We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something odd 'bout this place...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nuevo Vallarta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Ever watch the movie "WestWorld"? That's a bit how this felt.. like we'd walked into another world but one that was not real.. we visited in mid-march to get away from the cold winds and onto a hot beach.. our room, 5211, had a beautiful view but unfortunately the balcony is only big enough to stand on.. no room for sitting.. such a waste. We had a two bedroom suite.. one bedroom had a king size bed and the other two queens.. the bathrooms were large and fine.. You won't find the higher end sheets or towels here.. no pillow top mattresses.. and the towels are oversized but you won't need to bring your exfoliators (smile). The two couches in the living room made into trundle beds... all fine... The weird part was that we were in and out of those rooms 1/2 dozen times a day and only one time did I see another human being in the hallway.. it was just a bit weird.. almost spooky.. We saw people checking in.. and then never saw them again.. weird.. it's a bit of a hike to the pool or the beach.. the pool is huge but has none of the amenities of the Grand Mayan pool like swim up bars or in pool loungers... and don't think you can get into the Grand Mayan pools because you can't (color coded bracelets).. you're supposed to be able to eat at any of the over priced restaurants on the "compound" which is comprised of the Mayan Palace, The Grand Mayan, Bliss, and Grand Luxxe but we were made to feel "less than" on several occasions after being escorted out by security.. there's a reason the armbands at the Mayan Palace are a boring beige..

The worst part was the timeshare part.. if I ever stay in another timeshare property again, I will say "no" to the timeshare spill from the very beginning.. not worth the time.. or frustration.. at least that's my opinion.. I'm in paradise and would rather not have to deal with these type of people and trying to sort truth from lies.. just not worth it...

So, would I stay there again? Yes but I would spend most of my time "off" compound. We got a great deal and a week was only $300... if I'd had to pay what was posted?? NO WAY!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeAnn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear LeAnn R :

Thank you very much for providing your comments about your vacation at Mayan Palace.

Most of the feedback provided by our guests is excellent; nonetheless, we are always looking for opportunities to exceed our members’ and guests' expectations. With that in mind, your comments will be shared with the appropriate areas, since they work tirelessly - day and night, to achieve the utmost level of satisfaction. We take this opportunity to point out as well that our prices are competitive compared to other resorts.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

452 - 458 of 1,355 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

Upon arriving at the resort, everything looks perfect... until you sit down and look around for a while. The longer you stay, the more you see things are patched together and unfinished. (before everyone starts in on me, yes I know this is to be expected when you travel, and especially so for travel in Mexico.) I'm not expecting perfection, what I am expecting is a semi-safe environment.

Large portions of the hotel are unfinished, and there is construction everywhere. Apparently it has been this way for years. You were also pushed, pressured constantly to upgrade or purchase another timeshare while on property.

If you want to go to the beach, be prepared for a hike. It is a much farther walk than other hotels in the area.

What we did enjoy were upgrading to their beach party and fiesta dinners on the beach. The entertainment was great, and the food was okay. The drinks were fun, and the location was gorgeous.

If we were to stay again, we would want to upgrade to the Bliss of the Grand Mayan. Both of those hotels appeared finished, and were more upscale.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Grand Mayan of the Bliss - There is one section close to the beach. The "main&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Starryice2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Starryice2014 :

We are gratified to hear about your visit at Mayan Palace. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our beach parties.

Regrettably, it would appear we did not meet all your expectations. Nevertheless, this will be shared with the appropriate areas so they can look into each one of your observations, since they work tirelessly - day and night, to make our guests’ visits the most comfortable experience ever.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future to truly impress you with what we have to offer.


Best regards,

Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have been coming to MAYAN PALACES since we first purchased a time share in 1991. We have not missed a year. When we first arrive, everyone greets us with 'welcome home' and that is just how we feel! The bell boys, the waiters (especially at Balche by the pool) do everything they can to make us feel at home. The activities kids all work especially hard also! Alan, Adrian (who is in training and will hopefully be one of the 'regulars') Iriana, Abraham, Luis and Miguel. Temo gave us our 'update' letting us know what new things are on the agenda and was very informative. We enjoyed the fabulous shows at the Santuario! We especially loved JayCee.....she was wonderful!!!!!! She truly got the audiences going! We usually don't have to go through RCI, but this year we did.
























!

Room Tip: Ocean view is always a treat.........so beautiful watching the sunset, but not always available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sondra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Sondra C :
Thank you for taking the time to provide us your detailed feedback about your recent stay at Mayan Palace. We are delighted to learn that our staff was welcoming, as this is what we strive for every day. We are certain Alan, Adrian, Iliana, Abraham, Luis, Miguel, Temo and Jaycee will gladly receive your feedback, as all our staff is always looking to meet our guests’ expectations to the fullest.

We take great pride in creating incredible vacations and after receiving your remarks, it is great to confirm we have succeeded in doing so for you. Comments like yours inspire us to continue creating ideal vacation experiences.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,
Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Upon our stay at the Grand Mayan, Miguel an activity helper was amazing at entertaining. He had a great personality and was always smiling while working with others. Because of Miguel, I have memories that will last a life time. I really enjoyed the conducted activities, and learning more about Miguel and his lifestyle in Mexico. You've got great staff overall, I had an amazing trip and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 6,514,787,777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear 6514787777:

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback.

We are always pleased to learn that our guests enjoy their stay at Mayan Palace and particularly, that our resort’s staff was accommodating with your needs. Working to anticipate and exceed your every need is very important to us. We are certain Miguel will gladly receive your feedback, as all our staff is always looking to meet our guests’ expectations to the fullest.

We take great pride in creating incredible vacation experiences for our guests, and truly look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Happily,
Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This was my third vacation at the Mayan and every time it just gets better and better. The location is amazing and everything is so beautiful. It is paradise. When you get to the resort you are greeted by amazing people who take your luggage on a cart to your room for you. I was amazed at all the staff and how well they took care of things and how kind and caring they are. The activity staff is amazing and they are great at what they do. Miguel was amazing and got everyone excited to join in on the next activity. Nothing beats volleyball on the beach in the hot sun. I loved laying in the sun by the pool it was so relaxing. The food, the drinks everything was amazing. I will continue to go here every year because it is always a great vacation. Great Place, amazing Palace. x

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetpeaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear sweetpeaa :

Thank you so much for choosing our Mayan Palace for your vacation and for sharing your review with us. We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff, as they are always looking to surpass our clients’ expectations of genuine luxury hospitality by providing service excellence.

Comments like yours inspire us to continue creating ideal vacation experiences.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily
Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We just got back from the mayan palace march 14 we were there for 1 week restaurants super over price. Hotel not busy asked for a room with a view got the basement could not even fit a chair on patio view was bush. water leaking from upstairs to our master bedroom went to front desk to complain sent guy up said it was the toilet dripping upstairs. Bed so hard my husband slept on couch the whole week not much better. Walls so thin it was like having the people right in your condo. best was when we checked out we were flying late so the gal at front desk gave us bracelts to use at grand mayan to shower and get changed when arrive at mayan the guy was so rude basically called us liars even though we had the grand mayan bracelt on.
So disapointing, grounds lovely pool and servers great but the restaurants at itailan and burger were not so freindly. Front desk was not helpul at all.
Good thing they only let you trade 1 in 5 years would not go back to this hotel

Room Tip: dont book at the palace wait til you can get in the luxe bliss or grand mayan and make sure your wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dolly1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The grounds are very nice. The staff is very nice. The ocean has a river pouring into it so the water is not crystal clear blue etc. it's brown and very sandy. Not recommended for swimming!

If you purchase anything on the grounds, it's very expensive. Go to small places outside the property.

All rooms "DON'T" come with coffee makers......only room service.

Room Tip: Get the most expensive room you can...................
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
4.9 mi away
Villa Del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.1 mi away
Grand Luxxe Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Luxxe Nuevo Vallarta
#2 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,420 reviews
1 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,717 reviews
4.9 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
1.4 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta

Address: Av. Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc. Náutico Turístico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range: £75 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Also Known As:
Mayan Palace Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Wyndham Nuevo Vallarta
Nuevo Vallarta Mayan Palace
Mayan Palace Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing