hi much less "welcome"...she asked me to sign a piece of paper verifying how many people were in our party and our type of room and gave us a key....gave us NO information on ANYTHING, how to connect to internet, where to get ice, how to use the lock box inside, nothing about how to use the locked refrig in the room...NOTHING.......the bell boy told us more than she did......then today, we went out to the pool all day and the service was CRAP....we ordered drinks and 45 min later, we got them...then we finally got someone to bring us a menu..we ordered and 45 min we got our food. Our 5 year old got a hot dog .....it came plain so we asked for ketchep.....they NEVER brought it....and they never asked us if we needed anything to drink with our meal.....terrible terrible service by the pool........the room was good and we actually had a good view of the beach....but like I said...the poolside and check in service of this hotel would make me choose another hotel next time we come....

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueblane49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Boca del Rio hotels

Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

Camino real is a luxury chain, so you'll get what you expected. It is a ocean front property with swimming pool, nice rooms and nice staff. it's a great choice if you are traveling with kids, however it's kind of far from the Historic Center.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j_traveller2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2009

My family and I stayed for two nights during a Mexican long weekend so the hotel was 100% full. The hotel is well situated, with direct access to the beach, and about 10 minutes south of downtown Veracruz, or about 5 minutes north of Boca del Rio. It's a relatively new hotel, and the pool would be one of the best features, being large, and basically right on the beach. Every room has an ocean view. However, when we booked no one told us that there are rooms at the end of each hallway with better balconies - there was no attempt to upgrade us to a better room on the phone when we made the reservation.

The major lack service we had was that our room was not cleaned until about 5 or 6 pm on the day we were there, even though we had left the sign on the door at 9am asking for the room to be made up. We called housekeeping and asked at the front desk before the room was finally cleaned.

Another suggestion would be for the hotel to install ice machines on each floor. Hard to believe that one is paying about MXP$1700 per night for a beach hotel in a warm climate and there is no ice machine on each floor. To get ice, one must go down to the bar on the main floor and ask for it. Both times I went took about 10 minutes, as there was no one at the bar either time. There's an ice bucket in every room, but no convenient way to get ice.

Kudos to Marconi, the bellhop. We asked for a folding bed to be brought to our room, and he ensured it happened promptly, and stopped me in the lobby the next day to check and ensure everything was alright. He was the only staff member that really made us feel special during our stay.

All in all, we would probably go back, but after having stayed at the Holiday Inn in Boca del Rio, I can't say the Camino Real is worth the extra 700 or so pesos per night.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberta177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boca del Rio
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boca del Rio Veracruz
0.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Veracruz
Fiesta Americana Veracruz
#2 of 80 in Veracruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Veracruz-Boca Del Rio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Emporio Veracruz
Emporio Veracruz
#1 of 80 in Veracruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fiesta Inn Veracruz Boca del Rio
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Veracruz-Boca del Rio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Veracruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Veracruz

Property: Camino Real Veracruz
Address: Boulevard Manuel Avila Camacho 3650 | Fracc. Costa de Oro Zona Hotelera, Boca del Rio 94299, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Veracruz > Boca del Rio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Boca del Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camino Real Veracruz 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camino Real Veracruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Veracruz Hotel Boca Del Rio
Camino Real Hotel Veracruz
Camino Real Veracruz Boca Del Rio, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing