We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome resort with a bit of insight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Awesome resort with a bit of insight”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We have been to all of the Grand Mayan and Mayan Palace properties and the Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta is our favorite. As owners who have gone to the Grupo Mayan properties for the last 10 years, we have learned a few tricks. Here are some helpful bullet points:

Check-In
- Bring your own pair of scissors and avoid the wristband-trimming (aka timeshare presentation selling) desk in the corner of the lobby.
- Ask for a mattress pad when you call for your luggage. Turns a rock-hard bed into something comfortable.
- The room safe fee of $30 is for non-owners only.
- Upper floor ocean-side rooms in the Grand Mayan are reserved for Grand Bliss and Grand Luxxe owners. Grand Mayan owners will get upper floors facing the golf course (very beautiful sunrises) or lower floors. RCI trade-ins will only get lower floors. Agreeing to the presentation will not change what you get but will get you 10% off your final bill.
- Ask for a regular key card along with your electronic wristbands in case they stop working. We were told getting the wristbands too close to cell phones, tablets, laptops, etc will cause them to deactivate.

Eating
- A meal will be very expensive anywhere on the resort. Cheapest is the poolside food served until 6:30pm, but a burger will run you 140 pesos. Save money by eating in your room or walking off-site.
- Buy groceries at WalMart (take the bus there – bus stop right by the Oxxo - and a cab back for ultimate cost savings) and have them delivered to your room. The delivery charge is $2.50 a bin, but ask the bellboy to waive it.
- Bring certain items from home (like peanut butter – costly in Mexico, Ziplocs, chip clips, insulated cooler bag, etc). All chips, cookies, etc need to be airtight sealed or they will go soggy within 24 hours of opening.
- Walmart sells drops that kill any bacteria in fresh produce (in the produce section). Buy these and enjoy salads without fear of becoming ill.
- Walk to the marina for meals. I highly recommend El Muelle Grill (about $10 for an entree, about a dollar for a taco, free wifi, free delivery, great view of the marina). Eddie's Place also has huge portions for a decent price and free wifi. This is about a ½ mile from the resort.
- Tap water is fine to drink on the resort. May not taste great, but is safe.
- Stick an insulated cooler bag in a regular beach bag and take your own drinks to the pool.
- Happy Hour is from 11am-1pm at the pools and gets you ½ price drinks (beer and non-alcoholic drinks are not part of Happy Hour). This brings the price down to about 48 pesos per drink. Ask for extra alcohol and the waiter will bring an extra shot at no charge.

Things to do at the resort
- The lazy river is fantastic for all ages.
- The wave pools are a little weak on the waves, but the kids like it.
- The waterslide is pretty nice.
- Kids under age 8 will like the kid pool/water playground.
- The Brio Spa (free for owners - not sure about RCI traders) is fantastic! I went there every evening before dinner to relax and clean up.
- The gym is free and very clean & up-to-date. Ask the trainers for free bottled water and apples. There is a fruit-infused water cooler in the weight room where you can fill up a water bottle.
- Kids Club has activities going all day long. It is 50 pesos for one activity or 150 pesos for all the activities 9:30am - 4:30pm with lunch included. Total no-brainer as a burger lunch is 140 pesos. My 7-year-old and 9-year-old loved it and begged to go each day.
- Beach is nice with plenty of chairs that you can drag closer to the water if you wish. Definitely go for sunset.
- Turtle sanctuary is interesting and kids will LOVE the turtle releasing (each kid gets their own turtle to "race").
- Take a walk/run in the morning over to the Grand Luxxe area on the elevated wooden walkways. Beautiful scenery and deserted except for the maintenance crews.
- The Sanctuario is very interesting at night, but if you sit you need to order a drink.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
29 Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,731
    832
    364
    159
    152
See reviews for
1,640
804
37
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (811)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Osoyoos, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Lovely grounds and perfect service...not overly crowded this week of the year...our first room was by construction so there was no problem getting us moved and upgraded! Pleasant surprise....the grounds are huge so there is something new every day..the pools are wonderful or you can just float around the lazy river....restaurants are good but some can be pricey...depends on your preference....just enjoy the Mexican experience that the mayan has down pat....

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Barb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Spent 2 weeks at the Grand Mayan in Nuevo for the first two weeks in November for my month's stay in PVR. I will break down my vacation in three parts.
1st. part is what I saw:

Landscaping is done in the lush tropical jungle setting, the best I have seen in a long time on any hotel grounds. The building itself is well appointed with the usage of dark wood through out the décor, teak wood framing and floors, tables and chairs of designer's quality abound and in the many," Way Over Priced" restaurants also. The walls are covered with many eye catching pictures, some painted murals, shelves of wine bottles, nick-knacks, and themed items you have too see. The floors are marble quality as are some of the walls in the Restrooms, very striking and stocked with hand lotion and soap, a 1st.class John. Check out the pictures of the hotel on line.

Step out to the pool area and enter a maze of paths and bridges and journey into the zone of "aqua-realm" of vacation. This venture into public body immersion is well enjoyed by all participants and is the, "Center" of a good day's relaxing exercise. The Lazy River is by far, a great producer of smiles and laughter for vacationers with families with in-laws or friends.

The ocean will call to you, the waves lapping on to the shore line inviting one to marvel at the expanse of the sea and passing monster cruse ships on there way to port. Getting there can be a journey in it's self. You must navigate the paths and walkways' dodging nesting vacationers on there lounge chairs ( which most of the better locations are toweled down, meaning "we shall return" some time after breakfast around 9 or 10 O'clock ) you are avoiding scurrying waiters bringing food and refreshments to the red banded people. Like cattle having different brands, you will see different colored banded people of various class. The Grand Bliss is upper class as is the Grand Lux, those people can all ways go down to the Grand Mayan or lower level but, never are steerage owners allowed in 1st.class. Well, they paid less, right..! You are buying the product level.

I also ventured in to all the eateries, when they were open. Some closed on certain days when there was a Beach Party or Mexican festival for example. I would look at the menus, talk to the people sitting there and observe the dishes going back after a meal. Returning plates tell a story... I also asked the people how did they enjoyed the meal, being retired and a chef my self, I do like feed back. The one common factor I found was most of them at first were satisfied but, upon asking them what they liked best about there meal (it) fell short of any enthusiasm or enjoyment. Some of them just walked in because it looked like nice, we wanted Italian or we were just plain hungry, or just being on vacation, and yes, they thought it was way over priced for what they got, disappointment in the taste or flavors and serving size, with wine costing them a bundle. When you just SIGN for some thing or pen your name to the food bill, the sting is not felt till you are checking out, then it's too late to recant. You roll your eyes take a deep breath, dig deep into your savings chanting, " It's for a Vacation, I deserve it and work hard all year for this." Some other diners just accepted what was served, but were in the minority.

I also observed how hard and enthusiastic the Mexican people were," the worker bees," on the ground floor, so to speak, who worke at the Grand Mayan. The degree of cooperation between them to solve any problems or difficulties was very refreshing. It appears that most problems that infuriate my fellow vacationers stemmed from the Vida Management side. Hence you will find reviews like.." not the best experience," timeshare nightmares, "don't stay here,"...etc. an so-forth. TOO many negative experiences from vacationing, dollar $pending tourists if you ask me. I myself carry Timeshare Sales scars..been there..done that. So much for the early part of my stay at G.M. More comes later.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GoodGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear GoodGuy :

We are grateful for your taking the time to write a throughout review about your experience at The Grand Mayan. Your descriptions vividly reflect our breathtaking grounds and amenities perfectly. We are glad as well to learn you truly enjoyed our beautiful landscaped grounds during your sojourn, the same as our Mediterranean décor.

We also thank you for recognizing our staff’s daily efforts to make our guests’ vacations a unique experience, as this is what we strive for every day. They are truly one of our biggest assets.

On the other hand, we generally receive very favorable comments about our restaurants, though, we are certain our culinary experts will gladly receive your feedback as they always look to please our guests with their creations and flavors.

Lastly, we would like to point out as well that our prices are competitive compared to other resorts of the same quality.

We are grateful for all your feedback and should you wish to continue providing us details about the rest of your stay, please contact us at customerservice@grandmayan.com.mx. This is very useful to us.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Warmest regards,
The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I am someone who reads all reviews before going somewhere and I was apprehensive about this resort from some of the negative reviews. They could not have been further from our expereince there. We went to the resort the week of Thanksgiving. When we arrived, we were connected to the Timeshare Rep. and after 5 minutes of telling them a timeshare presentation was not how we wanted to spend our vacation time, they sent us on our way. We were given a 2 bedroom on the 2nd floor, but when we got into the room, the 2nd bedroom had a king, as since we have 2 teenagers of different sexes, we needed 2 beds. It took 3 phone calls and a visit to the front desk, and then we were accomodated to the 5th floor, non ocean view. It was still a beautiful view of the mountains, so NO complaints from us! One last phone call from Timeshare and we politely declined again and that was the last we heard from them.

On to the resort - It is really beautiful. So much so that we are already booked to return next year. Pools are awesome, and in spite of many reviews that its too large, we had no trouble finding our way around; nor were things far away. We spend many days at the Activities pool, where drinks and fun was had all day long. Special shout out to our waiter Sergio, who took great care of everyone. We took advantage of Happy Hour from 11-1 and had drinks all day long and our bill was never over $100 - all day drinks for 3 people and some food. Not bad. We went to the Gym and it is awesome - very big and can accomadate a variety of excercise options.

We ate one meal at Tramonto. We brought several nice bottles of wine from home and they allowed us to bring a bottle to the restaurant. The food was excellent. It was about the same price as a restaurant at home of the same caliber. Again, no complaints. Most of the other nights we ate at various restaurants in Neuvo: noteble choices were Fajita Republic, Mediterraneo and Porto Bella. All allowed us to bring in our own bottle of wine, some charges a corkage fee, others did not.

We did a couple of excursions that are worthy of a mention - Estigo in Puetor Vallarta was our host for an awesome ATV day. Waldo, our guide took just the 4 of us in our family on a 5 hour tour of the area. It was billed as the jungle tour, but we got to see so much more. One beautiful stop was El Eden, where Predator was filmed and there is a lovely fresh water river with a rope swing and zip lines. We did not zip line there as we had that arranged elsewhere on another day, but it looked awesome. Mundo Nogalito was our zip line adventure; shout out to Jimmy and Brandon, who made sure we lived (we were all first timers)...kids zipped upside down, LONG and HIGH ziplines. Highly recommend!

This resort exceeded expectations. If you are going, just remember you are on vacation...and enjoy!!!
BTW beds were VERY comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We enjoyed the room, the service and especially the sanitorium where we were able to enjoy acts from different parts of the world. I would advise travelers to go outside the resort for meals, as the prices are double or more, and the meals are not as good. For meals I would suggest Claudio's a very short walk from the resort, great service, very good food. Also Mariscos El Colequita in Puerto Vallarta. We took in the tours at Vallarta Adventures, which were fun & fascinating.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Corinne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Corinne F:

We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay with us.We are pleased you perceived our commitment to service, you enjoyed our spectacular Santuario’s performances and you liked our accommodations.

We are certain our culinary experts will gladly receive your feedback as they always look to please our guests with their creations and we would like to point out that our prices are competitive compared to other resorts of the same quality.


Your comments are always welcomed.

Sincerely,
The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

One must always remember, this is a timeshare, and all deals and free promotions are subject to the 'sales pitch'. Our check in was less than smooth. We were offered a free upgrade from the Mayan Palace to the Grand Mayan by the Hostess, if we attended an owners update and free breakfast. We listened patiently to her pitch, and we accepted, but after 3 attempts to enter our new room in the stifling heat, returning to the front desk each time to re program our wristbands, it was determined the battery was dead in the locks (both), and while the bellman was waiting with us, maintenance was called and had to install new batteries. We entered our room to discover it was the handicapped suite and in a state of disrepair. Two days later we had to change rooms due to an electrical problem which required the wall to be opened and the wiring located. We felt the owners update didn't go very well, with the timeshare salesman's attitude typical and his goon boss appeared twice to accuse us of being 'less than kind' to his desk staff and tried to bully us into paying more money and even mentioning if we decided to drop this timeshare, he would pursue our kids or the estate. *Note to all... Never leave anybody's name with these creeps to carry on or transfer the timeshare. If anything, donate it to the SPCA or some other charity. And, always turn on your voice recorder when dealing with them.
The complex is massive and sprawling. It makes it so difficult to leave, with using trams and taxis just to get to a grocery store to stock the room with food and water. The prices at the resort are what I consider higher than average. It could be very costly if you don't leave the resort. One last comment. The resort staff, excluding Vida, are very genuinely friendly and hard working. The only attempt by management to apologize for our inconveniences was leaving 4 chocolate dipped strawberries on the table, along with a note. I think, in the future, we will be trading our weeks for something else.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MisterMikeTheGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear MisterMikeTheGreat:


We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at The Grand Mayan. We really thank you for your kind comments about some our staff, since they work day and night to help our guests enjoy their vacations.

We host thousands of satisfied guests every week as well as attending them, and we measure the caliber of our quality through several mediums in an attempt to improve on a daily basis. We are all committed to excellence, integrity, and above all your satisfaction. For that reason, we thank you for the feedback being provided to us and it will be shared with the appropriate areas. As we continue to expand, this is useful to keep on improving.

Lastly, we would like to take the opportunity to point out that our prices are competitive compared to other resorts of the same quality.

We hope to welcome you back in the future to truly impress you with what we have to offer.

Sincerely,
The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This was a vacation--shared with another couple. We had come on a RCI exchange. Resort was very nice, but over-priced--$80 for WiFI, $80+tips for mandatory valet parking, $300 for dinner for 4 (with overpriced wine).

Kitchen in 2 BR place was under-equipped for anything more than breakfast.

The worst part, however, was the "breakfast" to which we were invited that turned out to be "the time-share presentation from Hell." We were hustled around the property from 9 to 10, then rushed through (very nice, but rushed) breakfast, then subjected to 90 minutes of very hard sell. When we refused to take the bait, we were accused of being "rude to our host"--after which we walked out.

This resort is a rip-off.

Room Tip: Don't expect a room with a view. They may promise you one is you sign up for the "presenta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear James E :

Thank you for providing your comments about your vacation at The Grand Mayanand for considering our resort to be nice.

As one of the most successful companies in the Mexican tourism field, we clearly communicate the terms and conditions associated with accepting an invitation to our sales presentation. Everyone - at free will, attends and we appreciate their visit whether they decide to acquire our products or not.

For that reason, the company employs and trains thousands of individuals that work hard day and night to satisfy each and every guest. We strive to make each and every one of our guests feel cared for, appreciated and respected.

In spite of this, we are shocked to learn about the inconveniences experienced and your comment will be shared with the appropriate management area. Also, note our prices are competitive compared to other resorts of the same quality.

We appreciate your time and feedback.

Sincerely,
The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
4.6 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
0.7 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
#3 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
1,993 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,193 reviews
4.6 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#1 of 3 in Flamingos
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta

Property: The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta
Address: Av Paseo de las Moras s/n | Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your The Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Wyndham Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Mayan Resort Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Mayan Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing