We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed two times and will return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marival Resort & Suites
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vancouver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stayed two times and will return”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed at this resort in 2007 and 2013. The staff is very friendly,helpful. Food choices are great, being able to make dinner reservations is a nice change from going to buffet style meal.
The stone pizza oven and snacks are great. Rooms are clean and if you have any room issues they get dealt with promptly. Pools are great, but if wanting to sun at the adult only pool…recommend that you reserve with your towel early.

Room Tip: Ground level is great….and choose with two bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindyloo9596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Traveler
Thank you for posting a review about our resort. Guests' comments are very important to us as we strive to provide them with the best possible vacation experiences. We are very pleased to have you as repeat guest, and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,503
    1,169
    496
    247
    182
See reviews for
1,536
784
53
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (610)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucyrus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Went to this resort a year ago February. Pizza outside was good and the mushrooms in the Italian restaurant was out of this world we just kept asking for more. Buffet food was average at best sit down restaurants were good. Drinks were all cheap and bottom shelf. Snorkeling in the area is not good the whale watching was something different for us and neat. Stay away from Timeshare people also. Nice resort wont be back there is better but there is also worse.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buckspride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience with future travelers. We regret you found the quality of drinks less than satisfactory. Any opportunity to improve our services and facilities is more than welcome. We also apologize for any discomfort you may have felt by the Vacation Club staff. Your concerns have been addressed to the head of each area you mention. We hope you will give us another chance to host you in the future. Although there are other hotels in the area, we believe that you will not find another property that will take care of your needs and have a staff that is 100% committed to exceeding your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Had our Wedding at the Marival on Jan 15, was fantastic. We have been to the resort several times so knew that it would be good. But even further wowed by the attention to detail, the overall accommodations for our guests, and the exceptional experience provided by the wedding planner as well as the resort. Everything went flawlessly and we had no concerns leading up to the event, or even decisions to be made. From the flowers chosen, to the set up of both the ceremony and reception locations, to the cake chosen, and the overall experience we could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, 3 February 2015
Dear Pat,

We're very happy that all your wedding details were exceptional. And also we're happy to read that you and your guests had a great time. It's such a great pleasure that your wedding was flawless and everything was solved by your wedding planner and the Resort. Congratulations for this new life cycle, full of new and beautiful experiences.

Hope we can always be an option to your future events.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level Contributor
176 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The resort is almost as good as always, we have been here many times over the past 10 years, however the ownership of the Marival is changing the tides and the regular vacationer is getting the shaft..... Our yearly review is below my rant about our latest experience...

This time I am going to say: Marival figure out who want business from, your Gold and Platinum Members or people who return year after year and pay just as much as anyone else! In my opinion the Marival is in risk of loosing business, we may be changing resorts next year, why you ask?
The Marival is catering to their timeshare members both at this resort and the 'Residences' down the road, they have created exclusive beach areas, bars and a beach restaurant for these members and an exclusive breakfast area. The people staying at the residences have no beach so the Marival shuttles them back and forth to this resort. When we were there last year, there was 1 somewhat limited beach area that they had exclusive access to, this year we find out they (the marival) have taken a much larger area of beach and waterfront in the center of the beach area, blocked it off from us 'commoners' and dedicated that to them as well.

Here lies part of the problem and why people like me (and yes we spoke with others too) are ticked off, these 'exclusive areas' are only 10% to 20% used (yes, we have photos to prove it as do others), all the other beach areas at the resort are packed and there are always people not able to find a beach spot because of this. On top of it all, we constantly see people with 'gold bands' in the main beach area, so Marival....do the gold members not want to use the 'exclusive area' or what? Now we are all crammed onto a smaller beach area than ever before. I am not sure how you could call ourselves an "all inclusive" when you have now segregated a very large part of your guests from 3 areas of the resort.

Now on to our review, I have to say it is always very pleasant to return to the Marival and see familiar faces throughout the resort, there are some employees there who have become a friendly face to us year after year, to all of them I say: thank you and keep up the great work, you make us come back!
Folks, tip tip tip, the people working here live on tips and lets face it, 20 pesos for a couple drinks is pocket change. Tip your house keepers daily if possible, you never know if it's the same one each day or a different one, we typically tip 50 (sometimes more) pesos per day, it helps too when we write a note in spanish asking for extra water or other things, they are more than happy to oblige. Servers in the restaurants we tip 50 pesos per meal, in the a la carte restaurants we tip more and we base that tip on what we would tip for a meal similarly at home.

The food unfortunately (and I know I said this last time too) needs to change, the main buffet at casa bella is the same flavor no matter what 'dinner night' it happens to be (oriental, italian, fishermans etc), please please please change something! It's not all bad folks, don't get me wrong, but when you go back year after year you kind of hope for something a little different.

We love(d) the marival and are very disappointed at their changes, however everything else as always was great, the rooms were clean (tip them), the food servers were friendly (tip them), the front counter staff were accommodating (to an extent) , the resort is beautiful, the grounds are well maintained, the pools are clean, it is just plain a great resort! LOVE IT!
One last vent before we end this year's review, why, why why, can you not accommodate room requests that are given. Almost every time we WASTE one day working on getting the room we asked for and shuttling our bags around, why do we always have to go through this? We are a couple who always ask for a king bed, not two doubles, we like to share a bed, we know some people do not, we do though and if we request a king bed and not two doubles we should get it! The irony is, a couple we spoke with the night before we left requested 2 doubles, they got one king..... sigh.... Everything else we have written in our previous reviews still holds true, please look them over too for more info.

Room Tip: If you don't get what you wanted, requested or expected, go back to the front counter and polite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank frombeautifulBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, 3 February 2015
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience with others. We love when our guests take the time to share what they enjoyed about their stay.
We have the commitment to provide quality service, facilities and meals to all of our guests, and we're happy that you received it, we'll be looking forward to change flavors and surprise you in your next visit.
The time share guests and residents from Marival Residences have some extra benefits, that are included in their Marival Vacation Plan, like the Private Beach Club, so they have the choice to go to this selected area or not. We'll try to keep doing our best so this kind of situations doesn't become a conflict between the Marival Resort and Residences guests.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We were in the Marival for our 11th time. In Dec 2013.

Pro's- We had a good room with an ocean view. The beach in this area is incredible.

Con's- What we have noticed recently the amenities for the non gold members has deteriorated.For example, the breakfast restaurant by the kids pool has been made into gold members only! We used to love ocean breeze breakfasts. When we were there they were building a bar /snack bar on the beach front for gold members only.(promoting members first) the beach we loved to walk in front of the resort,is 1/2 the size now for special lounge area's for Gold members only. We paid a little more this year and got a lot less for our $'s because we are not gold members. We had construction, lights and dust outside of our balcony from 8am till after 12pm for two weeks! New area's for the gold members only. We believe that non member amenities are being taken away and the $'s should reflect the trip price.
So are they going to be a Gold members only resort or are they going to accommodate the average person who doesn't want anything to do with time shares. (Or in their terms owners).Instead they should concentrate on keeping their food hot and coffee in the rooms and keep people satisfied and want to come back and enjoy a great vacation like they used to offer.(Before the gold member push.) They made us feel like we were second class to gold members, which the signs promoted all over the resort.
Please do your homework if interested in this resort to find out what you might or might not get for your hard earned money.. We had good memories from this resort from past years. But this will be our last time to this resort.

From seasoned travellers,
B.C. Canada

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank jay-dcbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Traveler,
Thank you very much for your review. We strive to provide the best experience possible and are sorry to hear that you did not have a perfect stay this time. We will take your feedback into consideration.
There is breakfast available at Casabella and Pergola with indoors and outdoors options in both restaurants. Some guests may have been allowed to have breakfast at La Bamba someday due to demand, but since last year this spot is exclusive for members for the purpose of giving them a benefit for their preference. Also, we certainly just built an exclusive beach club for our Vacation Club guests since we consider they should be given a plus for being members, but also still care a lot about our regular and repeat guests of course. They are and always will be very important to us and nothing else in the entire resort has changed. The restaurants, bars, entertainment activities and other services are the same for every guest. We also would like to share that we have increased the number of chairs and loungers at the beach and pool areas.
We apologize for the inconveniences during your stay. We hope you give us the chance to host you again in the future and we will be offering a special deal through your travel agency for your next visit. Hope to see back you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This was our second stay at the Grand Marival from Jan 15-22. We had emailed prior to leaving to request a room close to the ocean for a view, with a king bed, and mattress topper. When we checked in, we were not required to go through the timeshare as we had stayed here previously and again graciously declined this. We were given our cards to our room, went to locate it only to discover it was ground floor facing the Dreams Resort parking lot - thus zero view. We went back to the front desk to inquire if there was any chance of changing to a room with somewhat of a view. A very accommodating young man by the name of Marco advised he had another room with a king bed available two days later if we would like and that we would be 'surprised' with it. We were more than willing to wait the two days and at that point, discovered it was an ocean front room 3rd floor with an AMAZING view!!!!! So again, many thanks to Marco for this!!!!!

The food was ample also, as were the drinks. We were never bothered by anyone and found all staff we dealt with very pleasant and accommodating!

Thanks again Marival for the hospitality!!!!

Room Tip: Ocean Front on the Grand Side - you cannot go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Want2gobackagin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Traveler
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. We value our guests' opinion, and specially that of our repeat guests. We are pleased to know that you got the ocean view room you had previously requested. Glad that we had the availability. Thank you for your positive comments about our staff. We certainly look forward to a new opportunity to serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I have been visiting Marival for many years, sometimes with family and friends, and other times by myself.

Location
The hotel is located in Nuevo Vallarta, about a 20 minute taxi ride from the airport. It's more peaceful the staying in Puerto Vallarta, but still reasonably close to be able to go into town if you desire, either by taxi or by local bus.

Staff
The staff is what makes the difference for me as they are so friendly, and I have gotten to know many quite well over the years, so I truly feeling like they are family. Maria, Miriam, Judith, Fernando and so many others

Rooms
The hotel itself is not the newest or highest class, but is very comfortable, with lots of space and places to walk around. It has one of the longest beaches, and 3 large pools. A big plus for me is the separation between the activity pool and the quiet adults pool, which is truly quiet. I find many Mexican hotels only have one large main pool that is very noisy, or the so called quiet pool is small and not that quiet.

The rooms are comfortable and practical. There are 3 main areas for rooms to be aware of: Grand, Club and Blocks. The Grand is a 6 story 2 tower set of rooms, by the activity pool. The club rooms are 3 story sets of rooms on the other side of the hotel, and the blocks are much like mini townhouses, generally with 1,2 or 3 bedroom suites. By far the best rooms are in the blocks, but they are more expensive. I would generally pick the Grand rooms over the Club rooms just for convenience.

The beds are reasonably comfortable and not too firm, although it's always a personal taste. Overall the rooms are not as nice as some of the more expensive new hotels, but in Mexico you only use a room to sleep and change as you are always outside.

Food
I find the food very good, and a wide selection to choose from whether the buffet or one of the a la carte restaurants. A particular highlight is the wood oven pizza snack area, which is great for a snack even late at night. As is usual with all inclusives you need to reserve the a la carte restaurants ahead, so I suggest you do that the first morning to get it out of the way, particularly in busy months of Jan-Mar. The Mexican and Italian are favorites

Activities
The activities staff is very friendly and outgoing. They may not have quite as many planned activities as other hotels, but that is only because there is so much you can do on your own. If you get to know the activity staff well, they can also help with suggestion for good activities beyond the scheduled ones. Bike tours, volleyball and water aerobics are good ones to try out with the staff. They also do a nightly show in the large theatre as well as host things like games in the lobby bar at night after the show.

The hotel is particularly good for families, couples and seniors, giving a nice mix of activities available and quiet comfort is that is what you want. If you are looking to party every night out drinking with lots of action, you might want to look at a downtown hotel instead. No resort is perfect no matter the cost, but for the money and friendliness I would highly recommend it. Even if an issue comes up, they will do their best to accommodate you.

Room Tip: Block suites are the best, but if you are in the Grand, suggest you get room closer to ocean (and fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mpgyvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Traveler
Thank you for taking the time to post a comprehensive, well informed review of our resort. We value guests's opinions, particularly when coming from repeat guests of many years, and are certain that other travelers benefit from them when published on line. We are honored that you have made us your favorite destination and consider us your home away from home. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
6.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#39 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,352 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
#3 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
1,993 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#17 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
5,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
2,814 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
#13 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,758 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#9 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marival Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marival Resort & Suites

Property: Marival Resort & Suites
Address: Boulevard Nuevo Vallarta y Paseo Cocoteros S/N, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marival Resort & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Something Different, Something Better! Welcome to a unique lively beachfront all-inclusive just 10 minutes from Puerto Vallarta airport! Comfortable rooms, special locations- new Mediterranean style Resort Rooms and exceptional 1-3 Bedroom Villa Style Suites starting at 570 sq ft up to 1261 sq ft including Ocean Front. One to Three Bedroom Suites are perfect for families or couples that want to spread out including two story 2 Bedroom Suites and Ocean Front steps from the sea! Romantics and families enjoy endless choices in dining, activities, laying back and relaxing. International all-inclusive dining redefined, award winning chefs offer gourmet dining at 6 restaurants. Treat yourself to 7 bars including swim-up, piano and martini bars. Endless land and water sports- rock climbing wall, activity pool, adults only pool, tennis, disco, evening theater shows, mini-golf and more! Kids waterpark pool, pirate ship, waterslides and fountains. Special kids and teens club programs too. For couples- renew your vows, get married or honeymoon on the beach. For families- the ultimate all-inclusive Family Emotion program with over 10 included extras customized just for your family! Enjoy sea, sun and nonstop fun at Marival Resort and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Marival Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marival Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Marival Resort And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing