We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The level of customer service at Marival Residences was amazing. Everyone is so friendly and wanting to help in any way. The restaurants have great food and the staff are always at the ready to take an order or take away an empty plate. I have NEVER had such great customer service than I did at Marival. The entire place from the rooms to the pool and pool deck is kept clean. It is family friendly with areas for little kids too. If you ever need or want anything all you have to do is ask one of the many employees. This is not on the beach, but a short golf cart ride gets you to the sister site where you have your private beach area. I really have nothing but good things to say about this place. I would give it more then 5 stars if I could.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,560
    223
    72
    26
    30
See reviews for
744
604
16
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at Marival Residences for 4 nights with my wife and 28 year old daughter. Had a 2 bedroom luxury sea-view apartment which was clean and adequate, but 2nd bedroom was small with no windows or view; most disappointing.
We found the quality of food very good, but restaurant options very limited. The system of payment, with the requirement to sign for each meal or drink consumed was cumbersome to say the least and impossible to keep track of; a really ridiculous system.
Service was haphazard, ranging from good to poor.
The biggest problem that we had was that wifi is not included in the all-inclusive price; we discovered that they charged an effective $15.00 per day per instrument for wifi access and did not disclose that wifi was free for a limited time at the adjacent Japanese restaurant and coffee shop. For a resort of this nature, we felt this cost and non-disclosure to be really outrageous.
As the resort is inland, its private beach, accessible by shuttle was the best experience we encountered; the swimming was outstanding and service and food adequate to good.
All in all, a bit of a disappointment.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank liberty08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We deeply regret not being able to meet your expectations.
We are pleased to know you enjoyed the food quality that we offer. However, we are sorry you found the restaurant options limited since we try hard to offer a wide variety of culinary experiences in the restaurants on site. Omaggio, our international gourmet restaurant, offers different theme nights with a special dish every night plus the grill steak section. Lemmon Grass, our signature cuisine poolside restaurant with a different recipe each night and cooking show, the Insu Sky Lounge that offers a stylish dinner with appealing appetizer offerings. You can also enjoy our 3 specialty restaurants located at the sister property since you have free access to the all the facilities. Reservations are needed and taken by our Concierge and we recommend making them in advance, especially in high season, since they have limited spaces reserved for our Residences´ guests.
In reference to signing the consumption check at the end of your meal, is certainly part of control procedure since our restaurants are also available for non-guests.
Thank you for your comment regarding your disagreement about the Internet fee, as you may know this is an additional service available for your better comfort but not part of the extensive inclusions in our package.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Please contact us to customercare@marivalgroup.com for any special request and kindly accept our assurance that everything will be done to give you entire satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here for 8 nights. Facility is nice and clean. Staffs are hit or miss but most were misses. Let me start with the waiters, service is too long and very slow, they also make lots of mistakes delivering you wrong orders. Restaurants are just okay and food are not really exceptional, O'Maggio offers one new menu each night in addition to their regular menu. Lunch are all the same everyday. Insu offers good appetizers at night but really don't offer a full meal. LemonGrass has basically the same menus every night. Their Grill section has good steaks. If you are a drinker, you'll enjoy their top shelves liquor.

Pool is ordinary and I would say it was designed for the kids. This pool is not really intended for adults. There isn't really anything to do after 09:00 pm, you have to go to their other property for entertainment. There is a shuttle and it will take about 2-3 minutes. Beach at the sister hotel is nice but very crowded (there isn't any beach at Marival Residences).

Property location is far from downtown Puerto Vallarta. If you want to go downtown, you can take a bus which will take more than an hour due to numerous stops, or you can take a taxi costing about $260 pesos one way. It was really a hassle doing excursions because you have to provide your own transportation from the hotel to the attractions and it costs a lot of money. If you intend to stay at the resort, this would be fine but you will get bored since there isn't any activity at this property.

Internet has a fee ($150 a day or $735 a week) which is very slow, and always stop and freezes especially at peak hours. As other reviewers mentioned, it's 2014 now and internet should have been offered free considering that this is an all-inclusive hotel.

Check-in went fast without any significant delay. They will lead you inside one of their restaurant and offer you drinks then they will explain everything about the resort. Then they will invite you to a timeshare presentation which we declined. They will also force you to sign a sheet stating that you are liable to pay $50 (US dollars) in case you lose your bracelet (there isn't any way not to sign this as they won't check you in even if you already paid your whole stay). Unfortunately, my kid lost his at the beach while playing with the waves and we ended up paying $50. They said that they are doing this because people sometimes would pick it up and use it. But I countered that it's a kid bracelet (color coded- green for adults, and white for kids) and the likelihood of a child picking it up and wearing it and presenting him/herself to the property to take advantage of their free food or drink is nil or impossible. They won't just listened. I was able to talk to the night manager, Luis Silva, I explained everything to him, asked if they could at least give me a discount on the lost bracelet but they won't budge in. So don't ever waste your time talking to the manager, they are useless, they don't have the prerogative or the authority to waive or discount any fees. They don't believe in the effectiveness of word of mouth advertisement. They don't care if you recommend them to your friends or not. They don't even care about this tripadvisor review as one manager commented (she said I can write anything I want and they wouldn't care about it). I have the impression that customer service at management level is reserved to the top level (CEO or President of the resort). The on-site managers were just powerless.

Clientele is mostly locals from neighboring cities in Mexico (around 80-90%), which I didn't really mind.

I definitely will not recommend this property to my friends. It's too far, entertainment value is non-existence, foods are mediocre except for the Grill steaks. You will end up spending more with the additional transportation to go to excursions. Customer service is a hit or miss but mostly misses, and very slow. Managers are useless and can't help you at all. They are not sensitive to any kind of reviews. Only good thing is this is a newer property with clean facilities. And of course, if you are a drinker, they offer good choices of alcoholic beverages.

I just would like to give kudos to three people who made our stay more bearable, thanks to Nadia (head waitress) from O'Maggio who kept on checking on us while waiting to their snail-pace service assuring us that our waiter is coming to get our orders. To Tania from customer service who booked our free tour. And to Eduardo, the taxi driver who drove us numerous times to our excursions. They were excellent workers and should be in the managerial positions instead of those useless/powerless managers.

I am giving this property 1 star not because I am sour-graping for the $50 bracelet fee that we paid. Facts (pros and cons) are mentioned above and sensitivity to customer plea or complaints in my belief should be one of the outmost priority of the hospitality business which this resort lacks. Anyway, what can a single negative review do to a company who doesn't believe in the power of reviews and feedbacks, I am just a number...and so you'll be.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank trepi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your feedback. We find this information to be very valuable and we welcome any opportunity to improve.
It is so regrettable that a smaller inconvenience like the charge of a lost bracelet affected your whole stay with us, especially since you were informed about this charge at the check in and the quality of our services is supported by our satisfied guests’ comments.
We are sorry that you felt a lack of good caring by our managers on duty. We would love to have the chance to host you back again and prove you how much we care about our repeat guests. Kindly be advised that the general management is willing to assist you personally anytime in order to fulfill your needs.
Please be so kind to contact us to customercare@marivalgroup.com prior to your next visit in order to help you with any special request and make your stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at the Residences part of the Marival resort and it was very nice. The rooms/suites were amazing and the meals were excellent. I have stayed at all inclusives before, and found the system of tracking things at the Marival somewhat cumbersome. We had to wait for a check after each service to sign off with our room number--this has not been the process at other all inclusive resorts that I've stayed, but that might not be the norm. The residences are not beach front, so you have to take a golf cart or van to the other Marival location. It's a little confusing at first, but we soon found out there is a special section of the beach for those staying at the Residences vs the Beach resort where the beach service was excellent and very accommodating. Overall, a nice stay. The service at the restaurants/bars on the resort was much better at the residences. La Pergola, a supposedly high end restaurant at the beach resort, was awful.

Room Tip: Stay at the Residences, and not the beach resort for much nicer accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s_biehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived on Saturday and followed advice from travel agent on airport arrival. Do not talk or stop in white timeshare area after customs!! They will try to trick you by acting as hotel reps. Do not stop! Time waster!
Once we arrived at Marival Residences, we were taken to wine bar and treated to drinks and time share info. We decided to pass even with free goodies. We talked to other families and they attended the presentation which lasted 6 hours not 90 minutes as we were told. We passed on free items to save time. The hotel is beautiful and so clean. It has to be cleanest place I've ever stayed. We are here with family ranging from 60 to 12. We are picky and so pleased with accommodations. The maids spend a lot of time each day and we tip $4 to $6 a day. The food has been awesome and we have so enjoyed every meal. The selection is unique even with younger kids who are picky and have food allergies. The resort does not have beach access but we have really not minded. It's a quick trip to sister resort. The concierge have been helpful booking excursions and special dinners in PV. The beds are very hard but you can order a mattress topper which has been a life saver. Service at pool has been very quick to slow at times even with tipping. We tip as staff works very hard. We are on day 3 and it has been an awesome trip so far!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have never been treated so well while traveling! Everyone was extremely helpful and kind. Not 15 minutes went by without someone asking if we needed anything. The staff became more like friends by the end of the trip. The food was incredible! There is also full washer and dryer in each room. No need to pack so much. Just need swimsuits and a few changes of clothes.

Room Tip: While visiting other friends in their hotel rooms, I would say they we all the same, very nice, clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just got back from NPV from a 6 day stay at the Marival Residence Resort with my with and 16 year old teenager. This is a great hotel with pros and cons that are listed below.
Pros:
1. Outstanding service by the personnel.
2. Has 3 restaurant on site with excellent cuisine. If you are a discerning eater like I am and abhore the feed the cattle attitude of most All-inclusive resorts, then you will enjoy your stay here.
The food is the best part of this hotel in my opinion. You can in addition, opt to visit the suites part of the hotel and restaurants, but requires a reservation, in 6 days we did not feel the urge to try the additonal restaurants. There is a breakfast and lunch outdoor buffet from Thrusday through Sunday.
3. The Spa is second to none.
4. Rooms and Resort are extemely well kept and clean. I was expecting a large room but what were pleasantly surprise by the size of the rooms. In reality they are full apartments. We had what appeared to be a 2 bedroom condo, with a full balcony. Great accomodations.
Cons:
1. For a hotel of this class I was disappointed that it did not have a business center in the residence portion of the resort. Wi-Fi access is close to 15 dollars a day. I have been to places in India with a 1/3 of the infractructure of Mexico and they provide free WI-FI access at least on a limited basis in the lobby or business area. So, I find it disturbing in this day and age that this resort will not provide some limited access to the internet and find the prices they charge for access obcene.
If you need infrequent access to wi-fi, I recommend their Bistro (named "D") next to the hotel where you can spend the money on wine and gain access to their network for free, better yet find a Starbucks, they are all over in PV.
2. They try to get you on a sales tour (time shares) of their resort. I did not attend the presentation since I have been a victim of wasting my time on those in the past, but the continous request to attend gets annoying after a while. They do promise some goodies, that may appeal to some, I was not interested.
3. Ther is no direct beach access. To go to the beach area you need to catch a golf cart ride to the suites side of the resort where there is a VIP section for guest of the "residence" side of the resort. I must say that the food and service is exceptional as well in the VIP section.

In conclusion, the only reason I did not rate this hote a 5 whas for the con's listed above. Overall, I would return and recommend this hotel. Great service, great food and excellent location. It is as close to perfect as you can get, but it needs to address the issues above, for me to give it a full 5 rating.
Cheers!

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Luis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
2.0 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
0.5 mi away
Marival Resort & Suites
Marival Resort & Suites
#15 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,456 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#1 of 3 in Flamingos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
13.1 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,708 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta

Property: Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta
Address: Av. Paseo Cocoteros | Lote 53 Villa 8 11, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico (Formerly Marival Residences & World Spa)
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#4 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Something Different, Something Better! Beyond rooms or suites… the only luxury all-inclusive resort featuring modern Residences and Villas- so spacious from 1400 to 3940 sq ft! TripAdvisor Awards in Best Luxury, Best Family and Excellence. Award winning chefs offer a la carte international gourmet dining. Guests enjoy free tours, unlimited golf, VIP full service beach club and 5 star service, plus exchange privileges at sister hotel Marival Resort and Suites. Experience Melange World Spa with unique treatment rooms from 9 countries around the world. Special Kids and Teens programs too. Spacious all-inclusive Residences for couples and families are in the perfect locations. Demi-Pool Residences feature a “walk out” full service garden patio and secluded infinity pool. Ocean View Residences surround you with breathtaking views of the Pacific from sunrise to sunset. Rooftop Penthouses have private rooftop plunge pool and sundeck. For couples- renew your vows or get married for FREE with our FREE Wedding package! For families- the ultimate all-inclusive Family Emotion program with over 10 included extras customized just for your family! High-end Residences, indulgent services…nothing compares! Marival Residences Luxury Resort® is a 4 Diamond Award winner. A World Apart in a Class by Itself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marival Vallarta
Marival Club
Grand Marival Nuevo Vallarta
Marival Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Marival Mexico
Nuevo Vallarta Marival
Marival Grand Club Suites Nuevo Vallarta
Marival Grand Hotel
Marival Vacation Club
Club Marival Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing