We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice But Didn't Meet Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice But Didn't Meet Expectations”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Arrived on Easter for a one week stay, Mom, Dad and three teenagers. We always travel to all inclusive resorts for our spring break so have been to many. We purchased a package through Apple Vacations and this was one of the most expensive resorts available.

The excellent was the service on the beach by Rosy. Victor and Lupe in Ciao at breakfast and Zen at night. All the main activity pool servers were all super fast and efficient.

The location is excellent and grounds and beach are beautiful.

Despite being 100% occupied, 90% Spanish speaking, 10% English, the resort never had lines for anything and getting a table at the restaurants, at least when we went, was easy.

The average was the food. We only went to the dinner buffet once and there really wasn't much of a selection even for me. The kids wound up ordering room service burgers and the buns were extremely soggy. We ate at Ciao twice. The food was average but the first time they forgot one of our entrees and by the time we received it, the rest of us had finished. Second time they brought two entrees before we even received the soups. The Brazilian restaurant, Ipenema, fun but most meat was dry except the chicken which was excellent. The Mexican, Frida, not good, neither food nor service. The best, Asian, Zen, everyone in the family loved it both times we went and the service was awesome. I don't usually get pizza on vacation but the pizza oven was very good. We ate dinner between 8 and 9.

The rooms were average. Balcony is only about 18 inches wide. Our king bed was very comfortable. Kids beds were very small. Two adults in those beds would be very cramped. Vanities are extremely small and for us, the two person jacuzzi is a waste of space.

Entertainment - evening shows were very amateurish and really short. Mainly just different dances every night. Activities during the day were plentiful but very lackluster. Beach and water volleyball, aerobics, bocce ball, contests, bike tour, etc...Music at the pool in the afternoon was club/dance/techno music with thumping bass which chased me back to the beach.

Beach is beautiful and long. Chairs on the beach are not good. It's like they are strung too tight and only go in one position. If you are in the front row, you will be inundated with vendors that will keep on you till you acknowledge them. Literally, it was at the rate of about 10 vendors per hour. Normally, at other resorts, if you say no gracias, they do not bother you anymore but not at the Hard Rock. My husband made a sign to hang on our palapa that said no gracias which at least made it less annoying for us. If you are in rows two to three, the vendors are not a problem.

Lastly, the bad. Because the beds in the kids room were so small, we asked for a rollaway. They said they could only put it in our room with the king size bed because of the headboard. Really? We had them deliver it and then set it up ourselves in the kids room. It was simple and easy to move the two beds apart and it fit great between them.

Towel game was even more blatant then I've ever witnessed before. Chairs under umbrellas or palapas were reserved by 8:30am but many not used till 2 or 3pm.

We had a room close to the elevator and heard every loud person from 1am to 5am. We had to call security one morning because of the arguing that was taking place from 5am to 6am.

There was a rope in the water that was covered with muscles that four people including myself were cut on. One poor lady quite badly. I mentioned to the water sports person that the rope needed to be removed but two days later and two more injuries later I finally talked to a manager and he explained they needed it for the boats. Really? It wasn't even visible to the boats because all the buoys were off or water logged. The next day it was finally removed.

Boogie boards were in such poor shape that the foam was almost entirely coming off the plastic backing which made the edges very sharp.

Finally, my husband used a bike and road to the RIU Palace and then the chain wouldn't stay on. He met every security guard and maintenance worker at all the resorts in between to find a wrench to tighten it so it would stay on. A manager called our room to find out how he was and scared me to death because I had no idea there was a problem or why he was gone so long. The next day, he changed a tire on yet another one of the bikes.

We've been to the NV/PV area six times and paying more, I expected more. There are lower priced resorts offering better quality. This one was not a good value which is very important to me. All in all, I would still consider going back but only if the price was considerably lower.

FYI - weather was sunny and low 90's everyday. Ocean temp was refreshing and waves were 1 to 3 feet. Last two days were many jellyfish. If you are susceptible to mosquitos, use spray.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backatit63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis E, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear backatit63,

Thank you for your time I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced and I would like you to please know that we take great pride in our service standards and ability to meet and exceed our guest expectation but clearly missed the mark in this case.
Is a true honor to count on hard working people, thanks also for the feedback about boogie boards, we would love to have the opportunity to greet you back for an other Rockstar vacation.

Let’s rock together!

Luis Entrala Fàbregas
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,100
    830
    260
    90
    59
See reviews for
1,581
1,472
47
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (858)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We have been vacationing with Palace Resorts and Hard rock Hotels for 7 yrs now. Sometime twice a year. It has been the best investment we have made for family bonding. Every year we say no this was the best vacation. It just keeps getting better and better. This trip we had butlers booking our spa treatments and excursions . Juan and Pedro took GREAT care of us. We didn't have to worry about a thing. Food was delicious, fresh and had healthy options. The Hotel is surrounded by ocean and mountains. The sand has these gold specks and we could walk for miles on the beach. I wish every family could have this kind of time together. Our family has so many wonderful memories in Mexico!!!! I highly recommend it.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis E, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Greetings!


Wow! Thank you very much for your awesome review, and happily knowing you´re comming back, I am so pleased to see you rated us 5* and even more coming from an experienced traveler as yourself; you are a true Rock Star and we are your loyal fans and will make sure you and your family receive the best of the best and the rock star treatment you are accustomed to in your next visit to your favorite stage in Vallarta. Thanks too for the huge help of your feedback, I can see you´re raving fans of Hard Rock and we look forward to welcome you soon.

Kind Regards.

Luis Entrala Fàbregas
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wall Township, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Overall our trip was amazing. Over the top on making our trip special and memorable . Things like we are glad you made it hear safe. We were waiting for you to arrive. Always a smile on everyone's face. Glad to please. The resort is special. Great place to walk the beach in morning, rooms overlook the sunset at night. Pool entertainment , such as pool party's are outrageous.
Super resort for a family , kids are treated special even though we didn't have any with us. Can't wait to take our grandchildren.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
2 Thank gymlady30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis E, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Appreciated Anth0ny777,

I would like to thank you for sharing your comment with us. This office is aware of your dissatisfactions, on behalf of Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay, however, we would like to inform you that every aspect of the Hard Rock Experience has been created for our guests satisfaction,
We would like to have you back soon and have the opportunity to change your perception of our resort by delivering the VIP service we intend to all of our guests.

Best Regards.

Luis Entrala Fàbregas
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Just returned from a destination wedding and the entire wedding party stayed at the Hard Rock. This is definitely an older resort that has been slightly updated... still appears dated. I am not a fan of all inclusive resorts. The food was tolerable... several people got ill after a few days and I assume it was from the food - reminds me of cruise line food. I would have preferred eating at local restaurants but the downtown was a 30 minute drive.

Loved the pool side bartenders, wait staff and the housing group. Incredible job, very friendly and didn't hesitate to make sure we were take care of. The atmosphere was very festive. There were several liquor vendors during the week providing caps and t-shirts. We felt that it was an adult spring break.

The most disappointing aspect of our trip was the hotel credits. There was a very limited spa staff and we were never able to book massages or facials. The excursions were extremely limited and only available on one specific day of the week. We were never able to utilize our credits during our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms are small and unless you select the upgrade, you view will be the side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nonstop4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis E, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Nonstop4,

Your comments are appreciated. On behalf of Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay. We are driven by our guests satisfaction and it i tour goal to reach with the epic services that the Hard Rock Experience intends to all of our Rock Stars
We would like to have you back soon and change your perception of our resort as we strive to improve on any aspect to make your experience memorable.

Kind Regards.

Luis Entrala Fàbregas
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuevo Vallarta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

just came back on 19 April. Overall a good time.... but food is only average. no variety in breakfast. I thought this would be more of an adults place with some kids but... way to many kids. Family pool is empty while to pool bar has kids all the time. Hotel was full, so very hard to get pool chairs. People reserve them very early. Would expect better from a 5 star for that price. Rooms just ok, nothing special about this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
1 Thank Anth0ny777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis E, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Appreciated Anth0ny777,

I would like to thank you for sharing your comment with us. This office is aware of your dissatisfactions, on behalf of Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay, however, we would like to inform you that every aspect of the Hard Rock Experience has been created for our guests satisfaction,
We would like to have you back soon and have the opportunity to change your perception of our resort by delivering the VIP service we intend to all of our guests.

Best Regards.

Luis Entrala Fàbregas
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Service was the best I ever experience. Staff was great. My only con is the food grows tiring after a week. The food is just slightly above buffett food which is what it is but the sand, ocean, service made up for it. How I longed for a BBQ sandwich at the Atlanta airport.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $ for the VIP room. It is not that much more but you get special treatment at the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad4221x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis E, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Greetings Brad4221x,

Thank you for the short and sweet review! We appreciate your comments Hard Rockers! thank you for the feedback on improving buffett food,We can’t wait to welcome you again and roll the red carpet for you to provide you with the stupendous service that you already know.
Keep the good memories!!!

Luis Entrala Fàbregas
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The Hard Rock in Puerto Vallarta is excellent for those who want to have a relaxing vacation with some entertainment. The location is great for beach lovers and the pool areas are well maintained. Food and service were great and portions were nicely sized to allow you to "mix and match" entrée items which they did without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis E, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Greetings William H,

Thank you very much for your sweet review, I loved to read your thilling commets abou our resort, For all of us at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, is a large pleasure to hear about our Rockers A1 experiences and being part of amazing vacation story, we would love to see you comeback on a future vacation, always ready to welcome our dear Rockstars!

Kind Regards!

Luis Entrala Fàbregas
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
0.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,552 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
#3 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,062 reviews
6.1 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
1.2 mi away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#9 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,760 reviews
14.2 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
2,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Address: Paseo de los Cocoteros 19 - Villa 8 | Bahia de Banderas, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#6 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta is a gorgeous, 348-room beachfront property ideally situated between mountains and the Pacific Ocean, featuring unmatched, all-inclusive luxury accommodations including in-room double hydro spa tubs, fine dining, top-shelf drinks, 24-hour room service, live entertainment and more. One of only three AAA Four-Diamond hotels in the area, this stylish property boasts six restaurants offering tantalizing specialty cuisines, four bars and lounges with top shelf drinks, two large outdoor swimming pools, children's pool, beach volleyball court, Body Rock Fitness Center, unmatched music memorabilia, signature Rock Spa(R), a Rock Shop and much more. The property additionally features 6,300 square feet of meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vallarta Palace Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Vallarta Palace Nuevo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing