We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grad Velas still a five star vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
thiells
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Grad Velas still a five star vacation”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Just got back from a weeks vacation. The resort is bueatiful, the service is great,
And the food is better. Every one there makes you feel like you belong there. When
With my wife for our anniversay and we can't stop raving about the resort. On Friday
We went to the spa for a wonderful treatment a little expensive but worth the money.
The only thing negative is the all inclusive wine list is small and selections were poor
at best. Piaf the French restaurant was our favorite, try the chef's tasting menu. I
Can't explain how great it was.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaykee0124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo G, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your anniversary trip. I hope that in the week that you celebrated with your wife we were able to exceed your expectations. I am pleased that you found our resort to be beautiful, the service great and the cuisine even better. I do apologize for the lack of quality and variety that you felt concerning our wine lists. We are presently reviewing them, in order that every aspect of the resort meets to your liking. Overall, I am very pleased that you had such a beautiful holiday, and we certainly hope that we will have the opportunity to celebrate more romantic anniversaries with you here at Grand Velas. Thank you again.
RODOLFO GONZALEZ
MANAGING DIRECTOR
HOTEL GRAND VELAS RIVIERA NAYARIT
rgonzalezrn@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,029
    291
    65
    30
    31
See reviews for
885
850
27
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We have been to Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit twelve times. Each time we are thoroughly impressed with the resort. The staff can't do enough to make your stay perfect, catering to your every need, The food is amazing, always fresh with so many choices - it's impossible not to eat too much! The accommodations are wonderful, every room has an ocean view. Each year we look forward to our next visit, seeing our Grand Velas family at our home away from home!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scovall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo G, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
As a twelve time visitor to Grand Velas it is truly an honor for not only me, but for all the employees of this resort to have the gracious loyalty that you have demonstrated over the years. I feel that we as a group, have come together to make each and every visit a wonderful one. The consistency in quality that you have received year in and year out contributes to your eagerness in returning each year. I am very pleased to read that you refer to us as your “Grand Velas family”. I am sure that there are many staff members that are delighted to see you arrive, as they are a fundamental part of that family feeling. And I, as managing director for the resort, would be highly honored to meet you in person on your next visit to your “home away from home”, so that I as well, can share in the friendship that you have forged with Grand Velas. Thank you for your loyalty and all of us here look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
MANAGING DIRECTOR
HOTEL GRAND VELAS RIVIERA NAYARIT
rgonzalezrn@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here because of my sister's wedding was held at the resort. The resort was very clean, well kept, and staff was excellent. Food was all-inclusive...including top shelf alcohol, room service, and even in room mini bar. Our per night rate was very high and everything was included except there was NO FREE INTERNET, not even in the lobby. Resort was a good 20 minutes from downtown (20 dollar cab ride each way). Breakfast and lunch was served buffet style in the beach side open air restaurant...meaning...without air conditioning. I don't know how to describe how the beds were made only to say that it seemed short sheeted. The bottom sheets were not tucked under the foot of the mattress, but stopped at the end of the mattress. Did I mention there was NO FREE INTERNET?

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank cs525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo G, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time in sharing your thoughts of your stay during the wedding of your sister. I am glad that you perceived that the resort was nice in its main aspects of product and service. Our goal of course is to exceed the expectations of our guests. However, I apologize for any shortcomings that you felt during your visit. There are some aspects that you mention within our control, as well as others such as distance to downtown which are not. As of the 14th of December basic internet service will be included in your rate, we will also have high speed internet with an extra charge should you wish to download movies or large files. As for the way the sheets were tucked, it is standard procedure to leave the first sheet untucked under the foot and tuck all the sheet on the front to prevent the sheet from coming out, the second sheet is heavily tucked on the bottom. This procedure has proven to be the most effective one for comfort, but I will personally check that the procedure is well done. Thank you again for bringing to my attention certain positive and negative points to your stay with us, and please be rest assured that your observations are well received.
RODOLFO GONZALEZ
MANAGING DIRECTOR
HOTEL GRAND VELAS RIVIERA NAYARIT
rgonzalezrn@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Been here two times in the last month. Simply amazing. The service, the quality of the food and drinks and the hotel in general are top notch. The spa is also amazing. If you don't want to spend the big bucks, I recommend getting only the sauna and tubs from the spa, is very relaxing for a very low price; however, the massages are out of this world.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eduardo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo G, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you Sr. Eduardo for your fine words on our resort. We appreciate your loyalty and comments about our service, food and drinks, as well as the hydrotherapy circuit of our spa. I thank you again Sr. Eduardo for sharing your happiness and approval of our resort and also for your beautiful photos. We hope to see you again very soon.
RODOLFO GONZALEZ
MANAGING DIRECTOR
HOTEL GRAND VELAS RIVIERA NAYARIT
rgonzalezrn@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, IA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I want to thank the staff at the Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit for an amazing week! As a travel agent, I have been fortunate to stay at countless beautiful all-Inclusive resorts throughout Mexico and the Caribbean. The Grand Velas is definitely one of my favorites by far! From the moment we arrived until our departure, we were greeted with lovely smiles, amazing service and nonstop pampering. I was amazed at the attention to detail. Our oceanfront suite #607 was elegant, very spacious and well-appointed. It was wonderful to sit in the jacuzzi on the patio and watch the sunset. Concierge service was only a phone call away and very prompt. Breakfast on the patio was a great choice. Room service was on time and provided a nice selection. The infinity pools and the grounds were always well maintained. Spa and workout facilities were very nice. The restaurants were excellent and had a wonderful ambiance. The dinner music was a nice touch! Top shelf liquor throughout the resort.

I would like to thank some of the staff that made us feel extra special! Thanks to Rafael Aguirre for his fabulous beach service...you are amazing! You catered to our every want and need! Alfredo, Eriberto, and Juan, you were always smiling at the pool bar and very entertaining. What a fantastic bunch. Our personal Concierge Edward, and the entire concierge staff, Lilian in the Sales Dept, and Ever for the daily activities. Victor and Victor, thank you for looking after us. Victor, thank you so much for the champagne toast the morning of our departure. It was a very nice touch! The Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit should be very proud of all of you. Your professionalism and dedication to your guests is over the top!

I so look forward to my next stay at your lovely resort. Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo G, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you Lori, for such a glowing review on your stay with us at Grand Velas. As an experienced travel agent you would certainly have the knowledge to rate your previous all inclusive vacations with your most recent one with us. And for Grand Velas being your new benchmark, it makes us very proud indeed to know that we have exceeded your standards for service and product. The pampering and attention to detail that you experienced is part of our commitment towards the satisfaction of our cherished guests. It takes the teamwork of our 600 employees for your vacation to culminate in the happiness that you experienced, and the persons mentioned in your observations contributed largely to that bliss. I will personally inform them of their great deeds. Thank you again Lori for your motivating review, and as a fellow member of the travel industry it would be my great pleasure to personally greet you, on your next visit to Grand Velas.

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
MANAGING DIRECTOR
HOTEL GRAND VELAS RIVIERA NAYARIT
rgonzalezrn@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This was our ninth visit to an AI. I don't think that I will ever go to a different all inclusive ever again. From the moment we arrived and sat on the couches for check in to the moment we left the property to head home everything was AMAZING! When you arrive you are greeted with a cold cloth, a refreshing drink and a neck massage. Paper work is filled out and you are off to your room. We were given a brief tour of the property and then headed to our room where we met our concierge. We changed into our suits and headed to lunch and the pool. Not once did we pass a staff member without a heartfelt buenas dias! I never got the impression that anyone working at this resort was less than pleased with their employment. We travelled from 10/12-10/17 and were lucky that the pool was quite empty. A large group came the day we left. We decided to take local buses to Sayalita. Our concierge was a bit concerened for us and gave us his card with his cell number just in case - amazing! We spent quite a bit of time with the staff at the pool bar and they made every day fun. Each of the restaurants have 5 star feelings with 5 star food. I can't recommend this place enough. One word of caution - don't leave the balcony door open to long, the floor gets condensation - out own fault as we were told on day one. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Desertgal63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo G, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
We are pleased in reading that you cannot wait to come back to Grand Velas. We appreciate that you feel that you have found a higher level of All Inclusive resorts thanks to your recent vacation with us. Your words are a motivation for our staff to keep up the personal and professional attention as you describe it, and when combined, adds up to a comfortable feeling of luxury and well-being for you and all of our guests. We are particularly proud with the personal care that our concierge demonstrated towards you, and be rest assured that she will be recognized for her “above and beyond” service and kindness. Thank you for taking the time in sharing your feelings and marvelous photos with all in TripAdvisor. Take care, and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
MANAGING DIRECTOR
HOTEL GRAND VELAS RIVIERA NAYARIT
rgonzalezrn@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We spent a week at the Grand Velas and cannot praise it enough.
The room was very spacious and had a clear view of the water.
We apparently were lucky as we got there towards the end of the busy season so we did not have to 'reserve' our chairs early in the morning and the pool was not as crowded as other people have mentioned.
I can only comment on our stay and I will say it was simply fabulous.
There were many activities throughout the day AND evening (movie night for the kids, games room)
The restaurants were very chic (especially Piaf) and service as a whole was top notch.
Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo G, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your kind words and praise on the vacation that you recently spent with us. As you said we try to have many activities which our guests can enjoy, be it in the daytime sunshine or in the starry evenings. It is our goal that all our guests indulge in all that is offered, including our four restaurants, in which we constantly work to make sure that the attention to the numerous culinary and visual details be a must for all our chefs. That way we may provide you with an unforgettable dining experience. We certainly wish to “keep up the good work” as you say, in the hope that we will be fortunate to have you as our guests again. Thank you for your encouragement and for your splendid words.
RODOLFO GONZALEZ
MANAGING DIRECTOR
HOTEL GRAND VELAS RIVIERA NAYARIT
rgonzalezrn@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
2.7 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#1 of 3 in Flamingos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
4.0 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,641 reviews
13.6 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta
0.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,122 reviews
1.2 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit

Property: Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Address: Av Cocoteros 98 Sur | Riviera Nayarit, Mexico C.P. 63735, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the most luxurious all-inclusive resort in the Puerto Vallarta area; a retreat of lavish beauty and comfort that is sure to exceed your expectations. Having revolutionized the all-inclusive concept, Grand Velas is pleased to offer you a "Beyond All Inclusive, Beyond All Compare" vacation experience with exceptional gourmet dining, world-class hospitality, and luxurious accommodations in a spectacular setting on Mexico's golden coast. Experience a breathtaking resort and spa near Puerto Vallarta that seduces your senses and rejuvenates your spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Velas All Suites And Spa Resort
Grand Velas All Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Velas Hotel
Grand Velas Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Velas Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing