We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,530)
Filter reviews
5,530 results
Traveller rating
4,040
1,004
313
102
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,040
1,004
313
102
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sun bar palace resorts el toro zen restaurant resort credit rock spa vacation planners legendary members sunset cruise pool party moon palace rock star city tour punta cana romantic dinner spa treatments entertainment staff
Filter
Updating list...
3,221 - 3,226 of 5,530 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Just can't say enough about this resort! We have visited here many times and each time we come back we are greeted by those who remember us with smiles & open arms.

The front desk people are terrific and very helpful. Special thanks to Roberto( front desk manager) with making room arrangements for our friends. Also, Theresa, Juan & Alejandro.

The grounds are always immaculate & well maintained.

The restaurants were all open at the time of our visit. The food & service is tremendous. Thanks to Luis and Mario in the Market for breakfast & lunch- also Elizabeth, Angela & Elsiceo ( manager of Market restaurant). If you don't see what you want just ask and they will try to accommodate you.

Also a thank you to Octavio in the lobby bar.

The Chef's dinner was wonderful & very tasty food.

As to the noise- we had no problem in the room or down by the pool or the beach.

All in all it was a wonderful visit & will be down there again at the end of January.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bunkie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The resort was fabulous, food, entertainment, view and the Staff was amazing. We had the butlers also, Juan Garcia & Arturo Jaime Cuevas. Felix, from restaurant's & Juan drink server & Ezmerelda, Rosie from pool area. I would recommend this resort to anyone with thumbs up all the way!!

Room Tip: Ocean front with the view and soothing noise of the ocean.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

VWe visited the Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta in Novembers 2013 for seven nights. We were part of a third-party group that rented the entire resort for the week.

Our room was located on the second floor, off of the lobby, facing the pool area and ocean. Better views are probably available from higher floors (highest is 8th floor), but where we were allowed for an easy to walk down stairs, and we never had to wait for the elevator.

The room was clean and comfortable with a king-size bed. There was a well-stocked mini-bar with rum, vodka, etc on tap. There were also sodas and juices and beer in the refrigerator. All was included in all-inclusive price. Bathroom was clean and had a large walk-in shower. There was also a large jaccuzzi tub in the room, but we couldn't bring ourselves to waste the water to use it when we had the pool and beach right outside. Our rate also included free calls to the US and Canada which was very nice. Our only two issues with the room were: 1) we were unable to change the temperature for the air conditioner because it was locked, and 2) the wi-fi was not dependable in the room (it worked fine in the lobby).

The grounds were immaculate. There was a huge pool and also smaller kiddie and adult only pools. There were two hot tubs, but one had a broken blower and therefore no bubbles. There was very little shade for those of us who burn easily but still wanted to be outside.

Restaurant food quality was hit or miss. There are many choices: Brazilian, Italian, Asian, Mexican, and a buffet. We ate at all of them. The Italian was our favorite followed closely by the Asian. The buffet was our go to for breakfast and lunch.

More than anything it was the service and friendly, helpful, outgoing staff members that set this resort apart. Throughout the week people truly looked like they wanted to be there and they wanted to help, whether at the front desk, in the room, at the restaurants, poolside, or even just walking the grounds.

Our suggestions would be: add some house phones in the lobby so guests can contact guests in other rooms without bothering the front-desk staff. Improve the wi-fi service so that it works in all rooms. The benefit of going to the lobby to use the wi-fi was that you got to meet other guests. Finally, eliminate the process of needing a card to get a towel. Perhaps it reduces the number of towels used, but it was an annoyance and once more thing to keep track of while on vacation.

We recommend this resort without hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ctn66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We spent nine nights here in November.

FOOD AND DRINK
Food is excellent! Unfortunately, because of the "off season" not all restaurants were open every night during our stay and we weren't told of that at check in. But the resort is small and I can see that this helps keep the quality of food relatively high (by my standards, anyway).

Drink and food service at the beach and poolside by friendly servers. Snack food at the burger place is generally fantastic. One day our burgers were both undercooked, but usually they were fantastic. Pizza was good too. Choice of various toppings makes it easy to customize a simple or heavily-topped pizza!

Drinks were plentiful. No skimping on alcohol. I had to ask for less alcohol in my mixed drinks because I'm not much of a drinker and wanted to be conscious for most of the trip :).

BEACH AND POOLS
Lovely pools kept quite clean. Music is usually loud and can be a bit much at the main pool all day. We escaped to the beach area for quiet and to watch the sunset. Large beach area is kept clean. Bonus: we happened to be there during the release of turtle hatchlings at the preserve a couple properties down. We also sat out one night and saw a turtle come ashore to lay eggs. If you're so fortunate, please avoid taking flash photos or turning on camera lights as this can deter the mother turtle from doing what she came to do. We waited until she was done laying eggs and hiding her nest and on her way back to the ocean before taking some photos. It was an amazing experience!

Walking along the beach, we saw dead puffer fish and an eel snake. 'Nuf said!

Speaking of walking...don't let anyone tell you the town of Bucerias is only 30 or 40 minutes away along the beach. It's not. We walked 1.5hours before giving up and finding our way to a cab.

ROOMS AND BUILDING
Room was nice. We had a king size bed...very comfortable! Never used the jacuzzi. Toiletries are limited to shampoo, conditioner and soap. There is a powerful hair dryer in the room. And an iron/board. Room safe has a power outlet so you can charge equipment while locked away.

Can't get enough free booze? Rooms are stocked well.

NOISE LEVELS
We could hear everything next door in our room...walls are thin...and from the hallways. The entire building is loud, in fact. Marble echoes terribly, even though it looks great. And there seems to ALWAYS be music playing in the lobby at high volume...too high for morning and evening, if you ask me! The Ipanema restaurant and The Market buffet are VERY loud places to eat, again, because of the glass and marble. Ciao, the Italian restaurant, was also blaring loud music, even though it's outside. It's often sensory overload. It doesn't need to be.

RESORT CREDITS AND VACATION PLANNERS
We were given $2000 in resort credits because of the length of our stay. It sounds like a lot, but there are restrictions in how you can use them. Not all spa services are available through the credits and not all excursions are eligible. But use what you can if you want to do everything. I used spa credits but mostly, we were there to relax. Make sure you know what services and excursions are available because one of the booking people in the lobby was trying to tell us that we couldn't use our credits for certain things when we knew we could.

Our vacation planner was persistent about us attending a presentation about membership in exchange for a free excursion and remained persistent until we said a definite "no."

We did take public transit into Puerto Vallarta one day. THAT was an adventure! My chiropractor will be busy for a while...

ENTERTAINMENT
Some of the nightly entertainment was excellent, some was just decent. Entertainment staff works hard here as in many other resorts. Very nice group of folks who are there to keep it interesting!

MISSING CULTURE
Granted you're at an all inclusive, but we really missed the Mexican culture part of staying at a Mexican resort. Minor thing, really. But noticed by us.

Overall, this was a very nice resort with excellent food served in some very noisy settings.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank rogie1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We enjoyed our experience at the hard rock.
Good food, well meaning employees and nice rooms.
There were a few things that you much watch out for.
First we had to pay extra for a real balcony! Which was not on the web site. They had a few, most were French balconies.
Second we had no hot water for the in room jacuzzi. We asked 4 different persons who said they'd get right on it! And for the entire stay we could not use it. What a waste!

Room Tip: Ask for the full balcony
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews