We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience at Occidental All Inclusive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experience at Occidental All Inclusive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We very much enjoyed our experience at Occidental. It has been newly renovated, and while not quite as posh as the Occidental at Punta Cana, it was very nice. The main restaurant had very good food, while the "reservation only" restaurants were wonderful. We went as a part of their vacation club at the Royal level, and the service was beyond amazing!! I felt the excursions offered at the hotel were a bit over priced, but had no trouble at all scheduling with off resort companies. There is a bus stop immediately in front of the hotel, and taxis always waiting. We especially enjoyed the bar on the beach and the outdoor HUGE hot tub (it gets chilly there at night!!) The entertainers were very good, unfortunately crowd participation wasn't, so they had to work very hard. We felt all the staff worked very hard to accommodate our every want. Remember this is the pacific...the water is cold!! but on a hot day, it feels divine! Boogie boarding, and windsurfing were the best! And free rental from the resort. And here is a shout out to Chef Jordy in the Royal dining room!! He was SIMPLY the BEST!!
We loved the volleyball, and took long beach walks every day. Occidental is next door to the hotel that has tigers, so we got to go see them. We also participated in a baby turtle release further down the beach! Awesome!!

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to Royal, I would highly recommend it. We were on the next to top floor, very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,295
    906
    285
    105
    76
See reviews for
865
1,199
53
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (883)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at the Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta a few weeks back and have to say, it was one of the best Mexican vacations I have ever taken.
The newly re-modeled Occidental Grand is beautiful with its "open air" feel you get from the moment you arrive at the lobby. The rooms are spacious with luxury bathrooms and showers, large safe, tons of closet space and drawers, comfortable beds and plush towels.
The buffet felt more like restaurant, than other all-inclusive properties that I have stayed at in the past. The food was fresh and the service was exceptional and very attentive. I absolutely loved the fresh salsa and guacamole they made every day.
Throughout my whole week there, the one thing that sticks out in my mind about the Occidental
Grand is the SERVICE. The service that was provided was incredible, and it started right from the top by the General Manager, Jesus Aguirre. He welcomed his guests with his personal cocktail party and introductions by the pool. As Jesus said, "if anything wasn't right, then please let us know". He truly cares that your vacation is great and makes it clear that they are here to make your vacation memorable, and memorable it was!!
Extra thanks have to go out to Iris, our room attendant who was amazing. She cleaned our room consistently and always with a smile. Also to Sandra, who served the drinks around the pool and the beach section in Royal Club. Special thanks to Jorge with his knowledge and customer service at the bell desk and also a very special thanks to the Royal Club girls, Gabriella, Yasmin and Sole. They were exceptional at making our stay comfortable. Also at the Royal Club, Ulysseas, Carlos, Eric and Daniel and the great chef who made us all gain 10 pounds, muchas gracias for all your help.
One last comment, at night the hotel brings in special vendors to sell reputable jewellery and crafts, which are not necessarily available, beachside during the day. We bought 6 painted tiles by this 16 year old artist Juan Jose who is so talented. If you get a chance, go meet his family and watch him paint these tiles, as he paints them with his small finger nail. His process is incredible and it's always nice to see emerging talent, from such a nice young man.
Looking forward to going back in October
JS & AT

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlisonTJerryS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crescent City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

I am a Travel Agent and I recently went to the Occidental Grand NV to see the updates that they had done on the property making it a Grand catagory now. It was very nicely done and the staff was so friendly. We stayed in the Royal Club, which does give you lots of extra bennifits, like eating in the specialty resturants every night, room service, and private beach area with cabanas. We were in a 1 bedroom suite which was beautiful. The bathroom was amazing. At one end was a seperate dressing area and the other was a glassed in room with a big walkin shower and seperate bathtub. In the middle was a long vanity with 1 sink but lots of room. The toilet was in a seperate room also for privacy. The only thing that I could find that needed to be changed was the lighting over the vanity. It was very dim, almost impossible to put on make up in there. I had to take my mirror to the dinning room table to do it. It wasn't so bad since the view from there was amazing! The furniture through out the unit was very classy, beds were good. Rooms had safe, and small refridge which is always a plus for me. I did a hotel tour while there and did see all the units, so if you are going on a budget and can't afford the Royal Club the satandard units are very nice also. Same furnishings just smaller units. The food was good, and good varity. We had room service on our first night since we had a long travel day. It was very good, and fast. We also ate at both specialty resturants while there and both were exceptional. The Italian was my favorite, beautiful decor. Very romantic setting. We went for our Anniversary and the staff made it very memorable creating us an anniversary dessert. The beach is a beauitful wide sandy beach with lots of chairs and palapas for shade. The beach bar is close by for a cold one, what more can you ask for. I would absolutly stay there again. We had such a nice time we plan on going to other Occidental properties in different locations.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank islandtrvl6490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed for week just last week for the 5th time since 1998, and the improvements have really updated and brought this resort to a higher standard for sure. For the most part staff were going out of their way to make our stay comfortable and memorable.
Bonus - Reasonablly priced opportunity to up-grade, but it may not be necessary if you do not spend allot of time in your room. We met many folks who did not and were having a great vacation.
Buffet - many choices, and fresh food for sure ***with lactose free and soy milk as well as gluten free options!! Do no worry if you cannot get into the al a carte as the best views are from the buffet - sunset, plaza where local artisans present and the entertainment.
Royal Club - the upgrade was paid at the resort and gave us additional options for more comfort and a higher level of service including room service, conceirge, private al a carte, but all beach and pool comforts remain the same. Tipping may be optional but is very appreciated by the kind staff. What goes around - comes around for sure.
Beverages were great and of quality at the bars and night lounge.
The resort has not competed all renovations, but I antisipate more good things to come! I will return to Occidental in Nuevo.
Email me with any questions.....

Room Tip: Upgrades are availabe and reasonable in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luv2fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a week.It was really great.We don't normally do all inclusive, but enjoyed the food and drinks which were available all day.We had a nice meal in the Italian restaurant and were offered another in the Mexican.The rest are served in the buffet where there was lots of choice.The beach was sandy and very clean.There were plenty of sun beds. All of the staff were excellent and made you feel very welcome.You are 'offered ' a time share pitch but can refuse.It takes about an hour and a half and you are 'rewarded ' with a free day trip or gift.It's worth mentioning that you are offered a courtesy room at the end of your stay for later flights.If you opt to keep your room -as we did- the charge is $55 us.The other charge here is for internet which costs $10 a day.
The rooms all have televisions.
We would do this holiday again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amblesidebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel for four nights all-inclusive. I usually do not do all-inclusive but I enjoyed their food. We found out though that during our short stay we were only able to enjoy the on-site restaurant twice due to hotel restrictions. The first night we were unable to get a reservation at either restaurant due to no availability. There is a specific short window of time daily in which they take reservations for that evening, we found this to be inconvenient. Your only other option is to eat at the buffet for dinner or go off premises. The food at the buffet was very good for the most part but no comparison to the dining experience at the restaurants which were quite good.

I have stayed in this area before and prefer to be closer to Bucarios and love Punta de Mita. Shopping at the mall here is a benefit as well as the location to sport fishing but I have decided not to return to this area again. I have stayed at Paradise Village located down the street on two other occasions. Very noisy now but great for kids and I always enjoyed their wonderful spa. I did not like the fact that the pool closes at 8pm as do most of these hotels and that there is no jacuzzi. The jacuzzi they do have is used only if you are a "Club" member. I would highly recommend that you pay for this upgrade when you make your reservation. This entitles you to exclusive use of a private room with bartender, Internet, snacks, lounge chairs, books and a restroom. In the evening you can play cards with your friends or lounge in this quiet, nice air-conditioned room. If it weren't for that upgrade I would not have liked it here nearly as much.

For all of you tourists that are afraid to travel in Mexico that's great for us that know better and you can travel elsewhere. I feel safer there than walking the streets of my neighboring town or anywhere in LA. I would live there seasonally in a heartbeat. Puerta Vallarta is one of my all time favorite destinations along with Playa del Carmen, Punta de Mita and anywhere in the West Indies. Bon Voyage!

Room Tip: Downstairs equals smokers due to only rooms with a patio. The smoke from one room seeps through the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

We just returned from a Sunquest sell off vacation and we just need to write a quick review. Front desk check in was quick and efficient. Food was very good and service was excellent! Bar staff was great.
And the nice young lady who served refreshments pool side is an asset to the Hotel.

Would stay again. Do not care for the Time Share pitches. The Hotel need to replace the pillows.

Room Tip: Beds are very firm, pillows ...not so good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
6.3 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#41 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#8 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,613 reviews
2.1 mi away
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
#20 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

Property: Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Address: Paseo de los Cocoteros No. 18 | Villa 8 Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Occidental Nuevo Vallarta)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta is the ideal hotel for families, couples, and friends looking to enjoy a fun vacation on the Pacific shores of Mexico. Recently renovated, Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta has been updated with the latest modern amenities and technology to ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel is situated on one of the most beautiful beaches in the Riviera Nayarit, minutes from the Nuevo Vallarta shopping center and the best stores and restaurants in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Barcelo so you can book your Occidental Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Allegro Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Nuevo Vallarta Occidental Allegro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing