We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, hospitality & style”
Review of Casa Virgilios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Virgilios
Ranked #1 of 11 Nuevo Vallarta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2013

You will not find a nicer B&B. We stayed in "Leo" for 5 days. Each of the rooms has its own authentic Mexican flare with comfortable beds, ample storage, A/C and well-functioning bathrooms. The decor in the common areas is a feast for the eyes. And speaking of feasts, Virgilios' Mexican breakfasts see you through the whole day! Delicious! The pool area is lovely and the location on the canal takes you away from hustle and bustle. One piece of advice is to use bug spray particularly at night, the lush property has ankle biters.

Virgilios and his staff are so nice, so accommodating ... this is really a gem.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leemit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2012

My wife and I just started our 2nd stay at Casa Virgilio. We left home in Vancouver yesterday and this place is a great place to stay away from loud,partying tourists. It is a large casa with about 6 suites in a residential neighborhood which is very quiet. However it is only 4-5 blocks from the beautiful beach in Nuevo Vallarta! There is a nice pool and hot tub & barbecue area with palapas in the back yard. The owner Virgilio is a wonderful gentleman, very soft spoken yet warm and friendly. AND he and his staff prepare a fantastic Mexican breakfast every morning, poolside, included in the room cost, and it is delicious!
Look Up Virgilios website and book a spot here as it is really a "home away from home"!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

My wife and I stayed at Casa Virgilio earlier this year. We were scheduled to stay 14 days but had to leave after 5 due to a family emergency. However, despite that, it is a very relaxing place and walking distance to the beach (about 10-15 minutes).
The owner, Virgilio, is a very nice, quiet, friendly gentleman.
The breakfasts he and his staff lay out each morning make you want to get up early! Excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrandeGringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I was here for a wedding that was located nearby. You can not go wrong for the price. Every room is good size and comfortable. Virgillio was an outstanding host and the friendly staff were very accommodating. Much of the wedding party were staying at other places but this place is very central and easy to transfer to other places. To get to other towns you have to take a taxi or the bus. prices are regulated so it is up to the traveller to decide how to go about it. Its cheapest to take the bus but you have to add in extra time for stops etc. The best way to travel here is rent a bunch of rooms with your family and or friends and share taxis and shuttles to places of interest.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James5455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed here in January and it was one of the best vacation experiences ever. We wanted a peaceful alternative to Puerto Vallarta and this seemed like a great option. It's basically a massive house, with a huge amazing backyard with gardens/pool etc. Great for people who just want to chill out. Short walk to the beach, lots of quality restaurants. Rooms are beautiful with kitchenette, sofa, table, huge bed, and balcony looking into backyard. The other guests were wonderful too. So friendly. We ended up having breakfast together, chatting by the pool etc, and this is something I normally never do. There is a bus nearby that will take you to PV for very small fare, nice ride.

Virgilio makes a mean breakfast. This thing will fill you up for 1/2 a day and tastes delicious.

Would absolutely return for another visit.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOOIS1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I visited Casa Virgilios with three other girlfriends the last week of May and we had an amazing time. First of all the house is beautifully decorated, super clean, and the staff caters to your every need. I personally love staying in Bed and Breakfasts over hotels but since i was traveling with 3 other girls in their mid-twenties I was a little nervous that they might not like it. But as soon as we walked into the house we all fell in love with the place. We were very fortunate to be the only ones staying in casa virgilios, so we had the whole house to ourselves which was AWESOME. We had a lot of privacy which was perfect to just lay out on the pool and tan every afternoon, watch movies at night until we fell asleep on the couches in the living room, it just felt like a second home ( a very nice one). If we wanted to go into the malecon at night to a bar or a club it was just about a 20 min cab ride. The only thing is that we would have loved to meet Mr Virgilio because everyone just raves about him, but he was on vacation. But honestly we had a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lunavacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I spent a lot of time checking resorts and reading reviews before I booked this. I can't say enough positive things. My partner and I stayed at Gill's for a week and I can't imagine how anything could have been better. The rooms and common areas were immaculately clean and beautifully decorated. The breakfasts each morning were fantastic and more than enough to get us through until supper time. Gill is an amazing host, friendly and yet unassuming.
The house (it is Gill's home) is about a 10 minute walk from the beach which was gorgeous and seemed to go on forever is both directions. We were able to walk up into some of the resorts from the beach and we were so happy we choose Casa Virgilios instead. It was so much more quiet and private and no anoying time share salespeople. There were plenty of exellent and reasonable restaurants nearby so every night was an adventure trying something new. Thank you Virgilios for a wonderful time! We will be back!

Room Tip: There are twelve rooms named after the signs of the zodiac. They vary in size and # of beds. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Varadero
Hotel Villa Varadero
#16 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
962 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Las Palomas Vallarta
Hotel Las Palomas Vallarta
#26 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
27 reviews
0.5 mi away
Splash Inn Nuevo Vallarta
Splash Inn Nuevo Vallarta
#25 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Marina Banderas Suites Hotel Boutique
Marina Banderas Suites Hotel Bou...
#21 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
32 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
3 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Virgilios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Virgilios

Address: Calle Jacarandas 69, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range: £58 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Virgilios 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa Virgilios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing