We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rude employees/ridiculous prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver wa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“rude employees/ridiculous prices”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We just returned from a 10 day stay in PV and we spent our last 3 nights at this resort. The staff at this resort is very unfriendly and security is more concerned about whether or not you are diving into the pool or brought a few of your own beers (which are an average of $2.00 a can vs.their $6.00 a can warm beer which takes an average of 10-20 min. to receive) than they are about anything else that is going on around them! If you are an "owner" then you have your own waiter at the pool and you are constantly being waited on, if you pay $250.00 a night you receive slow crappy service, you are placed into a dark unkempt room and the waiter at the pool comes by about once an hour and you have to get his attention on his way by to order something. If you want to pay ridiculously high prices for EVERYTHING, be treated like a second class citizen, pay $250.00a night to have a room across the street from the pool, and pay $4.00 for a cup of horrible coffee every morning then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cancunb0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,018
    742
    296
    147
    131
See reviews for
976
628
42
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Spent our second spring break at Paradise Village. It is great. The employees work super hard to make sure your needs are taken care of and you have a good time. We have done several adventures with Vallarta Adventures while at Paradise Village. It is so simple - there is a free water taxi that picks you up at the marina and takes you to Vallarta Adventures. The weather is beautiful; the sunsets are beautiful; it is just a perfect place to visit in March. We visited with a lot of people from all over the US that visit there year after year. Book your Vallarta Adventures trips at the resort through your concierge. We saved $200 by using her rather than booking online. The tigers are so fun to watch each day. We sat through the time share presentation. People were nice until it came time to let us go. We had to go through person after person for over an hour before we finally got our tickets and could get on with our day.

Room Tip: Be sure and specify exactly what you want in your request. We stay in Coba Tower overlooking the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lance E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This is our first bad experience at an "All Inclusive Resort". Service starts at 7am and ends at 10:30pm. Not allowed to take even a piece of banana bread out of the restaurant or else is extra charge. I suggest if you have children like we do that not necessarily eat at certain hours, this is not a place for you. Unless you want to pay extra for anything you wish to take to your room. They advertise "Premium Liquor" but it is not included. Only Mexican wines, rums, tequilas and vodkas are included in your "AI". You need to wear a wrist band as many other resorts, with the difference that you need to sign an actual bill every single time you order something...even a bottle of water. BTW, if you didn't get your own water by 10:30pm and you are thirsty...too bad, they do not stock up anything in your room. By 11Pm is bedtime for everybody! Absolute silence after 11Pm signs posted everywhere. The food sucks...buffet every day and always the same food. If you wish to change it up, they have a Il Pescatore Rest. but you have to pay big bucks and it is very good. Taking care of you towels is very stressful when you go on a holiday...they will charge you if someone by mistake takes your towel. You must return the same amount of towel cards given to you at check in. Also, if you loose your wrist band it is $100 charge per adult and $50 per child.
The hotel seats in a beautiful beach and the facilities are very nice. They do need to change their policies to make this a pleasant stay for tourists.
We heard horrible stories about timeshare consultants in the lobby but thankfully we were not bothered. The spa was wonderful, perhaps one of the best we've had and it wasn't as expensive as other ones we've been to.
Good luck!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lcorpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I have been to this resort three times in the past but this time my family and I were so disappointed we left halfway through our stay and went to a different resort. We paid for gold level all inclusive but the non-house wines and most of the liquor was extra, pizza and ice cream is not included also. My young daughter had a small accident in one of our beds and house keeping charged us $20us to change the sheets. Some one stole three of our beach towels and we did the honest thing by telling the resort rather than stealing other peoples towels and they were going to charge us $30 per missing towel. The kids club is not included either ($29us/day, per child) and is daycare unlike other resorts. The food was the same everyday and lacked variety. After switching resorts the food was not good at all in comparison to the new iberostar. You HAVE to wait for your server to bring you your bill after you eat or drink anything to sign it or they come to your room and wake you up at 10:00pm to sign the bill. The grounds were well kept and the rooms were tidy but dated. Beds were hard and our sheets had smoke burns... Same smoke burns all week or else it would have costed another $20us to change them. Wifi was "dial-up" slow and any demand on the system disconnected you immediatly. So forget using skype, youtube, facetime etc.. On arrival we received coupons for money off at the spa only to find out once we completed the spa treatments the coupons were no good because our $150 messages had already been discounted. We have stayed here in the past and had great service. Most of the cleaning and admin staff act depressed, and not happy at all. We skipped the time share meeting and did our best to avoid the time share and tour people but we were constantly hounded. I wish my family and I shared the experience that all the other positive reviewers posted here but several others that were staying at the resort at the same time as us were very disappointed with the poor quality of service, some of which left for other hotels partway through their stay. We would have stayed for the whole duration had the staff carried a more positive attitude and they didn't nickel and dime everyone to death with the "extras". I'm glad we changed resorts so we could enjoy the rest of our trip and actually relax.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vwjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We just spent a week at this resort. We had never been to Puerto Vallarta before so were ready for an adventure. During our flight down a temporary crown came off my tooth so it was a number one priority to get it fixed the moment I landed! The resort was fabulous setting me up with a dentist within the hour to get it fixed. The hospital, 2 blocks away, also has a dentist (and the local casino)! Gladis, at the resort, was just awesome. She ensured that we got settled in and that my tooth was fixed. We did the timeshare presentation and were quite unhappy that we had to see 6 folks to get through it! We were quite offended that the dollar amount started at 40K plus and ended up at 3K. We were exhausted after that ordeal but the rest of the week was great. We had a 2 bed/2bath in the Coba Tower. It was quiet. We ate at the Mayapan restaurant on site the first night but were not impressed. We did buy the drink tickets and that worked well. We also brought several US ones and used those as a tip for every drink ticket. This resort does not push alcohol, and you usually need to get your own cocktail at a near by bar. By using the drink tickets we did not have to figure out the receipts at the end of our week. Highly recommend that process! We did find another awesome restaurant called Dinaminte that was just straight out the resort on the right about a 20 minute walk. Also the Fajita Republic is there and is also great. We had massages at the spa and Belen is excellent. We loved this resort and will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank krisdeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This is paradise! I'm so glad that I happened to find this jewel and loved every minute of it!! It was crazy at the airport and I'm so glad I read the tips about what to do, (just ignore the time-share people and go through both sliding doors). The taxi was great and fast- it was $26.00 for both of us- he even stopped and got us some beers! We arrived at paradise and were promptly given cold facecloths to freshen up. Check in was a breeze, they upgraded us without any problems or increase in cost. It was our anniversary celebration so they upgraded us and congratulated us! We were unsure about which room we wanted to they gave us keys for 2 rooms and asked us to pick the better one. One look at our room and we were in love with it!! It was massive!! We had a ground floor room with a beautiful kitchen, island, appliances, and a regular size stainless Steele fridge. There was a pull-out sofa, a dining room table, 2 bathrooms- 1 with a huge walk in shower! There were 2 sets of sliding patio doors- 1 off the living room and 1 off the bedroom and the deck was massive, with a patio table & chairs, overlooking the pool area! We were stunned at the size of the room and our view! It was a 2 minute walk to the beach from our room and were greeted by palapas on the beach with sun loungers and chairs! Everything was gorgeous!
The customer relations were a bit pushy with the time-share idea and wanted us to sign up for breakfast meetings with promises of discounts and free things, but we were not interested so we never went. No problems there.
Drinks at the bar were a bit slow and were only allowed 1 drink at a time. The bartender was a grump though, but Javier, the waiter, made up for the other guy's grumpiness!!
When we went back to our room we were pleasantly surprised with champagne for our anniversary. So nice!!
The next day we got to the beach late, around 10:00 and there were a lot of palapas to choose from- although not in the front row. Each palapa has 2 loungers & 2 chairs, but it's up to you to get a mat and side tables. Some people really hog the mats so make sure you get 1 at least, that sand gets duper HOT! You get beach service and they're usually great! Gabriel & Sergio are awesome, but Felipe not so much!! It's just easier to get your food at the lunch restaurant- and then you know it's not sitting there forever! The pizza is very good.
The people there are very friendly- although you'll find that everyone is a time share owner! The good is ok- you get tired of buffets, but the a la cartes are great!! We had the same one 2 nights in a row!!
We indulged in some couples massages at the Palenque Spa. We received come coupons off an Aroma Therapy massage- it worked to $60 each for 50 minutes. I highly recommend a massage! Treat yourself! It was amazing! We liked it so much that we went for another one! I also got a pedicure- it was a waste if time! Did not like it at all.
Yes- it's true that you gave to sign for everything! But that's not a big deal- it's just for tracking purposes. Take your yellow copy of the receipt!
All in all we loved this resort!!

Pros-
Gorgeous room, clean & comfortable!
Fantastic a la carte dinners
Great breakfast buffet- loved the cooks at the omelette & waffle stations
Beautiful beach & palapas
Excellent beach side service by Sergio & Gabriel
Javier is awesome in the bar
Free Wi-fi (User- paradise) (Password- village)
Little mall & market is convenient
Vendors on the beach- they leave you alone after a day or 2, they're very polite & respectful
Front desk staff were very friendly
The Spa!!!!

Cons-
Grumpy bartender in bar
Felipe was terrible as a beach side server
Buffet style dinners get boring- they're not that great
Beach mats can be scarce
Night time entertainment is boring & geared for young children

Try this place out! We will be coming back!

Room Tip: Just ask for an upgrade!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5pigeons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This is a nice family place. Relaxing, friendly service, convenient (walking distance) to many restaurants. I would definitely recommend this place to others.
The only reason this place did not get 5 stars is because the restaurants are just OK. Keep in mind I'm a foodie and have fairly high standards.

I also enjoyed the spa treatment.

Side note: Nearest excursion place is Vallarta Adventures - I booked with them and regret it.

Room Tip: If you don't like your room, speak with the hotel staff - they can and will help you find one th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Furby076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
3.9 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
3.9 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
1.9 mi away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
#3 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#12 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,019 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marival Resort & Suites
Marival Resort & Suites
#14 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,640 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#17 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
5,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Av. Paseo de los Cocoteros #1 | Bahia de Banderas, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#12 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your Paradise! Elegantly situated in the heart of Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit, located within its own peninsula all set against a spectacular tropical backdrop, Paradise Village Resort and Spa is an all inclusive and European plan all-suite designer accommodations beachfront hotel, is a five star development that offers a gorgeous beach! Just 15 minutes away from Puerto Vallarta International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Village Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Paradise Village Beach Hotel
Paradise Village Nuevo Vallarta
Paradise Village Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing