We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel with a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marival Resort & Suites
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Mesa, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Decent hotel with a good location”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My family and I stayed here as a party of 12 in July 2014. The hotel is a bit dated and the time share people are certainly pesky enough to make you want to stay somewhere else. I understand their job is to sell, but after enough no's they should just give up.

FOOD:

First the buffet. We ate several times at the buffet for all three meals. The lack of variety of food was a put off and everything was either a loaf or prepared in some sort of casserole or stew for the most part. It was only after we discovered that the Greek restaurant served breakfast that the food got better for that meal. I will have to say this was the most disappointing part of the hotel.

We also ate dinners and a few breakfasts at the "sit down" restaurants and I will have to say that the food there was much better (although stay away from any of the "steaks"). We did not have one bad meal in any of the three choices. Our favorite was the italian place and I recommend the ossobuco if you are into that. They also have great desserts. If you go to the italian place, Jose took care of us and our kids.

POOLS/BEACH:

The pools were great and well kept. The swim up bars were perfect and the fact we had a ocean view first floor walkout to the pool bar on the south side of the property made it great to grab a drink and also to grab seats under the umbrellas in the morning.

The beach was very nice and although the first few days the water was "dirty" from the river runoff up the beach, it was shallow enough for a great time for the kids. I only wish they would have let us use the paddle boards and kayaks. I am not sure why but every day we tried to check one out they said we could not use them because of the conditions with no other explanation. The seas were very calm and we could not figure this one out.

ROOMS:

We had a two bedroom ocean view with a first floor walk out which was absolutely perfect for us. My kids could take a break from the sun and jump easily into the room during the day while the adults stayed at the pool or beach. The AC was super cool and was great to get out of the humidity of the day. I do wish they would stock more bottled water, you had to call every hour or so to get a maximum of six tiny bottles sent up. I have been at other resorts that have a 3-5 gallon fresh water cooler in the rooms and that would have been nice. We are from Arizona and are used to drinking a lot of water every day.

Overall the resort itself is getting old and it is starting to show. We were told that this off season they are shutting down half the resort to remodel and then the other half next year so look forward to that happening. Everything was just showing its age everywhere.

My family had a great time here and might stay again depending on the rates we get since I think we overpaid for what we got this time. There are some nice places up the coast in Punta Mita that I think we will try next time.

Room Tip: There are many "hotel" style rooms for the budget traveller. I would pay more to get a bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikegodphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other travelers on this site. Is nice to read you enjoyed our specialty restaurants and pool bars.
We are sorry for the persistence and pressure you may have felt by the Vacation Club staff and also for not meeting your expectations regarding the variety of food in the buffet. We will gladly share your comments with the appropriate leaders of each area for its follow up since we always take them into consideration.
We apologize for the lack of information provided by the staff in reference to the water sports equipment. We are certainly not allowed to lend/rent it when there is a red or blue flag at the beach. This flag color is determined and changed every day by a government agency called “civil protection” (Protección Civil) depending on the sea conditions and this is done to avoid any accident as our guests’ safety is our priority.
In reference to the bottle water in the room, 6 bottles are re-stocked on a daily basis for a two bedroom suite. However, we can supply as many as you need as a special request for your better comfort.
As we hope you will give our hotel another chance to host you and prove to you how enjoyable a stay at our hotel can be, please send us an email to gsmanager@marival.com.mx before your next visit in order to assist you with anything you may need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,552
    1,200
    507
    253
    194
See reviews for
1,612
797
55
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had a great time at this resort, however there was an incident. Money was stolen from my hotel room the second day we were there. I filed a "report" with the staff but nothing was done about it. If I am paying for a place to stay, I expect my things to be safe. I've traveled to many places in the world and this was my first time experiencing this. The hotel didnt even try to compensate me in any way. They just filed their "report" and went back to their daily business. If you have staff with sticky fingers, then make those security boxes free. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are always striving to make guests' stays as enjoyable as possible, so we apologize.
We are sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your recent stay with us. We would like to further address this with you and ask that if time allows for you to contact us on customercare@marivalgroup.com . We look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My husband and I took our first vacation away from our kids in 17 years. It was better than I imagined. The amenities, cleanliness and total friendliness of staff and patrons were so enjoyable. The A/C was outstanding. We set the temp for 18 degrees and it was heavenly to walk into that after a hot day outside. The resort had plenty of beach and pool loungers. I didn't like that people would get up early and leave a towel or shoe and claim a chair all day when it was left vacant for hours on end. I liked the adult only pool, and had a fun gathering of Canadians everyday bc this pool had a shaded end at 5:30. We took a City bus into PV one day, and that was just fine. A/C bus, very clean, courteous driver telling us where to transfer. We used the free bicycles one morning. Highly recommend taking the Marietas Islands Snorkeling tour. It was $80 pp for a 7.5 hour trip. We had 13 guests on board, which was a nice small amount and we weren't swimming into one another like those huge catamaran trips. The food at the Casa Bella was just ok quality but plentiful, the Las Palomas was not good, Amalfi was the best.

Room Tip: The room was basic but very clean. The sheets were soft and clean, we were never in need of towels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertaBound08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, 5 February 2015
Dear traveler,

Thanks for sharing your comments with others, we really appreciate the time you spent on writing how you enjoyed the amenities, the cleanliness and the friendliness or our staff. We're happy that you enjoyed your first trip without the kids in 17 years, that was a long time! Thanks for giving us the honor!
We are sorry about the incident with the people at the pool trying to 'reserve' the chairs and sunbeds, we're trying to implement a system so this can't be a problem anymore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The resort was clean and well maintained for most areas. It was nice to have a suite with 2 bathrooms. The buffet foods (no reservations required) were below average when compared to my recent stay at RIU. For dinner, my group did have reservations at one of the Italian restaurants which was surprisingly good. What's weird was that the "17th floor" restaurant was actually the 3rd floor. The building skipped floors 2-13!

Our party had a fun trip but unfortunately 6 out of 8 of us got sick on the last day. I would recommend not eating the "fresh" / uncooked fruits and vegetables. I don't think they were washed properly because the majority of our party left the resort with food poisoning.

Room Tip: Ask for something on the ground floor and away from the buffets or your room will smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank totranm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad that you liked our units and facilities.
We regret you found the quality of food less than satisfactory during your most recent stay here and we will take your feedback into consideration and be sure to address your concerns to the Food & Beverages manager. We welcome any opportunity to improve.
We are very sorry to know that on your last day you got sick, however we did not have any other case during your stay and it would have been very helpful for us if you had let us know before you left, to run an investigation as the hotel adheres to a Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points program (HACCP), that comes to do verifications on critical control points on food handling, hygiene and safety in kitchens, restaurants and storage. We also have received the “Distintivo H” for food safety last February 28th, 2014 for the 8th consecutive occasion, which is a recognition given jointly by the Ministries of Tourism and Health.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future and please be so kind to contact us at gsmanager@marival.com.mx before your arrival to help you with any request you may have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Hats off to the staff at the VIP Beach Club, especially Francisco. He was so attentive to our family. My only problem was the heat. It was extremely hot and even the pool water didn't cool you off. The view of the mountains while sitting on the beach was breathtaking.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lhanlin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, 5 February 2015
Dear Traveler,

Love to read your A+ to our VIP Beach Club and staff... that was the only purpose: Pamper you. We're happy you felt like that.
About the weather, we know... it can be overwhelming even for us, specially if you were here in May, June, July and August. Next time you plan your vacations come from December until April, the best weather ever!
Thanks for sharing your comments with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enderby, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had a great time at the VIP section on the beach. Our waiters, Jacqueline, Jerry, Karen, Fabian, and Vanessa really made us Canuks feel like part of their Mexican family. We shared comedy and good stories. They really made us feel at home. They were so helpful with any questions we had or anything we needed. They made us feel like royalty. But we didn't act that way. Ya see I'm a brick and stone mason. So we weren't there to put on airs. We were there to meet real people and have a good time, and that we definitely did. We would also like to say thanks to Alfredo Verde, another gentleman who made us feel so much at home. The food at the beach, the VIP club, the pizza ovens, the a la carte restaurants, the buffets and anywhere else you might have found food, was superb. We loved it here. So we give you all 10 Stars.

Room Tip: They're all good when you're in Mexico. Gonna miss our new found friends. So Len and Lorrie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leroy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, 4 February 2015
Dear Traveler

Thanks for sharing your comments to others, as we read your description, we were smiling, it looks like you felt in home, and that's the whole purpose, make you feel at home. We love to read you found the VIP beach club, Piazzeta dei Forni, restaurants, buffets and the so superb, thanks for your 10 stars!
We would be happy to have you and your family back to share more stories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San jose ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We just came back today and we hated it. Since you arrive they tried to sale or commit to a timeshare presentation. The rooms smell bad and half of the appliances don't work: including phone, hair dryer and the tub is plugged. If you need a security box they want to charge you 20 pesos a day (then don't bring any cash or valuables). The food at the buffets starting from the fruits itself don't look appealing just imagine the rest. The drinks they are disgusting, the bar service at the pools expect a long wait for bad drinks and be sure you are pushy to get a drink or they completely ignore you. For the reservation restaurants I will say the amalfi is the best, las Paloma's is not worth it the food is tasteless and the drinks are water down.
Forget about pool hours they say they will close at 10 pm but they will kick you out at least 30 minutes before by kicking your chair or moving your stuff. I have never posted any comments on this sites but my experience was horrible and knowing that the price difference with the Riu palace was just 30 dollars please take my advise and don't go cheap you will regret it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janicho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Traveler,
It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests, and we appreciate your review. We are disappointed to hear your experience with us was not what you had hoped it would be, but we thank you for your helpful feedback.
Our Vacation Club personnel on the welcome speech not only invites you to attend the presentation but additionally provides you with important information on services, events and facilities you can enjoy at the resort. However, it was not our intention to make you feel disturbed and your concerns have been already forwarded to the Vacation Club Manager for proper follow up.
We are sorry we were not able to fulfill your expectations regarding the room condition and amenities. We would have loved to attend your discomfort while still on property. We are always willing to offer a room change in order to make your stay more enjoyable.
Kindly be advised that the safety deposit box located in your room has an extra charge as that is not an inclusion of our all-inclusive package, however we have safety deposit boxes at the front desk with no extra charge available 24 hrs a day.
We are sorry to read that you were disappointed with the quality of buffet and drinks. We will address your concerns to our Food & Beverages manager and he will be gladly taking them under consideration as we continue to improve the hotel experience for our guests. However, it is nice to know you enjoyed dining at our Italian restaurant.
Regarding the pool schedule, we apologize for any annoyance you may have felt by our public areas staff when they were rearranging the lounge chairs. The pool closes at 10 pm when the daily maintenance process starts by applying chemical products that causes skin irritation. This is why no one can stay after 10 pm.
Thank you once again for your review and please be sure we will address your concerns. Although there are other hotels in the area, I believe that you will not find another property that will take care of your needs and have a staff that is 100% committed to exceeding your expectations. We hope you will give us another chance to earn your business in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
6.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#41 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,465 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
#4 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,070 reviews
1.1 mi away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#12 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#9 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,771 reviews
13.4 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 12 in Punta de Mita
2,921 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#17 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
5,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marival Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marival Resort & Suites

Property: Marival Resort & Suites
Address: Blvd. Paseo Cocoteros S/N, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marival Resort & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Something Different, Something Better! Welcome to a unique lively beachfront all-inclusive just 10 minutes from Puerto Vallarta airport! Comfortable rooms, special locations- new Mediterranean style Resort Rooms and exceptional 1-3 Bedroom Villa Style Suites starting at 570 sq ft up to 1261 sq ft including Ocean Front. One to Three Bedroom Suites are perfect for families or couples that want to spread out including two story 2 Bedroom Suites and Ocean Front steps from the sea! Romantics and families enjoy endless choices in dining, activities, laying back and relaxing. International all-inclusive dining redefined, award winning chefs offer gourmet dining at 6 restaurants. Treat yourself to 7 bars including swim-up, piano and martini bars. Endless land and water sports- rock climbing wall, activity pool, adults only pool, tennis, disco, evening theater shows, mini-golf and more! Kids waterpark pool, pirate ship, waterslides and fountains. Special kids and teens club programs too. For couples- renew your vows, get married or honeymoon on the beach. For families- the ultimate all-inclusive Family Emotion program with over 10 included extras customized just for your family! Enjoy sea, sun and nonstop fun at Marival Resort and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Marival Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marival Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Marival Resort And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing