We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

First of... I own a vacation membership, so I get to visit the bel air hotels a lot... That being said, this property gets better every year... Besides getting to see the same faces every year, which makes the place like your house, the service is a bit better every time...

If only, I had a burger for room service and it was burned... Not tasty at all... Other than that... The service is fast and the food very good...

What can I say... Already planning to go back!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank 1977Cativo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

439 - 445 of 2,199 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is our 5th visit to this resort, 2nd since it changed over from Playa del Sol to BelAir. Since changing over to new management (owners), this has become an amazing, stress-free, utterly AWESOME place to spend our vacation. This time it was my husband & I plus our 2 kids, their spouses and their kids. All of us are already looking forward to our next visit!!!!
Our kids shared a 2 bdrm unit ( actually a one bdrm and a studio with a connecting door ) So for 4 adults & 2 kids, there were 3 bathrooms, a bedroom with a king sized bed, a bedroom with 2 double beds, a full kitchen, a kitchenette, living room, dining area, a large deck with priceless ocean view plus 2 tiny decks... Bldg 2, top floor.
My husband & I stayed in an oceanfront room in Bldg 7, top floor, with step up bedroom, king bed, small-ish kitchen (no oven), living room, dining area, and deck overlooking the water that included a small hot tub.
Both accommodations were clean, had super comfy beds & pillows, beautiful marble bathrooms, included basic kitchenware, blow dryers, irons & a safe.
Our maid Silvia kept the room my husband & I stayed in looking like it was our Honeymoon, with everything spotless, amazing towel art, and fresh flowers sprinkled throughout.
The grounds are kept spotless, maintained and beautiful. Love the turtles!
Although we cooked several of our own meals ( thanks to the Mega Store being so close ~ just a 60 pesos, 5 min cab ride away ), we had a very good dinner and Sunday Brunch at the Palm Terrace, several snacks by the pool at Shipwreck Kellys, and our son & his family had an excellent sushi dinner at the Sushi/Martini place. (There is also an excellent breakfast buffet next door at the Villa Del Palmar Flamingos)
The pool is the centerpiece of the BelAir as far as our family is concerned. The infinity pool overlooks the beach & ocean, has an abundance of seating/lounging areas, and has a first class staff to organize activities & to keep the drinks in-hand at all times. Shout out to our favorite server, Christian who always made sure we had drinks & food ~ and Antonio who always seemed to have one of us involved in one of the many activities.... both always had a smile & a sense of humor.
There is a free Kids Club on the property for 4-11 year olds. Our 5 yr old grandson loved the arts & crafts, the turtle feeding and swim time lead by the amazing Jessica. This is such a nice, safe amenity to give vacationing parents a tiny break.
The spa at the BelAir must not be missed. Our whole family had massages during our stay that were just out of this world.
The staff at the BelAir is awesome.... from the minute you arrive, you are greeted with a drink & a smile. Shout out to our man Trinidad, a special bellman. Also to front desk folks, Erik, Jorge and Reeva.
If you are a timeshare owner, Carolina, in Member Services, is the most special, helpful person of them all. She always seems to be able to go that extra mile to make sure you have the best experience, and most wonderful vacation possible. No timeshare sharks here!!!
GOOD TO KNOW ~ Puerto Vallarta is about 30-45 mins away. The bus is super cheap to the Malecon. I recommend taking a taxi back to Nuevo though. Bucerias is just a 5-10 min cab ride to the north. Great little flea market and some awesome places to eat. Want to eat with your feet in the sand? Fat Boys or Claudio's Meson Bay!!! La Cruz is just north of Bucerias and has a fantastic restaurant with amazing bay view ~ Xocolatl Roberto's ( sounds like "shaw-koe-lot ) has to-die-for seafood. Roberto takes real good care of you. A fun 1/2 or full day outing is cabbing it about 40 mins north of BelAir to the little surfing/hippie village of Sayulita. Call Carlos Romero ~ He is the man to take you up there. I'm sure if you talk to Emilio (concierge) or one of the Bellmen at the BelAir, they can get in touch with Carlos for you. He's awesome!!!!
I will address a couple things previous reviewers complained about......
Uncomfortable sofabeds ~ yes, they are terrible, but I understand comfy new ones are on the way!!!!
Bugs ~ our kids kitchen had a few teeny tiny ones on the counter. We wiped it down a few times with Clorox wipes & it was fine. A little gecko got into our bathroom, but we left our deck door open. I guess he was curious :-) No biggie.
Drunks around the pool ~ Never once saw any unruly people.
Dirty pool ~ Looked beautiful to me. I saw it being cleaned every morning.
NO COMPLAINTS from me about this little GEM. BelAir is not a mega resort, and that's part of its charm. The staff gets to know you right away.... and you get to know them as well. I highly recommend this beautiful piece of Mexico. Unbelievable sunsets! Great for families!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SooZQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Quite a disappointing experience. The food was poor and the rooms were filthy. The employees were friendly enough but what made the experience the worst was the calibre of local guests, stumbling around the pool area full of booze. If you don't mind drunk Mexicans and techno at the pool, sub standard food and an ordinary beach, then perhaps you'd be happy here but those issues were more than enough to prevent us from ever returning.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mid30yoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Overall, I think it was a great vacation choice! I’m the type of person that needs to do intense research everywhere I stay as I work in the hospitality industry. The reviews were on the fence, but for some reason I thought my boyfriend and I would take a chance this time and boy were we ever happy with it!

We got to our hotel in the morning before the usual check in time. It didn’t seem that busy at that time so we inquired if there were any possible upgraded rooms available from the regular standard room we originally booked. Luckily, the front desk agent/supervisor negotiated a great rate for us and we got to stay in a studio for not that much more a night. Totally worth it!! The resort had great décor, lovely landscaping, smaller in size than most resorts but gave it that extra charm having everything we wanted and more. The room was cleaned well every day. No bugs. However, we noticed the more tip you left, the better your room was cleaned, just an FYI!
The mornings and nights were cooler and there was much more wind during the day due to being so close to the Pacific Ocean, but it was quite refreshing! The infinity pool was beautiful with the swim up hut bar and overlooking the beach! Great for sunsets. The activities were fun, especially the beach volleyball. The grounds were very clean and constantly being cleaned as best as they could due to the many birds around. Overall, it was a well maintained property. Really enjoyed how we were able to walk straight onto the beach. The beach chairs could use some updating, but the little huts gave a nice tropical touch. The sand was really nice and soft. The only downside was the constant vendors on the beach trying to sell you things while we were trying to relax and tan but can’t do much about that. However, I would recommend taking advantage of the vendors that supply water activities on the beach (para-sailing, kayaking, etc).

The food was good. The casual “Shipwreck Kelly’s” had good food but menu became limited after a few days but great when you’re on the beach. The sushi restaurant wasn’t the greatest but you should try it at least once. Dining in the ‘Palm Terrace’ was great for all meals and theme nights. Service was great when it wasn’t very busy, but we noticed that once it got busier, the longer you had to wait for service and food (as if they couldn’t handle large crowds). As mentioned by previous resort guests, the constant check signing, the constant pressure to leave a tip even though it should be based on service, and the constant pressure to fill out a survey on the service at the end of our meal. It definitely put a damper on the service. However, we’d like to give out special thanks to our servers, Vince and Gama and the front desk supervisor Panacho (I think that’s how it’s spelt) for the exceptional service that they have provided to us! One of the reasons why we’ll be returning!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PnC38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We had booked this hotel using airline miles, so we weren't sure what to expect. We were very impressed! Beautiful lobby, great room, gorgeous grounds. It is a bit smaller than some of the other resorts in the same area, so it felt very personal and luxurious. Our room was great, and had a kitchen. We were able to bring in our own food and drinks, which was a huge plus. They had a lot of English TV channels, which was also nice. They even had self-service laundry on site (and of course a full laundry service as well). There were activities each day, drink specials, bocce ball court, amazing pool, etc. The staff were really helpful and extremely friendly. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sarahincolumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelAirVallarta, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Guest:

We are glad that your first time experience visit at Bel Air Vallarta was of your satisfaction and that you recommend our resort.

It will be glad to have you once again in the near future at our resort as our guest so that you are able to experience the tranquil grounds and beautiful relaxing rooms for your next vacation time.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This is a great little place with everything you need for a reasonable price. Caters to couples and families on vacation. The infinity pool is fantastic and the grounds are spotless. It is a sold 4 star hotel with many suites with 2 bedroom/3 bath and full kitchens. It is only steps to the ocean with lots of chairs/loungers with shade. Wifi is a bit spotty but generally worked well in the reception area. The onsite bar is good for a quick drink but not to spend an evening at. Lots of activities poolside for the kids, bingo, trivia, water aerobics. Onsite little convenience store was great. There were 6 of us and we all loved it. It is about 15 minutes from PV but that is the best part, out of the hustle and bustle, Easy bus ride to town

Room Tip: Facing Ocean best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelAirVallarta, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Guest:

We thank you for taking the time to leave a comment regarding our resort, your “Tucked away Gem” .
Your comments are highly important to us, knowing that your family and yourself had a great time at our resort leaves us a very happy and encouraging feeling .

Hope that your next vacation time with family will be with us your home away from home, Bel Air Vallarta Resort and Spa.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This place has become, one on my favs places to getaway and forget about stress. The service and food is outstanding, and that's what really stands out in comparison to other all inclusives that we have stayed at, and they actually change the menus constantly that is great for people like me that are frecuent guest, you have to try the Tempura Tacos, even snacks are delicious, for example their burger meat is fresh prepared meat is not the regular frozen meat. Congrats to the cheff and his staff. Rooms are confortable,specially their pillows wow, I really miss them at home. Infinity swimming pool is beautiful, the beach is just perfect. Vallarta has the best sunsets, and this resort has the perfect location for you to enjoy them, if you stay at Bel Air you have to experience the sunset corner, it is amazing. If you are looking for a small family friendly resort, with great food, accomodations and reasonable price, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrendaL83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelAirVallarta, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear Guest:

We at Bel Air appreciate the time you have taken to leave such wonderful comment. As well thank you for choosing our resort to be part of your special vacation time, we will be more than happy to have you once again as a guest at Bel Air so that once again you experience a great vacation time and this your home away from home.

Kind regards

Roberot Díaz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.2 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
3.7 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#11 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,588 reviews
2.3 mi away
Marival Resort & Suites
Marival Resort & Suites
#15 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,996 reviews
0.2 mi away
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta

Address: Blvd Costero 800 Sur | Fracc. Flamingos, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#12 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#15 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range: £154 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Bel Air Vallarta the perfect hotel for a family vacation" Family vacations are made to be on the Riviera Nayarit. Enjoy the beauty of the traditional Puerto Vallarta, the beautiful and colorful Bucerias, or maybe the exclusive Nuevo Vallarta where you will find everything you were looking for and more. Can you imagine spending a day at the spa pampering yourself at one of the best hotels in Nuevo Vallarta? Imagine your kids having a blast at our Kids Club, everything is possible here. A destination like this provides much as you can imagine, activities on land, sea and even air is what awaits you. Stay with with your family and enjoy the best time of your lives together and create your own #BelAirMoment. Bel Air Vallarta offers 215 spacious and luxurious rooms where you can enjoy a deserved rest after those long days at the beach, pool or enjoying the gastronomic offer that we have for you along with all the entertainment options that this resort has. In addition to luxury hotel rooms in Nuevo Vallarta Bel Air Vallarta offers luxury amenities that will make your stay a unique and memorable vacation, the "Bel Air Delights" those great little details that will give your holiday a touch of sophistication and also will make you feel at home. Welcome Cool Amenitie Welcome cocktail Early Bird Breakfast View all Bel Air Delights In Bel Air we know that your holiday should be something memorable that's why we have created a series of experiences that will fulfill all your dreams and needs to make your vacation something you cannot forget. Personalized vacation experiences with a touch of luxury and sophistication, the "Bel Air Experiences". All Gourmet Experience All Romance Experience All Spa Experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Bel Air Collection Resort And Spa Vallarta
Playa Del Sol Grand Hotel
Playa Del Sol Grand Puerto Vallarta
Playa Del Sol Grand Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing