We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful place but very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marival Resort & Suites
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had a great time at this resort, however there was an incident. Money was stolen from my hotel room the second day we were there. I filed a "report" with the staff but nothing was done about it. If I am paying for a place to stay, I expect my things to be safe. I've traveled to many places in the world and this was my first time experiencing this. The hotel didnt even try to compensate me in any way. They just filed their "report" and went back to their daily business. If you have staff with sticky fingers, then make those security boxes free. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Olivia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are always striving to make guests' stays as enjoyable as possible, so we apologize.
We are sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your recent stay with us. We would like to further address this with you and ask that if time allows for you to contact us on customercare@marivalgroup.com . We look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,993)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,278 - 1,284 of 3,993 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

My husband and I took our first vacation away from our kids in 17 years. It was better than I imagined. The amenities, cleanliness and total friendliness of staff and patrons were so enjoyable. The A/C was outstanding. We set the temp for 18 degrees and it was heavenly to walk into that after a hot day outside. The resort had plenty of beach and pool loungers. I didn't like that people would get up early and leave a towel or shoe and claim a chair all day when it was left vacant for hours on end. I liked the adult only pool, and had a fun gathering of Canadians everyday bc this pool had a shaded end at 5:30. We took a City bus into PV one day, and that was just fine. A/C bus, very clean, courteous driver telling us where to transfer. We used the free bicycles one morning. Highly recommend taking the Marietas Islands Snorkeling tour. It was $80 pp for a 7.5 hour trip. We had 13 guests on board, which was a nice small amount and we weren't swimming into one another like those huge catamaran trips. The food at the Casa Bella was just ok quality but plentiful, the Las Palomas was not good, Amalfi was the best.

Room Tip: The room was basic but very clean. The sheets were soft and clean, we were never in need of towels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AlbertaBound08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2015

Dear traveler,

Thanks for sharing your comments with others, we really appreciate the time you spent on writing how you enjoyed the amenities, the cleanliness and the friendliness or our staff. We're happy that you enjoyed your first trip without the kids in 17 years, that was a long time! Thanks for giving us the honor!
We are sorry about the incident with the people at the pool trying to 'reserve' the chairs and sunbeds, we're trying to implement a system so this can't be a problem anymore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The resort was clean and well maintained for most areas. It was nice to have a suite with 2 bathrooms. The buffet foods (no reservations required) were below average when compared to my recent stay at RIU. For dinner, my group did have reservations at one of the Italian restaurants which was surprisingly good. What's weird was that the "17th floor" restaurant was actually the 3rd floor. The building skipped floors 2-13!

Our party had a fun trip but unfortunately 6 out of 8 of us got sick on the last day. I would recommend not eating the "fresh" / uncooked fruits and vegetables. I don't think they were washed properly because the majority of our party left the resort with food poisoning.

Room Tip: Ask for something on the ground floor and away from the buffets or your room will smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank totranm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Traveler,
Thank you for your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad that you liked our units and facilities.
We regret you found the quality of food less than satisfactory during your most recent stay here and we will take your feedback into consideration and be sure to address your concerns to the Food & Beverages manager. We welcome any opportunity to improve.
We are very sorry to know that on your last day you got sick, however we did not have any other case during your stay and it would have been very helpful for us if you had let us know before you left, to run an investigation as the hotel adheres to a Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points program (HACCP), that comes to do verifications on critical control points on food handling, hygiene and safety in kitchens, restaurants and storage. We also have received the “Distintivo H” for food safety last February 28th, 2014 for the 8th consecutive occasion, which is a recognition given jointly by the Ministries of Tourism and Health.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future and please be so kind to contact us at gsmanager@marival.com.mx before your arrival to help you with any request you may have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Hats off to the staff at the VIP Beach Club, especially Francisco. He was so attentive to our family. My only problem was the heat. It was extremely hot and even the pool water didn't cool you off. The view of the mountains while sitting on the beach was breathtaking.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lhanlin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2015

Dear Traveler,

Love to read your A+ to our VIP Beach Club and staff... that was the only purpose: Pamper you. We're happy you felt like that.
About the weather, we know... it can be overwhelming even for us, specially if you were here in May, June, July and August. Next time you plan your vacations come from December until April, the best weather ever!
Thanks for sharing your comments with others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had a great time at the VIP section on the beach. Our waiters, Jacqueline, Jerry, Karen, Fabian, and Vanessa really made us Canuks feel like part of their Mexican family. We shared comedy and good stories. They really made us feel at home. They were so helpful with any questions we had or anything we needed. They made us feel like royalty. But we didn't act that way. Ya see I'm a brick and stone mason. So we weren't there to put on airs. We were there to meet real people and have a good time, and that we definitely did. We would also like to say thanks to Alfredo Verde, another gentleman who made us feel so much at home. The food at the beach, the VIP club, the pizza ovens, the a la carte restaurants, the buffets and anywhere else you might have found food, was superb. We loved it here. So we give you all 10 Stars.

Room Tip: They're all good when you're in Mexico. Gonna miss our new found friends. So Len and Lorrie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Leroy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2015

Dear Traveler

Thanks for sharing your comments to others, as we read your description, we were smiling, it looks like you felt in home, and that's the whole purpose, make you feel at home. We love to read you found the VIP beach club, Piazzeta dei Forni, restaurants, buffets and the so superb, thanks for your 10 stars!
We would be happy to have you and your family back to share more stories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We just came back today and we hated it. Since you arrive they tried to sale or commit to a timeshare presentation. The rooms smell bad and half of the appliances don't work: including phone, hair dryer and the tub is plugged. If you need a security box they want to charge you 20 pesos a day (then don't bring any cash or valuables). The food at the buffets starting from the fruits itself don't look appealing just imagine the rest. The drinks they are disgusting, the bar service at the pools expect a long wait for bad drinks and be sure you are pushy to get a drink or they completely ignore you. For the reservation restaurants I will say the amalfi is the best, las Paloma's is not worth it the food is tasteless and the drinks are water down.
Forget about pool hours they say they will close at 10 pm but they will kick you out at least 30 minutes before by kicking your chair or moving your stuff. I have never posted any comments on this sites but my experience was horrible and knowing that the price difference with the Riu palace was just 30 dollars please take my advise and don't go cheap you will regret it.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janicho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Traveler,
It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests, and we appreciate your review. We are disappointed to hear your experience with us was not what you had hoped it would be, but we thank you for your helpful feedback.
Our Vacation Club personnel on the welcome speech not only invites you to attend the presentation but additionally provides you with important information on services, events and facilities you can enjoy at the resort. However, it was not our intention to make you feel disturbed and your concerns have been already forwarded to the Vacation Club Manager for proper follow up.
We are sorry we were not able to fulfill your expectations regarding the room condition and amenities. We would have loved to attend your discomfort while still on property. We are always willing to offer a room change in order to make your stay more enjoyable.
Kindly be advised that the safety deposit box located in your room has an extra charge as that is not an inclusion of our all-inclusive package, however we have safety deposit boxes at the front desk with no extra charge available 24 hrs a day.
We are sorry to read that you were disappointed with the quality of buffet and drinks. We will address your concerns to our Food & Beverages manager and he will be gladly taking them under consideration as we continue to improve the hotel experience for our guests. However, it is nice to know you enjoyed dining at our Italian restaurant.
Regarding the pool schedule, we apologize for any annoyance you may have felt by our public areas staff when they were rearranging the lounge chairs. The pool closes at 10 pm when the daily maintenance process starts by applying chemical products that causes skin irritation. This is why no one can stay after 10 pm.
Thank you once again for your review and please be sure we will address your concerns. Although there are other hotels in the area, I believe that you will not find another property that will take care of your needs and have a staff that is 100% committed to exceeding your expectations. We hope you will give us another chance to earn your business in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Right where to start ... we have just come back from 2 weeks here and I can't quite believe how people can say anything negative about the staff/service/ food or drinks at this place, I swear they must have been at another hotel! The staff were amazing, they couldn't do enough for us (a smile and a few kind words go along way, how can you expect anyone to go out their way for you if you are rude to them?!) we had pool side service at the adults only pool thanks to the amazing Pedro, Ricardo and Miguel, they would come down and check if we needed more drinks on a regular basis and even when we went to get our own they would insist on carrying them back for us. Guadalupe and Theresa were both amazing in the two lobby areas at bringing drinks over, your drink only had to be half empty and they would bring a fresh one!
I would recommend the adult only pool if you don't like noise and want to relax, the main pool can get very loud with the music and all the activities going on. The other pool by the beach was nice but that got a bit noisy and over run with kids as well so we stuck to the adults only pool being a young couple it suited us perfectly.
The animation team are brilliant as well, we got to no some of them quite well and they would take the time to come and talk to us and try and get us involved in the night time shows, they made the shows all the more better for us and the fact they remembered us was a big thumbs up in our eyes. The dancing shows at the theatre were brilliant and the casino night was a lot of fun! A couple of the other shows were aimed more at kids but we expected that. After the theatre there were always activities in one of the lobby's, we loved the dancing ones where they came and showed us how to dance, such a fun experience! Some of the other activities were a bit too loud for us like charades so we just went to a different lobby for a quiet drink.
The buffet food was so good! Breakfast got a bit repetitive but there's not a great deal you can do about that especially being there for two weeks. The evening buffet were always great and had such a big variety, we got to try a lot of new things :) We went to the Mediterranean and Italian restaurants which were both superb, couldn't fault a thing! Just wish we had gone to them more but booking a day in advance isn't ideal really. Both snack bars were great as well, the flies and birds can get annoying though but the hotel can't be blamed for this as they do what they can to stop them.
The rooms could do with being updated and modernised more, if you are in the main block the rooms are very basic and a bit old fashioned as I'm assuming it has been there the longest, the newer blocks with the suites are amazing so if you plan on spending a lot of time in your room I would recommend upgrading. We didn't care about the room too much as we only slept and showered in it! The view was amazing, we were right on the beach front :D they should really make WiFi cheaper or at least have it free in the lobby areas as you have to pay per day and its 120 pesos which is too much really.
Over all we loved the place and would go back in a heartbeat. Big thanks to all the staff and animation team for their hard work, you can tell they enjoy what they do!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room! Pay for a upgrade to the newer rooms if you plan on being picky about them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2015

Dear Danielle,

We appreciate the time that you took to post a review on this website, all your kind words to all the staff and even remembering their names, that's very kind from you. And we are very happy that you loved the food at our different restaurants, we really appreciate it. We find it very encouraging to know that you enjoyed your stay at our Resort.
This last couple of months, the hotel had invested in remodeling the rooms for your comfort, so now you can enjoy a more modern Mediterranean-style units.
We're sorry that the WiFi connection had been an inconvenience for you, now we have free internet connection at the main lobby.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
2.5 mi away
Villa Del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.5 mi away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
#3 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,269 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,717 reviews
1.1 mi away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#11 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marival Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marival Resort & Suites

Address: Blvd. Paseo Cocoteros S/N, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range: £131 - £352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marival Resort & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Something Different, Something Better! Welcome to a unique lively beachfront all-inclusive just 10 minutes from Puerto Vallarta airport! Comfortable rooms, special locations- new Mediterranean style Resort Rooms and exceptional 1-3 Bedroom Villa Style Suites starting at 570 sq ft up to 1261 sq ft including Ocean Front. One to Three Bedroom Suites are perfect for families or couples that want to spread out including two story 2 Bedroom Suites and Ocean Front steps from the sea! Romantics and families enjoy endless choices in dining, activities, laying back and relaxing. International all-inclusive dining redefined, award winning chefs offer gourmet dining at 6 restaurants. Treat yourself to 7 bars including swim-up, piano and martini bars. Endless land and water sports- rock climbing wall, activity pool, adults only pool, tennis, disco, evening theater shows, mini-golf and more! Kids waterpark pool, pirate ship, waterslides and fountains. Special kids and teens club programs too. For couples- renew your vows, get married or honeymoon on the beach. For families- the ultimate all-inclusive Family Emotion program with over 10 included extras customized just for your family! Enjoy sea, sun and nonstop fun at Marival Resort and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Marival Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marival Resort And Suites
Marival Hotel Nuevo Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing