We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little Gem”
Review of Manao Cebicheria

Manao Cebicheria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: SEASONAL CLOSURE: August 13th - November 13th CIERRE DE TEMPORADA: 13 Agosto-13 Noviembre Manao Cebicheria is a very small and cozy restaurant that specializes in cebiche and offers warm and personalized service. At Manao Cebicheria we ONLY use the best quality of fish bought daily, combined with a balanced blend of seasonal fruits and vegetables that harmoniously complement each other. Most of our menu consists of raw fish. On our menu you can also find fish or shrimp tacos, tostadas, shrimp soup and mouth watering homemade desserts. All our recipes are made upon order with the highest standards of quality and food hygiene, always looking forward to satisfy our customers to the fullest. (*We only serve dishes prepared with fish and shrimp). If you need more information, send us an email! ** Manao Cebicheria es un pequeño restaurante acogedor especializado en cebiche que ofrece un servicio cálido y personalizado. En Manao Cebichería utilizamos ÚNICAMENTE pescado fresco de la mejor calidad que compramos diariamente. Las combinaciones de cebiches que manejamos incluyen un balance perfecto frutas y verduras de estación que se complementan armoniosamente con la pesca del día. Nuestro menú se compone en su mayoría de pescado crudo. En nuestro menú también podrá encontrar tacos de camarón o pescado, tostadas, caldo de camarón y exquisitos postres hechos en casa. Todos nuestros platillos se preparan al momento apegándonos a altos estándares de calidad y manejo higiénico de alimentos, siempre buscando satisfacer a nuestros clientes y sus expectativas. (*Sólo servimos platillos hechos con pescado y camarón). Si desea mas información, envíenos un correo electrónico!
Vancouver
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A little Gem”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We had read great things on Trip Advisor about Manao Cebicheria and it did not disappoint. We went without really knowing a lot about it and quickly learnt that it was all ceviche with a couple of shrimp items. The ceviche was to die for. The chef and owner are very creative so there is almost a dozen different types of ceviche. The four we tried were all amazing. We also did a couple of fish and shrimp taco's, which were very good. But if you have non-fish people, this is not the place for you. You will go hungry. The owner is charming, you will fall in love with her. She is so sweet and endearing. It is a tiny, tiny little restaurant and very casual. Every ceviche is made fresh by hand, so things take a while. They do not have any alcohol but you may bring your own wine. Its a really sweet little restaurant. I wish we'd had time to go back! One other thing. The owner only buys the freshest of fish and in small quantities for that day's use. So if she runs out, she closes up early. Its delicious!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PursegirlVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xihomara, Manager at Manao Cebicheria, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
(Hola PursegirlVancouver! First of all, we would like to thank you for posting a review on our TripAdvisor page! We are very happy to read the comments about your experience at Manao Cebichería. As you mention on your review, our specialty is cebiche: a cold dish prepared with raw fish marinated with lime juice and mixed with different fruits and vegetables (depending on the preparation you choose). At Manao Cebichería, we offer 15 different cebiche preparations, aguachiles, fish and shrimp tacos, shrimp soup, tostadas and delicious homemade desserts. As you mention, we do not offer anything other than fish or shrimp on our menu.
All the ingredients we use for the dishes we serve, are local and fresh to guarantee freshnes and quality in every bite.
At Manao Cebichería, we do not have a liquor license yet, however we are happy to open your bottle of wine free of charge and will gladly lend you our wine glasses (fee per broken glass applies). As you mention, our restaurant is very small and cozy, with only 6 tables that can accomodate 16 people at a time giving us the opportunity to focus on personalized service.
One of the most important things you mentioned on your review is the fact that we buy only the freshest fish and in small amounts. We do this to guarantee that the fish you are eating was caught that day. Sometimes, we run out of fish and close early. We reccomend you make a reservation so we can save enough fish for your party.
It was an absolute pleasure to have you at Manao Cebichería. We look forward to having you back with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    20
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
123 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This place was great. By far the best food we've had in NV this trip. They have about ten styles they can make the ceviche in and about 6 choices of fish to use depending in what they were able to recently purchase fresh. Our kids love ceviche, so one order per person was the perfect amount, with a lot of sharing. The menu warns that it take 20 minutes of prep time for the ceviche, but it was definitely worth it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank knobchouck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xihomara, Manager at Manao Cebicheria, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hola knobchouck! First of all, we would like to thank you for taking a moment of your time to post a review on our TripAdvisor page. We could not be happier to read such wonderful comments about your experience with us. At Manao Cebichería, we specialize in cebiche: raw fish marinated in lime juice and mixed with different vegetables or fruits. As you mention, at Manao Cebichería we offer 15 different cebiche preparations which are all our own creations. We also give you the option to choose your favorite fish for your cebiche based on our catch of the day. Every morning we buy fresh fish from local fishermen to ensure the highest quality in everything we serve.
The portion for each cebiche is about 300g or 11oz, which is a good portion per person.
Since everything is prepared upon order, the estimated time of preparation may vary between 15 to 20 minutes. We kindly ask you to be patient and gladly serve complimentary veggies with a homemade dressing while your food is ready.
It was a pleasure to have you and your family with us at Manao Cebichería. We hope we have the opportunity to have you back with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
186 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

It can be a challenge finding good and safe ceviche. The proprietors of Manao Cebicheria are a wonderful couple and they will take very good care of you. We tried 4 different preparations and all were delicious. We all look forward to eating there again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank STL_MO_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xihomara, Manager at Manao Cebicheria, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hola STL_MO_Traveler! First of all, we would like to thank you for taking a moment of your time to post a review on our TripAdvisor page. At Manao Cebichería, we take your comments very seriously.
We are delighted to read we met your expectations with our food and service.
As you mentioned, if you are looking for good cebiche we are the BEST! Everything we serve is fresh, clean, healthy and delicious. We have over 15 different cebiche preparations on our menu.
We understand not everybody is comfortable eating raw fish, which is why we offer our customers the option to steam the fish for your cebiche before preparing it.
We were very happy to have you with us and hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This place is a gem! Clean and fresh, worked around allergies”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I was nervous eating ceviche in Mexico for two reasons -- health and I'm allergic to shellfish. The owners are delightful people and the place is spotless. The food was delicious and very fresh. My friends eat ceviche everywhere and said it was great. I had ceviche and a fish taco and loved them. My other friend has to have a gluten free diet. The chef/owner was very careful in our food preparation and we had no problems. Don't forget to bring your own beer/wine and be prepared for it to take a while, she prepares everything to order. It's worth the wait. It's not a "atmosphere" place, a little like a small cafe in a mall, but pleasant enough and since the food is good, why complain? We sat outside and it was breezy, bring a sweater in the evening. And target lunch/early dinner, she buys the fish daily and was almost out by 6pm.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NotNancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xihomara, Manager at Manao Cebicheria, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hola NotNancy! First of all, we would like to thank you for taking a moment to post a review on our TripAdvisor page!
We are very happy to read we met your expectations! At Manao Cebichería, we understand you might be quite nervous when it comes to eating raw fish. Our staff is highly trained in food hygiene and safety. We are extremely cautious with every single dish we serve so you have nothing to worry about. We take our customers' food allergies very seriously and try to guide them through our menu to make the right choice. We are aware that gluten allergy has recently become a very common food allergy, which is why we offer 8 different gluten-free cebiches and gluten-free crackers and tostadas!
As you mention in your review, everything we use is fresh and prepared to order which is why our service takes time. At Manao Cebichería, we do not have a liquor license yet, however we are happy to open your bottle of wine free of charge (fee per broken glass applies).
Manao Cebichería is open Monday thru Saturday from 12pm - 8pm, however we buy fresh fish every morning to ensure great quality in every dish we prepare and sometimes sell everything before closing time. We recommend you make a reservation so we can save enough fish for your party.
It was an absolute pleasure to have you with us at Manao Cebichería and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
169 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Civiche Heaven!”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Fresh enjoyable food that is easy to take out or you can eat on sight. The owners are delightful and truly want to please. All preparations are made fresh with the daily catch.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank stewart s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xihomara, Manager at Manao Cebicheria, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hola Stan K! First of all, we would like to thank you for taking a moment of your time to post a review on our TripAdvisor page. All your comments are taken very seriously.
We are honored to read that you consider Manao Cebichería one of your favorite restaurants in the area. As you mentioned on your review, we specialize in cebiches, which is a cold dish prepared with raw fish, marinated in lime juice and mixed with different fruits and vegetables (depending on the preparation you choose). All the ingredients we use at Manao Cebichería are fresh and local, offering our customers excellent quality and delicious flavors.
Since we prepare everything the moment you order it, our service is slow and the time to prepare may vary between 25 to 35 minutes.
The cebiches you had are delicious! The Manao preparation has onions, carrot, cucumber, jícama, a special blend of aromatic oils, soy sauce and lime juice. The Peruvian is a very traditional cebiche prepared with onion, cilantro and chile and is topped with sweet potatoe puree and corn. The Tropical is a very fresh and fruity cebiche prepared with onion, green apple, pineapple, guava, peach and lime juice. Since everything is prepared to order, we can add ingredients of your choice, in this case we added a little bit of shredded coconut to your Tropical cebiche. As you mention, our working hours are from 12pm to 8pm from Monday thru Saturday.
It was a pleasure to have you with us at Manao Cebichería. We really hope to have the chance to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manao Cebicheria also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Manao Cebicheria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing