We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful resort”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Grand Velas. The staff was extremely service oriented. They wanted to ensure that we had everything we needed. The resort was very clean! The food was five star quality. The pool was very nice as well. The pool bar served top shelf drinks. Our favorite restaurant was PIAF. unbelievable cuisine as well as well as dining experience. We walked the beach yesterday at around 7:45 and saw 12 sea turtles laying eggs and then returning to the ocean. That was incredible. Unlike many other Mexican resorts the peddlers were minimal.

We had an assigned concierge to us, His name was Cesar Rios. He ensured our stay was to our expectation. He got our restaurant reservations as well as our room expectations to meet our standard.

Each day at the pool Alexander and Jose attended to our needs and greeted us with a smile!!

Noe was there for us when we ate at the buffet. Unlike any other buffet for lunch this was 100% above our expectations. Noe knew what we liked after our first day and had our drinks there for us right away,

The Spa!! Wow!! Far exceeded my expectations.

The only negative part for us is the evening entertainment after dinner is very lacking. Since the resort is far from PV renting a car would be recommended. Taxi will run 20 + Us each way. There is a variety of things to do by the boardwalk in PV. Never a dull moment there. A couple of must see events is the sunset at the boardwalk. Restaurants. PIPI's
Happy Lobster and Maricos Tino's for Red snapper!!

Room Tip: All Rooms are great here. depends if you prefer to be on a high level or ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorGVRN, General Manager at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you Al for sharing some of your observations and feelings on your recent vacation with us. And especially for the beautiful anecdote of your sea turtle encounter. To personally witness nature in its own element is a truly satisfying experience and one that is very rare to glimpse. I am very pleased that our culinary tour was to your great liking. Everything from the buffets all the way to elegant dinners in our gourmet dining venues seemed to be to your great liking. Piaf is certainly a step above when compared to restaurants in other hotels and in the region in general. Lucca and Frida, our other two gourmet options, are of course also considered to be top notch in terms of gourmet. Add to the “unbelievable” cuisine a fitting ambience and professional service and our guests will enjoy some incredible dining experiences. I will be sure to extend your personal recognition to the staff members that contributed to the overall enjoyment and comfort of your stay. Cesar, Alejandro, Jose and Noe will be very motivated in seeing their names on-line and in a very positive light. As for evening entertainment we do provide live music in our lobby bar, but when high season and larger crowds are expected you can enjoy a more ample program. Al, on behalf of the entire staff I thank you again for selecting Grand Velas and I hope that your next visit will be as pleasurable as this one. Take care and fine regards to Chicago, Illinois.

IGNACIO MENDOZA
DIRECTOR GENERAL
HOTEL GRAND VELAS RIVIERA NAYARIT
imendozarn@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,126
    301
    66
    31
    31
See reviews for
958
871
28
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We have visited the Gran Velas twice. Always perfect. Incredible food. Fabulous staff. Beautiful rooms. The pool is great. Beach is wide and great for early morning walks. Cannot wait to return...again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denverpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorGVRN, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for expressing your perceptions and delight in the Grand Velas product. It is apparent that all aspects of your vacation are to your great liking and it is of course our pleasure in having you return to the place that you know so well and have confidence in. We eagerly await at your service for many future vacations to come.
Thank you and kind regards to Denver, Colorado. Take care.

IGNACIO MENDOZA
DIRECTOR GENERAL
HOTEL GRAND VELAS RIVIERA NAYARIT
imendozarn@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My Family and I just came back from a week at This hotel. I have to say this was one of the BEST hotels we have been.The reasons are as follows. "THE STAFF" I have been to alot of hotels and this property is Amazing and the Staff makes it over the Top. Some of the Staff members stood out for us and went out of their way to make it a memorable vacation. I want to note them and hopeing the mangament recognizes them for the efforts and I hope to see them next time on my return Because there Will be a next time for sure. Starting with our personal Concierge "Alejandro Topete" He went above and beyond to make the whole experience one of a kind. "David Velasco'" The pool Captain and his team "Ricardo" and "Kenia" made sure we always had everything we needed by the Pool. I cant forget about the Chefs, "Eliseo and Margartia" made our entire Dining Experinece TOP NOTCH!!!! And of coures that guidnace comes from a very talented Executive Chef Claudio!!
All together the whole experince, the hotel, Staff and vacation was one that my family and will not forget. That is why we are planning our next summer vacation their again!
One recomendation would be that the hotel ADD more dining options, such as an Asian or Tapnyaki style restaurant, The hotel Definatly needs One more dining option Just so guests can enjoy several flavors especially if a guest decides to stay there for a week. Hope to see that next time!!!

Thanks you to all Staff!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtash99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorGVRN, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking your personal time to highly recognize the staff that helped to make your vacation a “top notch” experience. I have found in my experience that a resort or a hotel can have magnificent facilities and products but the difference maker will always be the dedication that the staff demonstrates towards their valued guests. Their attention to detail and the ability to be pro active does not go unnoticed by the guest as you so kindly point out in your review. You can be rest assured that these fine persons that you took the time to illuminate will be personally recognized by me as we already have in place an employee dedication program. And I will be more than happy to meet with my gastronomic director and executive chef to discuss the possibility of incorporating “theme dinners” to our already successful culinary tour. To actually construct another high quality dining venue is quite the investment, but as a progressive company we will consider all suggestions because after all it is you; our client, that we are here for. Thank you again for your kind accolades and all of us look forward to hosting you and your family again next summer. Take care and warm regards to you in Los Angeles, California.
IGNACIO MENDOZA
DIRECTOR GENERAL
HOTEL GRAND VELAS RIVIERA NAYARIT
imendozarn@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We have been vacationing in Cancun, Mexico for several years. We decided to give Puerto Vallarta a chance. Grand Velas showed what a great hotel is all about. Which was a great deal because this time we are traveling with my mother in law, sister in law, nephew who is 12, my 2 yr old son and our niece and her husband who we gave them this trip for their honeymoon. The customer service is amazing from the time we get there. We were welcomed by the staff. Had us sit at the lobby while we check in! No standing in lines! We we're given refreshments. Moist cold towels to freshen us up. We got there early the rooms weren't ready but we allowed to have lunch already. Their bracelets that hotels they put on their guest is not one of those scratchy plastic armbands. They gave us "friendship" bracelets which are nice and comfy and a good remembrance as well. When we got to our room. We were welcome by our concierge Alejandro. Who is beyond words amazing! He arrange our dinner reservations for the whole week. He is like a guardian angel. He appears out of nowhere especially when we had a question or request. Another shout out to the beach "messero" Alfonso. He made sure all our needs are met. Drinks and snacks keeps on coming. He knew us by name and that means a lot to us. Since we have a big range in our group I thought it would be have a hard time entertaining everyone. Grand vales has everything for everyone. For kids they have horse, donkey rides, zip lining, jumpers, and entertainers. And at night they do have live music for entertainment. Every night is movie night for kids! The food is beyond fantastic! The restaurants Frida, Azul and Piaf serve delicious meals. It will make you keep on coming back for more. The only reason why we gave them 4 stars is because we have to fight for seats by the pool. You have come very early to snag seats which can be an inconvenience for people who wants to sleep in. Otherwise, we cannot wait to come back next time! Te veyo Grand Velas!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erika A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorGVRN, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you very much Erika for sharing your delightful observations and happiness on your recent family vacation to Grand Velas. It really delights us when we are able to impress newcomers to the hotel and to the region with our hospitality and product. And in having successfully entertained the different generations of your family we feel that we are providing something for all ages and for all walks of life. The little details that you describe such as our cloth all-inclusive bands or “friendship bracelets” as you refer to them and the moist towels that are distributed amongst our guests certainly add up to complement the larger aspects such as our culinary and entertainment programs. I am especially glad that the children had a wonderful time with our summer camp activities. We find that when school is out there is a need to amplify our children’s options due to the large number of them and also to help exceed the expectations of the little ones. It is very comforting for us to know that you can´t wait to come back and you can be rest assured that you will find more seating in the pools as we have just invested in more deck furniture. Thank you again Erika, because to be considered the best you´ve ever had is the best recognition or award that a hotel can achieve. Take care and kind regards to you and your lovely family.

IGNACIO MENDOZA
DIRECTOR GENERAL
HOTEL GRAND VELAS RIVIERA NAYARIT
imendozarn@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I just came back from our honeymoon here. We spent 7 nights an were treated like royalty. The only thing we didn't like was that you needed to wake at 6:00 am to save a seat at the pool and that the ocean in front of the hotel was murky, due to the river. But when you go south towards the city, it is crystal clear. If you plan to spend a good amount of time in the city, taxis can get expensive, as it's a good 20-30 minute drive depending on traffic. Otherwise, if you plan to stay on the resort, get the all inclusive. It's so worth it! We had breakfast delivered to our room every morning, on a table with fresh flowers and ate on our balcony overlooking the ocean. All the restaurants are fine dining and amazing, but we preferred the buffet at Azul and ate there most. It was scrumptious! We would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTstewvigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorGVRN, General Manager at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
It pleases us to know that you selected Grand Velas to help celebrate your matrimony. To enjoy a breakfast each and every day on your balcony is a very intimate and loving way in which to enjoy a honeymoon. I am glad that you considered our culinary fare to be “amazing” and that Azul was your favorite option amongst our four venues. It is important to know, that when an abundance of guests start to reserve pool furniture that we have a team of talented pool concierges that act to provide a comfortable environment for all during the day and we have also invested in more deck furniture so now everybody will always have their special place in the sun. I hope that the “amazing experience” that you just lived and enjoyed will be memorable for a good long time and that your future anniversaries can be spent indulging in breakfasts on your terrace again. Congratulations and all the best to you both in Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania. Take care.

IGNACIO MENDOZA
DIRECTOR GENERAL
HOTEL GRAND VELAS RIVIERA NAYARIT
imendozarn@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Check in was lovely, we sat in the lobby, greeted with a fresh local drink and a "spa minute" that relieved some of the travel tension that accumulates. The bellboy was excellent explaining various aspects of the resort, restaurants, pool, beach etc. Next we were assigned a concierge who explained his role to attend to all of our needs, that was the biggest let down. He did nothing, did not return calls etc. My husband would see him during the day and ask him for things and he never came through. The worst was when he told us he'd made a reservation at the restaurant for us and when we arrived, it was not done. The restaurant however accommodated us by setting up a new table. Despite any indication that pool chairs are not reserved, they are, however the pool attendants work hard at accomadating everyone with chairs, and umbrellas.
Now for the good news:
Beach is impeccable, grated and sifted daily, no persistent vendors, if you say no thanks they do not come back. Infinity pool, very nice overlooking the ocean. Buffet restaurant pool side also excellent service, delicious food, good variety. Ate at all 4 restaurants, excellent cuisine would say 4.5 star overall for food and wine. The wine that was included was also top shelf, unlike other resorts where you need to pay for decent wine. The rooms were spacious, very clean, huge balcony and lounge couch/bed. It is a great resort to recharge your batteries, not a lot of nightlife. As for the kiddies, they have a good babysitting service and activities. Special mention to front desk managers, Nora and Karina, Buffet servers Alejandro and Cesar.

Room Tip: Higher floors better ocean view, how ever all rooms are spacious. Very intimate, only 230 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorGVRN, General Manager at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you Judy for sharing your fine observations and also for bringing to my attention the shortcomings of your particular concierge. I have always said that working as a concierge is a truly fortunate opportunity. To simply take care of the needs of your guests and making sure that everything that they require is accomplished, even if it means doing the impossible at times. It’s such an important but gratifying position that many persons in the industry would just love to do, but do not have the pro activity nor the energetic ambition. But in visualizing your account of events, it is apparent that the person just did not have the spirit of service that we require. I apologize Judy for that unprofessional and lackadaisical service and I can rest assure you that episodes such as that will not happen again in my resort. I am very pleased however that all other facets of your stay were to your great liking. To have an outstanding culinary program in an all-inclusive resort really takes much planning and investment and our goal is to offer a high end option to the distinguished traveler such as yourself and it is very pleasing that we could provide a product that fit your expectations. I hope Judy that we will be able to host you again in the future in order to take out the “almost” portion out from your title. We thank you again and we wish you and your husband many fine vacation experiences in the future. Saludos to beautiful Montreal, Quebec. Take care.

IGNACIO MENDOZA
DIRECTOR GENERAL
HOTEL GRAND VELAS RIVIERA NAYARIT
imendozarn@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My (new) wife and I stayed at Grand Velas for our honeymoon for 9 days. From day one, we were floored by the exceptional service and how well the staff looks after you and your ever need. Alejandro Topete, our suite captain, took exceptionally good care of us, thinking of every little detail along with some wonderful surprises (I won't give it away, but he decorated our suite one night on our behalf and left a really nice card). You could tell he works tirelessly for all his guests, making sure our stay was unique and special.

Our suite (Grand Class)
We had a beautiful room on the 5th floor that looked right out over the ocean and windows on the side looking along the beach and the mountains. We went to bed and woke up to the most remarkable views. The room itself had two TVs, a lounge area, a huge bathroom with a great shower and bath, a hot tub on the balcony, and too many other things to mention. The snack bar was filled everyday along with cleaning services twice a day. Extremely well air conditioned too!

The restaurants
All 4 restaurants were amazing! It was like eating at a luxury restaurant every night (the breakfast, lunch, snack and bar options are great too)! Be prepared to pace yourself, as it's a lot of great food right away, so you'll probably over eat. We especially loved Lucca (the Italian restaurant)! Our two servers Sergio and Carlos were EXTRAORDINARY! They took acknowledging that it was our honeymoon to the extreme-- so thoughtful, funny and knowledgeable. We would have loved to have them as waiters for all our meals. Salvador at Azul was also wonderful.

Activities
There was so much to do at the resort itself that we rarely left to check out other parts of Puerto Vallarta. From Kayaking, bike tours, water aerobics, volleyball, the spa, tennis (with the Pro Ricardo, if you can get him), yoga, the gym, etc. etc. Two of the activity guys, "Castaway" (Ober?) and "Pretty Boy" (Javier) were awesome. They were so funny and great community builders by the pool and with all the activities.

For Honeymooners & Families
It's truly wonderful. I've never been on a honeymoon before, but it's everything my wife and I could have imagined. There are families staying here too, but you would never be bothered by anyone else. The kids are great for laughs around the pool and it makes you excited to bring your own family here some day. They take great care of the kids and have a ton of activities so they will never be board. My wife and I even went to see the sea lion show and a couple other kid activities bc they were very entertaining.

Overall: Love it. You should definitely go. There are too many staff to thank as they were all so kind and worked so hard. Loved every minute.

Room Tip: Alejandro gave us tours of all the room types before we left. Truly, they're all really nice. Gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandrewallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorGVRN, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Andrew, first let me start by sending you and your lovely wife a hearty congratulations on your special moment. It pleases me immensely that you chose Grand Velas in which to celebrate your new matrimony. Alejandro your personal butler, along with many others that work for you are really in the know when it comes to special visits and the requirements of their guests. In your case we feel that we too are involved in the celebration and we are certainly proud to be a part of it. I am pleased that your suite was perfect for your needs and that the standard amenities, along with the special touches were to your great liking. The sheer size of your suite would eclipse that of almost all other hotels in the region and the luxury that you and your wife felt is typical of our accommodations. It is great that our four culinary venues were amazing for you. The fine, personalized service combined with their unique ambiences and culinary fare really set the stage for a complete vacation. And when you found the time for recreation our activity cast was able to set a friendly tone in welcoming you and others to participate and enjoy. As you felt that our resort was kid friendly as well as romantic, I hope that one day when you have your own little ones you will consider us as your family vacation destination, but in the meantime we would be proud to host you again for your anniversaries. Thank you very much Andrew for sharing your wedding bliss with us and on behalf of the staff that you kindly mention and all of our 600 Grand Velas employees we wish you and your wife a truly loving future up in Chicago. Take care.
IGNACIO MENDOZA
DIRECTOR GENERAL
HOTEL GRAND VELAS RIVIERA NAYARIT
imendozarn@velasresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
2.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
4.0 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,567 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
#4 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
4.0 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,710 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit

Property: Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Address: Av. Cocoteros, 98 Sur | Riviera Nayarit, Mexico C.P. 63735, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit is a luxurious all-inclusive resort in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico, featuring an award-winning spa, incredible dining and entertainment, playful activities, kids club, stylish event space, and a breathtaking landscape on the emera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Velas All Suites And Spa Resort
Grand Velas All Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Velas Hotel
Grand Velas Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Velas Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing