We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ClubHotel Riu Jalisco
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Riu Vallarta(Nuevo Vallarta)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Zar Nuevo Vallarta(Nuevo Vallarta)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Marival Residences Luxury Resort(Nuevo Vallarta)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,732)
Filter reviews
4,732 results
Traveller rating
1,324
1,715
847
486
360
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,324
1,715
847
486
360
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadult poolla botanadon emilianoswim up barmusty smellsunwing repasian restaurantbeach restaurantbuffet stylefamily poolpalm treespushed togetherliquor dispensermain buffettowel animalsother resortsevery other day
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,628 - 1,633 of 4,732 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We had stayed at the Riu Jalisco twice before and were looking forward to this visit after the renovations but were very disappointed. We were there Nov 15- Nov 29. The hotel is very fancy and looks like any other high end hotel, but it lacks the charm and warmth of Mexico that it had before. The food was not as good when comparing it to past visits. The Steak House used to serve actual steaks and they were great....now they serve a thin piece of beef like every other resort. The Buffet ran out of food after an hour, whether it was breakfast or supper, and the items were not always replenished. The same problem existed in the Steak House buffet at noon. The nice touches like fruit and vegetable carvings do not exist any longer. There were no cooking stations outside of the Buffet like in the past (tacos/steaks), and no entertainment in the Buffet area as in previous visits. There was no "beach bar" set up on the beach and no beach movies ...all little things that brought us here the first time. The pool was a disaster, literally filled with kids jumping in, flotation devices/beach balls, and mothers changing dirty diapers at the edge of the pool.....and our complaints were ignored. A lot of adults actually moved to the children's pool as it was quieter. Worst of all was having a mother change a dirty diaper on the table beside you in the Buffet restaurant. So yes, it looks nice and if you haven't been here before you may think it is good but if you have been here before, you will miss what made the Riu Jalisco great in the past.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank TOG46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This was a great resort there was construction going on next door but it did not affect the resort staff great food great resort clean everything was good . The pacific coast is nice but nothing beat the Yucatan side of mexico ... This is a older trip review but still a good one

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Lovely resort, well taken care of. Everything was clean! The gardens, pools, fountain, etc. - very obvious that the resort takes pride in its property. Food was good. We ate at the buffets and at the restuarant(s). Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Gracie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Just stayed at the Riu Jalisco since it reopened after its renovations. These renovations make the Jalisco look like a high end hotel anywhere in America. The lobby is beautiful now boasts two concierge desks. The rooms are contemporary and have new flat screen TV's, comfortable beds and electronic room cards and safes. However I am very disappointed that the gazebo in the central courtyard has been removed. That had been the heart of the hotel which hosted numerous weddings and photo opportunities.
The food offerings in the buffet restaurants are consistently good and try to offer different menu offerings every day. The Botana (beach) restaurant now has the buffet area enclosed in glass to prevent the birds from getting into the food on the buffet. The specialty restaurants are still the Asian and Steakhouse, however the Brazilian has been revised to Italian.
The pool area has been renovated near the bar area and some trees have been removed to allow for the area to be brighter. Additionally, there has been a new restroom constructed near the pool area. Many areas are still getting minor completions, but overall the noticeable areas of the hotel are amazing!
The star quality of the hotel remains to be the staff. These people are still amazing in every way! They are always courteous and willing to offer assistance wherever possible.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank pv-riu-fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This was the Boys trip and we all had a great time. It rained Friday evening and through the night and likely till about 10 am on Saturday and then out came the sun. The resort was very nice everything looked new. The food here was very good we only ate at the buffet. We were too busy soaking up the sun and dark cerveza at the swim up bar. The staff were very friendly and we got to know a few of them. I think a few may remember us, We ate to much and always tipped. We are so lucky to be able to afford to travel to resorts and enjoy the hospitality of the wonderful staff. They work very hard for very little and tips are very much appreciated. We leave a tip every morning for the maid and our room was always clean and fresh. Some of the renovations were not finished but nothing that took away from our trip. The air conditioning had issues starting on Wed night and through our last night Thursday so not as good a sleep as we could have had, 25+ in the room Friday morning. I would also recommend that you stay out of the ocean (Red Flag) as quite a number of people were getting stung by stingrays including my self, quite painful. At leased 4 stung from our resort the morning I got stung and more every day and also from the Riu Vallarta just down the beach. Thanks to everyone for making our trip to the sun very enjoyable. See you next year. Oh I almost forgot a special thanks to our wives that let us out to play in the sun without them, we are truly blessed.

Room Tip: If possible ask them for a room a few floors up and facing the court yard. Mosquito's were an issue mostly on the ground level. We have never had an issue with Mosquito's on any previous trips so we had no bug spray but we will pack some next trip.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank JimMo1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews