We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Piece of Paradise”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nuevo Vallarta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grand Luxxe Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Reviewed 14 March 2013

From check in to check out, the staff is at your service. The villas are large and airy. They are beautifully appointed. The living room is large and the kitchen area is well equipped. The bath is has a large tub, a shower room and water closet. The most difficult part of the stay is locating a room that has a nice view. The resort is always under construction outside. Therefore, at times, your views are large construction zones. We also were put in a room that had the smell of mildew. The staff changed our room and we enjoyed our accommodations very much. Each floor has a concierge; Salvador was excellent. He made our dinner reservations, found a bar in town to watch the start of the NCAA basketball tournaments and suggested activities for us.

Room Tip: If at first you do not succeed, try, try again! Our room smelled moldy and overlooked a large constr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gail12110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,905)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,339 - 2,345 of 2,905 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

The Good: The Grand Luxxe towers at the Grand Mayan Resort in Nuevo Vallarta are pretty amazing accommodations. They are spacious, clean and nearly brand new when we were there. The overall resort has become very large and the new Luxxe only pool area is very nice and has little luxuries like a guy who comes by and cleans your sunglasses and brings cool facial towels to you as you lounge by the pool. If you're staying at the Luxxe part of the property, you can go to the more kid-friendly pools and water slides on the property, but Grand Mayan guests cannot come to the Luxxe pool complex. The condo-style rooms are large, huge, actually. They have very beautiful and functional kitchens, big fridges, good appliances and decent cookware that are probably nicer than most homes in the US. If you cook your meals in, you can keep the food costs for your trip affordable. The Luxxe experience includes daily coffee trolley service that you can schedule early or late and the resort has a number of restaurants, buffet and al a carte restaurants that offer pretty tasty food, but not budget-friendly. The new Luxxe pools nearest the ocean also boast some warmish jacuzzi pools, the first that I'm aware of in the entire Grand Mayan resort set of complexes. They are a welcome addition on days when the pool water is cold or you want to sit in a jacuzzi after dark.

If you have a golf-package as part of your Luxxe vacation, the golf course is fun, moderately challenging and a nice way to spend time. You must pay for a caddie and golf carts are required.

My ratings for service, room, location and all the other amenities are all pretty high, because it is very nice, even Luxxe ;-), but definitely has a high price point.

The Bad:
Timeshare Pitch: It's a time-share business, be prepared for the inevitable sales presentation that will last at least twice as long as they tell you it will. They are slick about it, the sales people are all beautiful, well-dressed and very friendly. It's how they are funding all the construction you're seeing around you. Their goal seems to be to drain the wallets of affluent, recently retired couples in the hopes that they will lock in themselves and their offspring to vacationing at the resort or even snowbirding there for a score of years, or more.

Re-construction: The resort was in the midst of a major new development that is right in the middle of the current Luxxe tower complex when we were there last time. Jack hammers and large earthmoving equipment was right around our tower and you could hear the noise all the time and the construction starts at daybreak. Restaurants and grocery store are all darn expensive, think Disney prices.

Food Prices And Don't Ever Leave Design: The small grocery store is pretty small and prices are ~30% higher than in town, and the resort does everything they can to keep you from wandering off the property short of putting you on a leash. Taxi prices are pretty expensive. I think they are trying to follow the Disney model where they make it so time consuming or expensive, and inconvenient to leave the property that you pay the extra premium to avoid the hassle of leaving the resort.

Suggestions: Get off the property and enjoy the restaurants that are walking distance from the edge of the Grand Mayan part of the property. They aren't bargains either, but they are less expensive than those on the Grand Mayan resort and they all had pretty good food. Fajita Republic is my favorite. You won't need a car while you stay at Grand Luxxe, but if you have one, get out, explore the downtown Puerto Vallarta area, go to the Costco in Puerto Vallarta for your groceries and enjoy some of the amazing restaurants that are in the older parts of the city, both the beach area, the older part of the city and the hills that overlook the bay. The downtown marina area of PV was recently re-designed and is much more pedestrian friendly.

Recreation:
Golf at Grand Luxxe is good and expected to get better with new courses in the planning stage. I'm not sure if construction has started on them yet, but expect that construction to take a while, it took several years for them to re-develop the current course when they moved the last four holes off the ocean so they could build Grand Luxxe towers there.
Surfing: You can, you have to leave the Bay and go north, but it's there if you want it.
Diving: It's ok diving, visibility is moderate, water not as warm as carribean, fewer things to see.
Whalewatching was great, my 5 year old son had a total blast on the trip, we saw dolphins, turtles and whales. We walked up and booked our own trip at the Marina and saved ourselves $30 over booking with a tour company.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Matt_likes_surfing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

What a beautiful resort. The 2 bedroom suite was to die for!! I almost couldn't get my family to leave the rooms to enjoy the pool and ocean. The restaurants were good, if a bit pricy, the drinks were well made, and the cost wasn't bad so long as you ordered at happy hour or had their special drink of the day!!! The beach sand is nice, but the water is a bit muddy!! There is a reason they built wave pools and lazy rivers, etc. at this group of resorts. The Grand Luxxe staff were awesome!! The time share sale is a bit pushy, but overall a great experience!! I never liked timeshares, but am honestly thinking this one might be worth buying!!
The gym is fantastic and Spatium is wonderfully relaxing!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lars27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

My husband and I just got back from Grande Luxxe. Before we left we were very worried since we are not owners there and read about major construction. We went through a trade with Interval Intern'l. I wrote to the concierge asking if I could put in a request with some tips from other reviewers. He told me I could so I sent a very short list. When we arrived at check in, there was NO record of anything I had requested. Not a good start. We asked for Tower 1 and were put into Tower 3. We asked for a King size bed and were given two doubles. At first we thought it was going to be awful but it turned out to be wonderful. The building is beautiful. Room service pushed our beds together. Room was kept clean, loved nightly pull down of beds and room had a refrigerator and safe. Although our room did overlook a dirty river and plants with major construction beyond that, they started about 8:30 and ended by time we returned back to our room. The morning construction within the building is actually what we heard. Since we went to the gym every morning, it wasn't too bad.
Speaking of the gym, it is in Tower 2 ( 5 min walk)and is big, clean and has lots of machines. Flaw...only one set of light weights with 5lbs being the lightest. They need some 3lbers and more 5 and 8 lbers. . Also, on our last day, since there isn't a shower in this beautiful gym( big mistake), we had to go to Grand Mayan and actually reserve a time. They have a hospitality room but during busy times, one has to go to GM to shower. Tower 2 gym should have been built with showers!
We had a standard room from a lock off trade and the room was nicely decorated, spacious and clean. The bathroom was huge and they included many ammenities. We read that Tower 3 is so far away from anything..only if you find a 10 min walk too long...We found staying in newer building worth the short walk....over pretty walkways and greenery.
The pools were big and beautifully landscaped...loved the built in bars, fountains, whirlpools,lounge chairs and ledges all in the pools to just sit and hang out. We loved that even with so many people staying within the hotels, we never feel like we were at a crowded resort. We mostly stayed at the Punta pools...nice breeze and overlooked beach. Speaking of beach, we wish there was better beach access from this pool. The water was good but very sandy...not the clean clear water we have had on the Atlantic. We tried different hotels on grounds...Grand Mayan has a long lazy river and fun slide-more family oriented.
Although people drank the water, we took a cab ( about $6) to a local Walmart and bought some breakfast, fruit and lots of water. We never drank the water and didn't have any problems.
Speaking of eating, the Punta Arena was the best...just beautiful overlooking the beach and the food and service was terrific. We went to the Mexicana Fiesta and the food was OK and the entertainment was OK...impressed with flying acrobats but nothing else impressed us. Was expensive for OK meal and mediorce entertainment. The pool bar by the punta pool had delicious burgers and salads.
Great local restaurants...Portobella, Claudios and best was Por Que No...a lot of fun, delicious food and walking distance from hotel.
We took a bus to Puerto Vallarta and went to Pipi's...touristy but a lot of fun...great mexican food!
We went Whale Watching with Vallarta Adventures and Pablo was so informative and funny. We saw over 20 whales and got very close...would recommend this tour.
no matter what time we arrived back after dinner, we went to the Santaurio for nightly entertainment. We really loved the fact that different acts came on all night long. See previous review for types of acts. We really enjoyed the enthusiasm and the talent. We danced almost nightly and had so much fun! Very impressive day and night!
We liked that there are no cars and cabs around the property. The walkways were perfect. There are golf carts and that go around all the time...even taking you to the main gate so you can walk to local area restaurants. They came around often.
Now for the best part, the service at this hotel was like no other I have ever had in my life! Our floor concierges were Bernardo and Fernando. Bernardo went out of his way to make us comfortable. He greeted us daily, made reservations, answered questions, recommended things and even made arrangements for a restaurant he made a reservation at for us to help us celebrate our anniversary...Both Bernardo and Fernando were the best...so appreciative!
The service was unbelievable...from the people at the pools cleaning our glasses, attending to any drinks and umbrella repositioning to the fruit ice pops and wet washclothes being handed out daily. We would come back from a full evening and see people washing floors, cleaning something...no lack of staff to help to keep the resort so clean. We couldn't get over the staff...even down to the lady standing in the lobby with a basket of candy...staff was working everywhere all the time!
We were very happy with our stay and despite our original emails not being noted and the construction, it might not have given us the best view but everything else was terrific...We had a great time!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank aericken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We have stayed here in Luxxe, Bliss and Mayan buildings. As for the buildings, they are a bit like base model cars with different trim levels. Most recent stay, ending tonight, was at the Grand Luxxe 3 with Platinum service level. Very comfortable beds, pretty trim level.

Pros -
Staff. For the most part, the staff at all levels and in every department is great. Everyone seems to try hard even if they miss the details here and there.

Kid programs. Pretty good, especially in the 5 to 10 age range. The staff here really seems to love children and they made some otherwise completely untenable conditions bearable since our kids were happy.

Attitude toward kids. Sweet. These people all have family of their own and they treat child guests and their parents just beautifully.

Pools. Lots of choices, all lovely in their own way.

Beach Access. Many options. All nice by Pacific beach standards.

Food. Lots of options mostly quite good and reasonably priced.

Cons -
The. Noise. - I have never in all my travels dealt with this absurd level of noise. I've stayed I places in mid town Manhattan, San Francisco and Chicago that were quieter. Between the constant construction noise ( jack hammers, saws, bull dozers, back hoes, sanding, nail guns and so much more) from 7A sometimes until midnight everyday to the absolutely horrendous nightly music blaring at concert volume from the centrally located and ironically named Santuario, it is a true assault on the senses.

Last night we were subjected to awful Whitney Houston covers followed by sawing metal. At midnight. It is a total mystery to me who this appeals to since this place is full of families with small children and elderly folks. Ending the music at 9 might be okay, but turning up the volume at 11:30 and following that up with high pitched sawing noises is just plain awful. And there is no escape once your room is assigned. So either bring custom ear plugs, stay really really drunk, somehow get an ocean side room in the Punta building or leave quickly and stay elsewhere.

The air quality. The horrendous construction noise is only out matched by the wretched dust and musty construction odor everywhere. Enough to wake you up even with doors shut and AC blasting full tilt. Wake up feeling like you have a layer of moldy plaster in your burning eyes and chalky mouth.

Construction. Did I mention that there is a giant hole where the 3rd floor of our high end building the Luxxe 3 should be? For Americans this will be tough to understand until you see it. I'm talking gaping empty floor in an otherwise finished and occupied building.

Bugs. We have been plagued by insect problems due to the standing water all over the resort and construction areas. First it was just massive amounts of mosquito bites. Then we realized we were also dealing with bed bugs. My poor husband looks like he has measles the bites are so bad. we complained and asked for help, bur almost nothing was offered in the way of help and there was no compensation for this egregious problem. Again, we have stayed in very rustic jungle places and have never dealt with this degree of trouble.

Time Share situation. Be ready to fight off the aggressive time share pitches if you do not want to buy. Also be aware that because it is primarily time share based, you have very little recourse for problems.
Whether you own or rent from an owner, you have no say when things are awful. Their whole MO is to sell more stuff, so there will always be new construction so they can upsell existing owners. And if you rent via an owner, they don't give a hoot what you think since you aren't buying and helping them expand.

Sadly, we will probably not be back. The problems just outweigh the good things by too much.

Overall a sad mix of good and awful. We

Room Tip: Grand Luxxe Punta or far end of Grand Mayan - are the only ones away from construction. Also, try f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank ByronDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzie M, Gerente at Grand Luxxe Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Dear ByronDreams:
We are grateful for your taking the time to write a detailed review about your experience while staying at Grand Luxxe. We really thank you for your kind comment about our staff as we consider them one of our biggest assets. We are also glad your children enjoyed our Kid’s Club, our facilities and you were all pleased with our food options.

Comments like yours enable our continued pursuit of improvement for perfection on our daily performance. All our staff has a strict regimen of training and supervision in all areas to provide the highest level of service our guests expect from us. We will gladly follow-up with the appropriate areas as creating ideal vacation experiences is our main goal.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future to truly impress you with what we have to offer at Grand Luxxe.

Warmest regards,
Grand Luxxe Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Great place!!!! The service was unbelievable!! We relaxed by the wonderful pools, ate popsicles, got our sunglasses cleaned, played LAZY games, were served lunch and beverages in our pool chairs, they even moved the umbrellas whenever we needed them moved!! Girl Trip 2013 made GREAT because of this wonderful place...........we felt like princesses!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cpt6281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Excellent resort,great pools and restaurants, excellent services,great apartments.
Slow check-in. Long wait for lugage at departure. Should have direct entry to the beach. Beach should be cleaned daily

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arnoldk56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
4.5 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
1.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,597 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
#4 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,119 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,450 reviews
4.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Luxxe Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Luxxe Nuevo Vallarta

Address: Av. Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Number of rooms: 800
Also Known As:
Grand Luxxe Villas Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Luxxe Villas And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing