We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for familes!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marival Resort & Suites
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for familes!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Trip was November 2 to 9, 2013. We stayed at the Marival Resort and Suites

We flew in on a Saturday, and the line to get through customs was over 2 hours. There were 3 or 4 customs agents checking people through at a time, and probably 10 to 15 unopened booths which was very frustrating.

On the other hand, getting from the airport to our hotel via taxi only cost 45 dollars plus a tip, which was less than expected based on other reviews and we did not need to walk across the pedestrian bridge to get a good price. It would have been nice had the Marival had a complementary shuttle service to and from the airport, given we paid for the all-inclusive.

We were a group of 3 adults, a teen, a 5 year old and a 3 year old. The check in process was fine, we were given fun fruity drinks and some maps. It would have been helpful to know that we had to make reservations for the restaurants in a different building, as this was confusing. It would have been more convenient to have the concierge, reservations, and check-in all in one building. As it was, I had to go back and forth between the two several times because I was not informed of the process of making reservations initially.

Pros:
1. The kid's pool is really great with fun water slides, and the depth shallow throughout.

2. The proximity to the beach and ocean is amazing, and there are conveniently located showers at every entrance.

3. Every pool had a kid-friendly area, either a shallow end or a separate kid's pool.

4. Many available chairs on both the beach and at all the pools.

5. The swim-up bars were great and once we figured out how to order better drinks (double tequila!), the quality improved.

6. The staff is very friendly, making eye contact and saying “hola, que tal?”

7. The staff is very on top of clean up and making everything presentable, including removing empty drink cups, and sweeping water off the pathways after a rain. At one point I saw housekeeping wiping down the walls of a common walk way.

8. Our room was spacious (two master bedrooms with king beds, three bathrooms and a small sink/microwave/refrigerator area, a table with 4 chairs, couch and two balconies). The housekeeping staff kept it very clean, mopping the floors daily and calling if we had put the “no cleaning” sign up asking if we needed more towels or water.

9. Jose at La Pergola was amazing, and went as far as to make flowers out of napkins for our kids and a grasshopper out of a palm frond! When the little one fell asleep, he brought out a table cloth for her to cover with.

10. The spinning and Pilates classes were good, and the instructor was nice

11. My husband played ping-pong with all the lifeguards, and they were all super welcoming and he had a great time. Jay and Chelis were especially friendly.


Cons:
1. The food was mediocre, although the reservation restaurants were much better, we could only eat at them three times during our stay (although if you make friends with a waiter they let you know you can come back for any dinner, just ask for that waiter and give them a tip!)

2. The second room (for my sister and niece) smelled like cigarette smoke.
3. This is a resort that allows smoking in any area, even the kid pools.

4. The Kid's Club is very small, and kind of run-down and dank-feeling. The large TV is constantly on and blaring. There were a few fun painting and “Iron Chef” activities that our kids enjoyed, but we did have to be there with them since the age range is 4 to 12, and we have a 3 year old.

5. The “Activities Pool” had music constantly blaring, and when there were announcements it was so distorted (and in Spanish) that we had no idea what was said. It was also right next to the kid's pool which was annoying.

6. Showers did not have an adjustable shower head, which was only a minor annoyance.

7. The “free” bus tour to Puerta Vallarta is not recommended if you have young children. We were told this would be a 3.5 hour trip, and ended up at 8.5 hours. In retrospect, I would have taken the bus into the city, gotten off at the boardwalk and gotten a taxi back. As it was, we had a very brief look at the boardwalk (the one thing everyone kept telling us we HAD to see), and about 30 minutes at the flea market for shopping, a few minutes at the Catholic church, and then drove to a “fancy” jewelry store for “margaritas and better shopping” which ended up being a VERY expensive store with the cheapest tequila mixed with Squirt. Then we drove up to the mountains for an expensive dinner, although we did not have to eat, we were hungry and had to spend about 1 hour there before the bus left. After this we went to a Tequila distillery which was fine for adults, but my kids were hot and miserable by this point. We barely made it back in time for our 6pm dinner reservation, after leaving at 9:30 am.

8. We had to pay for a key for the room safe.

9. Wi-fi was 18 US dollars PER DAY.

10. The mini-golf course is pretty pathetic and poorly maintained with only a few run-down greens and holes, no fun obstacles or decoration.

11. The beds were hard, but there are mattress toppers available upon request for no charge.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,494
    1,169
    496
    247
    181
See reviews for
1,531
783
53
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

For a first time I had no idea what to expect. We went with friends and that helped pave the way. Upon arrival at the resort we checked in and we taken aside by what I thought was a resort employee. They we actually working for the Club or time share side of things.
After saying I was not interested in a tour or pressure sales pitch, the employee began pleading he needed the money and would get paid if only I would take the tour. He offered 160 dollars in resort credits. I finally had to demand our room cards. For the next three days every time we accessed the Wi-Fi in the lobby we were bombarded by Norma, a sales rep for the same.

I finally complained to the manager and actually avoided the lobby until our stay was done.

Other wise all was good. The beach, the room, restaurants were all excellent.

One more concern is how busy things were there. It looked like the resort was used for time share sales for the Mexican people also and therefore the area was extra busy.

Would I go back, no not there. I will look for resorts that do not use their clients as fresh meat for time share pressure sales.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Traveler
Thank you so much for taking your time to provide us with your feedback! We are always striving to make guests' stays as comfortable as possible and we are sorry for any inappropriate comment or behavior by the Vacation Club staff as well as their persistence and pressure, your comment has been addressed to the head of area for its follow up. We strive to provide the best experience possible and are sorry to hear that you did not have a perfect stay.
Given the opportunity we would like invite you to try any other of our sister properties, Marival Residences & World Spa located in the area of Nuevo Vallarta, or Rancho Banderas All Suite Resort in Punta Mita. Both are luxurious products that we consider, based in your previous comments, would live up to your expectations.
We hope you will give Marival Group another chance to earn your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Well, this is a nice place, but there are a lot of cons to the pros.
The Pros
Nicest staff ever encountered. The staff worked to please the customers and it showed with great respect. The staffs’ efforts were undermined by the logistics of the resort however.
The beach is very close to the resort and at night you can hear the waves breaking on the beach. For those that like a beach in short walking distance this is a great choice. The beach is much different than the Cancun/Riviera Maya area as the sand is brown and a little rougher, but the beach has a wider girth for walking on with the water coming in at an even plane. The water is nice and warm even in November. It makes for a great area to talk nice long walks on the beach as the beach area/sand is much more firm.

The Cons
The food was mediocre, actually terrible at times and very limited. The buffet was like mass produced catered food. Never were there any olives, guacamole was a rare occurrence and for a place in Mexico you would think it would be available much more. Even hot sauces, at times you had to hunt for that. If you wanted any cheese sauce on your nachos it was so watered down it was disgusting. They have cut up hotdogs in a warming pan as "sausages".. really? c'mon. The desert selection was awful, the same thing every night and it was basically different formations of flan or three milk cake.
This resort is one of those set up to offer special retreats to the local nationals. For the week we were there the local nationals outnumbered the tourist by 80%, and at times they were very rude. If you thought you were in a line at the buffet for something forget about it, they would just jump right in front of you and dive right in as the acceptable practice. Kids were unruly and not well behaved, it was the norm for the parents to turn their head and kids would run around screaming in the buffet area. The kids would routinely raid the ice cream bin and stand there licking ice cream cones and scooping more on as needed unsupervised. One particular instance we observed a child lick her ice cream cone and scoop more on it with the scooper and mashed it down on the eaten ice cream and reach back in and scoop more. Yuk! That is not hygienic. We watched the staff stand there and watch kids do this without intervening.

The pool areas are small and crowded. Don’t even bother. Any time a martini was requested at any of the bars… no olives. The alcohol was a very very limited selection.
We checked out the Italian resto and sat outside with a drink and watched people sit there for 30 minutes before they got any food. Nope, not worth the wait.
The rooms were cleaned well, but the décor/furniture is older as of the 70’s or 80’s. Couch was old fabric, ottoman, couch or chairs didn't match, all different color and fabric and all had stains like years of partying spilled on it. Never any beer stocked in the frig, just a few bottles of water. There was only a small light in the bathroom in that you had to leave the door open to get decent lighting while you took a shower which would fill up to your ankles.

This resort seemed to cut a lot of corners in a budget that was noticeable and affected the customers. If it wasn’t for the beach this would have been an unhappy stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aventurier2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear guest,
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and business. We regret we did not meet your expectations concerning the quality of food & beverages, even though this concept has been one of the most praised by our guests. However, we will forward your remarks to our executive chef to be taken into consideration.
We apologize for any inappropriate behavior by other guests that may have affected your stay. At this time of the year we are visited by large groups of students and families and sometimes we cannot control their demeanor but we will take your feedback into consideration and be sure to address your concerns in order to do a greater effort to control what is in our hands.
In regards to having drinks in the room, soft drinks and water are inclusions of your package and available any time at your request by calling the concierge desk. Since we are a family resort, for children´s safety the mini bar is not stocked with beer; however, this service is available with an extra service fee through the room service extension number.
We are surprised by the comment regarding our specialties Italian Restaurant since it has always received the highest qualification of satisfaction (over 95%), this score determined by our own guests.
Although there are other hotels in the area, we believe that you will not find another property that will take care of your needs and have a staff that is 100% committed to exceeding your expectations. We hope you will give us another chance to earn your business in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan City, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

first let me say the grounds and staff are fantastic. the buffet meals were good with a good variaty of items. did not do any night entertainment while there but heard shows were just ok. arrived on a saturday afternoon about 2. our room was not ready so got checked in at front desk. took about 20 min to get checked in. went to buffet to eat and a couple of drinks. by then our room was ready. we were in building 11 which is the furthest building from the front desk which was fine with us as was away from noise of pools. the pools are kept clean and are nicely warm. let me say that on saturday and part of sunday the resort was very crowded with what we were told as locals. the pool bar was abit hard on those days to get up to in order to get a drink. after sunday back to normal. let me also say the timeshare hecklers are in the lobby. if you have no intention on this subject please dont talk to them. we did and was set up for a next day tour of their other marival resort. was told with breakfast and tour would be 90 min plus after talk would be given 160 dollar apple vacation credit vouchers. we told them after tours we were not interested and wanted to sign off as a no but keep getting harrased. my wife left the room so i once again asked to sign off this time a little louder. another guy told our guy to go ahead and sign us off. was told to go out of room. there i was meet by a women who said my wife also needed to sign paper. i told her forget the credit im done and walked away without our 160 credit. next day in lobby said something to manager who took me back to the original room and got me our 160 credit. also there is no free internet in the buildings, only wifi if you buy it. however if you go to the beach and walk down to left toward pier area, about 3/4 way there on top of a white resort there is a hard rock sign which you can get there wifi for free. overal was a great relaxing trip. by the way our room was 2nd floor.. walk into room left turn was bedroom with a tub shower bathroom then there was a kitchen with table frig and microwave. then a little outdoor porch. also had another bathroom with a stand up shower and toilet.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homer Glen, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We just got back from Marival, and I am not quite sure what other people saw, but we absolutely loved it. The people couldn't have been nicer. The room was great. Food was delicious as well. There are three specialty restaurants, and one is better than the other. In fact, we loved it so much we are now members and can go on the private part of the beach where waiters are constantly bringing you drinks and food.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Although this was our fifth visit to Marival we were somewhat concerned due to the negativity of some of the recent reviews. It turned out that we had another marvellous holiday with very little to complain about.

We traveled with our daughter, son-in-law and children (boy 5, girl 2). We were checked in quickly and efficiently by Karla. She went out of her way to get us the exact 2-bedroom suite we wanted.

We had breakfast most mornings at La Pergola--try the Huevos Rancheros! We ate at Las Palomas and Amalfi twice each during our stay. Both were very good with the nod going to Las Palomas for the fabulous "flaming coffee" presentation. We could have had other restaurant reservations but would never miss out on La Fiesta at the Tuesday night buffet!

Was everything perfect--no. We had next to no water pressure in our top floor bathroom for the first 3 nights. Since we were rarely in our room we did not call to have the situation fixed. Normal water pressure was restored on day four. Our request for a child's play yard did take 3 calls. If you attend the "presentation" be prepared for some arm-twisting. For us the 160 Marival Dollars (which we applied to our AI fee) was worth it. As anyone who has attended these "presentations" they don't like to hear "No".

Our five-year old grandson loved Kids Club even though he was the only English speaking child there. Adriana and her staff are wonderful.

The Palapa Bar was our favourite since the children spent most of each day in the pool. Cris(tobel) is the man to make your drinks. He is personable and makes "real" drinks.

We will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalgaryFisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I don't know where to begin. The front desk, you get there and count yourself a lucky one if they find your reservation, and the ordeal begins. After you check in, a staff member will guide you through whatever is NOT included on this all inclusive hotel. The list is "ginormous" after a 20 min talk you get to your room. Not maintained at all, white energy saver lights (looks like a dentist's office). Food is kinda OK, beverages OK, but that's it. Please, avoid this hotel, we ended up eating and spending our time out of the hotel, waste of money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Traveler
I wanted to take the time to apologize for the issues you experienced during your most recent stay at our hotel. We strive to provide the best experience possible for every guest during each stay and it is clear that we failed on your visit.
The information given at the check in is just to provide our guests with all the information regarding the hotel facilities and daily activities in order for them to be able to enjoy all the services we offer.
We also would like to share with you that we are working on a renovation program that includes the rooms along with other improvements to the Hotel. The resort upgrades will be taking place over the next several months.
We will take your feedback and work to improve in the areas you addressed. I hope you will give our hotel another chance to earn your business in the future, so we can prove how much we care for our repeat guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
6.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#40 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
#4 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
1,990 reviews
13.4 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
2,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#17 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
5,010 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
#13 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,750 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#9 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marival Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marival Resort & Suites

Property: Marival Resort & Suites
Address: Boulevard Nuevo Vallarta y Paseo Cocoteros S/N, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marival Resort & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Something Different, Something Better! Welcome to a unique lively beachfront all-inclusive just 10 minutes from Puerto Vallarta airport! Comfortable rooms, special locations- new Mediterranean style Resort Rooms and exceptional 1-3 Bedroom Villa Style Suites starting at 570 sq ft up to 1261 sq ft including Ocean Front. One to Three Bedroom Suites are perfect for families or couples that want to spread out including two story 2 Bedroom Suites and Ocean Front steps from the sea! Romantics and families enjoy endless choices in dining, activities, laying back and relaxing. International all-inclusive dining redefined, award winning chefs offer gourmet dining at 6 restaurants. Treat yourself to 7 bars including swim-up, piano and martini bars. Endless land and water sports- rock climbing wall, activity pool, adults only pool, tennis, disco, evening theater shows, mini-golf and more! Kids waterpark pool, pirate ship, waterslides and fountains. Special kids and teens club programs too. For couples- renew your vows, get married or honeymoon on the beach. For families- the ultimate all-inclusive Family Emotion program with over 10 included extras customized just for your family! Enjoy sea, sun and nonstop fun at Marival Resort and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Marival Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marival Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Marival Resort And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing