We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marival Resort & Suites
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We just got back from Marival, and I am not quite sure what other people saw, but we absolutely loved it. The people couldn't have been nicer. The room was great. Food was delicious as well. There are three specialty restaurants, and one is better than the other. In fact, we loved it so much we are now members and can go on the private part of the beach where waiters are constantly bringing you drinks and food.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,372 - 1,378 of 3,869 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

Although this was our fifth visit to Marival we were somewhat concerned due to the negativity of some of the recent reviews. It turned out that we had another marvellous holiday with very little to complain about.

We traveled with our daughter, son-in-law and children (boy 5, girl 2). We were checked in quickly and efficiently by Karla. She went out of her way to get us the exact 2-bedroom suite we wanted.

We had breakfast most mornings at La Pergola--try the Huevos Rancheros! We ate at Las Palomas and Amalfi twice each during our stay. Both were very good with the nod going to Las Palomas for the fabulous "flaming coffee" presentation. We could have had other restaurant reservations but would never miss out on La Fiesta at the Tuesday night buffet!

Was everything perfect--no. We had next to no water pressure in our top floor bathroom for the first 3 nights. Since we were rarely in our room we did not call to have the situation fixed. Normal water pressure was restored on day four. Our request for a child's play yard did take 3 calls. If you attend the "presentation" be prepared for some arm-twisting. For us the 160 Marival Dollars (which we applied to our AI fee) was worth it. As anyone who has attended these "presentations" they don't like to hear "No".

Our five-year old grandson loved Kids Club even though he was the only English speaking child there. Adriana and her staff are wonderful.

The Palapa Bar was our favourite since the children spent most of each day in the pool. Cris(tobel) is the man to make your drinks. He is personable and makes "real" drinks.

We will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalgaryFisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I don't know where to begin. The front desk, you get there and count yourself a lucky one if they find your reservation, and the ordeal begins. After you check in, a staff member will guide you through whatever is NOT included on this all inclusive hotel. The list is "ginormous" after a 20 min talk you get to your room. Not maintained at all, white energy saver lights (looks like a dentist's office). Food is kinda OK, beverages OK, but that's it. Please, avoid this hotel, we ended up eating and spending our time out of the hotel, waste of money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Traveler
I wanted to take the time to apologize for the issues you experienced during your most recent stay at our hotel. We strive to provide the best experience possible for every guest during each stay and it is clear that we failed on your visit.
The information given at the check in is just to provide our guests with all the information regarding the hotel facilities and daily activities in order for them to be able to enjoy all the services we offer.
We also would like to share with you that we are working on a renovation program that includes the rooms along with other improvements to the Hotel. The resort upgrades will be taking place over the next several months.
We will take your feedback and work to improve in the areas you addressed. I hope you will give our hotel another chance to earn your business in the future, so we can prove how much we care for our repeat guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We spent two weeks at the Marival Resort on the Grand side. Here's a list of
our good and bad experiences.

The Good
The grounds are very nice, well kept and clean.
The beach in this area is great for swimming and walking either way although it's quite a way to Bucerias.
The a la carte restaurant Amalfi (Italian) is great. Good food and service.
The other a la carte restaurants (Mediterranean and Mexican) were good too and the Pergola (Mediterranean) has menu service for breakfast and lunch as well.
Guadalupe and Teresa at the Club lounge and Judith at the Pergola restaurant were very nice.

The Bad
The bartenders at the swim up bars and the bar near the pizza place were very unfriendly.
The drinks at the swim up bars weren't very good. The best Canadian Rye whiskey they have is
Canadian Mist, I've never heard of it and it didn't taste very good.
$15 US / day for internet access - ridiculous.
$2 US / day for in room safe, not much but I don't think you should have to pay when you're already paying for the room.
The Steakhouse restaurant was closed because they said it was still the rainy season.
Made reservations at the Mediterranean restaurant a second time only to show up and it was a buffet for that night.
No beer or booze in the room.
They didn't give us towel cards at check-in then when we couldn't get towels at the booth and went back to the lobby they read us the riot act and said it would be $60 US if we did it again.

The pools were nice and kept clean but it was hard to get to either of the swim up bars because there were so many kids at them with their inflatable toys. It would be nice to have one of the two pools with a swim up bar adults only. There is an adults only pool back aways and it's great for quiet swimming and relaxing.

Not a horrible place but I would rather go to a different resort next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urfcandian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear guest,
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback and business. We will be sure to share the comments with the Food & Beverages manager regarding our bar services. We strive to provide the best experience possible and are sorry to hear that you did not have a perfect stay. We will take your feedback into consideration and be sure to address your concerns.
With regards to your comments we would like to let you know that at the moment the internet service at the Resort does not belong to the hotel, it is provide by an external company that’s why it has a fee, but we are thinking and working to change it soon so can be cheaper.
Kindly be advised that the safety deposit box located in your room has an extra charge as that is not an inclusion of our all-inclusive package, however we have safety deposit boxes at the front desk with no extra charge available 24 hrs a day.
In regards to having drinks in the room, soft drinks and water are inclusions of your package and available anytime under request by calling the concierge desk. Since we are a family resort, for children´s safety the mini bar is not stocked with beer, however, this service is available with an extra service fee through the room service extension number.
In reference to the towel cards, we apologize for the inconvenience you may have felt. Please be sure that we will follow up with the front desk department regarding this issue you have experienced.
We hope you will give our hotel another chance to earn your business and prove to you how enjoyable a stay at our hotel can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This review is long time coming.We've been going to Marival for the last 3 years regularly and i was always thinking of posting a review, but felt that i can't add anything new to the many reviews this resort gets.
Marival Resort , not The Residences, which we saw and stayed at for one day,is the best organized resort i've ever been to.It's a very solid 4 star resort even if it's a bit outdated for some or the food doesn't have enough variety for others.
Our family of 4 has exactly what it needs to have a good time here.We have stayed here over 40 times in all types of units, another big plus for this resort, they have a wide variety of units available, from one simple room to a large two storey multiple bedroom unit.
As i'm writing this review i'm having trouble finding something i dislike about this resort.After being here so many times it's hard to be objective. Many people call this place their "home away from home". We meet them all the time, Marival has a certain appeal that makes you craving it again and again.I'm afraid to mention anything or anyone in particular in fear of not leaving somebody or something out.
I just hope they never change as this resort has become more and more popular in the last year and i know popularity can cause changes, good or bad.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Alunelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

first time when went to Marival we love it and last 6 years 3 times a year our destination for vacation it is Marival very friendly very polite and very helpful personnel very good accommodation large rooms with balcony and ver clean very very god food Restaurant Amalfi Italian very good and fin food and service La pergola restaurant best food and service and Casa Bela with the best buffet with superb station of fruits and fresh juices made at your worder the best pizza at piazeta del forni open all day till 12 am 7 bars with 2 pool bars very good service and drinks lots of activity at pool side and beach every night very beautiful show very good spa good activity for children Thankyou all personnel make my vacation so very pleasant special thanks to Maria Gaspar Mariette Aldo Luis Miriam Garcia Federico Irene Silvia Javier pelayo

Room Tip: Rooms on the south are more quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 27,345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We recently spent a week at Marival. As we went in the off season, the resort was very quiet. Lots of chairs on the beach and at the pools.The resort is older but very clean. The staff were all very professional and certainly very friendly - right from the management down to the grounds and maintenance people. The a la carte restaurants were fabulous. A very good selection of food at the Buffet. We had no complaints at all. We would certainly return to this resort again and recommend it to anyone who is planning a vacation to Puerto Vallarta..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
2.5 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.5 mi away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
#3 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,188 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#13 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,396 reviews
2.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marival Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marival Resort & Suites

Address: Blvd. Paseo Cocoteros S/N, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range: £123 - £388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marival Resort & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Something Different, Something Better! Welcome to a unique lively beachfront all-inclusive just 10 minutes from Puerto Vallarta airport! Comfortable rooms, special locations- new Mediterranean style Resort Rooms and exceptional 1-3 Bedroom Villa Style Suites starting at 570 sq ft up to 1261 sq ft including Ocean Front. One to Three Bedroom Suites are perfect for families or couples that want to spread out including two story 2 Bedroom Suites and Ocean Front steps from the sea! Romantics and families enjoy endless choices in dining, activities, laying back and relaxing. International all-inclusive dining redefined, award winning chefs offer gourmet dining at 6 restaurants. Treat yourself to 7 bars including swim-up, piano and martini bars. Endless land and water sports- rock climbing wall, activity pool, adults only pool, tennis, disco, evening theater shows, mini-golf and more! Kids waterpark pool, pirate ship, waterslides and fountains. Special kids and teens club programs too. For couples- renew your vows, get married or honeymoon on the beach. For families- the ultimate all-inclusive Family Emotion program with over 10 included extras customized just for your family! Enjoy sea, sun and nonstop fun at Marival Resort and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Marival Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marival Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Marival Resort And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing