We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak Good Enough for an Albertan!!”
Review of Sonora Al Sur

Sonora Al Sur
Reserve with OpenTable
Sonora Al Sur is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 139 Restaurants in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$15
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Steak Good Enough for an Albertan!!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The owner of the B&B we stayed at,suggested a new restaurant in the area, saying that it was very popular, and served great steaks. He was right!! You line up in front of the butcher's station inside, pick your cut of beef, the thickness of your cut, he puts it in a Styrofoam container, and you line up at the cashier's station. You then order your sides, tell her how you want your steak cooked, pay the cashier, she takes your meat for cooking, and you proceed to your table. The waiter takes drink orders, and a few minutes later, Voila!! Your meal is there. Ate there twice, and very happy both times. First time, I had the rib eye (12 oz), while my partner had filet. Both cuts were awesome, but a word to the wise. We both like medium rare, and they came blue. The cook tends to undercook. Which in my view, is okay, as you can always send back for more cooking. Better than overcooked. The sides (mac & cheese, baked potatoe, and portabella mushrooms were good. Slight quibble with the shrooms, as they were incredibly rich, cooked in a nice white wine sauce, but also with too much butter. Two other friends had similar orders, and we also drank a lovely bottle of Argentine Malbec, and the bill was under $80!!! Second visit, similar orders, although we asked for the meat to be cooked medium (remembering our first experience), and they came back a perfect medium rare. Again, dinner for four, and drinks, didn't exceed $20 each. Service was good, and the place was always busy. Good sign, when you see a lot of locals eating at a restaurant!! Make room in your itinerary for Sonora!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    177
    60
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown Grant, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Steaks at Unbelievable Prices”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

You go up to the butcher and he carves up whatever steak you choose. You pay by the kilo, and they cook it to order. We loved the quality and flavor of the steaks, and the informal atmosphere was a blast. Service was wonderful and with a great sense of humor. Can't wait to go back, and only 5 minutes from the Grand Luxxe.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Steak and Value!!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We found Sonora on tripadvisor and liked what we read so we gave it a go. What a fun time we had. Good food, drink and company.

Definitely read through the reviews and get a feel of how this place runs because it will be bit confusing and frustrating if you don't know how it all works.

This was so fun and different than the typical resort restaurants.

Cost is surprisingly low for what you get. Maybe the fact that the restaurant customers the night we were there was probably about 90% locals is a good sign!

Here's how it works.
You get seated.
Go to the butcher and pick out your steak.
He will ask you how big a piece you want and then cut it for you.
You take the steak to the cashier who then takes your side orders and you pay for your steak and sides.
Believe everyone else who wrote a review. Order 1 side for every 2 people!!!
The baked potatoes are huge. Big enough for 2. Comes with butter and sour cream.
The button mushrooms and portabello mushrooms big enough for 2.
The salad (surprisingly real fresh) is big enough for 2.
The mac and cheese is big enough for 2.
The garlic potatoes are big enough for 2.
Notice any trends?

Go back to your table and start on your drinks and wait for dinner.
Pay for your drinks when you are at the end of the meal.
Not sure why they have you pay twice but as long as you know this is the way its done you won't be surprised.

Our party of 8 had rib eye and porterhouse steaks. Our nephew picked out a 2+ pound rib eye and actually finished it!!

Meat tasted great and was cooked just right to everyone's personal preferences. Sides were delicous and of course big.

Staff are very attentive and kept the table clear as we finished with our salads, drinks, and meal.

Go with a fun attitude and it will be fun.

Try not to sit on the upper level where they cook the steaks as it can get a bit smoky in that area.

We sat towards the street.

Short cab ride from Paradise Village.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank harvaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“extremely fantastic”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

during our winter stay in nuevo vallarta we were told of this different kind of resturaunt so we went. to our surprise it was different than any other place we have been.as soon as you walk in you are greeted by staff who seat you. bring you a bowl of soup and after you can order a drink or bring your own wine and the uncork it for free. i might add this place is only beef meals. now for the new part. you walk up to a counter and a butcher asks you what kind of beef do you want. we choosed filet migon, so out comes a whole loin on the counter and you tell him how thick and how you want it done. you pay by the weight. then you get your extras when you pay. 2 -10oz. filetsmigon and fixings plus desert cost us $18 cdn. what a place! gary and linda cumming chatham ontario canada

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florham Park, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Value!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

After staying and dining in the resort restaurants, we decided to try this well-rated restaurant a short taxi ride away. For four of us (ordering three filet mignons and one ribeye dinner, potatoes and mushrooms), the bill and taxi fares turned out to be about half that of one of the more "artistic" restaurants at Grand Mayan. Definitely worth a trip.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RKWh2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sonora Al Sur also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Sonora Al Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing