We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property, delicious restaurants, great entertainment but some staff need to be retrained….”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marival Resort & Suites
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My family and I visited this property from June 24-July 1 for their restaurants, beach and nightly entertainment. This resort was very clean and for the most part had very helpful and friendly staff. Prior to our arrival I had contacted the hotel with a few questions/concerns about the restaurant reservations/room layouts and I got immediate responses from Christian Salazar and Chantal Ayala Barragan. Both of these individuals were extremely helpful and answered all of my questions and concerns.
POOLS-There were a variety of pools at this resort, my youngest loved the kiddie pool (1-3 feet) with the slides and water fountains. We also spent a few days at the main pool, which was right next to the kiddie area. The kiddie area has limited pool chairs, so unless you get there early, be prepared to stand in the water with your child. Please pay attention to the depth of the water in the various pools. There's one pool that starts at 4 feet and drops off into 5'9, so please be careful and pay attention. There is also an adult only pool, which seemed to be very quiet and relaxing.
RESTAURANTS- We had the pleasure of enjoying breakfast and a mid day snack at La Pergola. The midday snack (we ordered off the menu) was very delicious and service was pretty good. The Piazzeta dei Forni (brick oven pizza) was tasty as well. Cheese pizza seemed to be very popular and was in constant demand but we managed to get 4 slices. Right next to this pizza stand you can get hamburgers, nachos, french fries and hotdogs.This was good for a mid day or late at night snack. We were also able to reserve at Amallfi and Las Palomas. To say the food at Amalfi was good would be an understatement. This food was down right delicious and service was phenomenal. We had reservations on June 26th at 6:30. The phenomenal service started the moment we walked through the door and didn't end until we exited. As I stated before, the food did not disappoint us. The bread basket was unlike one we had ever seen in the states. We ordered spaghetti and meatballs for the youngest kids, my husband ordered steak and my oldest son and I ordered the lasagna. Not a single problem with the quality or taste of the food….absolutely delicious!!! The food was so great here that we made reservations again for Monday June 30th at 7:30. The manager remembered us the minute we walked in the door and said "glad you came back to join us". We had reservations for Las Palomas on June 28th at 6:30. The reception upon entering wasn't' as welcoming but the service from the waiters was fantastic. We ordered tostados, shrimp/chicken in a hard tortilla, chicken wings for the youngest and my husband had a beef dish. The food here was delicious too and I enjoyed watching our waiter make fresh guacamole for our table. Both of these ala carte restaurants deserve a visit.
BEACH- beautiful beach area, no rocks, plenty of beach chairs and you can even sign out a boogie board for one hour from the activity desk. There are vendors walking up and down the beach but a simple "no gracias" did the trick. The waves were strong on the last day we were there, so please pay attention to the colored flags.
THEATRE- we attended all of the nightly shows (9:00) and enjoyed every single show. The Michael Jackson Experience, battle of the sexes and A Toy's Dream were our favorites. I'm glad the battle of the sexes show was family friendly. All of the shows were family friendly and appropriate for children. The theatre is not air conditioned but it is covered and you can order drinks from the bar. The animation staff also hosted events in the main lobby around 10:30 but we never stayed for any of those.
KIDS CLUB- the young lady who was there on Wednesday June 25th around 9:30 a.m was extremely rude. She needs a refresher course on how to talk to people. I let my kids stay for 20 - 25 mins and then went back to pick them up. This kids club was not a big hit for my kids, they stated that the young lady never really talked to them. The young man who was there that day at the same time was much friendlier.
ROOMS- I can't comment to much on the rooms because we were guests of the Marival Residences and World Spa.
SERVICE- most of the staff that we encountered were very friendly and extremely helpful. There were a few that definitely need to take a refresher class.

Overall, I think this was a good resort and would stay here in the future. Hopefully management reads this review and takes notes about the few unfriendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brightis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2015

Dear Traveler,

We appreciate the time that you took to post a very detail review on this website, thanks for sharing your experience. We find it very encouraging to know that you enjoyed your stay at our Resort.
Of course we follow all your comments to keep offering you the best service, and we're sorry for all the inappropriate attitude from some members of the staff that may caused you a bad time.
Hope to see you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,871)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,184 - 1,190 of 3,871 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Very nice facilities with good food. For the price paid the hotel is worth it. Very nice pools and access to beach is great. Rooms are nothing special but do the job. Plenty of activities really no need to visit city center if you just want to lounge around. Only complaint was you couldn't take food to pool area.

Room Tip: ground room near pool areas is great, easy access to the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jesco74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2015

Dear traveler,

Thanks for staying at Marival Resort & Suites, we're glad to read that you were happy with the food and facilities. And we have now fully remodeled units for your best comfort.
And about your only complain, we're sorry this could be an inconvenience for you, but we do not allow to bring food and drinks to the pool for hygiene, to keep them clean for your enjoyment.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Shared a week at the Marival with my mother in-law and we had a wonderful time. From the time we arrived until the time we left we were treated very well. We spent a lot of time at the VIP beach club and were spoiled by the staff there. Looking forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: If you're going to be in your room during the day or early afternoon choose a room away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2015

Dear Traveler,

Thank you for staying at Marival Resort & Suites, we're very happy to read that you and your mother in law were spoiled at the VIP beach club, that means a good work from all the staff around you.
Thanks for sharing your comments with others. And we'll be pleased to have you back for a new relaxing time at Marival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our family of 6 stayed in a two bedroom suite that was so great! THe service was outstanding at this resort!The games and activities around the pool are fun for everyone and the staff entertainment was awesome. The staff here go above and beyond and new all 10 kids names by the end of the first day. Its a great resort, the food is good. We loved our vacation can not wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2015

Dear Traveler,

We're very glad to read your comments, and you shared them, we appreciate it.
It's great that you, your family and friends enjoyed our Resort along with the entertainment staff. And the little ones had fun at Marival Kids. It's good to read that the service was outstanding. Thanks for choosing Marival Resort & Suites, we would love to have you and your family back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Everyone at the resort is friendly. The animation staff keeps you busy all day and all night. Never a dull moment.I have been here 5 times in the past year and cannot wait to go back. It is my home away from home. Thank you Marival Team

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2015

Dear Traveler,

We're very happy that you feel at home, because that is the whole purpose, make you feel comfortable, happy and relaxed. We hope to see you again, for the 6th time!!
Thanks for sharing your comments to others, we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went on an anniversary trip and since we know Vallarta very well stayed at an all inclusive Resort in Nuevo Vallarta; it was awful!!! The food looked disgusting, unhealthy and sure tasted like it, same with beverages, lowest possible quality! The cleaning is a wreck, dirty dishes and trash outside the units Sporting there for hours and the bathroom mat in our bathroom was filthy, stains in the mirror and furniture, I could keep going on forever, they bring people in with packed buses and as trashy as can be...take my word for it and do not go to this place, I am an experienced traveler and this place is truly bad...on the other hand their Residences Resort is quite lovely and should have stayed there instead, no beach on that one though...

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Mauricio Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear traveler,
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel on this site. We appreciate your feedback. We strive to provide the best experience possible and are sorry to hear that you did not have a perfect stay. We will take your feedback into consideration and be sure to address your concerns to the appropriate leaders in the hotel. Although there are other hotels in the area, we believe that you will not find another property that will take care of your needs and have a staff that is 100% committed to exceeding your expectations. We hope you will give us another chance to host you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Resort & Suites and 3 nights at the sister property, Residences. The two properties are very different, each have their good and bad, depending on what you like on vacation. The grounds and pools are beautiful and the whole resort is steps away from the beach. However, the first pool is always loud. It must be the party pool, it has constant loud music, people yelling, lots of kids running around, and there is a crew of hotel employees that get on the microphone to announce games and things. Its quite annoying in our opinion. Luckily, the second pool across the way and still on the beach is much quieter. The VIP beach club is right there too which is for Gold and Platinum members only. If you can use this area you will not be disappointed. Amazing service, yummy drinks, and delicious food right on the beach where they have padded beds and loungers to lay on. The best part of our stay was hanging out here. Our server Fabian greeted us each day with a smiling face and literally the BEST service I have ever received. They wait on you hand and foot, and get to know you while you're there. Ok so for the restaurants, the Mexican restaurant was the absolute best, the Italian was pretty good, and the Mediterranean was very decent. We ate breakfast at La Bamba right on the beach, they had great food. Our only complain really was the noise level. There is also a club on property and when people came out at night drunk they were loud and would wake us. We had to call security to get rid of drunk people loud outside of our room one night. So, stay at the Residences if you prefer peace and quiet, we really enjoyed our time there. But Resort & Suites is nice to be right on the beach and they do have quieter areas away from the main pool. The property has beautiful lush landscape and most everyone was very friendly and helpful. Also they have complimentary kayaks and boogie boards to use at the beach which was nice. Small sail boats and paddle boards were available to rent too. You can find many activities on the beach from sand volleyball, parasailing, banana boat rides, etc. Very fun place, we will be back!

Room Tip: Two bedroom suites on the beach are great! I would stay away from the main pool area if you want som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank azparkerfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased to know that our variety of food and drinks was granted as high quality, that you were delighted by our staff’s service and enjoyed our pool and had fun with our beach activities. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by the noise that night, your comments are going to be taken into consideration right away.
Overall, we appreciate your comments and we are very pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and staff. We look forward to serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
2.5 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.5 mi away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
#3 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,188 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#13 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,399 reviews
2.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marival Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marival Resort & Suites

Address: Blvd. Paseo Cocoteros S/N, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range: £127 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marival Resort & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Something Different, Something Better! Welcome to a unique lively beachfront all-inclusive just 10 minutes from Puerto Vallarta airport! Comfortable rooms, special locations- new Mediterranean style Resort Rooms and exceptional 1-3 Bedroom Villa Style Suites starting at 570 sq ft up to 1261 sq ft including Ocean Front. One to Three Bedroom Suites are perfect for families or couples that want to spread out including two story 2 Bedroom Suites and Ocean Front steps from the sea! Romantics and families enjoy endless choices in dining, activities, laying back and relaxing. International all-inclusive dining redefined, award winning chefs offer gourmet dining at 6 restaurants. Treat yourself to 7 bars including swim-up, piano and martini bars. Endless land and water sports- rock climbing wall, activity pool, adults only pool, tennis, disco, evening theater shows, mini-golf and more! Kids waterpark pool, pirate ship, waterslides and fountains. Special kids and teens club programs too. For couples- renew your vows, get married or honeymoon on the beach. For families- the ultimate all-inclusive Family Emotion program with over 10 included extras customized just for your family! Enjoy sea, sun and nonstop fun at Marival Resort and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Marival Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marival Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Marival Resort And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing