We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are looking for a top notch resort that is bustling with activity, this is NOT the place for you.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Southington, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you are looking for a top notch resort that is bustling with activity, this is NOT the place for you.”
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Villa Varadero February 2010

Our arrival at Villa Varadero found us in a quaint Mexican style hotel with a tile roof and stucco walls on a quiet street. The one bedroom was very musty and dark inside. It was furnished with the typical hard Mexican two double beds in the bedroom and three large twin colorful sofa beds in the living room. The furniture was heavy and dark wood. The room was painted yellow, orange and white with blue accents. The kitchen had a 2 burner stove and a 5 cubic foot refrigerator with a small freezer that kept ice cream, sink, coffeemaker, toaster, microwave and adequate dishes and utensils for 6 people. We asked for a spaghetti strainer and they brought us a newer pot that had a strainer with it. We had a balcony overlooking the pool area.

The resort is wired for internet. If you bring your own laptop you can sit by the pool and browse away. For those who left their keyboards at home, there are several computers set up at the indoor bar, near the front desk. Costs are 35 pesos for one hour session and 25 pesos for one-half session. The time is not carried over to the next session.

The desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Speaking English was not a problem. They sold us a 6 gallon water jug for 25 pesos ($2.75) and delivered it to our room. One of the girls at the front desk even brought from her home a reading lamp for use in our dark room.

Many of the locals with their families stay at the resort for two or three days at a time then they leave. The locals bring children and babies that can cry at the most inopportune times. Locals will also congregate in the stairwells on rainy days and lounges at night and talk away or play games until late into the night. You’ll also find a number of Canadian and Northwestern US people staying at their timeshares at the resort. Some stay as long as seven weeks at a time and they have been coming for 15 and 20 years.

The resort is recently under new management. We saw signs of fresh painting and newer air conditioners going in. The elevator was upgraded in 2007. It appears that the studios/ hotel rooms have been remodeled. They have a window that overlooks the beach and pool area. Things are looking up for the resort. For the all inclusive folks there is an outdoor bar, a cafeteria and a day long buffet by the water. The hamburgers looked big with all sorts of toppings available and the kids said they were good. I heard that breakfast was adequate. No one raved about the dinners. Kayaks sat by the beach and bicycles were out front.

Kayaks sat by the beach and bicycles were out front. The activities director held, or should I say tried to encourage, walking and biking tours, aqua aerobics, Mexican bingo, karaoke, volleyball and water polo activities, though there wasn’t much interest from the tourists. The bike tour for 4 pesos brought you around to see lions, dolphins, monkeys and sea lions. The aqua aerobics left something to be desired. We had to search for the activities director if we wanted to partake in an activity. We never found the arts and crafts and painting that were advertised. Everyone looked like they were having fun playing volley ball. Then there was always jenga or dominoes to play in the outside bar area.

The bus into Puerto Vallarta stops right outside the hotel and it costs 13 pesos ($1.50) to get into downtown. The bus downtown stops at Walmart, where you have to switch to a centro bus to get downtown. Downtown vehicle traffic is very busy. The Malecon waterfront walkway next to the ocean with statues was easy enough to find. The downtown flea market near the Isla Rio Cuale was a bit harder to find. It had a wooden and chain bridge that was interesting to cross over.

We did rent a car, but there really isn’t a need to rent one. Taxis are cheap and the busses run frequently. The Paradise Plaza is across the marina/ jetty that is near the hotel and has a grocery store and McDonalds and Subway along with indoor shops. We drove north along the coast to Punta de Mita and Sayulita and stopped at Bucerias on our way back where we went to the flea market and walked along the small waterfront.

We ate at Claudio’s which has an all you can eat fish & shrimp on Tuesdays for 180 pesos. Then we ate at Guido’s, an Italian restaurant, on the sidewalk down the street from our hotel.

Best part of Villa Varadero is THE BEACH and the peacefulness. There are numerous chairs and shaded areas to relax and the beach is big. You can walk to the jetty and watch people fishing, or you can bring your boogie board and try your luck at wave jumping.

If you are looking for a top notch resort that is bustling with activity, this is NOT the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HMSmyth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabyPerez, manager at Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 23 March 2010
Thank you for taking the time to thoughtfully describe your vacation with us at Villa Varadero and the local area. As part of our hotel's philosophy, we try to have activities available for those who are interested and allow our guests to simply relax if that's what they want, too. We are sorry you had difficulty finding the Activity Director that one day and will do our best to improve on this. While you are at the hotel, you can always check with Reception for anything you may need. We look forward to having you as our guest in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    333
    143
    51
    30
See reviews for
495
171
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood, MN
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2010

This is our 4th stay in as many years at VV and we just love it! We walked into the lobby and were greeted by a chorus of warm hellos and Jimmy had our paperwork pulled out and ready to go before we needlessly reminded them of our names. Elvia, Juan Carlos, Diego, and all the other staff are eager and willing to please, provide information, and help us with Spanish. Their knowledge of the area is comprehensive and they gladly provide recommendations and candid reviews.

VV is set in a quiet area of Nuevo Vallarta and the weather is perfect for sleeping with the windows open. There's a bus stop just outside the door which is conveniant if you want to try out different restaurants.

Breakfast is great but the dinners about average; although its a great value, we usually don't do the all-inclusive package only because we like to travel around and check out different restaurants.

We enjiy VV and plan to come again and again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Bohemian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabyPerez, manager at Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 23 March 2010
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us again and are a part of the Villa Varadero "family"! Thank you for the very positive review, and we look forward to your next arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2010

This trip was back in 2007 so things may have changed since then but here is my experience. We didn't pay very much for accomodations and trust me when I say we got what we payed for lol. the hotel was nothing to write home about but honestly we were out all day doing lots of excursions, shopping and etc. that we didn't really spend much time there. Rooms were average, nothing fancy. Only ate there the first night and the morning before departure. Found the food selections very disappointing that first day and from then on went outside of the resort to eat our meals. Breakfast however was pretty good. The drinks at the beach bar I must say were horrible, the only thing I could tolerate was the pina coladas because everything else I had tasted terrible. Otherwise the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Public transportation is very convenient and there is a bus that stops in front of hotel that you can take to downtown shopping areas. The beach was just ok to me.

Overall the hotel was ok if you're on a budget. If I return to the area I would probably stay elsewhere because the "all inclusive" meals and drinks were \not of good quality IMO. But like I said this was in 07 so things may or may not have changed.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serenity31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2009

The folks at the hotel are real nice and try to keep it clean. However; the facility is ancient and decrepit.

The "standard room" is dark, dreary, and depressing. My wife actually started crying even though we are extremely experienced travelers. The "superior' room we upgraded to was nicer but still equivalent to a 40 year old never refurbished Motel 6 with an ocean view.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Mad_at_RCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2009

We stayed at the Villa Varadero from Mar. 1 - 8. There were 2 adults and a 3 and 6 year old. We booked the one bedroom suite, all inclusive. When we first got there, I was not impressed. The room seemed a little old. By day 2 we were very happy. The one bedroom suite was great with kids and we made good use of the kitchennette. There was a small grocery store within a 2 minute walk so we could stock up on some things. I loved that it was a small resort and everything was close. You could go to the beach, restaurant, bar, pool or your room within a minute. The weather was perfect and the beach was beautiful. We swam everyday and there were no rocks or seaweed at all. The bus station is right outside the door, so we used that for PV, Bucerias and the water park. The kids had a blast at the water park which is only a few minutes away. The one bad thing is the food is not good. For breakfast we could always eat something as they had made to order eggs, french toast and pancakes. There was also juice and hashbrowns so we were all happy with that. Lunch was OK, but the kids only wanted hot dogs and hamburgers sot that was fine too. Supper was not good. We only ate there one night and ate out every other night. There are many great restaurants in Nuevo and PV so I didn't mind. I would stay here again, but people really need to know it's a 3 star and not more. In my opinion the good outweighed the bad. I have been to Mexico 13 times and stayed in 2 and 5 stars, so have lots to compare to. If you're looking to be pampered or have 9 restaurants, this is not the place for you. If you just want to relax with a great view and friendly staff, I would recommend this.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelingfunEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2009

We arrived at Villa Varadero January 11th 2009 and were very disappointed with the place, the room was horrible fridge was old, Microwave very old paint coming off, no hot water, leaking sink and generally very depressing. We were moved after complaining to a newer suite but even that wasn't great but a lot better than what we had. Found the breakfast ok, we did not have any other meals there as we had heard they weren't good. We had an odd few problems but they were prompt to deal with them and the staff was very friendly. Beds were hard, but we managed with that we found the place just too old, hallways were smelly and the biggest thing that was always breaking down was the elevator. I really wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone unless money was a huge issue.

Helpful?
2 Thank Cobra57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2009

Arrived at Villa Varadero with two friends, another two to arrive later in the week. Our room was dirty, with something spilled over the table top and one couch. The refrigerator was balanced unevenly on top of a table with a microwave on top of it. Could hardly reach the microwave. Had to have staff connect refrigerator, as we were afraid of knocking down everything. Bathroom light burned out; called maintenance, but they did not arrive until the next day; showered in the dark; sliding glass door would not meet the frame to lock; nor did the windows; noisy, as we were located over the front desk area; left the next day for comfort of the Mayan.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inklaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
4.2 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
0.2 mi away
Marina Banderas Suites Hotel Boutique
Marina Banderas Suites Hotel Bou...
#21 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
24 reviews
1.6 mi away
Splash Inn Nuevo Vallarta
Splash Inn Nuevo Vallarta
#25 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta
0.6 mi away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#12 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites

Property: Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites
Address: Retorno Nayarit Lote 83 / 84, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is an all-inclusive hotel at one of the best beaches in Nuevo Vallarta. It is the ideal hotel for a family vacation. Hotel Villa Varadero is located in beautifully serene Nuevo Vallarta on Mexico's west coast known as the Riviera Nayarit. Nuevo Vallarta is only 25 minutes from the nightlife, cultural spots, and shopping of Puerto Vallarta. It is an ideal destination for a vacation where you and your family can enjoy the beach, nature, and many other activities, such as swimming with dolphins, canopy tours, toboggan water parks, slides, sightseeing tours, and more. When booking at Hotel Villa Varadero you can choose from three types of rooms. Most have beautiful ocean views of the gorgeous sunsets over the Bay of Banderas. At Hotel Villa Varadero you'll enjoy our beautiful view of the Nuevo Vallarta beach. You will be attended to by our friendly staff and great service aimed at making your stay a wonderful experience. We offer many activities for children, teens, and adults in our guided tours of Nuevo Vallarta. One is the "Family Walk", organized by our staff for guests who want to get to know the local Nuevo Vallarta area and the marina plus access to the wonderful world of Vallarta Adventures. Another option is our guided "Bike Ride Tour" that meanders through the streets of Nuevo Vallarta. Also, from our beach you can go kayaking, play volleyball or beach soccer - all enhancing your fun at the Villa Varadero beach. For those who prefer the shade, you can enjoy a good game of billiards with friends, or some fun board games in our game room. To relax, enjoy a sublime massage at the edge of the beach - the best way to start a holiday! During the day our restaurants offer a varied and tasty buffet style menu, and at night our specialty restaurant will delight you with its cuisine and ambiance. Explore Nuevo Vallarta and its surroundings. They are sure to make you fall in love with our beautiful destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Varadero Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Villa Varadero Hotel And Suites
Hotel Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing