We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As Un-Paradise as Possible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Vallejo, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“As Un-Paradise as Possible”
Reviewed 24 September 2006

If I could give this place a worse rating I would...in a second.

I may have stayed at a different Paradise Village from those reviewed here because I didn't have anywhere near the experience that other reviewers did.

My 2 bedroom suite reeked of vinegar and moldy furniture. The food at every restaurant on the property or around the property was terrible. I never thought I could get better Mexican food from the Roach Coach down the street from my office than I would in Puerto Vallarta. To demonstrate how bad the food was, after a week of forcing unappetizing food down our throats, the group I was with finally had our best meal on the trip...Where you ask? Outback Steakhouse, can you believe that?

In addition to the terrible food, you couldn't walk around the resort without being "attacked" by the "welcome committee" who tried every possible tactic to sell us a timeshare at their smelly resort. Even the guy who rented our car to us tried to sell us a week at Paradise Village.

Needless to say my wife and I will never visit Paradise Village again because it in no way lived up to its name.

Avoid this resort at all costs.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
14 Thank joeycamarata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    996
    731
    294
    142
    130
See reviews for
955
618
42
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2006

My husband and I go to Mexico every winter. We have stayed at different places every time. The funny thing about Mexico we have learned through our travels is that even though you have paid for this trip well before you come, you always get what is called "run of the house" when you get to your destination. When we arrived at Paradise Village we were put in a tiny room with a single bed, no windows. We paid for an ocean view with a king bed, but guess what....they had no rooms available that we had paid for. They assured us we would only have to stay in "the dungeon" for one night. Needless to say my husband and I made the best of it.

In the morning we were moved to the room we had paid for. We have stayed at many all-inclusive resorts, but this one to us had a twist we did not like. First, you really feel like an outsider being all-inclusive. Most of the people staying were time share people so you really felt as if you were "labeled."

The other thing we found annoying was you had to give your room number and sign for EVERYTHING you touched. We have never experienced this type of procedure before. Our joke to each other was "in the states this would be considered a waste of paper" but then again that is the charm of Mexico, right??? Putting all of this aside we thought the resort was nice, the food was EXCELLENT, the staff was friendly, the animals were entertaining. Our room was in the front so we could see the cages. Yes, we did not get our ocean view. The pool was noisy . The theme dinners were fun. They stop serving alcohol and food at 10pm every night. How crazy is that!!

Would we go back to this resort? No, because the room we recieved when we got there will forever be in my head. To pay thousand of dollars and stay in a "slum room" for one night was to much for us. So if your looking for good food, early bed times every night and a pool for your kids this would be your place, otherwise I would seriously check out other all-inclusives.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — all inclusive
  • Tips/Secrets — look around before choosing Paradise Vlillage
  • Stayed February 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank tometichs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2006

Had the two bedroom penthouse to accomodate the family. Love the penthouse- very spacious. The nightly themes with the buffet (all you can eat) were outstanding especially the Mexican Night. The weather was great and we all had a great time. The kids had a great time with the planned activities, especially the beach volleyball and beach soccer games.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
9 Thank gymmom6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2006

First off, Paradise Village, does have one of the best beaches!! They have little tiki 'umbrellas' to lounge under & plenty of beautiful sand, not rocks! The ocean was warm & the waves were cool. They have 2 snack bars on the beach-pool area & the wait staff is very attentive. The moment you walked up to one, someone would be waiting to take your order. They also delivered the drinks right to your lounge area.The pool areas are beautiful, they have the bigger pool where it's more crowded & a smaller pool that is quiter.

The actual hotel is nice, Paradise Village says they are a 5star hotel, most web sites say they are a 3 1/2 star.......I say 3 1/2, the hotel is nice & so are the rooms(jr stuite) but nothing spectacular!
The kitchen in the rooms are cheesy, they charge you $2.50 more if you use the coffee pot, they have no bottle openers & you have to go buy your dishsoap from the grocery store, so I would wash the dishes before using them!! The maid conveintely forgot to leave us towels & extra TP the first day(probably because we hadn't tipped yet) and our room was not cleaned to after 4:30pm everyday
.
Time Share Ladies---we were coming out of the hotel & they tracked us down-stating they were the welome committee & wanted to get us a drink & they had some papers regarding the hotel & properties & what to do......reluctanly we sat down stating she had 5minutes to talk........she told us the minute we sat down that she did not work on commission & really wanted to show us what the hotel had to offer......so she showed us a bunch of papers & would we like to book an excursion, she could get us a discount(we already booked one, thru an indepedent web site& it went really well) & then all of a sudden she wants to sign us up for a 90 minute time share presentation. We say NO! She pressures & tries to make us feel bad & then says she does work on commision & she needs us to sign up so she can get her 'points' & then we can 'cancel' in the morning. Luckily some women wanted to say hello to her so while she was hugging her, my husband & I just left!! She tracked us down later & said we forgot our paperwork-we just kept walking & said we didn't need it.....So beware of the ladies whose desk is right beside the Tikal Bar, unless you want to go to 90minute meeting!!!!!

They have like 5 restaurants at the hotel. All of them but 2 were closed while we were there(Aug26th,2006-Aug30th,2006). We went to Italian night the first night & it was ok, it was a buffet, but not much food to choose from & cost about $54.00 for 2 people(drinks not included).
Do not go the the Shrimp Night- We went & it was $84.00!!! I got 5 shrimp, a little mound of potatoes & a little mound of rice & a bottle of water!!!!! My husband had the same!!!
We went to the Paradise Plaza & it was all right-wanted to eat at The Jungle- it was closed- we were going to eat at that Italian Place before the plaza-Il Pasteroe(sp?)- it was closed.
We did have lunch at the Mexican place in the plaza-it was pretty good. I reccomend going to town to eat. We went to the Blue Shrimp, one night & it was excellent, the food, ambiance & the wait staff....we would have eaten there everynight!!!

We did go to the spa & it was heaven!! Something you definetly need to do!!!
We also did a bay cruise, but think an evening one would have been funner & the prirate boat looks really cool!!

We would more than likely stay again, now that we know what to avoid. Overall we did have a wonderful time, the scenery is spectacular!!!

  • Liked — The Beach
  • Disliked — lots of restaurants were closed
  • Tips/Secrets — Go to town to eat
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank pattenak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYork, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2006

We were at the Paradise Village Beach and Resort and Spa 8/18-8/25/06. Total of 9 people. 5 Adults, plus a 20, 18, 16, and 14 year old. We had 2 ocean front 2 bedroom suites. Since they were on the 3 floor you really couldn't see the ocean. You need to be on the higher floors. The rooms were very nice and clean. The only draw back is the smell of dampness. It was not just our rooms but a common complaint throughout the hotel. The air conditioning and the ceiling fans help to keep the damp feeling at bay. We were greeted at the airport by the "Olympus" tours-orange shirts. They were great. Polite and more than willing to help you plan any further excursions. I have heard alot of complaints about the time share hawking-yes-they are there. However if you tell them you are not interested they leave you alone. It is only when you are undecided do they go in for the hard sell by promising you discounts on spa treatments or "free"tours. Remember there is NOTHING for free!

We were part of the all inclusive-so we all wore grey bracelets.
This is where is was not all it was sold to us. We were aware of the additional upcharge for certain menu items-lobster, filet. About $7 per person. We were lead to believe that all the restuarants are part of the all inclusive but they are not. Kabal is open as a beach cafe only-not at night because of the rainy season. Mayapan and Telum are the two that are included. Both
serve wonderful food. Every night of the week is a different theme night, Mexican, Western, Shrimpfest, Lobsterfest, Italian night etc. Again certain foods there is a nominal charge. The service for breakfast, lunch and dinner is great. For lunch and snacks you can get service on the beach as well as around the pool. The staff are warm and friendly. Even though tips are included we did tip and it seemed to be truly appreciated.

The beach is NOT caribbean blue. But it is nice and warm, there were big waves while we were there so there were always red flags up. There was no problem getting the beach palapas or chairs around the pool. The hotel was at about 60% capacity. I can imagine the arguement during peak season.

You get what you pay for. If you are looking for grand lobbies filled with fresh flowers, turn down service, or where the staff jumps up to greet you when you get off the elevator THIS IS NOT THE PLACE for you. If you are looking for an affordable, relaxing stay in a clean, friendly at mosphere give this place a try.
There is a mall on the grounds. There are no bargains there. The hotel is stingy on shampoo so I went to the mall to buy some it was close to $7US. The town is quite pretty. The usual-flea markets, souvenier shops, bars and restuarants the usual Hard Rock, Carlos and Obrien, Senor Frogs etc. We have been to Beaches Turks and Caicos and this is 10 times better, better food, nicer staff, you can actually leave the grounds! We had a nice time and have some great memories to carry us through.

  • Liked — nice beach, property maintained
  • Disliked — the damp smell in the hotel rooms and certain public places
  • Tips/Secrets — it is definitely worth a shot. But if you are looking for the lap of luxury you will not find it here
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank zeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Il
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2006

We stayed at Paradise Village from 8/13 - 8/18. We absolutely loved it. There were 7 adults and 2 children in our group (ages 2 and 3 ). We did the all-inclusive plan for 4 of the 5 nights we stayed there. We loved the Mayapan restaurant, the food and service were fabulous. The wait staff (bartenders, waiters etc.) were super through out. Even though tipping is included in the all-inclusive we chose to tip. The pool and beach are very nice and clean, never felt overly crowded. The resort never felt crowded and it was full. The crowds are well kept. The room was nice, our maid did an excellent job cleaning it. If your not on the all-inclusive definitely go to the Brazilian steakhouse in the mall, very good and resonable. We were never bothered by the time share reps at the resort. I would definitely recommend this resort. We can't wait to go again. We have traveled through out the world and have no cpmplaints about our stay at Paradise Village. Don't be afraid to go.

  • Liked — The beach and pool
  • Disliked — liked it all
  • Tips/Secrets — bring small money for tips
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank H184a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2006

We have been coming to Paradise Village annually for the past four years and found the staff accommodating, grounds beautiful, maids competent(it pays to tip), and activities plentiful.
After reading the various comments especially the negatives of Jan. 28 and 31, 2005 and Feb 5 of 2006 I am at a loss as we were there at the same time. None of these problems have we encountered.
We are world travelers and recognize that when school is out folks take their kids on vacation. One of Paradise’s assets is they provide activities for them. Thus you will have noise. There is always the beach or the quiet pool.
Concerning the night manager I can not for the life of me believe the hotel would allow such behavior.
We don’t eat at the hotel all the time. There are many places to eat including the mall two blocks away. Cabs are four dollars in Nyarit or the bus downtown(this is fun) is only a little over a dollar. The
concierge or the bellboys can help.
If you tell those engaged in timeshare sales in the lobby you are not interested, we have found they will not bother you. However if you encourage them they will follow up.
If I want, I can always find something wrong no matter where we go. However we find making new friends, searching out things to do always makes for a great vacation. Planning on returning in 2007.

  • Liked — Large Room Sizes and kitchen
  • Disliked — Internet in only one building
  • Tips/Secrets — Get to know the staff(front desk, bellboys and waiters)
  • Stayed January 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank Ropal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
3.9 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
0.3 mi away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#12 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,828 reviews
3.9 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#1 of 3 in Flamingos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,449 reviews
2.9 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,643 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marival Resort & Suites
Marival Resort & Suites
#14 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Av. Paseo de los Cocoteros #1 | Bahia de Banderas, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#12 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your Paradise! Elegantly situated in the heart of Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit, located within its own peninsula all set against a spectacular tropical backdrop, Paradise Village Resort and Spa is an all inclusive and European plan all-suite designer accommodations beachfront hotel, is a five star development that offers a gorgeous beach! Just 15 minutes away from Puerto Vallarta International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Village Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Paradise Village Beach Hotel
Paradise Village Nuevo Vallarta
Paradise Village Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing