We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic But Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2009

This stay was a gift from a friend so we didn't do our usual amount of hunting and searching for the perfect hotel and location. and honestly, based on other reviews and photos I probably wouldn't have selected this property on my own. But this was our first vacation with baby in tow and it really couldn't have been a better fit.
There are a few buildings of different ages and rooms receive renovation on a very casual schedule. (We did the sales pitch so we saw a few). Our room was a two bedroom, two bath and it had a very large living room and balconey. The decor was very basic, think Holiday Inn with a few lame "Mayan" touches. However, it was very clean and everything was in good repair.
The grounds were really the best part with multiple pools, tennis courts, restaurants and it's right on the beach. We had a room on the ground level right next to the main pool and despite the heavy kid population it wasn't noisy. In fact, the pool was vacant by 6pm.
The restaurants were Ok. None of the offerings were unique or interesting but on the other hand my father, who accompanied us and hates spicey food, ate fine with no indegestion problems.
The best thing about the resort was that there was a clinic on the grounds and when my two year old woke up with a hundred and two fever and unable to breath we received immediate attention.
Other points about the hotel; there is a grocery store that is very overpriced but it's convenient. The "mall" that it is in doesn't have any stores worth looking at. It will cost about $20 to get into downtown Puerto Vallarta and take a not unpleasant half hour to 45 minutes. The rooms do not have wireless for your computer and it will take you forever to link up and cost $10 to hook up in the one lobby that does have wireless. There are no DVD players but we had our child's mini one and cables to hook up to the big TV. DO NOT go on the time-share sell. They say it will take 90 minutes and offer all sorts of discounts for activities to entice you to go. We did it for a free zip-line tour and after four hours of saying "no" we drug ourselves back to our room regretting all our wasted time.
So, two years ago, before I had children, I would never have thought of staying here and if I had my snobby expectations would have been disapointed. Now however, with baby in tow, I'm already looking forward to our next trip!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaraChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,658 - 1,664 of 2,407 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2009

Hola amigos.

The Playa Royale is the finest beach resort, by far, in the PV region. You have all the facilities and services from the Paradise Village Resort complex, but also have must nicer rooms and pools and beaches with many fewer guests competing for space. The employees are low key and are NOT pushing you to go to a presentation.

It is easy to catch a cab or bus and go south to PV for restaurants and clubs or go north to the coastal villages for outstanding meals of fresh grilled shrimp and cold beer. The Nuevo Area is being built up at a break neck speed. New hospitals, restaurants, resorts, hotels and so forth are under construction 24/7. If you are looking for a condo purchase or a vacation time share plan, this is the area of Mexico for you.

The community is developing an international service base. My wife and I have been coming to Paradise Village and Playa Royale for several years and cannot recommend it highly enough. We have given up on traveling to the east coast of Mexico. There is rumor that a new airport is being considered for development. That will add greatly to the attraction of Nuevo Vallarta. Please give this area a try, you will not forget it. While we are older, we will continue coming here as long as we phyically handle the travel.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Combatshooter45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

My wife & I just returned from our 3rd trip to Paradise Village and really enjoyed it as usual. The first time was 9 years ago so the property has aged a little but still very nice. The whole Nuevo Vallarta area is more developed than I would have liked to have seen but hey, there is a reason why so many people are building and going there to visit...it is awesome! Much cleaner and safer feeling than Puerto Vallarta. We love going into PV once or twice a week for a visit but always feel the need for a shower as soon as we get back to the resort as the air pollution is just horrendous. Everywhere you look there are taxis and buses flying down the crowded streets - watch your step! The food in PV has gone up considerably since our last trip 4 years ago. Pipi's Restaurant was still as yummy as always but none of the places we visited were very busy and all were really trying hard to get people in the door. Palomas restaurant was really bad - it's got a great location right on the Malecon but the food was horrible and way over-priced. We spent $70 USD on lunch with no alcohol, no dessert AND we split a meal!

There is a restaurant in Nuevo Vallarta called Bernardos that sits right on the beach, a half hour walk north along the beach from Paradise or 30 pesos (about $2 USD) by taxi, that we ate at twice while on our vacation. Both times it was outstanding and very reasonable for the quantity and quality of food. It is a Carribean/ French restaurant that specializes in seafood. We spent between $50-60 each time we ate there and it was well worth every penny.

Didn't listen to any timeshare presentations...take off your wristband and keep it in the safe, then they think you are already members (owners) and will quit bothering you.

The service at the resort was good but we didn't get the ocean view room that we were promised by our travel agent (probably have to be a member to get an ocean view). We love the little shopping center that is a 3 minute walk from the resort. We went there everyday to buy groceries, visit the internet cafe, shop, eat at restaurants...which are just "so so" BTW.

There are no ovens in the rooms so everything you cook will have to be stovetop or microwaveable. The cookware leaves a little to be desired...we will actually pack our own non-stick pan next time we go back, and yes, we will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gettin_ready4summer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2009

Stayed Jan 24th for 7 days. I had stayed here previously in 2003. So my first trip back in a few years. It was excatly the same as I remembered it, but the place it empty. I would say a quarter full. The ecomony is hurting everyone. So there was no trouble getting chairs on the beach or by the pool, years ago it was getting up at 7am to find a spot. We went on a jeep tour and were going to go on a boat trip with snorekling, but it is whale watching season so all the boats cater to that. We went into town numerous times via the bus which is I think 12pesos vs a taxi at 160 pesos . I would say the hotel is for older couples 50's+ or couples with little ones, I didn't see anyone from ages15-35. I would suggest going to the grocery store the first day and getting stuff for breakfast and lunch, it is a real savings. The restaurants we ate at were Fajita Republic ($5 taxi ride) loved it, Meson Bay in Bucerias ($12 taxi)also really good, Claudio's (Mason bay sister restaurant) good, not the best, the italian downtown next to the Hard Rock ( sorry forgot the name, you will see the line, but we only waited 15 minutes)excellent too. My favorite is Mezzogiorno in Bucerias, this place is amazing make a reservation for a seat outside, go for sunset it is well worth it, I can't say enough good things about it. We only ate at the hotel once for the breakfast buffet which is $20 each. We did have drinks which if you buy a coupon book at the front destk drinks work out to $3 each a huge savings vs $5-6 regular price. Happy hour from 5-7 is the best!!! Enjoy yourself and just relax on the beach or by the pool

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank zoeboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2009

My husband & I stayed at Paradise for a week this January/09. It was great!! The hotel seems to be geared toward families and older guests, which was fine with us. Not a place I'd recommend for young "partiers". Food was great, service was great, room was great. No complaints.

J&P Saskatchewan, Canada

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JPDSaskatchewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2009

This was our 5th or 6th time to Paradise Village. We have stayed at several places but this one is far better then any.
The staff is always more then willing to help with any situation.

Stayed: December 2008
1  Thank jojo9618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2009

Another great vacation in a wonderful place -- Paradise Village in Nuevo Vallarta! Beautiful weather, beaches, and hot spots in town. We love the circle bar at the small flea market on the Malecon -- Great Margaritas and cold beer! Mi Querencia on the Malecon, Argentine Steak House & Victor's at the Marina!!!

The people are so friendly and you feel safe & secure. No "Montezuma's revenge" ever!

4  Thank sccwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
3.9 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Varadero
Hotel Villa Varadero
#16 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
903 reviews
0.3 mi away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#13 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#18 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
5,337 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marival Resort & Suites
Marival Resort & Suites
#14 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,866 reviews
3.9 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Av. Paseo de los Cocoteros #1 | Bahia de Banderas, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#12 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range: £85 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your Paradise! Elegantly situated in the heart of Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit, located within its own peninsula all set against a spectacular tropical backdrop, Paradise Village Resort and Spa is an all inclusive and European plan all-suite designer accommodations beachfront hotel, is a five star development that offers a gorgeous beach! Just 15 minutes away from Puerto Vallarta International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Village Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Paradise Village Beach Hotel
Paradise Village Nuevo Vallarta
Paradise Village Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing