We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had A Wonderful time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
calgary
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Had A Wonderful time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We were honored guests of friends who own a time share at this location. We had a grand time! The time share issue was dealt with by our friends, so no one approached us or them after they spoke with them. The room was really lovely. Three balconies, unfortunately though no patio furniture. Strange. At least supply a couple of chairs. Fridge small and only two burner stove top - made for creative thinking! Didn't really bother us in any way, just another part of the adventure! The grounds are stunning and are going to be absolutely amazing when completed. There was construction going on but we enjoyed watching the transformation while we were there. The pool that we were allowed to access was beautiful. Disappointing that you are restricted to only the Mayan Palace pool due to the color of our bracelet, but the pool is right on the beach, so you could choose, poolside or ocean to spend the day and we were quite happy to stay there. There were activities at our pool which were super fun. Bingo, Black jack and Tequila Water Volleyball. An absolute hoot! Oscar our waiter at the pool and beach was just the loveliest man and took fantastic care of us. We never were without an ice cold beverage when we needed one! Drinks are pricey, but they have Happy Hours, so take advantage of those! Really enjoyed the food at all but the Havana Moon. Cuba/Caribbean food - sorry, spend a lot of time in Cuba and Jamaica and there was nothing Caribbean about the food. Ginger, soya Maui Maui and ginger coleslaw? Also the Cuban sandwich that stated shredded pork was a huge slab of Sunday roast with zero flavour. The Best Burger Bar (located at the Lux) was amazing! OMG - not kidding, best burger in my entire life and probably will be forever. Also you must try the Cream of Asparagus soup. I would kill for that recipe! Balche by the Mayan Palace pool was fresh and delicious. Overall we had the greatest time and I would happily go back anytime. All the staff deserve major kudos for fantastic service. Everyone of them work hard to make your stay special and it was duly noted and appreciated!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smilingcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear smilingcanuck:

Thank you so much for commenting about your stay at Mayan Palace. We are pleased to learn you had a wonderful vacation, that you enjoyed our food options and took advantage of the promotions available during your stay. We will gladly share your comments with our pool bar’s staff as well. We are certain Oscar will gladly receive your feedback, as all our staff is always looking to meet our guests’ expectations to the fullest.

Comments like yours inspire us to continue creating ideal vacation experiences.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,
Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    276
    110
    86
    88
See reviews for
458
225
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

No bars, no food, and not expeditious for immediate transportation. Minimal/small kitchen in 1-bedroom unit. Long walk to pool and rocky beach. Think twice. I highly recommend upgrade to Grand Mayan if room is available. Positive -- very friendly staff and good golf course. Lots of construction but it is a good thing!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank FXDLKM03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear FXDLKM03 :

Thank you so much for choosing our Mayan Palace for your vacation and for sharing your review with us.We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff, as they are always looking to surpass our clients’ expectations of genuine luxury hospitality by providing service excellence.
It appears as though not all your expectations were met. Our goal is to make each one of our guests’ vacations relaxing and we look to please them by making sure they receive all the benefits they are expecting to enjoy during their vacation. With that in mind, your feedback will be shared with all the appropriate areas.

Your feedback is always welcomed.

Warm regards,
Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Visited here recently with someone who is already an owner, so that at least got us out of the time share talk....of course it STILL took her multiple times of telling them NO before they dropped trying to get it to go again. I LOVED the gorgeous and relaxing pool area. The restaurant pool staff are fantastic and the food there (and at all the resort restaurants actually) was delicious. Unfortunately they are doing a TON of construction at the Mayan Palace itself, so some of the historically lovely grounds were in complete upheaval and lots of construction activity/noise. Ultimately this did not terribly disrupt our vacation - thank heavens - as the pool area was as lovely as ever. Very lovely and relaxing vacation. Rooms very large and spacious - loved that!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickyLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear VickyLynne:

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at Mayan Palace. We are pleased to learn you had a wonderful vacation, that you enjoyed our pools and food options, We will gladly share your comments with our restaurant´s staff as well. We are certain them will gladly receive your feedback, as all our staff is always looking to meet our guests’ expectations to the fullest.

Your comments are always welcomed. Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,
Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

My family and I stayed at the Mayan for 4 days. I had read the reviews and was pretty pessimistic about what our experience would be. However, I found the place to have nice grounds and ok pools. Our suite was very nice and the cleaning service did a great job. We shopped at their little grocery store, which I found was pretty reasonable. We cooked our own meals and headed out to puerto Vallarta to meet with family for dinner, so we don't have much to report on their restaurants. I found their prices to be comparable to most resort prices. Yes drinks are $10, but that's what you pay at most restaurants. There were some very helpful staff members that told us how to find cheaper cabs. I would visit again. Kids enjoyed it :)

Room Tip: Go off season
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FabiAva333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear FabiAva333 :

We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at Mayan Palace, and we are delighted to know you liked the pools and accommodations. Thank you as well for your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets.

We take great pride in creating incredible vacations and after receiving your remarks, it is great to confirm we have succeeded in doing so for you and your loved ones.

We look forward to welcoming you back and continue making your stays memorable!

Happily,
Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We came back from vacation in Mayan Palace in Nuevo Vallarta 5 dayas ago, I resisted to write review right away to cool down and be more objective.
Good: rooms are clean, maid service is excellent, bell service and front stuff is helpful.
Not so good: Arrival. Taxi brings you to the "sorting point" where all people from 5 Mayan resorts arrive. It was 25 min waiting line until taxi was unloaded and we got tickets for our baggage and were sent on our way to take a "transportation" which is oversized golf cart to the final destination -Mayan Palace. Tired from the plane, walking in very hot weather at 4PM with very high humidity did not improve our mood.
Instead of quickly check us in and give us time to rest, we were taken to the "resort overview" desk, who's main goal was to get us for the "breakfast for members", basically sale presentation. When I refused ... she got angry. With completely spoiled mood we got to the room. It is a good part - it was nice, cool and clean. I did not want to leave.
Unacceptably bad: We were offered a room on the top floor with ocean view. I should have asked them why are they so nice to offer it, it was pretty clear next morning- ocean view is a view of a construction zone, which is an active construction with tractors and trucks, with smell of diesel and noise avery day 9 to 7 including weekends and small strip of the ocean at the end of construction zone. Top floor is not a top floor - there is active construction going on just a floor above. Every morning at 9AM we were greeted with friendly sound of hummer drills and circular saws so loud, that my kids had to turn TV volume all the way up to hear it. Well, thank you for not starting at 6AM ...
Trip to the pool/ocean was long - about 10min walk, 15 min with kids, the path through the jungle with crocodile signs bothered my wife more then me, but it was a jungle path through a construction zone with noise, diesel smell and signs "we are working for you".
Pool is OK - big, but only 4 ft deep with tiles falling off everywere.
Food: only one restaurant by the pool and one away from the pool, all others in different resorts "grand Mayan", "Luxx" walking distance. Only good about the restaurants - you do not need to make a reservation, they are lucky to have 1 table occupied at lunch or dinner time. They are empty for a reason... Cheeseburger for $30 USD. WTF? Drinks $9-10 USD. Happy hour 2 for one - 11AM to 1PM - how many people drink in the morning?
Internet $95USD for a week - this is the price of high speed internet for 2 months in US.
Good the we had Walmart nearby -$6 one way.
Here we ran in another problem - by the poolside there are security guards... I do not know how unsecure the area is, so the only thing they did is to watch that people do not eat own food. Come on - she took away Coke in plastic bottle, our kids were not allowed to have potato chips. The only food allowed is bought in the poolside restaurant - 4 chicken fingers $14 USD plus tips.
The attempt to control mosquitos are inadequate - I had about 100 bites and still itch from the vacation, but I can't blame Mayan palace for that.
I was really happy to leave. Too bad I have Mayan Palace timeshare and I can not sell it - nobody wants it. I had few good stays in Mayan Palace Puerto Vallarta and Rivera Maya, but it was years ago.
Mayan Palace need to put few things together - warn people about active construction on site and in the building were they live at the time of reservation, restaurant business should be competitive, not forced by security guards. The only good memory is room maid service with towel swans and elephants.
The memories about comfortable vacation in Mexico with great service and affordable price are ruined. Serious consideration will be given to Hawaii and Caribbean for my next vacation.

Room Tip: Do not take top floor - floor above is a construction zone. Garden view is better they ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank VacationLover2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear VacationLover2013 :

We very much appreciate our guests' reviews and opinions. We are glad you enjoyed your room. We are also pleased to learn our housekeeping staff efficiently kept it clean.

It appears as though not all your expectations were met. Rest assured that your feedback will be taken into consideration as it helps us improve our facilities and services. For that reason, our resorts are constantly being refurbished; to have them in the best condition possible for our guests to enjoy.We would like to point out as well that our prices are competitive compared to other resorts’ of similar quality.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future to truly impress you with what we have to offer.

Yours sincerely,
Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Very nice, five stars, but you pay for everything double. Pools are crowded, people hog lounge chairs, drinks start at 7.00 us. Too large to really walk the grounds, you must wait for cart. Wont be going back, better deals all inclusive out there.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank diamondgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear diamondgirl :
Thank you so much for choosing our Mayan Palace for your vacation and for sharing your review with us.

It appears as though not all your expectations were met. Our goal is to make each one of our guests’ vacations relaxing and we look to please them by making sure they receive all the benefits they are expecting to enjoy during their vacation. With that in mind, your feedback will be shared with all the appropriate areas. We would like to point out as well that our prices are competitive compared to other resorts.
Your feedback is always welcomed.
Warm regards,
Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keizer, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

My husband and I traveled to Nuevo Vallarta with our timeshare and stayed at the Mayan Palace. Beautiful location and AMAZING pool! Over 1 mile in circumference! We had a great week. I became ill while there and the hotel brought a doctor to my room! Great service!!

Room Tip: Every room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
4.9 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
1.0 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,028 reviews
1.3 mi away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#13 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,730 reviews
4.9 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#1 of 3 in Flamingos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta

Property: Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta
Address: Paseo De Las Moras #1, Fracc., Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Wyndham Nuevo Vallarta
Nuevo Vallarta Mayan Palace
Mayan Palace Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing