We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, wonderful service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riviera Grill

Riviera Grill
Ranked #28 of 136 Restaurants in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Riviera Grill restaurant offers a fun, lively garden atmosphere in the heart of Nuevo Vallarta in Riviera Nayarit.We are located just 3 minutes from Paradise Plaza and within walking distance of all of Nuevo Vallarta's hotels and resorts including Playa Royale, Marival, Grand Velas and Dreams and we are a short taxi ride from Mayan Palace and Flamingos. We are just across from Luma and Ocean Terrace.Choose your spot - sit at the Onyx Bar or sit at a table in our beautiful garden restaurant.You'll love our Contemporary Mexican and Mediterranean Cuisine including Pasta, Mediterranean Seafood Soup, Enchiladas and Chili Rellanos (like you've never had them before!), Tequila Shrimp and Daily Fresh Fish.The Onyx Bar features an international selection of spirits and wine and over 20 different Tequila's.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I've been going to Vallarta for 40 years. I've tried restaurants from "Le Cliffe" in the South to "Meson Bay" in the North. The Riviera Grill is one of the best restaurants in the area. Guido knows how to make us feel at home and has trained his staff to do likewise. The drinks are tasty and strong. The food is prepared with care and creativity. When in doubt try their specials, I enjoy the chile poblano with shrimp and cheese.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    75
    24
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
116 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Ambiance and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

A nice garden/courtyard setting adds to the experience. We had the lime shrimp and tuna veracruzana which were nicely presented and prepared. The Riviera is within walking distance of several hotels including Paradise Village where we stayed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Teblom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice setting”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Living down the street, we really wanted this to be great, but . . . A nice salad arrived with never an offer of salt or pepper (no where to be found). No break or ? Ordered filtered water. We live part time here and know it is just fine but the waiter really wanted to sell us up to bottled and said he could give us sea water. Had the rib-eye which came towards medium-rare-rare when asked for rare. Steak was thin. Wait staff was not attentive and checked in on us NEVER. Had to finally ask for more "sea water". Too bad, the spot is very nice.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 348dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Everything Guido was awesome food was excellent service great decor fantastic have the meat platter or lime shrimp you have to try the watermelon margerita

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lift G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chocowinity, North Carolina
Level Contributor
223 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Came up short in almost every area. Many better places to eat.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Let me count the ways. They don't provide a glass of water when asked but rather want you to buy a bottle. Tourist trap alert. The steak was mediocre at best. Tough and stringy rib eye. Nothing special about the sides. Bread was average at best. The limonada almost made it but was a tad weak. Wife said her wine was good and it was a generous pour. Server never checked back with us after serving our meal. And to top it off, they did not have 20 pesos for change after only being open an hour with only three tables occupied.

There are many, many better places to eat on the north side of this bay and in Vallarta. Don't know how they make it except it is close to Paradise Village so many can walk and a short cab ride for others. We live almost directly across the street and had never gone due to hearing and reading mixed reviews. Only went to night because we had a 50% off coupon. Won't waste another dining out opportunity on it if they moved it onto our property. Just mediocre in every way. Wasted dining out opportunity.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ec328888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivieraGrill, Manager at Riviera Grill, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest,
we are sorry to hear your disappointment.
We want to turn this misadventure of yours into an opportunity.
We need your help to get better so please contact us or visit Riviera Grill again, in the end we are neighbors.
We are open every day from 5pm
You are important to us and we really hope to hear from you.
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riviera Grill also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Riviera Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing