We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff, memorable experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

First things first - amazing staff all around! Each and every one of them worked SO hard. We were thoroughly impressed throughout our 2 week vacation with the staff/service, restaurants, beach, location and more.We were also upgraded to an ocean view room which was much appreciated. Idaly Hernandez was always available to assist with any and all requests - always with a smile on her face and with such charm and professionalism - we really appreciated getting to know you and was hard saying goodbye - we miss you!! The waiters were exceptional and such a pleasure to get to know: Erik and Juan in the buffet were fantastic, Jorge and Daniel at poolside were so fun, Miguel, Arnulfo and Luis Telles in the restaurants were fantastic, and Yesenia made the best omelettes each and every morning. Buffet food was outstanding, as were both the Italian and Mexican restaurants. Great walking/running beach, sunsets were stunning, evening lightening/thunder storms unbelievable, and the resort's service overall was great. There were a few times when the 'timeshare offers' were becoming frustrating, but a firm and polite 'no thanks' each time was all that was necessary. Thanks very much for a great vacation !! (June 28-July12)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly15152014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,735 - 1,741 of 3,475 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a great hotel.
There was a lot of construction but it compensated with its great Staff - really friendly and accommodating. Eric at the breakfast buffet was awesome he remembered our drinks and omelets.

Good location next to the beach and other resorts

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddregalado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Despite the daily renovation work, we enjoyed our week. The staff is outstanding. Always friendly, and very helpful. Antonio took great care of us from the moment we arrived till we left. Also Daniel R, made sure our glasses never ran dry while at the beach all day long. Evening shows were not good! Poolside was a little too tame. Music needed to be kicked up and more entusiasm for the activities. Considering it is their off-season and all that they were doing to improve the facilities, we had a great time. Definitely take advantage of the local excursions and get to the Boardwalk!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wazobee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The hotel was nice for our family who doesn't like crowds! The food was excellent in the Italian restaurant! The buffet food was good too, it was mostly the same for breakfast and lunch, dinner was different nightly. The food was fine and you already paid for it (we did all inclusive) so why go out and spend more money! I didn't like that everyone assumed you wanted alcohol! Our room seemed a little hot most of the time but by morning I finally cooled off. The nightly entertainment was okay, the disco night was really worth going to and watching! I wasn't impressed with the free water toys service, the guy made us return the equipment 30 minutes before the time he was suppose to close. There are too many people trying to get you to buy excursions. The mall is directly across the street, to the left, less then 5 min walk. Go to the pier just a little further from the mall and you van get free water taxi service, no one seemed to let us know this information. The water and sodas were not very cold in our refrigerators. Daniel Ramirez was very good at making sure we got drinks when we needed them, he did an excellent job by giving my mother in law a diet soda before she even got back to her chair from walking up from the water! I wasn't impressed with the transportation service when we arrived from the airport-they said they would be outside and they were actually inside. Then when we got ready to go home they were late picking us up. I really felt safe there too. Good memories overall! If you can find Max (a vender for banana boats and parasailing) he was a great person for these excursions...good deal!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank SSmith2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Everyone from the minute we stepped foot onto the property was amazingly kind & courteous! Felt like royalty. Traveled with my wife & best friend & his wife.
Daniel at the adult pool was the high light of our customer service experience. Couldn't have expected any thing more. Pools were always clean (even after rain storms). There is No AC in the open common areas but that's no biggie when you're in paradise. (It was hot&humid during our stay) lots of activities to do locally and the tours are reasonable. I was NEVER told No or had a request rejected. We're not new at traveling, and we definitely will come back. We stayed July 25-August 3.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank EDDIE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

First I would like to thank all the staff but specially to the kindest people;
- Erik (buffet waiter). Every day that we will pass thru the buffet n pool area Erik will greeted us with a great smile and attitude, all my family ( 14 of us) were astonished with him. He's such a great asset to company.
Also Jorge (pool waiter) was always on top on my kids & nieces needs.
Daniel and Cesar ( buffet waiters ).
Juan ( bellboy/valet) always kind a with contagious smile and rapid service.
Rocio ( room maid ) always had our room clean and supplied us with any towels or sheets needs.
Victor ( cabanas & beach waiter )
Juan ( bartender @ royal club) super kind.
Tania and Paty ( concierge services).
Tania handle any issues we had during our stay ( a real VIP treatment with her).
Paty always greeted us at the lobby , gave us great info in regards to local eateries & places to visit.
My review will be endless with extraordinary friendly services.
We only had one bad experience with Edgar ( captain at the buffet ). My wife felt very embarrassed with treatment He showed off on a miscommunication of a table reservation in front of other guests.
Other than that, our experience as a first time to Puerto/ Nuevo Vallarta was excellent , it Definitely exceeded our expectations. We're definitely are coming back. Keep up the good work.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Proud3daddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We just returned from a week's stay with friends at this resort and we had a wonderful time. We got a great deal on the hotel room and air fare through Cosco and believe it was a terrific value for our money. At first, I was nervous about visiting Mexico but I felt completely safe wherever we went and the Mexican people, as a whole, couldn't be more welcoming, friendly and accommodating! I believe they truly wanted us to enjoy our stay and love their country as much as they do. The service at the hotel was excellent and the staff went out of their way to take care of us. We had no problem with the food; even my husband was happy & Mexican cuisine isn't his favorite. The lobby bar is especially nice and the bartenders make a great drink! Two of my favorites were the mango margarita served at the Mexican restaurant and the lemon colada, which tastes like lemon Italian ice, that was recommended by the waiter at the adult pool. Our room was a good size, clean, modern, with plenty of storage. The mattress was firmer than our own one at home and took some getting used to. Twice I had to request extra towels from housekeeping but by midweek, they knew what we needed and stocked the room accordingly. The pools and the beach were both very nice. The water was warm, but after all, it was July. We still had a good time swimming in both. If you go during rainy season as we did, bring serious bug spray. The mosquitoes will eat you alive, especially if you go on any excursions. The organic bug spray I brought in the hotel's gift shop was no protection. In fact, it seemed to attract them! We went on 3 different outings using Vallarta Tours who I highly recommend. Their company is the best one I've encountered for service, organization, choices, and quality. This is a hotel that caters to families so there isn't a lot to do at night so that was a bit disappointing. Avoid the casino that is near the resort which is a total ripoff! It would have been nice if there were more options offered besides the nightly show. However, if you are looking for rest, relaxation and great service, you'll be happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
3.6 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.3 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Marival Resort & Suites
Marival Resort & Suites
#14 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,930 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,754 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#17 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
5,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

Address: Paseo de los Cocoteros No. 18 | Villa 8 Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Occidental Nuevo Vallarta)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range: £134 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta is the ideal hotel for families, couples, and friends looking to enjoy a fun vacation on the Pacific shores of Mexico. Recently renovated, Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta has been updated with the latest modern amenities and technology to ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel is situated on one of the most beautiful beaches in the Riviera Nayarit, minutes from the Nuevo Vallarta shopping center and the best stores and restaurants in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Occidental Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Allegro Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Nuevo Vallarta Occidental Allegro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing