We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach, we loved it but it's not for the high maintenance ones”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
MB, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice beach, we loved it but it's not for the high maintenance ones”
Reviewed 10 February 2011

We stayed here in March of 2010 for one week with the all inclusive. Beach was great, nice and clean, not too many people trying to sell you stuff on the beach. Lots of chairs, never had to wait for a palapa.

Hotel lets you borrow bikes for free. Bus that goes into Puerto Vallarta or going the other way towards Bucerias stops right in front of the hotel, we never had to wait long for it.

Food was ok, breakfast was usually the best meal. Only one restaurant, not sure if the restaurant was even open for lunch on some days as we usually ate only in the snack bar by the pool. Only one bar (the one by the beach) was open when we were there but the hotel is small enough that that was ok with is. Chepe was a wodnerful bartender, always remembered your drink and was so friendly, always greeted us with a smile. Rest of the staff was nice and helpful too.

Lost of mexican families on the weekends, which we preferred and didn't mind. If your preference is a hotel with north american guests only, this place is not for you. Why go to Mexico if you don't want to see Mexicans?

This is not a 5 star and not fitting for those who are high maintenance. But if you're looking for a nice relaxing vacation and have an open mind, you will enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suntrotting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabyPerez, General Manager at Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 10 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel when you stayed here in March 2010. Also, thank you for including useful information about activities and the experience you had since that is great for other travelers to read. We hope you’ll come stay with us again as we’ve made some great changes since you were last here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    339
    145
    51
    30
See reviews for
512
172
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood, MN
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

This was our sixth stay at Villa Varadero and I'm exceedingly reluctant to talk about how great it is for fear it'll be over-run with gringos next year and we'll be unable to get in. Gabby is a wonderful host and there were a few improvements this year.

A well-rendered depiction of colonial Mexico architecture there's wonderful detail everywhere you look. The rooms are comodious, comfortable, and equipped with fridges and microwaves so you can stock your own beverages and snacks. And here's an insider's tip: The Oxxo about a block from VV has cheaper sodas and beer and snacks than Wal-Mart!

The staff is fabulous! Diego, Jimmy, Juan Carlos, Albia, Karina are always willing to field our questions with as much detail as we want and help us learn Spanish or provide details for a destination reachable by cheap buses for an authentic off-campus Mexican adventure. This year we did day trips to Tepic and El Tuito and had great experiences! Insiders tip: The bus stop is 100' from the VV entrance and runs right to the airport.

The restaurants at VV are good and have improved under Gabby. We typically get the breakfast plan to allow us the flexibility of trying out different places for dinner. The made-to-order omelets are tops! Though I wish they'd make chorizo available too. Miseal, Sara, Christian, Hugo, and Francisco (our daily breakfast crew) are warm, inviting, and helpful. Be sure to do dinner on Mexican night at Drake's! Insiders tip: They sell VV travel mugs for $5 and work great to keep beverages hot or cold and make for fewer trips to the bar and beach sand out of your drink. Get one for everyone! 40p to fill it with coffee at Drake's was expensive so we typically ran to Oxxo to fill it for 10p.

Anna Christina supplied us with blankets and smiles and greeted us whenever we ran into her making us feel a part of the VV family...

Yes, positively, We will visit VV again next year! If they have room for us...

Gracias amigos...

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Bohemian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabyPerez, General Manager at Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Wow, we are honored you had such a great experience and took the time to write such a lovely and positive review of your stay. We've made great strides in the last year to improve on all fronts and it's very nice to hear you appreciate it all. Also, thank you for being specific in your review as it not only helps us to know what is working and what can be improved, but also is helpful to other travelers who may or may not have stayed with us in the past. We look forward to welcoming you at any time when you return to the Vallarta area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls SD
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Great place, very authentic, great beach which is gromed every morning. I would recomend to upgrade to ocean view and I would not recomend the all inclusive. The breakfast come with the room rate and was very good, but we saw what they served for the other meals and it did not look so great, But there is a wonderful place called EDDIE'S just a block away with great food and very good prices. The beds are as hard as a rock but other than that this place was great.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HEATHSiouxFallsSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabyPerez, General Manager at Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 14 March 2011
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and for taking the time to write a review for other travelers to read. We are proud to be part of the Southern Nuevo Vallarta Beach that was awarded another certificate from the Quality Certification for Beach for the cleanliness of the beach. We certainly hope to have you stay with us during a future vacation to Nuevo Vallarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

My wife, my 3 year old daughter, and I stayed at Villa Varadero late November/early December 2008 for 1 week. We had the All Inclusive option.

Resort guests were mainly Mexican families on vacation. Many involved extended families. For several days we were the only Americans. That was pretty cool.

The food and the serving hours were very much geared towards these guests. Late breakfast hours. Late dinner hours. But it was very good.

We drank the bar out of beer on more than one occasion...so we switched to liquor. Bummer.

The beach was excellent and quiet. Never had any issues.

The hotel offers older bikes for guest to use as well as kayaks and boogie boards. We used the bikes on a couple of occasions.

The rooms were spacious and clean.

Overall...we loved it and would consider going back, though we like to explore other accommodations and experiences.

This resort is perfect for families and those looking for a low-key, quiet and relaxing experience.

It's location is very close to the Seaquarium and a marina. There are many areas to walk along and explore during the day. Just outside the hotel, you can catch a bus to the more touristy area of Nuevo Vallarta or into downtown Puerto Vallarta or to Walmart.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TropixTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabyPerez, General Manager at Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 11 March 2011
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us during your stay in January. We would be happy to accommodate you and your family again. In fact, if you are interested in experiencing the local area or taking day trips, I can recommend our new, bilingual hotel blog that has a good number of articles on things to do and explore in the Vallarta area. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Two girlfriends and I spent 4 nights at Villa Varadero Hotel in December, right before the holiday pricing increase (12/23). We chose the all inclusive option with meals and drinks included in the pricing. Considering we paid about $45 per person, per day for the hotel and food, Villa Varadero was a bargain. The staff was very friendly and gave good service. The rooms seemed to be clean and well taken care of. We had a great view of the ocean from our 5th floor room. Food was available pretty much all day and the bar was open until 11pm. The best part of traveling during this time (pre-holiday) was that the hotel was all but empty until the last day we were there. This allowed for great privacy, less noise and less crowding on the beach chairs.

Although the rooms were clean, the mattresses in the room seemed to be set directly on cement/stucco blocks. This made for a very hard and uncomfortable bed. The food was edible, but I would not be able to go back and eat there again. The breakfast was by far the best meal of the day. There was an omelet station, pancakes, fruit, yogurt and granola. If the breakfast was open all day, I would have been much happier. Lunch and snacks were repetitive with watered down nacho cheese, strange ketchup (nothing like I've ever seen) and hamburgers/hot dogs that hung out on the grill until they were ordered. Dinner was also not great.

Although the hotel was inexpensive, I would hesitate returning to the same hotel because the hotel was not close to many other restaurants and I would not want to eat there again.

Overall, I think this is a nice hotel for the price, but not conveniently located to clubs, restaurants or shopping. It was easy to travel by bus to downtown P.V. (only $2 pp each way) and much cheaper than a $30 cab ride would have been. If you are ok with public transportation to get to those places cheaply, this would be a great adventure. If you only cab it, stay in P.V.

p.s. The most amazing thing we experienced was witnessing sea turtles hatching and going out to sea. I think we were just there at the right time, but it was truly amazing!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brookert78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabyPerez, General Manager at Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 11 March 2011
Trying to balance great services at a low rate is something we constantly manage. You might be surprised how many of our repeat guests ask for the hotdogs and hamburgers every year! We do our best to vary the menu daily and keep it tasty. If you do come to stay with us again, and we hope you do, and you want to try something else, you can get local restaurant recommendations from Reception. Finally, isn’t sea turtle season amazing? Vallarta in the winter is such a surprising and wonderful time in Nature. If you come to join us next winter, there is also whale watching. We have written about whale watching opportunities on the hotel’s blog.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2010

I spent a beautiful an quiet vacation in this particular place, I enjoy the kidness of the staff, they have an excelent service. The other thing that I like very much was the food.

I really reccommed this hotel, and If you have a chance to go there, well, try it, I´m sure you won´t regreat.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank specchio28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabyPerez, General Manager at Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 4 February 2011
It sounds like your shortest vacation was worthwhile. December is a great time to come to Vallarta, as you know. We’d love to have you stay with us again. Next time come for longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

I have stayed 3 weeks in Villa Varadero. It’s a nice and quiet little family style hotel. It might be an endangered species: a small hotel on a very pretty beach – and very affordable! It is surrounded only by condos. The next big hotel is either on the opposite side of the beach stretch or on the other side of the dividing marina. Puerto Vallarta is easily accessible by taxi or even by a well running public bus service.

All the staff members who have been serving me are very friendly and helpful.

When I first came I had to report that the sink in my room was stopped up and the shower didn't work, After the second report by one of the ladies at the front the shower got fixed and worked perfectly ever since. I cleaned out the sink myself.
The beds are very hard, but I got used to it.
I found the chairs in my room very uncomfortable. But at my request the lady in charge of housekeeping brought me a more comfortable chair.
When it rains very hard a lot of water comes into my room through the window sills, but I can get towels at the front desk without a problem. I was there in the midst of an unusually wet rainy season, after all.

To my taste the food is good and of a good variety even in this very low season. I appreciate the chefs.

This was my first time in Mexico. It has been a very pleasant experience.

Karin Turpin

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabyPerez, General Manager at Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 4 February 2011
We are so pleased to be able to have made your first trip to Mexico an enjoyable one. So happy to know you felt that our hotel is a comfortable size and we also love our beach! After three weeks I’m sure you knew everyone in the hotel -- we do strive to be as friendly and welcoming as we can. Please join us on your next trip to Mexico, and don’t keep the secret!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
4.2 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
0.2 mi away
Marina Banderas Suites Hotel Boutique
Marina Banderas Suites Hotel Bou...
#21 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
24 reviews
1.6 mi away
Splash Inn Nuevo Vallarta
Splash Inn Nuevo Vallarta
#26 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta
0.6 mi away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#12 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites

Property: Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites
Address: Retorno Nayarit Lote 83 / 84, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Varadero offers all-inclusive, family-friendly accommodations on one of the best beaches in Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico. Ideal for romantic getaways and family vacations, our beachfront hotel offers a tranquil, quiet, and intimate alternative to the larger hotels and resorts on Riviera Nayarit. Step inside our contemporary lobby and find just the Mexico you came to enjoy. Beautiful sea views greet your arrival. Many rooms at the hotel offer beautiful ocean views of the gorgeous sunsets . At every moment of your stay, you will enjoy the attention of our friendly staff committed to providing you with a relaxing experience. Over the years we have grown and improved, focusing all our efforts on offering our customers the best of our attention while maintaining the best prices. Located right in front of the main hotel, we recently constructed our newest tower, giving the hotel four towers with four different categories of rooms and two categories of suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Varadero Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Varadero Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Villa Varadero Hotel And Suites
Hotel Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing