We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please keep out!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marival Resort & Suites
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Please keep out!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went on an anniversary trip and since we know Vallarta very well stayed at an all inclusive Resort in Nuevo Vallarta; it was awful!!! The food looked disgusting, unhealthy and sure tasted like it, same with beverages, lowest possible quality! The cleaning is a wreck, dirty dishes and trash outside the units Sporting there for hours and the bathroom mat in our bathroom was filthy, stains in the mirror and furniture, I could keep going on forever, they bring people in with packed buses and as trashy as can be...take my word for it and do not go to this place, I am an experienced traveler and this place is truly bad...on the other hand their Residences Resort is quite lovely and should have stayed there instead, no beach on that one though...

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mauricio Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear traveler,
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel on this site. We appreciate your feedback. We strive to provide the best experience possible and are sorry to hear that you did not have a perfect stay. We will take your feedback into consideration and be sure to address your concerns to the appropriate leaders in the hotel. Although there are other hotels in the area, we believe that you will not find another property that will take care of your needs and have a staff that is 100% committed to exceeding your expectations. We hope you will give us another chance to host you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,549
    1,197
    506
    253
    194
See reviews for
1,609
797
55
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Resort & Suites and 3 nights at the sister property, Residences. The two properties are very different, each have their good and bad, depending on what you like on vacation. The grounds and pools are beautiful and the whole resort is steps away from the beach. However, the first pool is always loud. It must be the party pool, it has constant loud music, people yelling, lots of kids running around, and there is a crew of hotel employees that get on the microphone to announce games and things. Its quite annoying in our opinion. Luckily, the second pool across the way and still on the beach is much quieter. The VIP beach club is right there too which is for Gold and Platinum members only. If you can use this area you will not be disappointed. Amazing service, yummy drinks, and delicious food right on the beach where they have padded beds and loungers to lay on. The best part of our stay was hanging out here. Our server Fabian greeted us each day with a smiling face and literally the BEST service I have ever received. They wait on you hand and foot, and get to know you while you're there. Ok so for the restaurants, the Mexican restaurant was the absolute best, the Italian was pretty good, and the Mediterranean was very decent. We ate breakfast at La Bamba right on the beach, they had great food. Our only complain really was the noise level. There is also a club on property and when people came out at night drunk they were loud and would wake us. We had to call security to get rid of drunk people loud outside of our room one night. So, stay at the Residences if you prefer peace and quiet, we really enjoyed our time there. But Resort & Suites is nice to be right on the beach and they do have quieter areas away from the main pool. The property has beautiful lush landscape and most everyone was very friendly and helpful. Also they have complimentary kayaks and boogie boards to use at the beach which was nice. Small sail boats and paddle boards were available to rent too. You can find many activities on the beach from sand volleyball, parasailing, banana boat rides, etc. Very fun place, we will be back!

Room Tip: Two bedroom suites on the beach are great! I would stay away from the main pool area if you want som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank azparkerfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, 2 January 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased to know that our variety of food and drinks was granted as high quality, that you were delighted by our staff’s service and enjoyed our pool and had fun with our beach activities. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by the noise that night, your comments are going to be taken into consideration right away.
Overall, we appreciate your comments and we are very pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and staff. We look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We once again had an awesome stay at the hotel! Wait Staff is awesome! Food was great! We stayed in a two bedroom condo and it was cleaned daily. Everyone is super friendly. Boogie Boarding is great! No need to leave the resort!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, 30 December 2014
Thank you for choosing Marival Resort & Suites and thank you for writing such a wonderful review! It was truly a pleasure to have you with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and staff, our daily activities, and our facilites. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Beach area was wonderful and the service was excellent. We stayed at the Marival residents and had a vip area at the Marival resort & suites. We were spoiled by the service we received from Ernesto, Francisco and Omar every day at the beach. They took such good care of us there was nothing more we wanted. Thank you for making our vacation perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, 30 December 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased to know that our variety of food and drinks was granted was of the highest quality, and that you enjoyed a relaxing atmosphere during your stay. Our mission is to exceed the expectations of our guests and it is great to know we achieved it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at the sister property, Marival Residences and World Spa but our beach access was at the VIP Beach Club located at the Resort & Suites, a short shuttle ride away. The VIP Beach Club is for guests of the Residences only and is a spectacular place with loungers, cabanas beach activities and an amazing view!. The staff and service completely sets it apart! Francisco and his team were absolutely wonderful and made our stay wonderful!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelsmith76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, 29 December 2014
Thank you for writing such a positive review on our profile; it really energizes the team when we read comments such as yours. We appreciate that you have us on mind when you plan your next vacation. Francisco and everyone at the VIP beach club say hi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Resort is beautiful and clean.
Food is wonderful. Servers and bartenders are awesome. Resort is a good size with options. Fun for kids. Kids club and food area are cool....especially for small kids.
Beach was perfect. Sand went out forever and it was safe. Even lifeguards watched out for everyone during the rough sea times.
There was some things that really upset us. The language barrier was worst at this resort compared to any other I have been to, and I beleive this lead to most of the issues we had.
We are a family of 4, two kids.
We asked for a 1 bedroom suit with a cot so one kid can sleep sofa bed and other cot. We got a bedroom with two double beds. It was a huge deal to get what we actually paid for so we just made it work. Eventually we got a a cot in the room.
Wifi is $12 a day! When we first bought it we were told it was per gig, not day, so there was a bit of a hassle getting that fixed. At check out the desk chick was super rude about not having all our towel cards and saying we would have to pay for them. They were resort towels that the maids always took out of our room. So it kinda annoyed us how she talked to us at check out.
Time share people are rediculous. We actually considered buying into it and went to a meeting. But they wanted us to sign away a lot of money on the spot or no deal.
The other thing that really pissed us off was the amount of our items that went missing! I realize if we forget something somwhere, it is our fault. But on a resort if it gets found usually the maid has it or there is a lost and found. So many of our items went missing and never got turned in. My son left his hat in kids world and we went back and it was were gone. Same with his shoes at the buffet. Like who steals a kids shoes?! Obviously he is gonna come back and look for his shoes....annoying. So we lost 2 hats and a pair of shoes and a bunch of other things
Overall, it was a great time. We all had fun and resort was beautiful. .



Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank NataleeDarrickBouman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, 21 October 2014
Dear Traveler
Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive review of our resort in this web site. We value your feedback, as it helps us to improve our services and facilities. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay here, the beach, the service from the staff and the kids club. On the other hand, we are sorry to learn that there were issues that took away from an otherwise perfect vacation. We look forward to greeting you back in the near future and show you how much we care for our repeat guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Last year we were on vacation in PV in Riu and it was AMAZING!!! So this year we've decided to do the same vacation only try a different hotel. We started looking into kids-friendly all inclusive results. Marival by ratings, reviews and many of our friends was rated as one of the best... THIS IS NOT TRUE or whoever said haven't been to better.

Just to compare with last year's amazing court and pool layout where your toddler can run around and you don't freak out that they will fall into the pool with small mis-step. Kids pool is great and you don't get burn by the sun waiting for your kid cause you can enjoy it as well. Live music starting at 6pm and going on till midnight. 1 hour before show kids entertainment. 30 min shows, open air theater so you can enjoy the weather. Fairly nice rooms.

Now the wonderful Marival... where do i start...
1) ROOMS (I'll let the pics speak for itself) this is a disgrace it looks worse then some motels in USA. One positive thing i will add the beds were comfortable.
2) entertainment is a joke. Nothing to do after 9:30pm. The theater is mostly covered so its stuffy. The entertainment is targeted primarily for the locals (so you feel pretty left out and its true to daytime entertainment as well) but that's fine i can appreciate other languages and its sort of fun. What's not fun is the so-called kids entertainment is reserved for local older kids only and they would pick only 4 kids to play and others to sit and watch. My daughter is a 4yr outgoing social kid who wanted to run and play and dance to the music but didn't get a chance to do any of it. The show is 25 min because they take the rest of the time introducing the cast and then they turn off the lights in the theater and stand by the door making sure everyone leaves immediately. OVERALL MOST DISAPPOINTING IS THERE ABSOLUTELY NOTHING TO DO AFTER 9:30PM!!! Regardless if you are in resort or residences.
3) the KIDS pool that is a joke! The kiddie pool is ankle-deep with absolutely no shade so you will stand there for hours on-in waiting for your kid to have fun and you will burn burn burn under the sun. The other option is to have your kid swim with drunk adults.
4) Safe in the room yes you do have to pay. I didn't believe when my friends told me that. But yes $2 per day.
5) internet - $10 per 24hrs and absolutely no complimentary internet anywhere in the hotel.
6) no pool-side service unless you are VIP or silver or whatever other class-separation they came up with.
7) Service = its all-inclusive resort standards mostly ;) however if you are local you get treated much better in this resort then a foreigner TIPS or NOT.

Food is ok... I personally think all inclusive resorts have the same food some a bit better some a bit worse but i'm a spoiled foodie from San Francisco so I don't even try to draw comparison. Restaurants are ok.

Beach is really nice and probably the only reason why I gave it 2 points and not 1.

Overall = never again. Not good for the family. Not good for the money. And would never ever recommend this place to anyone. The resort ratings are misleading and should be lowered at least for the quality of the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank POL T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! We are always striving to make guests' stays as comfortable as possible, so we apologize.
In reference to the room condition, we are happy to share with you that the resort will start a renovation program of all the rooms in the grand section during the next low season. The upgrades will be taking place at the end of the year.
Referring to the night entertainment at the resort, we would like to remind you that, after the shows, every night at 10:30 pm we have different activities at the lobby area, and after that, our guests can also enjoy our Disco “Cesar” open from 11:00 pm to 2:30 am.
Relating to the kids pool, there are several palapas and loungers around the pool for parents. We also have our kids club staff in the pool, entertaining and playing with the kids so adults can lay back while children have fun.
Kindly be advised that the safety deposit box located in your room and the internet access have an extra charge as they are not inclusions of our all-inclusive package; however, we have safety deposit boxes at the front desk at no extra charge, available 24 hrs a day.
We are very sorry for not being able to fulfill your expectations during your stay with us. Feedback from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target opportunity areas. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future and please be so kind to contact us at gsmanager@marival.com.mx before your arrival to help you with any request you may have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
6.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#41 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,450 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
#4 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,060 reviews
1.1 mi away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#12 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#17 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
5,123 reviews
13.4 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
2,914 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
#13 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marival Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marival Resort & Suites

Property: Marival Resort & Suites
Address: Blvd. Paseo Cocoteros S/N, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marival Resort & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Something Different, Something Better! Welcome to a unique lively beachfront all-inclusive just 10 minutes from Puerto Vallarta airport! Comfortable rooms, special locations- new Mediterranean style Resort Rooms and exceptional 1-3 Bedroom Villa Style Suites starting at 570 sq ft up to 1261 sq ft including Ocean Front. One to Three Bedroom Suites are perfect for families or couples that want to spread out including two story 2 Bedroom Suites and Ocean Front steps from the sea! Romantics and families enjoy endless choices in dining, activities, laying back and relaxing. International all-inclusive dining redefined, award winning chefs offer gourmet dining at 6 restaurants. Treat yourself to 7 bars including swim-up, piano and martini bars. Endless land and water sports- rock climbing wall, activity pool, adults only pool, tennis, disco, evening theater shows, mini-golf and more! Kids waterpark pool, pirate ship, waterslides and fountains. Special kids and teens club programs too. For couples- renew your vows, get married or honeymoon on the beach. For families- the ultimate all-inclusive Family Emotion program with over 10 included extras customized just for your family! Enjoy sea, sun and nonstop fun at Marival Resort and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Marival Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marival Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Marival Resort And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing