We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Grand, an irritating stay...”
Review of The Grand Bliss

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nuevo Vallarta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Grand Bliss
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We stayed from November 26-December 2. We won't ever stay at this resort again.
There is way to much upselling, timeshare pressure, etc. Even if you own. When the guys went golfing you may get free golf with your ownership but you have to pay for a caddy, and everything else if you can even get a tee time.
I called months then weeks in advance to request an ocean side room. Upon check in (of which you cannot get into your room until 5) we once again requested an ocean side room and they said they would work on it...On Saturday morning I followed up again and nothing...Then I saw that there was an equal unit open up across the hall from us and they gave it to Grand Luxe members. When I went down to the front desk to talk to them about it, they said that they had priority over us as we own at the Bliss not at the Luxe. So I asked, “when we were told that you were working on it and that there was the possibility that we could get an ocean front room ,” and proceeded to ask them, "so you lied to me" she said "YES!!" I couldn't believe it. Then we needed some sugar packets for coffee (they come in the room when you check in) and the lady told me to "go to the store." What?..... Who does that???... We went out and got help from one of the services gals in the hallway. The rooms are nice if you are into a lot of hassle and overlooking a very unsafe construction site. There is no pool at this resort so you'll have to go to the Grand Mayan or the Grand Luxe. Could be that this was our last trip to Mexico...Going to Hawaii on Jan 13th... And I can't wait!!

Room Tip: Don't stay at the Grand Resorts. We have been to PV many times and I would rate this experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Shaila N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Gerente at The Grand Bliss, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Shaila N:
Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your recent stay with us at The Grand Bliss.

We take great pride in creating incredible vacation experiences for our guests and generally receive very favorable comments about our staff and the service they provide; however, after receiving your remarks it appears this was not the case with your stay.

Rest assured your comments and suggestions will be shared with the appropriate areas since our staff works day and night to do their best to help our guests enjoy their vacations. We are also pleased to inform you that the pool area is now available for our guests to enjoy.

We hope you visit our resort again.

The Grand Bliss Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 684 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2011

We stayed there from Saturday December 17 to Friday December 23. The hotel is beautiful specially the landscaping, where ever you walk there’s something worth seeing, we dined at 4 restaurants , the food wasn’t too good and the prices where expensive, they where around 15 to 30 dollars, I like dining out so usually I don’t mind paying for overpriced food, but here we are talking about a vacation resort where you have to eat breakfast, lunch and dinner and when you sum up the prices of 3 meals a day for a week, the check becomes ridiculously expensive, I wasn’t expecting low prices but I do think that is overpriced specially since it’s a vacation resort and you come with the husband and the children. The food in the restaurant by the pool (can´t remember the name) was disgusting and expensive the drinks weren’t to good and in happy hour they would cut the alcohol amount in half, not worth ordering in happy hour, drinks are around 8 dollars.
Be prepare to blow off 2 days because the check in is a 5pm and the check out at 10am so those are 2 nights your paying for and 2 days you’re not using.
The other thing I hated was that in every hotel I’ve stayed where there’s a golf course, they give special fares for hotel guests, in this one you don’t get a special fare to play golf, you have to pay regular prices even if you’re staying at their resort.
The weather was cold and it usually is during this time of the year the problem comes when the pools are cold, they don’t have heaters so it’s not a nice experience to get in the cold water in a cold weather.
What I do congratulate them on is the great service, absolutely wonderful

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Bliss, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Carol W:

Thank you so much for commenting about your stayat The Grand Bliss. We are pleased you enjoyed our beautiful landscaping andgrateful for your kind words about our staff´s service,as we consider them one of our biggest assets. We are always looking to surpass our clients’ expectations of genuine luxury hospitality by providing outstanding locations and service excellence.

All the same, we are disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations to the fullest. Comments like yours enable our continued pursuit of improvement for perfection on our daily performance. We will gladly follow-up with the appropriate areas as creating ideal vacation experiences is our main goal.We would like to point out as well that our prices are extremely competitive compared to other luxury resorts.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warmest regards,
The Grand Bliss Nuevo Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We stayed three weeks in the Grand Bliss in December and we enjoyed our stay very much. We had a few problems with a couple of the appliances, and they were replaced immediately. We had not been back to Nuevo Vallarta for three years and we were amazed at the amount of work that had been done on the huge Mayan complex. The outdoor areas are stunning, which makes for very pleasant walks. Once again the people who work here are very friendly......Hola all the time! There is a lot of construction going on all around the resort, so there is noise, but it just means the resort is getting better and better. Only warning is to stay away from the timeshare booth by the Sea Garden!

Room Tip: If you are very sensitive to noise, the Grand Mayan would be the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank gdouce52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We own at the Grand Bliss
We tried to book an ocean view room and were told they were all full. As a matter of fact they told us it was completely full so we were at the Grand Myan in a really nice room central to everything. However the place was nowhere near capacity at any spot. Pools and beach had tons of chairs available etc. We've been there when busy and it was not.
We spoke to Mayan Palace owners on the beach who had been actually called and offered an upgrade to a Grand Bliss room and were on the construction side...not entirely happy with the jack hammer. So here we were owners denied a room and there they were spending less cash in "ownership" with a Grand Bliss room Its all about getting more and more of your cash so if you have already purchased you are kind of chump cheese and it seems rather than treated like royalty for your purchase you are second class to new prospective purchasers or upgraders. We met other people who bought Myan Palace years ago and never go to the owners update ie upgrade meetings anymore and are as happy as clams. Its fine if you don't want a beach facing room.
Don't get me wrong: the place is gorgeous and really the walk is lovely from place to place unless pushing a wheel chair, the spa is great, most resteraunts are great...none of it cheap. Unless you own the Grand Bliss or higher internet charges are a slap in the face at a resort of this cost.
Ignore the lure of 100 bucks off room charges and cheaper adventures for taking the ownership presentation because you will lose half a day at the presentations...unless money off is important to you and you have lots of time.
Overall it could be so great but their schemes get in the way of their success.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank GoinPeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

While the building and rooms are quite nice, the service is terrible. After confirming my reservation twice directly with the grand bliss, they lost my reservation. I waited 2 hours at the reception desk for the gb to fix. That is ridiculous especially when you have young kids.

The building is quiet and yet the book into non ocean view rooms. I maid told me they keep many (10) ocean view rooms empty at all times, just in case.

All show and terrible service

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Geetee5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Gerente at The Grand Bliss, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Geetee5:
We are gratified to hear about your visit at the Grand Bliss.

It appears as though not all your expectations were met. With that in mind, your feedback will be shared with all the appropriate areas in order to ensure they all have accurate information so that your check-in is an efficient and pleasant experience. Working to anticipate and exceed your every need is very important to us.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future to truly impress you with what we have to offer.

Best regards,
The Grand Bliss Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We traded with RCI to get a 2 bedroom at The Grand Bliss. It is a really nice hotel and the room was lovely. The 2 bedroom was large and each room had a huge bathroom. The kitchen was stocked with the bare essential items. We were able to make breakfast and have snacks, but to do a whole dinner would have been difficult, There are 2 ( dorm room size) refrigerators in the kitchen, which seemed a little odd. We took a taxi to the Mega store when we first arrived and stocked up on drinks and food.

The Grand Bliss is missing their own pool, spa and restaurants. It is just a hotel. You have to go to another Mayan hotel to go to the pool, spa or restaurant. The walk to the other hotels is about 5 minutes and it is a nice walk because it is all landscaped with tropical plants and well maintained. We enjoyed going out for dinners at the local restaurants in Nuevo Vallarta. We felt safe always.

The maids did an outstanding job cleaning our rooms. All the staff were very friendly.

Check out time is at 10am and we had a late afternoon flight home. They stored our luggage and we were allowed to use the hospitality room to shower and get ready before we had to head to the airport. I thought that was great. We didn't lose the day.

The big disppointment was that even when the hotel was almost empty, they still stick you on the construction side, There was construction noise 8 to 10 hours a day. We were told that we could have an oceanview room if we took the time share tour. I think that is pretty sad. Why not make an effort to please the people that are staying there?

After you check in, you will be walked over to another desk to talk to some new people. They start out telling you about the resort, but it quickly becomes the time share talk. Beware!

I don't think I would be returning to this hotel. I don't like the fact that you stay in the hotel and have you use other hotels( which are not in the same class) amenities.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank isoyhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

This will be a beautiful resort, but there is construction going on, and they would not give us an oceanview, although they had oceanview rooms available. This is the first time I have stayed with the Mayan Group and not received an oceanview, so I was disappointed with this, although my husband did enjoy watching the construction site! We stayed in a one bedroom and had no major complaints about the room. There is not a pool at this hotel, you have to walk to the pool at the grand mayan, and it is a long walk to the beach, although the lush pathways leading to the beach and pool are lovely and lush. This is a solid 4 or 5 star resort. We did not eat at any of the resort property restaurants, there are too many lower priced and just as good restaurants just off the property. It seems as if the resort is encouraging people to not leave the grounds, as it is unsafe. We spent lots of time off the property, taking the public transit and going downtown etc and never felt unsafe. I loved the large chair on the deck, it would have been perfect with the oceanview!

Room Tip: Not sure what hoops you have to jump through to get an oceanview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bclovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
4.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
2.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,596 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
#4 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,115 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
4.7 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Bliss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Bliss

Address: Av Pasedo de las Moras | Fracc. Náutico Turístico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Number of rooms: 130
Also Known As:
The Grand Bliss Hotel Nuevo Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing