We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Overall, I think it was a great vacation choice! I’m the type of person that needs to do intense research everywhere I stay as I work in the hospitality industry. The reviews were on the fence, but for some reason I thought my boyfriend and I would take a chance this time and boy were we ever happy with it!

We got to our hotel in the morning before the usual check in time. It didn’t seem that busy at that time so we inquired if there were any possible upgraded rooms available from the regular standard room we originally booked. Luckily, the front desk agent/supervisor negotiated a great rate for us and we got to stay in a studio for not that much more a night. Totally worth it!! The resort had great décor, lovely landscaping, smaller in size than most resorts but gave it that extra charm having everything we wanted and more. The room was cleaned well every day. No bugs. However, we noticed the more tip you left, the better your room was cleaned, just an FYI!
The mornings and nights were cooler and there was much more wind during the day due to being so close to the Pacific Ocean, but it was quite refreshing! The infinity pool was beautiful with the swim up hut bar and overlooking the beach! Great for sunsets. The activities were fun, especially the beach volleyball. The grounds were very clean and constantly being cleaned as best as they could due to the many birds around. Overall, it was a well maintained property. Really enjoyed how we were able to walk straight onto the beach. The beach chairs could use some updating, but the little huts gave a nice tropical touch. The sand was really nice and soft. The only downside was the constant vendors on the beach trying to sell you things while we were trying to relax and tan but can’t do much about that. However, I would recommend taking advantage of the vendors that supply water activities on the beach (para-sailing, kayaking, etc).

The food was good. The casual “Shipwreck Kelly’s” had good food but menu became limited after a few days but great when you’re on the beach. The sushi restaurant wasn’t the greatest but you should try it at least once. Dining in the ‘Palm Terrace’ was great for all meals and theme nights. Service was great when it wasn’t very busy, but we noticed that once it got busier, the longer you had to wait for service and food (as if they couldn’t handle large crowds). As mentioned by previous resort guests, the constant check signing, the constant pressure to leave a tip even though it should be based on service, and the constant pressure to fill out a survey on the service at the end of our meal. It definitely put a damper on the service. However, we’d like to give out special thanks to our servers, Vince and Gama and the front desk supervisor Panacho (I think that’s how it’s spelt) for the exceptional service that they have provided to us! One of the reasons why we’ll be returning!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PnC38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    870
    531
    374
    194
    139
See reviews for
900
745
25
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We had booked this hotel using airline miles, so we weren't sure what to expect. We were very impressed! Beautiful lobby, great room, gorgeous grounds. It is a bit smaller than some of the other resorts in the same area, so it felt very personal and luxurious. Our room was great, and had a kitchen. We were able to bring in our own food and drinks, which was a huge plus. They had a lot of English TV channels, which was also nice. They even had self-service laundry on site (and of course a full laundry service as well). There were activities each day, drink specials, bocce ball court, amazing pool, etc. The staff were really helpful and extremely friendly. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sarahincolumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelAirVallarta, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Guest:

We are glad that your first time experience visit at Bel Air Vallarta was of your satisfaction and that you recommend our resort.

It will be glad to have you once again in the near future at our resort as our guest so that you are able to experience the tranquil grounds and beautiful relaxing rooms for your next vacation time.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This is a great little place with everything you need for a reasonable price. Caters to couples and families on vacation. The infinity pool is fantastic and the grounds are spotless. It is a sold 4 star hotel with many suites with 2 bedroom/3 bath and full kitchens. It is only steps to the ocean with lots of chairs/loungers with shade. Wifi is a bit spotty but generally worked well in the reception area. The onsite bar is good for a quick drink but not to spend an evening at. Lots of activities poolside for the kids, bingo, trivia, water aerobics. Onsite little convenience store was great. There were 6 of us and we all loved it. It is about 15 minutes from PV but that is the best part, out of the hustle and bustle, Easy bus ride to town

Room Tip: Facing Ocean best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelAirVallarta, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Guest:

We thank you for taking the time to leave a comment regarding our resort, your “Tucked away Gem” .
Your comments are highly important to us, knowing that your family and yourself had a great time at our resort leaves us a very happy and encouraging feeling .

Hope that your next vacation time with family will be with us your home away from home, Bel Air Vallarta Resort and Spa.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This place has become, one on my favs places to getaway and forget about stress. The service and food is outstanding, and that's what really stands out in comparison to other all inclusives that we have stayed at, and they actually change the menus constantly that is great for people like me that are frecuent guest, you have to try the Tempura Tacos, even snacks are delicious, for example their burger meat is fresh prepared meat is not the regular frozen meat. Congrats to the cheff and his staff. Rooms are confortable,specially their pillows wow, I really miss them at home. Infinity swimming pool is beautiful, the beach is just perfect. Vallarta has the best sunsets, and this resort has the perfect location for you to enjoy them, if you stay at Bel Air you have to experience the sunset corner, it is amazing. If you are looking for a small family friendly resort, with great food, accomodations and reasonable price, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrendaL83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelAirVallarta, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Guest:

We at Bel Air appreciate the time you have taken to leave such wonderful comment. As well thank you for choosing our resort to be part of your special vacation time, we will be more than happy to have you once again as a guest at Bel Air so that once again you experience a great vacation time and this your home away from home.

Kind regards

Roberot Díaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Overall my husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Bel Air!
Upon arrival (at night) we headed to our room in Building 3. YES, it faces the Riu and you hear the compressors and kitchen staff, but once entering the room you hear nothing. Once entering the room we found a dead cockroach... That was hard to get over, but when a tropical country you have to expect things like that (but yes, we were disappointed that the room had not been cleaned out prior to our arrival). The room is TINY. Just room for the king bed which is comfortable. We were only two and we decided not to let the small room bother us, really only used it to sleep and shower. Another thing I think we should mention is that our first night, the alarm was set for 12AM. Maybe check that the alarm is not set once arriving, and unplug the phone as people ring you at 3am... happened to us and to our friends.
The first day we left our room and saw the ocean view while walking to the elevator, that was nice! The food at the resort is limited. If you are a vegetarian there are almost NO options, as a carnivore there are plenty of options, my husband really enjoyed the food there and I thought it was ok... I think if there were buffets it would be easier to pick and choose as a vegetarian!
Signing for everything was a real pain in the butt. If you were done eating and forgot to get a drink or water bottle it would take about 15 minutes to order one and then sign for it. We always felt like we had to tip- the service was great, but at the same time we prob spent an extra $200 on just tips... in that sense we should have paid extra to stay somewhere else.
The grounds here were awesome! They were always clean, we loved the faux wood tile and the beautiful palm trees, there is always a nice breeze because the hotel is directly on the ocean... The pool was always dirty, but can't get away from that as everyone is wearing sunscreen... We loved the infinity pool- just people watching on the beach from the refreshing pool with our drinks!
Volleyball was always a lot of fun! sand is hot though, but thats what makes it so great;).
The ocean is what we went to Mexico for but there were soooooo many dangers in there during March, that we opted out of going in. We went in our first day not knowing it was stingray season, and my husband stepped on one, did not get stung, but was close. We saw stingrays, blow fish (with all the spikes) and tons of eels, even one that was about 4 feet long.. I used to visit Puerto Vallarta as a kid and do not remember any creatures like this.
Walking the beach is great, the sand is clay like and makes it very easy to walk, there are also little markets everywhere. It was a lot of fun to bargain with the vendors! Got some great deals.
I think I should add that PIPI's in PV is awesome, huge margaritas and great fajitas!
All in all this was a great trip, the hotel is small and personal. The food and drinks are fresh and the service is great! We really loved it!! I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan12341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelAirVallarta, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Guest:

All comments from our guest are very important, they help us improve or grow if needed throughout our resort.
Making sure that the units are ready is something that is done before a room is assigned. I ado agree that your comment regarding the alarm clock is very important and needs to be verified that there is no alarm set on.
Regarding the restaurant we have a variety of set menu for every different request, our chef is able help you if you should have a special request.

We are glad that you enjoyed our grounds and activities at your resort and that you over all experience a relaxing time, thanks for recommending this place, and we hope to hear from you before your next vacation time, so that we make sure we provide a good view unit or any special request that you may require.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Smaller resort but just beautiful! First time to that part of Mexico and nothing bad to say about it. The area is well kept with beautiful lawn/ garden care. Spent many hours in the beautiful pool and got great use out of the swim up bar. The hotel was nice but is was all the staff the really made this trip amazing! Jessica, the hotel entertainment girl was great at her job, full of energy and always smilling. Amarndo was great at the swim up bar all week. The resturant food was just amazing! The staff at the resturant was so friendly, i felt as we were all good friends by the end of the week, they went above and beyound to provide great customer service. The staff is what made this vacation so memerable for me, i have to name the guys that really stood out and deserve a shout out. Angel, Carlos, Eduardo, Hector, Ernesto are the ones that i can remember their names and really made my vacation extra special. All the staff was great! I would go back to the same hotel for sure!

Room Tip: King size bed in standard room really makes room small. If you like more space in your room upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelAirVallarta, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Guest:

Bel Air is glad that you chose us as your vacation location in this your first time in our location area.
As well we thank you for taking the time to leave your comments , which are of great value to us, rest assure that we will mention your comments to our staff, they appreciate and love to always hear such nice comments.

We be delighted that for your next vacation time you once again arrive to this your home away from home.

Please don’t not hesitate in contacting us for any special request that you have in your next vacation with Bel Air Vallarta Resort and Spa.

Kind regards,


Roberto Diaz
Generla Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My daughter and I stayed at this beautiful resort for our first time in Mexico. The room was clean and large enough for the two of us. Thank you to Theresa for doing a great job of cleaning it for us. The food was amazing and the waiters were super friendly especially Gamma and Ernesto. The grounds are beautifully upkept and the pool is amazing. We went on a couple of tours and it was a short ride to the town of Bucerias for shopping. Trinidad was always there if we needed some help or directions to somewhere. My daughter and I will definately stay here again. Hopefully next year!

Room Tip: We didn't have a great view but was able to see the ocean from the balcony when we left the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelAirVallarta, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest:

Bel Air thanks for such great comment, based on the great stay and experience that your family and yourself had with us during your recent stay.

Rest assure that your wonderful comment of our staff will be forward to them, which they truly appreciate you taking your time to send.

We hope that your next stay if at Puerto Vallarta will be with us , so that we can once again provide a great vacation and memorable vacation.

Kind regards,

Roberto Díaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
3.7 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
#3 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,029 reviews
3.4 mi away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#12 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,021 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta

Property: Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta
Address: Blvd Costero 800 Sur | Fracc. Flamingos, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#14 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Bel Air Vallarta the perfect hotel for a family vacation" Family vacations are made to be on the Riviera Nayarit. Enjoy the beauty of the traditional Puerto Vallarta, the beautiful and colorful Bucerias, or maybe the exclusive Nuevo Vallarta where you will find everything you were looking for and more. Can you imagine spending a day at the spa pampering yourself at one of the best hotels in Nuevo Vallarta? Imagine your kids having a blast at our Kids Club, everything is possible here. A destination like this provides much as you can imagine, activities on land, sea and even air is what awaits you. Stay with with your family and enjoy the best time of your lives together and create your own #BelAirMoment. Bel Air Vallarta offers 215 spacious and luxurious rooms where you can enjoy a deserved rest after those long days at the beach, pool or enjoying the gastronomic offer that we have for you along with all the entertainment options that this resort has. In addition to luxury hotel rooms in Nuevo Vallarta Bel Air Vallarta offers luxury amenities that will make your stay a unique and memorable vacation, the "Bel Air Delights" those great little details that will give your holiday a touch of sophistication and also will make you feel at home. Welcome Cool Amenitie Welcome cocktail Early Bird Breakfast View all Bel Air Delights In Bel Air we know that your holiday should be something memorable that's why we have created a series of experiences that will fulfill all your dreams and needs to make your vacation something you cannot forget. Personalized vacation experiences with a touch of luxury and sophistication, the "Bel Air Experiences". All Gourmet Experience All Romance Experience All Spa Experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Collection Resort And Spa Vallarta
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Playa Del Sol Grand Hotel
Playa Del Sol Grand Puerto Vallarta
Playa Del Sol Grand Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing