We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal of the week”
Review of El Barracuda

El Barracuda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Columbus, OH
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best meal of the week”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We visited La Barracuda while staying at the Grand Mayan resort. We liked it so much we came back the next night. Everything we ate from appetizer to dessert was delicious. The service was excellent - they were great about bringing the kid's meals when the appetizers came. The atmosphere is rustic in a classic/vintage sort of way. I recommend the garlic shrimp appetizer, whole red snapper entree, and the chocolate crepe dessert. The pastor shrimp taco dinner was also amazing! The value was unbelievable compared to what we were paying at the resort. The only drawback is the possibility of sitting next to smokers; however, it's an open air/outside restaurant.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EricCbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    160
    34
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious molcajete. . A MUST”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended by a local friend and.... OMG it was excellent. We shared the molcajete and it was so delicious we ordered a second one. Staff was extremely friendly and service was prompt. This a new routine dinning restaurant for my family. Enjoy

Helpful?
Thank Manuel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unknown gem!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Food and atmosphere were excellent! Margaritas and guacamole were awesome! Try the "molcajete"!. Dined here with our kids ages 14-23 and we all loved it!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ace4uw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“SO delicious!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Great food within walking distance of the Grand Mayan. Restaurant has a fun atmosphere and we enjoyed sitting outside. Food was SUPERB. Amazing fish tacos. Amazing chips, salsa and guac. Definitely will go back!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank sduncss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Value and Service”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Wow, we really enjoyed our dinner at this outdoor restaurant. We shared the Caesar's salad, which was very good. Then we shared the Shrimp appetizers and the Filet Skewers. It was more than enough food for the two of us and their bottles of wine are very reasonable for Mexico. The staff really try and make you feel comfortable. We diffidently would go back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank bobalou19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Barracuda also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to El Barracuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing