We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and slow, but great food!”
Review of La Casona

La Casona
Ranked #48 of 138 Restaurants in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$90
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
CA
Level Contributor
101 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Expensive and slow, but great food!”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Prices are very expensive, and the service is very slow, but the food is excellent. Nice and quiet, clean. Menu is clear. My favorites were the endive Blue cheese salad, and the scallop appetizer. The pork chops and rib eye entrees were also very good. And I don't know how they do it, but the best tasting baked potato you'll ever have. Just have a credit card with a high limit handy, and allocate a couple hours for dinner because service can be excruciating slow.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Henneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    20
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banff National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely ambiance great staff!”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Had a very good dinner at La Casona Jan 7. We all enjoyed our dinners that were either steak or chicken in choice. The staff here is exceptional and I must say it was wonderful to see old faces from other establishments now working here. Alejandro is always a favorite of ours and made our evening very enjoyable. The ambiance is wonderful too the building and finishings are top quality throughout. Sit outside by the fountains and enjoy the el fresco dinning. A lovely evening for all.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mexicolover67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, small portions”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed at Villa La Estancia (fantastic establishment) over Christmas and dined at La Casona once. The meals are thoughtfully prepared and use fresh ingredients. My companion and I shared the scallop appetizer which was enjoyable, however, not an ideal dish for sharing as it is small and served with three scallops. We both had the red snapper main - it is topped with a crispy potato crust which was quite tasty. I would have liked the dish to be more flavourful. Service was excellent and our margaritas and sangrias were refreshing.

We have heard La Casona is an excellent choice for special occasions as the several course meals and alcohol fixed price is of good value.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidson, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Excellent Service!”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We visit twice the area twice a year and stop over at La Casona for breakfast and dinner - it is always divine and relaxing. Ask for server Omar, he's the best, always very attentive and anticipates your every need! Sit outside by the relaxing waterfalls. The restaurant is also very reasonably priced and offers a better deal than other restaurants in the area.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Manuel555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service great food!”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Loved it! Nothing but great things to say! The service was sensational, the food was delicious!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank sntx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Casona also viewed

Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to La Casona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing