We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We usually go to the Cancun side of Mexico (the Excellence chain is our favourite) for vacation however went to Nuevo Vallarta for Xmas this year. The Marival Residences was a pleasant surprise - a beautiful resort only 2 years old, large modern rooms, absolutely excellent food, staff and service. There was enough variety in menus and restaurant options to eat exclusively at the Marival Residence and not go to the sister hotel (a few blocks away - free golf cart shuttle) where reservations were required and the food was merely adequate. With Air Transat the price includes priority check in privileges, pre selected seats, luggage upgrades, personal taxi service to and from the hotel and 5 free excursions included in the package. The dolphin, sea lion and sunset cruise were excellent and well done. We heard the zip line excursion (5 hours) was 2 hours of driving on a rough road and the snorkelling/kayaking adventure (7 hours) were the two activities we chose not to do. The Marival Residence is excellent for families and small children (there are "quiet" adult pools) or couples. The downside of this resort is that it is across the street from the water - only the top floor or roof top lounge gets a view of the water. To access the water, one must go to the Marival sister hotel which is a 3 star hotel at best, and very crowded, even in the VIP area on the beach which any Marival Resident guest has access to. The highlight - the rooms, ambience, food and staff/service.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SimoneCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing and Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Dear Traveler: Thank you so much for your wonderful comments, we are happy to learn your vacation experience with us met your expectations, We hope to have you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,469 - 1,475 of 2,165 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2011

I made a reservation at Marival Residences that we unfortunately had to cancel about a month ago. Their policy is that reservations can be canceled up to 7 days minus a 5% fee which seems reasonable. It has now been 6 weeks, and I have not yet seen any refund. Each time I call there is a different excuse. First time, "it will be processed next week". Second time, "our computer is not working and we don't know when it will be back in service". Third time, "we need your credit card infomation again". Fourth time, "that card didn't work and we need another credit card". Fifth time, "we need your bank account number, address, routing, etc". I've now contacted American Express to handle this for me, BUT PLEASE BEWARE!

Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
12  Thank LilyC98112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing and Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Dear Traveler: We apologize for the inconvenience during your refund process. We can assure that this was an isolated event and regret you had to go thru it. We hope to have the opportunity of serving you in the near future and perhaps make up for this experience. Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Marival Residences and World Spa in November for 1 week. Overall I would say it is a very nice property - well maintained, very clean, interesting design. What was odd is trying to figure out if this was a "residence or hotel". As a hotel it would rank in the upper levels of others in the PVR area as a residence it would be lacking. The food is nothing more then acceptable - pretending something other is silly. Having stayed at the Grand Vellas several times I think the food offering there is better. I must admit however, I am not a fan of all-inclusives. Service levels are very good at Marival, generally attentive and prompt. The beach club (which is located at the sister property) is not up to par - you have to take a shuttle and then weave your way thru pool chairs and towels to get to the beach club.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank TCGManagement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing and Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Dear Traveler: Thank you so much for your review, we understand that perhaps our Resort would not meet every one's expectations, and regret that you did not enjoy all of our services, on the bright side we are happy that you did enjoy your stay with us and hope to have the opportunity of serving you once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We were recently married in Mexico and spent a week at Marival residences for the Honeymoon. We thought highly of the hotel we stayed at for the wedding week, but when we transfered over to Marival and saw our room, we were blown away!

First, the downside:

This is a SMALL hotel, I think the lady who checked us in said they only had 150 rooms. There is only one pool area, but there is a great little splash pool for the kids (if you have any).

There are only 2 restaurants too, but they change the menu at one of them daily. The food was very good! There is also a japanese sushi place attached to the hotel with reasonable prices. They had a promo on where you got all you can eat for 1 hour (chef's choice) for $25USD, which was great. I had chicken teriyaki because I dont like sushi, and was sick that night so beware. My husband chowed down and had now issues! There is also a skybar that has food too, with a small pool.

Now for the good stuff:

We booked a penthouse suite and WOW was that worth it!!! We did get a deal, but I would only go back to this hotel if we could have a penthouse suite again. It was incredible! HUGE kitchen/dinning & living area with flat screen TV, cable, full kitchen, etc. There was a separate bedroom with ensuite & tv, and another bathroom off the kitchen. You then go upstairs to a private sunning deck and private plunge pool on the roof, which is where we spent most of our time reading and relaxing. It was great!!!

The service was pretty good, although some of the staff dont speak English very well, so that was a challenge and a bit frustrating at times. They were very helpful and accomodating though!!

Also, because you are staying in the upscale Marival hotel, you get to go eat, drink, and be entertained at the Marival resort just up the road. We went there one day and it was loud, lots of kids, the time share voltures were hovering, and the food was subpar so we left and went back to the Residences. There is a preferred beach area that is roped off and reserved for the Residences guest. It was really nice, but the good chairs were reserved by the chair hogs (you know the ones....the ones who put their towels on the best spots then dissapear for 3 hours), and the bar service was really really slow.

Overall we were very happy with our choice to stay here and will try to go back again!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Fyinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing and Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Dear Traveler: Thank you so much for your review, we learn from each and every one of the reviews and take them very seriously as we can learn how to improve our services to provide our guests with a better vacation experience every time. We hope to have you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

The current sociopolitical conditions gripping portions of Mexico clearly have taken their toll on the tourism industry. Of all the golf destinations at hand, I admit I was reluctant at first to put Puerto Vallarta toward the top of the list of places I felt comfortable recommending. The allure of golf under cloudless skies, however, not to mention near 90-degree temperatures in December (!) made quick work of any concerns.
I elected to stay at the relatively new, all-inclusive Marival Residences and World Spa (http://www.marivalresidences.com/) in Nuevo Vallarta and was immediately impressed with the attentive service (thanks Carlos and crew!), large rooms, and the top-notch quality and variety of food. As for the all-inclusive? Golf at either (or both) of the lush, Palm-lined VistaVallarta Club de Golf (Weiskop/Nicklaus) courses, which each feature spectacular views (and typically cost nearly $200/round for "outsiders") is just a call to the concierge and a quick cab ride for Marival Residences guests. (http://www.vistavallartagolf.com/)
Especially good news: Safety was never a concern. I could fare worse among the throngs of holiday shoppers at the local California Walmart.

Pros: Great, attentive staff, VIP beach club, quality dining, enjoyable (but subtle) ambiance.
Cons: Protective barriers on top floors are too short. Staff can be almost too eager (waiters tried to clear my plate before I was finished during nearly every meal...).

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LinkedGolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing and Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Dear Traveler: Thank you so much for your comments, we are happy to learn your vacation experience with us met your expectations, We hope to have you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We were originally booked at the RIU since we wanted to do a lot of "Hobie catting." After reading all of the great reviews we decided to switch to the Marival Residences. It was the right decision. Only minor down sides were having to be "tested" and take a refresher lesson to use their one small Hobie cat. The other was that the hot water would occasionally be sparse if using the showers at prime time. This happened more than once, so we just had to wait a bit for the hot water to come back. But the pros far and away outweighed the cons. The rooms looked exactly like they did on the website.... absolutely perfect. For the 2 of us, we had a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom suite. Full kitchen, living/dining room, 2 TVs, washer/dryer, excellent decor, giant balcony with a perfect panoramic view of the property and ocean. We were recently on a 5 star luxury cruise to the Mediterranean, and the food (at the main restaurant) was at least as good as, if not better here than on the cruise ship. Being into health and fitness (I'm a trainer) I was very pleased with all the healthy choices available at the main restaurant. Every morning we had perfectly prepared egg white omelettes. At the lunch buffet there was always grilled chicken and fish with steamed veggies. Of course, you didn't have to eat healthy, but the option is there is you want it.
Our weather was perfect all Thanksgiving week - mid to upper 80's and sunny during the day and mid 70's at night. We loved the grounds so much that we only did one of the 3 free excursions we were entitled to.
For more info, just see the other reviews. We were not let down at all and the trip exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 4th floor or above for a great view of the ocean. The penthouses we heard were am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phitnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing and Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Dear Traveler: Thank you so much for your wonderful comments, we are happy to learn your vacation experience with us met your expectations, We hope to have you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We had a great time at the Marival Residences.
We enjoyed the amazing room + view (request the 5th level or higher for view of the bay). The food was amazing (we were not disappointed once). The staff was friendly and professional.
We asked to book a golf game when we got there, only to be told that the free golf courses were fully booked for the week for a golf tournament. There was no other included golf courses that week. After a few days of asking they finally told us that we could golf at 2:30 in the afternoon. We were slightly frustrated when the golf cart charges were $50 US instead fo $45 US which we had been quoted many times by the hotel. It was not a good time to play because the temperature was way too hot for golfing. We purchases a 300 mL Gatorade for $5 US (drinks are pricey).
The beach was lovely. I would go back and stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gemolsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing and Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Dear Traveler: Thank you so much for your review, we are happy to learn your vacation experience with us met your expectations, We hope to have you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
2.0 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.5 mi away
Marival Resort & Suites
Marival Resort & Suites
#14 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,838 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
1.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,578 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#9 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marival Residences Luxury Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marival Residences Luxury Resort

Address: Av. Paseo Cocoteros | Lote 53 Villa 8 11, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico (Formerly Marival Residences & World Spa)
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#4 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#4 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range: £199 - £826 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marival Residences Luxury Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Something Different, Something Better! Beyond rooms or suites… the only luxury all-inclusive resort featuring modern Residences and Villas- so spacious from 1400 to 3940 sq ft! TripAdvisor Awards in Best Luxury, Best Family and Excellence. Award winning chefs offer a la carte international gourmet dining. Guests enjoy free tours, unlimited golf, VIP full service beach club and 5 star service, plus exchange privileges at sister hotel Marival Resort and Suites. Experience Melange World Spa with unique treatment rooms from 9 countries around the world. Special Kids and Teens programs too. Spacious all-inclusive Residences for couples and families are in the perfect locations. Demi-Pool Residences feature a “walk out” full service garden patio and secluded infinity pool. Ocean View Residences surround you with breathtaking views of the Pacific from sunrise to sunset. Rooftop Penthouses have private rooftop plunge pool and sundeck. For couples- renew your vows or get married for FREE with our FREE Wedding package! For families- the ultimate all-inclusive Family Emotion program with over 10 included extras customized just for your family! High-end Residences, indulgent services…nothing compares! Marival Residences Luxury Resort® is a 4 Diamond Award winner. A World Apart in a Class by Itself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marival Residences Luxury Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marival Vallarta
Marival Club
Grand Marival Nuevo Vallarta
Marival Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Marival Mexico
Nuevo Vallarta Marival
Marival Grand Club Suites Nuevo Vallarta
Marival Grand Hotel
Marival Vacation Club
Club Marival Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing