We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shhh! Keep quiet about this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Virgilios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Virgilios
Certificate of Excellence
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Shhh! Keep quiet about this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Mixed feelings about writing this review, as on the one hand, I want all to know just how great a place this is! But, on the other hand, would love the crowds not to find out about this little piece of paradise, as I cherish the tranquility of Gil's B&B. Just returned from my second visit to Casa Virgilios, and my return trip was every bit as satisfying as my first stay. Spent a week there, in a different room than the first time, and nothing has changed!! Rooms are large, clean, and come with your own bathroom, and most also have a private balcony or deck.Gil's breakfasts are still fantastic, very filling, and varied enough that anyone could find something to match their tastes and appetites. Even the support staff are great! Gil dispenses great advice on where to go, and what to do, and we even managed to get him to go out with us for a meal, which he turned into an opportunity to show us a great 'local' restaurant, that as tourists, we would've never seen or found on our own. Highly recommended, just leave room for me, as I plan on going back!!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
62
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

You know how you have a happy place you go to - a far off location that make you feel peaceful and content? Casa Virgilios is now one of those places for me. Located in a quiet neighborhood in Nuevo Vallarta, it is a wonderful bed and breakfast that I would return to time and again.

When you first walk through the big wooden door you immediately notice the beautiful entry way with painted design on the walls that remind you of the area around you that you are about to explore. The owner, Virgil, will usually pop right over and take you directly to your room.

Our room was roomy, with a large bed and closet, roomy bathroom and a refrigerator, microwave and lots of "kitchen" shelves. The room has a fan and nice-size windows for air flow.

But the backyard, oh, what a paradise. Virgil and his team have done an extraordinary job with the landscaping making it a beautiful oasis, with a welcoming pool in the middle of it. Breakfast is served outside, under a shaded area, right by the pool.

The breakfast his staff and him prepare are wonderful. Flavorful, filling and never disappointing. And one other word on food. You can take a 7-8 minute walk from Casa Virgilios to reach the beach. If you take a left-hand turn when you reach the main street that parallels the beach (a roundabout will be there) there will be a restaurant about a 1/2 kilometer down called La Isla. I HIGHLY recommend it. My husband raved about the tasty vacio fajitas, and I enjoyed a tasty green salad that they whipped up for me because I'm vegetarian. This restaurant is reasonably priced and has food that is well-prepared.

Casa Virgilios has two bikes you can borrow to ride to La Isla or any other place you want to explore in Nuevo Vallarta. To wrap up, this is the BEST deal you will find in Nuevo Vallarta and will get you dreaming about escaping back to it whenever you can.

Room Tip: Our room had air conditioning, but I don't know if all rooms do so you may want to check. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, SD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

This is such a wonderful B+B. It is clean and inviting. The owner is friendly and very accomodating. Lots of restaurants around, close to a public beach at the ocean and a 20 min cab ride to downtown PV. Breakfast is DELICIOUS, and definitely enough to get you through until supper. And if you want to cook your own supper, you have a fridge and sink in your room to keep your items and there is an outdoor cooking area for you to use if you choose (bbq). The pool and spa are nice and clean, the gardens are beautiful and so well taken care of. The walls are a little thin (you can hear the noise in the common areas pretty easily) that would be my biggest complaint. But the size of the room was great, nice bathroom and closets. I would definitely stay again, and have been recommending to friends that are talking about Mexico!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christileah3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HongKong
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

Anyone seeing my other reviews will know I am not easily pleased but Casa Virgilios is that rare thing in this day and age, a great place run by an even greater person.

Perhaps because Virgil, the owner is Cuban, famed for their hospitality in the midst of Mexican inhospitality or maybe he is just a nice guy anyway, but his whole attitude is nothing is too much trouble.

The rooms are tastefully decorated, the common areas warm and friendly, the wifi fast, the pool inviting, the jacuzzi fun and the BBQ really good.

What more could you ask for when, once you get to know Virgil, he is just such a nice person, he will pass the time of day with you and go out of his way to help with anything. He even makes full cooked breakfasts to order each day...

Casa Virgilios is the benchmark by which other small hotels should base their properties. Well done, Virgil, I hope you grow and prosper for many years to come!

Room Tip: Stay for long enough to get to know Virgil....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CharlesTheVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Sault, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

This was our second stay at Casa Virgilios and we were not disappointed.
The warmth of Virgilio makes us feel like home. Clean, quiet, comfortable and secure, Casa Virgilios is a good starting point to access the Nuevo Vallarta beach (10minutes walk), a bus station (5 minutes walk) that will take you, for a very small fee, to downtown Puerto Vallarta or villages to the north. Virgilio will surprised you, with his ingeniousity, making a great breakfast from 9:00 to 11:00am. At breakfast you will meet other guess and share experiences, we always make friends during our stay. If you feel like staying on site, enjoy the clean pool and spa, the vegetation and birds, the manicured garden is magical. A special note, filtered water, bacteria free is available. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Room Tip: We have been in 2 different rooms, all seems very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alain_Lorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

Casa Virgilios is a tiny piece of Paradise. It's lovely gardens, quiet neighborhood, large and beautifully interesting and hand tiled large rooms are a perfect place to stay if you are visiting Puerto Vallarta or NV. It is near the beach, close to great restaurants, wifi, use of computer, and each day there is a sumptuous breakfast buffet. Mr. Virgilio is a perfect host.

Room Tip: Try to avoid "Aries". It's lovely and large and it has its own entrance, but you need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lsader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

You will not find a nicer B&B. We stayed in "Leo" for 5 days. Each of the rooms has its own authentic Mexican flare with comfortable beds, ample storage, A/C and well-functioning bathrooms. The decor in the common areas is a feast for the eyes. And speaking of feasts, Virgilios' Mexican breakfasts see you through the whole day! Delicious! The pool area is lovely and the location on the canal takes you away from hustle and bustle. One piece of advice is to use bug spray particularly at night, the lush property has ankle biters.

Virgilios and his staff are so nice, so accommodating ... this is really a gem.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leemit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
3.0 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
1.1 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#13 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta
1.0 mi away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Virgilios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Virgilios

Property: Casa Virgilios
Address: Calle Jacarandas 69, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Virgilios 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Virgilios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing