We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service and amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing service and amenities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Our concierge Vidal Pena was amazing and went out of his way to ensure we were always taken care of. This is the best place we have stayed to date on vacation. The entire staff was more than friendly and made us feel like part of their family. The resort was a true five star first class facility and the three specialty restaurants provided some of the best food I have ever had. Cannot wait to go back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Vcombrevis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo G, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments and for choosing Grand Velas. I am very pleased that you felt that you were “part of the family”, as that is the atmosphere in which we wish to create for our guests. An ambience of true warmth along with dedicated service is our goal to having our valued guests well taken care of. Vidal, one of our concierge is a true example of exemplary service and his dedicated attention toward you will be recognized by the organization. Also your kind reflections on your culinary experience will be forwarded to my executive chef to share with all his line staff and this will positively motivate them even more. The impressions and memories that we left with you will surely inspire us as a team now that you are as a satisfied loyal guest. Thank you for your honorable mentions to our staff and for your kind patronage. Saludos to Chicago.

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
MANAGING DIRECTOR
HOTEL GRAND VELAS RIVIERA NAYARIT
rgonzalezrn@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,997
    289
    65
    30
    31
See reviews for
872
839
27
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, NS
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Beautiful resort. Staff are friendly and cannot do enough for you. Enjoyed the buffet and a la cartes. Margarita cart at he Mexican restaurant was very good. Room service was quick and delicious. Views spectacular. Pool aerobics were fun. This resort has little entertainment but a nice guitar player in the evenings in the lobby bar. A relaxing holiday and loved the mini massages on the beach!

Room Tip: View from top floors are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dinnisHalifax_NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo G, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you Dinnis for your uplifting observations. The small details that you comment on are just some of the many that add up to make a memorable holiday for everyone. From our culinary tour to our splendid service, I believe that we were able to more than satisfy your vacation needs. I am also glad that you were able to fully relax and that we could be part of making your stay very enjoyable. Thank you again Dinnis and warm regards to beautiful Halifax. Take care.

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
MANAGING DIRECTOR
HOTEL GRAND VELAS RIVIERA NAYARIT
rgonzalezrn@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

We recently returned from Grand Velas and had an overall nice vacation. The rooms are spacious and everyone was very friendly. The biggest areas of improvement needed are the following:

1. Room service would not deliver mixed drinks to your room with a food order. There is no reason why, they just said they will not do it.
2. Room service can be slow. The food was very good, but the times they quoted were frequently off by 30 minutes or longer.
3. The wi-fi is poor and a hotel of this level should have better wi-fi.
4. Frida's menu is not as good as it used to be. They used to have a guacamole cart which made fresh quacamole at your table, but that is gone. Also, sometimes the margarita cart is offered, sometimes you have to ask them to come over.
5. Some of the portions at the restraurants are a bit small (the seafood portions expecially seemed small).

Overall, we did enjoy our stay, but the hotel is very expensive and leaves room for these improvements.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jmc0329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo G, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
As a valued repeat guest of ours we truly rely on you to help point out areas for improvement just as you have done in your review. As a generality, we can and do deliver to your suite table wines and spirits. Room service was not prepared to send mixed drinks because they did not have the ingredients needed to prepare them. From your comment we have added some of the more common mixed drinks to our room service menu and have provided the room service kitchen with the ingredients to prepare them, so that you will now have even more options than ever before. On the other hand it is unacceptable that room service takes more than 30-35 minutes. So we are reviewing our procedures to make sure that it does not happen again. We will, for your observation, return the guacamole cart to Frida restaurant. But I must ask for some patience and comprehension due to the elaborate nature of the service. The two cart stations that we had in the past really had to “hustle” to keep up with the demand and we found it created a little more of a “frantic” atmosphere in trying to accommodate everybody at practically the same time. That frantic element in an elegant and tranquil setting such as Frida is what we wish to avoid, but I will search for a solution to that. As for the portion size, I will re-examine our dishes together with my executive chef in order to satiate the palates and appetites of our valued guests. Of course another reason for enjoying our all inclusive concept is that you can try more than one portion if the need or culinary curiosity arises. But I will definitely look over the portion size that you are commenting on. I gladly do this because after all, you the guest are the reason that we have been successful since our inception and we rely on your valuable comments to develop ourselves as close to perfection as an organization can get. You will be pleased to know that we have upgraded our internet service since your stay and that the level of service that is provided is now at a higher quality. We recently introduced free basic internet for our guests and the modifications and tweaks that we have made have resulted in a very adequate signal for you to send emails, chat and surf. While I am very appreciative to you for your constructive observations, I do deeply apologize for any shortcomings that you experienced during your visit with us. Please be assured that we are listening to your comments and are pro active in actually investigating them and in the long term making our product better for you and for all of our future guests. I sincerely thank you very much for your continued loyalty and for bringing these items to light. And I do wish to have the opportunity for you to witness during your next stay with us that we are listening to you. Take care and warm regards to Chicago.

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
MANAGING DIRECTOR
HOTEL GRAND VELAS RIVIERA NAYARIT
rgonzalezrn@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

This resort is beautiful and luxury overall. The service and amentiy are excellence. The foods and pools are also the best.

The key are for improvements are as follows. This resort needs to provide free WiFi like other resorts. In addition, this resort must improve on entertainment especially for kids.

Most of families went on vacation are to make sure that their kids enjoy vacation. The resorts need have more activities for kids.

Overall, we were very happy with this resort. We will come back with improvements implement soon before summertime.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo G, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you Jeff for your glowing comments and for your valuable suggestions. We are happy that you found us to be of high quality and that you are considering to return again this year. I am pleased to report that precisely on the two areas that you mention for improvement are already upgraded. Our basic wifi (e:mails, chat, web surfing, etc) are complementary. Now you can communicate with friends and family from the comfort of your suite, restaurants and pool area at your leisure whenever you feel the need. And Jeff please let the children know that when they come back to Grand Velas that they will have a new assortment of activities in which to enjoy, inside the water, on the beach and inside our Kids Club. Thank you for considering us as “luxury and more”, as I will take that as a firm vote of approval from you and your family. Now with the two improvements that you happen to mention we can even further improve your vacation experience. Take care and kind regards to Rancho Cucamonga.
RODOLFO GONZALEZ
MANAGING DIRECTOR
HOTEL GRAND VELAS RIVIERA NAYARIT
rgonzalezrn@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cap-Pele, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We were just at this resort with a group of people and we had a wonderful time. The atmosphere was great. The rooms was kept clean at all times so was the garden. The personnel was very friendly. We were with the Master Group and by reading the review it seems we disturbed some people, sorry about it we were on vacation and we were having a great time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo G, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you Mona for your positive review in TripAdvisor. I am glad that you and your group really enjoyed yourselves and that you found our installations and accommodations to be very clean with a great atmosphere. Concerning the hosting of large groups we are in the process of creating certain surprises and perks for our non group guests. We do this in order that every single guest feels important and well taken care of. Mona, thank you again and warm regards to beautiful New Brunswick.
`
RODOLFO GONZALEZ
MANAGING DIRECTOR
HOTEL GRAND VELAS RIVIERA NAYARIT
rgonzalezrn@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed 1/15/14 to 2/1/14. Had booked a Penhouse suite but could not do all of the stairs the on-line site does not show in floor plan as I am recovering from back surgery. They were very good about switching us to a governor suite in short order. We loved having 2 baths. Bed very comfortable and room kept spotless.

Arrived Sat. On Sunday conf from Montreal, Masters, arrived and that was it for the rest of the trip. Like the other reviewer stated, Spring Break for grown ups. Took over areas. Very loud functions outside starting in early am and others going until late pm. They were there 6 nites of our 7 nite trip. This could keep us from coming back if we can't book a week without a conference. On the last nite of our stay, Friday, they shut down the main restaurant for Dinner, Azul with only 1 day notice to to other guests for their send off function. It had already been closed on Monday for "maintenance". So 2 nites ended up ordering room service as we had no reservations for specialty restaurants on those nites. Frida by way the was very good except for the local familty who had a baby with them. The overall service was at times the best I've ever had and others uneven. Room service was prompt but food quality so-so. And very good about ordering extra items for the mini fridge.

When I spoke with managment about the conference especially the noise level they did not seem concerned about my rights at all. Just kind of fluffed me off and said the outdoor functions were in their contract so too bad for me basically. For the amount we spent to be there I was upset.

My companion, whom usually nothing bothers was really disturbed about how the conference really impacted on our experience. If this is the mo we will not be back.

Room Tip: upper floors and rooms on the right side as you face hotel appear to have the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zaraforty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo G, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns over your recent vacation with us. And I really am appreciative for you mentioning the inconvenience that you felt during a large convention. Groups and conventions are certainly a very stable and important form of revenue not only for Grand Velas but for all resorts in general. However, it is paramount for Grand Velas that we do not lose sight of our individual clients that have supported us all year round. Your patronage and loyalty is of the utmost importance for me and for the owners of The Velas Group of Hotels. We have begun to implement a series of changes and specials just for our non-group guests when sharing the resort with a private function. It is something that you deserve in question of attention and service. We will also be more communicative to our valued, non-group guests with timely notifications so that you will feel well attended to throughout the entire visit. We do realize that just one individual family or couple is important to satisfy as well as groups, and the changes planned are certain to make a positive impact on the level of satisfaction received by you and all individuals. On behalf of the administration of Grand Velas and its 560 employees we are listening to your comments and are working in a positive direction in meeting and exceeding your vacation expectations every day and in every way. Again, thank you for allowing me the opportunity to address your concerns and to make the necessary adjustments towards a memorable holiday for all. Take care and I wish you a full recovery from your back surgery.

JUAN VELA RUIZ
VICE PRESIDENT
THE VELAS GROUP OF HOTELS
jvelavr@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Grand Velas has beautiful grounds, great rooms and a huge Multi tier pool. All of these are overshadowed by their excellent service. I mean really, really excellent. All the we encounter spoke good English and had a "can-do" attitude. We really enjoyed our seven day, six night stay.

Try the French restaurant Piaf, the food is amazing. The only part we were disappoints in was little kids in the fine dinning areas. Like little kids who scream out loud and need high chairs for their dolls. The management team can feel free to enforce the 12 year old or older rule in the fine dining areas.

Special thanks to the concierge Carina!

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank LetsGo800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo G, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you very much for your glowing comments on our resort and in particular our service staff. With your amount of travel experience as a Top Contributor to TripAdvisor we feel extra proud to have achieved your lofty expectations. And of course you are right that we have to enforce correctly the age limits in our fine dining restaurants so that the culinary experience can be enjoyed to its optimum level of quality. For your observation I personally apologize and I will see to it that the rules and recommendations are better adhered to. I would definitely like to see you come back to Grand Velas so you can continue to experience our “can do” attitude. Thank you again and kind regards to Dallas. Take care.

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
MANAGING DIRECTOR
HOTEL GRAND VELAS RIVIERA NAYARIT
rgonzalezrn@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
2.7 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#1 of 3 in Flamingos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
4.0 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#6 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,595 reviews
13.6 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta
0.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,034 reviews
1.2 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit

Property: Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Address: Av Cocoteros 98 Sur | Riviera Nayarit, Mexico C.P. 63735, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the most luxurious all-inclusive resort in the Puerto Vallarta area; a retreat of lavish beauty and comfort that is sure to exceed your expectations. Having revolutionized the all-inclusive concept, Grand Velas is pleased to offer you a "Beyond All Inclusive, Beyond All Compare" vacation experience with exceptional gourmet dining, world-class hospitality, and luxurious accommodations in a spectacular setting on Mexico's golden coast. Experience a breathtaking resort and spa near Puerto Vallarta that seduces your senses and rejuvenates your spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Velas All Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Velas All Suites And Spa Resort
Grand Velas Hotel
Grand Velas Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Velas Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing