We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was a great week” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It was a great week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

travel dates: Jan 20-27 2014 (grand concierge deluxe room) 6th floor-ocean view

Every reviewer has a different opinion depending on what they are looking for and past experience but I had a great week!

Weather: Was great the whole week, no rain, warm weather, breeze

Staff: Very friendly and definitely did their utmost to help in whatever way they could. Easy check-in, check-out, no long line-ups. Easy to reserve a la carte.

Beach: sandy, very long going north so that you can walk/run along the beach. The waves were moderate at the beginning of the week, strong and powerful near the end of the week. (It could knock you down if you weren't careful). No algae. Can't snorkel.

It was always fairly easy to find beach chairs in the shade although some people are disrespectful and save chairs when they aren't even there. Some chairs/beds were separated by rope and reserved for Royal Club members only. Vendors would come by often but never harassed anyone -simply say "no gracias".

Pools: didn't spend much time in the pools but there are 3, one very shallow for the kids, one for adults only and a third one for everyone to enjoy. Water was warm.

Food: Buffet had many different options, some things did come back of course but I was very happy to have guacamole at 95% of all lunches and dinners... and there was always bacon for breakfast. Considering it is a slightly smaller hotel some of the dishes seemed to dry out a bit on the hot plates but it was a minor issue. (food did NOT make us "sick") No line-ups. If you can't find something to eat you are too picky!

Dining room: Loved that it was open to the outdoors. Yes there were a few birds once in a while but the waiters were quick to clear the plates once you were done to avoid too many problems.

Room: Spacious and very clean. No balcony but you can open the window and there is a screen so that bugs don't come in. Mini fridge was re-stocked daily. (water, beer, pop)
Small drawers in bathroom are perfect to put away toiletries. A small clothesline in the shower allowed you to dry your bathing suits. Towels were always replaced. Mattresses were very comfortable. Pillows were always put back on the same bed.

Activities: Didn't participate in many but there seemed to always be something going on. Took a bike tour to a nearby zoo and nearby dolphin/activity center.

Other:
- Resort small - easy walk to dining room and beach
- You can get free wifi from the mall across the street. (there is also a Starbucks, McDonalds, Subway and small grocery store)
- Walk north on beach approx 10 minutes to see/participate in turtle send offs at 18:30 (seasonal)
- Bring ear plugs if you want to sleep with the window open (disco 23:00 - 01:00)
- Was never bothered about timeshare
- Medical center across the street (with dialysis capabilities)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,301
    910
    287
    105
    76
See reviews for
867
1,207
53
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (888)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We have stayed at many hotels in Puerto Vallarta and Nuevo Vallarta. This is the second year in a row for us to stay at Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta. First of all, this is a smaller property than the mega resorts of some hotels. This adds to its charm and friendliness and in addition, all the amenities you expect are provided. The beaches are great. There are plenty of palapas and chairs and the beach is clean and chairs organized and ready for each day. The food is great and we tend to stick to the buffet rather than the restaurants as we like the wide selection provided by the buffet. Without question, the biggest asset of any hotel is the staff and the services that the staff provide. The staff at the Occidental Grand is exceptional. Never did we not get immediate attention to any concern or desire we had. Everyone was friendly, cooperative and genuinely concerned with our requests whatever they were.
Upon our arrival, Carlos made sure we had a room which we liked. In fact, he contacted the front desk when we requested a different room and made arrangements for us to move to another room which was more secluded. The staff at the buffet always made certain that we had a table we liked and went out of their way to serve us. Of particular note were, Samuel, Jair and Erik. All three made sure we were served well. In fact, we noticed Erik was helping hotel guests at the buffet even though the table may not have been his responsibility. Just another indication that the staff in general wanted to make sure the guests were getting what they wanted.
We stayed on the fifth floor of the hotel and our maid was Carmen. She was fantastic and each evening when we arrived back at our room, it was like walking into a five star accommodation. We never had to ask for anything as all supplies were always there in abundant quantities. Carmen was pleasant and went the extra mile to make sure the room was clean, supplied and ready for our return.
All in all, you can stay at larger hotels and if this is your thing, you should do it. We have stayed at much larger hotels and never have we encountered a better more competent staff than the staff at Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico. We will definitely be back again.

Your friends from Dana Point, Orange County, Ca

Room Tip: Away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel from January 9 to January 16th. 2014. This is the first time at this hotel, but we stayed before at another 4 stars hotel. The Occidental is very good, despite the lack of balconies at the rooms. Service was excellent at the Buffet. We like to mention Javier at the dinner time, and Erik at breakfast as well as all the other waiters who were happy to serve us and made sure we had everything we needed at the table. Food was very good at the Buffet and we did not need to go to a la carte restaurants. The area, called Paradise Village is very nice and safe.
We recommend this hotel as well as the staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thierry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one week Jan 5th. We had a wonderful time. When we arrived were told to check in up on the 7th floor (First Club)-Service up there was fantastic.
We arrived early and was not able to check in right away-we went off for a bite to eat and returned one hour later to find our room ready! Fantastic news~ Our bags were delivered as we went off to the room. Service was absolutley amazing!
The food at both rest were lovley- as well as the buffet & snack bar. Much better than our first week at the other resort we were at.
Housekeeping service was over the top. Carmen was Fantastic, after each day of returning from the beach or pool was a lovely towel animal made up.
Benjamin & Juan-Carlos at the Bar were always happy to see us, very welcoming and had our drinks ready as we sat down.
The young man doing the night entertainment was so much fun! We went to almost every show/event and had great laughs! Kepp up the great work!
Roberto was also very nice- we booked our tours through him & he was fantastic. Thank you ever so much.
The only downfall would be the amount of ppl asking us about time shares- we were even told by one guy that the girl could lose her job. I didnt appreciate the guilt trip!
All in all is was wonderful we are already looking at returning on Dec 14 of this year- Keep up the fab service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joliette, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We are thankful for all the staff and we want to said a special mention on Luz. We ate as much as never so good, the drink was eccelente and the pool is so relaxing. We loved our travel and we will recommand it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smoky Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

This resort is a gem! It is a smaller hotel (291 rooms) so it is great for the elderly, disabled or people who want that one-on-one contact with the staff! The food is great & always a wide variety of choices. The adult pool is new and awesome!!! This hotel is close to a small mall + laundromat. We would definitely recommend this resort!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OIAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

The waiter named Gustavo was a wonderful waiter. He was always cheery and energetic, and he always guided us to a table with a smile and no problems. The bartenders named Benjamin and Edwardo were always helpful and we never waited too long in line. Very happy with the service. The Fun Club was a good experience for the kids, the lady named Luz was always there for us, always try to get the kids involved in the activities. Because of those people, we had a very good time. The rest of the guys were just average.

Room Tip: Every room is very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
6.3 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#41 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
2.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
0.5 mi away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#8 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,629 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
#20 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

Property: Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Address: Paseo de los Cocoteros No. 18 | Villa 8 Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Occidental Nuevo Vallarta)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta is the ideal hotel for families, couples, and friends looking to enjoy a fun vacation on the Pacific shores of Mexico. Recently renovated, Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta has been updated with the latest modern amenities and technology to ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel is situated on one of the most beautiful beaches in the Riviera Nayarit, minutes from the Nuevo Vallarta shopping center and the best stores and restaurants in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Barcelo so you can book your Occidental Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Allegro Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Nuevo Vallarta Occidental Allegro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing