We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Nuevo Vallarta”
Review of Manao Cebicheria

Manao Cebicheria
Ranked #20 of 153 Restaurants in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: SEASONAL CLOSURE: August 13th - November 13th CIERRE DE TEMPORADA: 13 Agosto-13 Noviembre Manao Cebicheria is a very small and cozy restaurant that specializes in cebiche and offers warm and personalized service. At Manao Cebicheria we ONLY use the best quality of fish bought daily, combined with a balanced blend of seasonal fruits and vegetables that harmoniously complement each other. Most of our menu consists of raw fish. On our menu you can also find fish or shrimp tacos, tostadas, shrimp soup and mouth watering homemade desserts. All our recipes are made upon order with the highest standards of quality and food hygiene, always looking forward to satisfy our customers to the fullest. (*We only serve dishes prepared with fish and shrimp). If you need more information, send us an email! ** Manao Cebicheria es un pequeño restaurante acogedor especializado en cebiche que ofrece un servicio cálido y personalizado. En Manao Cebichería utilizamos ÚNICAMENTE pescado fresco de la mejor calidad que compramos diariamente. Las combinaciones de cebiches que manejamos incluyen un balance perfecto frutas y verduras de estación que se complementan armoniosamente con la pesca del día. Nuestro menú se compone en su mayoría de pescado crudo. En nuestro menú también podrá encontrar tacos de camarón o pescado, tostadas, caldo de camarón y exquisitos postres hechos en casa. Todos nuestros platillos se preparan al momento apegándonos a altos estándares de calidad y manejo higiénico de alimentos, siempre buscando satisfacer a nuestros clientes y sus expectativas. (*Sólo servimos platillos hechos con pescado y camarón). Si desea mas información, envíenos un correo electrónico!
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My husband Tim and I read about Manao Cebicheria on TripAdvisor and knew we would have to try this restaurant. It is within easy walking distance from our hotel. We wish we would have tried it earlier in our two-week vacation as we would definitely have come back again. As it was, it was a great end-of-vacation meal for us. I had the tuna cebiche and Tim had the amberjack. The fish was very fresh & melted in your mouth and the vegetables were crisp and delicious. We were able to have a nice visit with the owners & chefs Hassin and Xiomara, a wonderful young couple. We have recommended it to people we have met in the resort and we know we'll be back again! Excellent!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Joani L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 159 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

We were here twice this week. The first time we both ordered ceviche. It was fantastic, the flavors were perfectly balanced. This restaurant has about 30 different kinds of hot sauce if you want more heat. At the second visit we ordered shrimp taco and spicy shrimp soup. These were outstanding. I don't know how the chef Xiomara gets so much flavor into these simple dishes. They are better than anything else in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Shiny-light
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xihomara, Manager at Manao Cebicheria, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2015

Hola Shiny-light! First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on our TripAdvisor page. At Manao Cebichería we specialize in cebiche, which is raw fish marinated in lime juice and mixed with different fruits or vegetables depending on the preparation you choose.
As you mentioned, we also serve our famous and delicious spicy shrimp soup, fish and shrimp tacos and other delicious specialties.
We could not be happier to read our food met your expectations! We hope to see you again soon! It was a pleasure to have you at Manao Cebichería.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My husband & I ate here several times in November & again last week. Everything is fresh & fabulous. They specialize in ceviche, but will cook the fish if you are concerned. They also have tacos, tostadas, great homemade desserts, very good coffee. The menu Is creative, with some surprising combinations such as Arab ceviche with couscous. It was so good, we had it twice. We loved it and the owners, Xiomara & Hassan. They are charming. Do yourself a favor & go early in your trip because you are going to want to go back! They don't have a liquor license so take beer or wine if you want.

1  Thank Mary Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xihomara, Manager at Manao Cebicheria, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2015

Hola Mary Anne W! First of all, we would like to thank you for taking a moment of your time to write a review on our TripAdvisor page. We are delighted to read you and your husband liked our food and service at Manao Cebichería. As you mention in review, we specialize in cebiche: a cold dish consisting of raw fish marinated in freshly squeezed lime juice and mixed with different fruits and vegetales (depending on the preparation you choose). We understand not everyone is comfortable eating raw fish, which is why we are the only place that offers you the option to steam the fish for your cebiche. On our menu you can also find tacos, tostadas, shrimp soup, aguachiles and homemade desserts. We do not offer anything other than fish or shrimp on our menu. As you mentioned, we have a creative menu that offers 15 different cebiche preparations. The Arab cebiche you had twice, is excellent! It's prepared with fish, lime juice, tomatoe, onions, cucumber and assorted spices. It's served over a bed of cous cous, topped with hummus and labneh and served with pita bread on the side.
Unfortunately, we don't have a liquor license yet, but you are welcome to BYOB free of charge and we will gladly open your bottle and provide wine glasses (fee per broken glass applies).
It was a pleasure to have you and your husband with us during your vacations. We are very happy to read we met your expecations on our food and service. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Took two Mexican friends for lunch. They both raved about it. The quality and variety work in combination to offer a really great ceviche experience. Great service, wonderful food, fair price. Try it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ec328888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xihomara, Gerente at Manao Cebicheria, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2014

Hola again Ec328888! First of all, we would like to thank you for taking a moment of your time to write another great review on our TripAdvisor page. At Manao Cebichería, we take all your comments very seriously. We are extremely happy to read your friends liked our food. As you mention on your review, we are known for the quality in everything we prepare. Our specialty is cebiche: a cold dish that consists of raw fish marinated in lime juice and mixed with different vegetables or fruits (depending on the preparation you choose). We are delighted to hear you like our service, as we are always doing our best to provide personalized service to each one of our customers. We look forward to seeing you soon at Manao Cebichería. It is always a pleasure to have you with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We had read great things on Trip Advisor about Manao Cebicheria and it did not disappoint. We went without really knowing a lot about it and quickly learnt that it was all ceviche with a couple of shrimp items. The ceviche was to die for. The chef and owner are very creative so there is almost a dozen different types of ceviche. The four we tried were all amazing. We also did a couple of fish and shrimp taco's, which were very good. But if you have non-fish people, this is not the place for you. You will go hungry. The owner is charming, you will fall in love with her. She is so sweet and endearing. It is a tiny, tiny little restaurant and very casual. Every ceviche is made fresh by hand, so things take a while. They do not have any alcohol but you may bring your own wine. Its a really sweet little restaurant. I wish we'd had time to go back! One other thing. The owner only buys the freshest of fish and in small quantities for that day's use. So if she runs out, she closes up early. Its delicious!

1  Thank PursegirlVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xihomara, Manager at Manao Cebicheria, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

(Hola PursegirlVancouver! First of all, we would like to thank you for posting a review on our TripAdvisor page! We are very happy to read the comments about your experience at Manao Cebichería. As you mention on your review, our specialty is cebiche: a cold dish prepared with raw fish marinated with lime juice and mixed with different fruits and vegetables (depending on the preparation you choose). At Manao Cebichería, we offer 15 different cebiche preparations, aguachiles, fish and shrimp tacos, shrimp soup, tostadas and delicious homemade desserts. As you mention, we do not offer anything other than fish or shrimp on our menu.
All the ingredients we use for the dishes we serve, are local and fresh to guarantee freshnes and quality in every bite.
At Manao Cebichería, we do not have a liquor license yet, however we are happy to open your bottle of wine free of charge and will gladly lend you our wine glasses (fee per broken glass applies). As you mention, our restaurant is very small and cozy, with only 6 tables that can accomodate 16 people at a time giving us the opportunity to focus on personalized service.
One of the most important things you mentioned on your review is the fact that we buy only the freshest fish and in small amounts. We do this to guarantee that the fish you are eating was caught that day. Sometimes, we run out of fish and close early. We reccomend you make a reservation so we can save enough fish for your party.
It was an absolute pleasure to have you at Manao Cebichería. We look forward to having you back with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manao Cebicheria also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Manao Cebicheria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing